Zoom | Aussie Brutes | Xtreme Holdens | Fast Fours | HPI | Hot4s | Street Fords | Street Commodores | Extreme Street | Caravan and Motorhome | Magstore
Back to home

Australian 4WD Action

Issue 127 out now!

INCLUDING:

IFS suspension lifts

- 5 terrains, 5 days!
- Outback driving tips
- Ateco Warn Winch Challenge
- Amazing destinations

PLUS FREE DVD

"Bush Mechanic Pt 1"

» Preview DVD

4WD Custom Action

Issue 008 out now!

INCLUDING:

Top trucks for bottom dollars

- Custom Hummer & HiLux
- Ultra tough TJ Wrangler
- Huge supercharged Rangie

- Buyers guide to bullbars
- DIY UHF radio installation

PLUS FREE POSTER!

Free DVD with #127

Bush Mechanic Challenge (Pt 1)

Roothy's 55 Series vs Glenno's Jackaroo

- IFS vs solid-axle
- 2 trucks for under $2000!

PLUS PLENTY MORE

- Coffs Harbour (Pt 2)
- Custom 4WDs and more

» Preview DVD

To kick things off, we have an interview with a bloke who seems to spend as much time posting about breaking things on his truck as he does actually breaking them. He hails from downtown Launceston in sunny Tasmania, drives a Nissan Navara, and reckons mud is both his best friend and worst enemy. Without further ado, read on for…

TALKIN' DIRTY, with… RAVOFIREMAN

Name: Graham Miller

Location (town and state): Ravenswood, a suburb of Launceston in Tasmania, the only state to be in…

What do you do for a crust?
Well I dont like crusts, but I'm a Tyre Technician for Dowling McCarthy Tyres

When did you join the A4WDM forums and why?
I joined in May '06 as I read about it in the mag, and thought that would be a great place to show off my mighty rig.

What do you drive and how long have you owned it?
A Mighty NISSAN NAVARA! 91 model, 2.2l I think, and I've owned it for nearly a year now.

What modifications have you done to it in that time?
Umm, where do I start! I have replaced the starter and dented the door and smashed a head light and umm, oops, you mean real mods? I umm, lifted the tray 2in…

Where do you like going bush?
Hollybank Reserve Forest. But normally, anywere in Tassie that's good!

Any members off this forum you usually go wheeling with?
Diehardhilux, hilux91 and Redrocket

Who is your dream navvy and why?
My dream navvy would be any one that actually reads my GPS as well as a map, and sits there not whinging about my driving style!

Beer, bourbon, wine, whisky or soft-drink, what's your poison (type and brand)?
Johnnie Walker Red Label, when I am not on call.

Who'd win in a boxing match between Harold from Neighbours and Alf from Home and Away, and why?
Come on, anyone knows this! Alf would win, easy as. That poor old Harold is too old and slow, or maybe it's just the show that makes him that way? At least Alf has some life behind him!

If your 4WD had a personality, what would it be?
It would have to be a split one, haha. It has a personality like a woman I think – one moment it runs fine, then next it doesn't want to do anything, if you get my drift!

If you could say one thing to our nation's politicians, what would it be?
Geez, that would be hard! Nah, not really… WE NEED MORE TRACKS! And maybe some rain to fill 'em.

What's your most memorable moment you've spent with your 4WD?
Where do I start? There was the time that front wheel fell off, and the truck took forever to get back on the road again, when all the blokes that I work with were driving past in the trucks! Or there's the time me and my mate Matt were out Scottsdale way, and he got bogged and I tried to pull him out and ended up getting knocked out by a Hi-Lift jack. Or, there was another time when the alternator died, and I ran out of battery power on High St in town, the steepest street in Lonnie…

Who would you like to see join the forums and become a regular poster?
Really anyone that has more problems and bad luck than me, so I stop copping it!

Finally, who do you want interviewed next week?

Synergy, just to stop his whinging…

-----------------------------------------------------

There you have it folks, an insight into the mind of RAVOFIREMAN.

Comment on RAVOFIREMAN's 4WD Shed page.

Join us next week as talk to Synergy about life, the universe and everything, on another episode of TALKIN' DIRTY!

Toyota 60 Series

Lugh [60 Series]

Tuff 79 [79 Series Cruiser]

Bricki ['91 HiLux]

Tombraider [Defender]

Celtlux [SR5 Dual Cab HiLux]

Brooksy [2003 V8 'Rover]

Ute Driver ['01 Dual Cab HiLux]

The Rig ['93 HiLux Ute]

Twisty ['94 RV6 4Runner & 78 FJ40 Cruiser]

Crusher ['03 GU Patrol & '89 GQ Patrol]

Rouge Patrol ['89 GQ Patrol]