Three amigos fix!! (ABS, TCS, HDS lights) DIY.

sime01
I'm new, be nice!
Posts: 2
Joined: May 5th, 2010, 11:05 pm
Location: Ballarat, VIC

Three amigos fix!! (ABS, TCS, HDS lights) DIY.

Unread post by sime01 » May 22nd, 2011, 10:30 pm

For anyone having trouble with the three amigos first go to someone that can read and reset your codes. I went to a so called European car specialist that wanted to charge me $4300 for a new ABS modulator and didn't even try to reset the codes. I took the car to someone else just to have the codes read and got the report for myself. while the "specialist" didn't exactly lie, he wasn't entirely upfront.
I had a couple of wheel sensor faults which had cleared themselves at some point but the real problem was the "SHUTTER VALVE" in the ABS modulator. This cost me one hour of DIY time $160.00 for the part plus the cost of having my codes reset.
It's very simple. I did mine around 6 months ago and no problems since. (fingers crossed)
Here is a link to a supplier that even has instructions.

http://www.roverparts.com.au/inc/sdetail/155/188" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

redbuba
I'm new, be nice!
Posts: 2
Joined: July 15th, 2011, 4:09 pm

Re: Three amigos fix!! (ABS, TCS, HDS lights) DIY.

Unread post by redbuba » July 15th, 2011, 9:00 pm

Hi, i fixed mine by by passing the circuit board in the abs it self. it cost me $3.45 for a weather proof plug and lead from jaycar and four hours work. There is a how to on the landrover form with all the pics and inst to do it and now everything works just fine. :D

ultradisco
I'm new, be nice!
Posts: 1
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 7:39 pm

Re: Three amigos fix!! (ABS, TCS, HDS lights) DIY.

Unread post by ultradisco » October 19th, 2012, 11:18 pm

i bypassed it as well. its the shuttle valve switch part that is the problem, i read somewhere that the electrical contacts turn to crap after a while and let the system think its a fault. so if you bypass it entirely it still operates as per normal, but cant throw faults because there is no shuttle valve switch sensor dealies to malfunction. probably easier to bypass it than to replace the switch anyway. lol

Return to “Discovery II”