What do you think is the Best performing ute for under 5k?

Anything and everything in the world of 4WDing & Fourby's; if it's 4WD related & not covered by a specific section elsewhere, then put it in here!
Alan79
I'm new, be nice!

What do you think is the Best performing ute for under 5k?

Unread post by Alan79 » December 24th, 2017, 6:32 am

Hi all.
I'm planning to spend a year driving/fishing Australia starting at some stage within the next six months. I'll most likely be doing the trip solo and due to a fairly limited budget, my main aim in looking for a suitable ute will be something that's fairly fuel efficient that can handle rough roads. I'm still a novice with rough tracks but as i build in experience, I'd like to be able to access some of the more remote locations. I'm very flexible about what vehicle I'll take and I'm aware that $5,000 or under is not going to get me anything very modern. So if anyone can recommend some vehicles I should look for within that budget it would be much appreciated.

Thanks
Alan

V Williamson
Part of the furniture

Re: What do you think is the Best performing ute for under 5k?

Unread post by V Williamson » December 24th, 2017, 8:46 pm

G'day there Alan,

Well, how long is a piece of string? Of course that is the age old question that has no real answer and unfortunately, probably applies to a ute under $5k as well. They would be somewhere around the 15 year old mark at a guess, and like anything bought - "caveat emptor" - let the buyer beware. You might pick up a good one, or you could pick up one with banana skin in the gearbox that masks noises, or even one that makes noises ...