Another Swivel Hub Thread.

Darwin60
Getting to know the place

Another Swivel Hub Thread.

Unread post by Darwin60 » April 22nd, 2013, 9:45 pm

Hello.
I have been looking over the web regarding swivel rebuilds, and was bought here. So I joined!
Looking at my HJ60 today I saw that the passenger swivel hub has grease over the backing plate etc. Though there does not appear to be oil. Have not checked the Bolts on the rear side seal for tightness (was too busy looking at the sump pan finger "loose" bolts).

Anyway, I'll go ahead with the questions/facts:
1. I have never done a swivel before - and even after looking at all the threads, step by steps and a Download of the FSM - I am pretty concerned.
2. I have only a "normal" set of tools sidchrome sockets, spanners, torque wrench, hammers, hammer driven impact driver etc no Presses, no SST's and no real Garage...(in itself a problem, because the vehicle is on the street - albeit a quiet Rapid Creek Street).
3. Am a student, so can definitely not afford to pay the labour of a normal garage.
4. I saw a really good thread here, but the images are not there anymore - which would really help.

SO: Really, what should I do?
I have replaced the bearings and rotors, so I sort of know whats there, but looking at the FSM there is the whole angle malarkey. Is all this something I can do with average tools?

Finally, is there anyone up here in Darwin or surrounding area that could help or point me in the right direction? :drink:

Wotcha rekon?

Thanks!
Will.

oversite
Need to get out more

Re: Another Swivel Hub Thread.

Unread post by oversite » April 22nd, 2013, 10:43 pm

First things first jack up the front wheel and try to budge the wheel in either up and down or side to side your looking for any movement in the bearings!

If you have replaced your roters and bearings its not that much more work to do the swivel hub bearings, but doing it on the side of the road is not ideal! and remember have gloves and heaps of rags handy!