1FZ head job - anyone have a step by step guide?

From four-bangers to dirty great V8s, get your petrol tech here
jim80h
Here and there

1FZ head job - anyone have a step by step guide?

Unread post by jim80h » July 19th, 2013, 7:04 am

Hi everyone,

Im in need of a bit of advise. I have the dreaded 1fz head gasket problem :whyme: . Just wondering if anyone has a step by step for removing the head, or at least could point me in the right direction. Whilst I am no mechanic, I am reasonably good at following instructions, just need to be pointed in the right direction. Any help would be appreciated

Peter Aawen
Admin

Re: 1FZ head job - anyone have a step by step guide?

Unread post by Peter Aawen » July 19th, 2013, 8:37 am

Visit your local AutoPro or Repco, Bursons, whatever and ask for a Gregory's or Hayne's Workshop manual for your vehicle - cost, maybe $50 or so, but it will be the best $$ you have ever invested in your 4WD (or any other car for that matter!) They have reasonably easy to understand 'step by step' guides for just about all/any jobs that it is feasible for the home spanner-spinner to attempt. No, it won't have details on how to pull down and re-furbish your VE style diesel Injector Pump, cos that's not something you really should ever attempt at home, but it will have details on how to diagnose major issues, remove the busted pump, & install the replacement pump, including static timing etc. And of course, it will have details on how to troubleshoot most common head problems, do a compression test etc, and a step by step guide on removing the head itself, replacing the gasket, and re-installing the head, torquing it down properly, and all the associated tasks and issues you might meet along the way.