2LT injector pump internal timing?

All Tojo Talk
double diffa
Part of the furniture

2LT injector pump internal timing?

Unread post by double diffa » November 7th, 2007, 10:03 am

Here's one for the diesel fitters, I fitted 2LT motor, to my 84 4runner, to replace the 2L , I have been useing the 2L injector pump with great success, but deceided to fit a 2LT pump with the anaroid unit (boost compensator) on top, to try to get a bit better fuel economy, and less smoke below boost.
I had the pump checked out by a diesel shop, and caliberated to the factory specs, fitted it up timed correctly ( I'm an experienced mechanic) but the power is way down.
After a couple of months of fiddleing, I have come to the conclusion that the pump is mistimed internaly, as I know better than to pull an injector pump apart, and expect it to run again, my question is...
Is it possible to time a 2LT pump wrong internaly.
I have had the pump off and on at least twice in this time, and each time when I refit my 2L pump the power comes back.
It feel to me like retarded pump timing, but the belt marks are all correct.
"[b][i]Parts left out cost nothing, and cause no service problems, keep it simple[/i][/b]"

Turbotojo
Been here a while

Unread post by Turbotojo » November 7th, 2007, 10:10 am

The timing can be adjusted by moving the pump on its axis while fitted but you need the device or gauge to check the right start of delivery or spill ting like on an inline pump. The marks that you have to line up are only a guide although they are usually spot on.
[font=Arial Black][font=Book Antiqua]LJ78 Landcruiser II now locked and loaded.
[url]http://www.dieselworkhorseauto.com.au/index.php[/url][/font][/font]

double diffa
Part of the furniture

Unread post by double diffa » November 7th, 2007, 1:11 pm