Re-inforcing/stengthening GQ/GU diff housings

For the Nissan nuts
Patrolling Paddy
Part of the furniture

Re-inforcing/stengthening GQ/GU diff housings

Unread post by Patrolling Paddy » July 1st, 2007, 4:16 pm

As the title says,
I have a GQ with GU diffs and I NEED to strengthen them up, I just recently had to get them both straightened, and I haven't been doing jumps either.
What I'm after is some pics of others that have been done successfully.
I am a fitter by trade and have a few boily mates to help as well so skills is not a prob but I/we have not attempted this before and I would like to get it right the first time.

Cheers

PP

beej
Avid Poster

Won't win a beauty pageant, but...

Unread post by beej » July 1st, 2007, 11:14 pm

Whilst it wouldn't need to be as much as this (my a-frame bolts to this) if it's the way you go then you might try using some decent wall thickness box tube and building some bomb proofing.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
[size=75][b]What is the largest shackle you can buy, and how many mountain goats can you attach to it?[/b][/size]

beej
Avid Poster

Unread post by beej » July 1st, 2007, 11:27 pm

ALSO IMPORTANT: Get someone who knows a bit about welding to do it - so you don't weld it permanently into a nice banana shape.
[size=75][b]What is the largest shackle you can buy, and how many mountain goats can you attach to it?[/b][/size]

Patrolling Paddy
Part of the furniture

Unread post by Patrolling Paddy » July 2nd, 2007, 12:30 am

I was thinking about something along those lines but leaving the top almost flush with the top of the housing. The welding bit is all cool, my boily mate is a wiz.

Also I was chasing some GQ/GU specific for front & rear.

Cheers

PP

Z()LTAN
Part of the furniture

Unread post by Z()LTAN » July 2nd, 2007, 1:17 am

make sure you back step and side step every weld, at least a 4" back step anyway.