NM Pajero on 33's
-
- Part of the furniture
Well after having the new HD coils sitting in the garage for a couple months, I had them fitted last week. I finally got the amount of lift that I was chasing. It went up 55mm at the front and 35mm at the rear, giving me a total lift of about 65mm over standard.
I can definitely feel the firmer ride both on and off road, but I can deal with that. Went on a Glasshouse trip on Sunday, and the extra clearance was very noticeable. Heaps better to drive offroad. I'm very happy with the result. Now Ive got my mind set on some new 16x8 inch rims, so I can fit 285/75/16's.
2005 Nissan Patrol 4.8, Sahara bar, Runva winch, 2' lift on 33' KM2s
Written off - NM Pajero on 33's and some other good bits
Build thread - http://www.4wdaction.com.au/forum/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=79366
-
- Admin
Looks good SC, just keep those pics coming mate.. 

200 Series VX Twin-Turbo V8 Diesel Landcruiser
viewtopic.php?f=187&t=160755
NM 3.2 DID Pajero with a few Mods. SOLD..
viewtopic.php?f=187&t=34585
viewtopic.php?f=187&t=160755
NM 3.2 DID Pajero with a few Mods. SOLD..
viewtopic.php?f=187&t=34585
-
- Need to get out more
-
- Part of the furniture
New wheels
I got a new set of 16x8 alloy wheels so I can fit 285/75/16 muddies. I got them a week ago and had planned on leaving them in the garage until I could get the tyres. But the need to purchase a new computer has come up and will put off the muddies for a bit longer, so I decided to just get them fitted to my current tyres.
With the offset they have widened the wheel track by 31mm on each side which Im happy with. The standard wheel track on the paj is a bit thin I reckon, and I looked for an offset to make it a bit wider, without sticking out from the guards too much.
Originally I was looking for a plain looking 5 spoke, but then decided to look for something a little more flashy without being over the top. I found these ones and thought there a bit different for most on the market and the only ones I could settle on, even though I wasnt sure how they would look. Im pretty happy with the end result, and cant wait to get some 33" muddies.
Snapped a few pics late this arvo in fading light.
With the offset they have widened the wheel track by 31mm on each side which Im happy with. The standard wheel track on the paj is a bit thin I reckon, and I looked for an offset to make it a bit wider, without sticking out from the guards too much.
Originally I was looking for a plain looking 5 spoke, but then decided to look for something a little more flashy without being over the top. I found these ones and thought there a bit different for most on the market and the only ones I could settle on, even though I wasnt sure how they would look. Im pretty happy with the end result, and cant wait to get some 33" muddies.
Snapped a few pics late this arvo in fading light.
-
- Need to get out more
-
- Admin
Re: NM Pajero by Snapcatcher - New wheels
Really like the Wheels Marc..
Guss.
Guss.

-
- Avid Poster
good lookin ride you have there mate.
nice rims too!
looks like your side rails are a little bent
nice rims too!
looks like your side rails are a little bent

-
- Need to get out more
Awesome wheels mate
2013 Auto LS Challenger with stuff
2011 GIC Offroad CT also with some stuff
-
- Part of the furniture
So the Paj is now riding on 33's finally. I been planning this for over 12 months so glad to finally get them on.
I went for 285/75/16 BFG KM2 Muddies. First impression is that I cant believe how quiet they are. Simply amazing. I can also really notice the extra height in the vehicle which is great. Havnt had them offroad yet, but that will change on the weekend.
I had to cut away some of the plastic mudguards to make them fit without scrubbing, and for something different I had the white lettering fitted on the inside.
On the spare I have a Silverstone muddy I picked up cheap on ebay. To make the spare fit without rubbing against the bumper I fitted a spare wheel lifter which fits onto the mount and raises the spare 50mm.
Also on a recent trip I broke one of the upper (dummy) tail lights, so I have replaced them with LED units. They are fully functioning with tail, brake, indicator and reverse lights, but I havnt wired them up yet. For those unaware the factory lights in the upper position only have a functioning reverse light.
I went for 285/75/16 BFG KM2 Muddies. First impression is that I cant believe how quiet they are. Simply amazing. I can also really notice the extra height in the vehicle which is great. Havnt had them offroad yet, but that will change on the weekend.
I had to cut away some of the plastic mudguards to make them fit without scrubbing, and for something different I had the white lettering fitted on the inside.
On the spare I have a Silverstone muddy I picked up cheap on ebay. To make the spare fit without rubbing against the bumper I fitted a spare wheel lifter which fits onto the mount and raises the spare 50mm.
Also on a recent trip I broke one of the upper (dummy) tail lights, so I have replaced them with LED units. They are fully functioning with tail, brake, indicator and reverse lights, but I havnt wired them up yet. For those unaware the factory lights in the upper position only have a functioning reverse light.
-
- Part of the furniture
Re: NM Pajero by Snapcatcher - Now on 33's
Had my first offroad trip with the new tyres yesterday. Was very wet to give them a good test, and I am very impressed. They are my first set of muddies so can only compare to AT's, but these tyres are unreal. Also the extra clearance from the bigger tyres is very welcome.
-
- Been here a while
Hey Marc,
That track looks pretty good mate, will have to let me know where that one is
The tyres definately look better than the AT's and they will perform heaps better off road as well.
I found the same thing when I went fron the Duellers's to the bighorns and I haven't looked back since.
Will catch up soon
Pete
That track looks pretty good mate, will have to let me know where that one is

The tyres definately look better than the AT's and they will perform heaps better off road as well.
I found the same thing when I went fron the Duellers's to the bighorns and I haven't looked back since.
Will catch up soon
Pete
-
- Avid Poster
Looks great - very different to when I went on the glasshouse trip with you many many moons ago.
HZJ105, GT2860, FMIC, H151 conversion, pro locker and a custom made camper.
http://www.4wdaction.com.au/forum/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=77441&start=125
-
- Been here a while
makes the car look heaps tuffer mate!!
-
- Part of the furniture
I had a cargo barrier go in this week. With an upcoming camping trip to Kinkuna I was looking for more storage space and was looking at roof racks, bu then something else got in the way and I cant afford them before the trip.
I had the actual barrier in the garage for two years since buying it off ebay, but never got the fitting mounts installed. Getting the fitting kit in was lots cheaper than the roof racks so got it done this week.
Whilst not an actual vehicle mod, I also just got a battey to go into my Ark Powerpack, which has also been sitting in the garage since last xmas. I dont have my own fridge yet so havent looked into a proper duel batter set up, but am borrowing my old man's frige for the camping trip so needed something to power it.
I had the actual barrier in the garage for two years since buying it off ebay, but never got the fitting mounts installed. Getting the fitting kit in was lots cheaper than the roof racks so got it done this week.
Whilst not an actual vehicle mod, I also just got a battey to go into my Ark Powerpack, which has also been sitting in the garage since last xmas. I dont have my own fridge yet so havent looked into a proper duel batter set up, but am borrowing my old man's frige for the camping trip so needed something to power it.
Last edited by Snapcatcher on October 16th, 2012, 10:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Part of the furniture
Got a snorkel installed recently. After nearly drowning the Paj a few months ago its a welcome addition. The thing that always pushed the snorkel further down the 'to do' list was the price. Quotes for a fitted Safari snorkel are 700 +.
I ended up getting a chinese import one via ebay. These have been around for a while now and Ive seen plenty of others fit them and report they are decent quality.
If anyone is looking at these on ebay you'll find that most dont come with fitting instructions, and the one mob that provides fitting instructions charge an extra 50 bucks or so more then the other sellers. Be aware that you can easily get a copy of the Instructions online, and PM me for a link if needed.
I had planned on fitting it myself, but was running low on time before a Fraser trip, and was also pretty nervous about it, so paid someone to fit it for me. At the end of the day I have a snorkel for less than half the price I was getting quoted for a fitted Safari. Also fitted some new LED interior lights, which replace the existing festoon globes. Saw a bloke on the forum mention these recently. Cheap as chips on ebay. You can get small ones to that fit straight into smaller lights, or for larger lights you can get (such as rear cargo area) you buy the biggest board you can fit it, and it comes with attachments that fit into the existing bulb holder. If that makes any sense.
This is the one I have fitted in the cargo area. Less than 5 bucks delivered. I have a smaller one in the front as there wasnt as much space in the light fitting. This photo was taken in my pitch black garage with no flash.
I ended up getting a chinese import one via ebay. These have been around for a while now and Ive seen plenty of others fit them and report they are decent quality.
If anyone is looking at these on ebay you'll find that most dont come with fitting instructions, and the one mob that provides fitting instructions charge an extra 50 bucks or so more then the other sellers. Be aware that you can easily get a copy of the Instructions online, and PM me for a link if needed.
I had planned on fitting it myself, but was running low on time before a Fraser trip, and was also pretty nervous about it, so paid someone to fit it for me. At the end of the day I have a snorkel for less than half the price I was getting quoted for a fitted Safari. Also fitted some new LED interior lights, which replace the existing festoon globes. Saw a bloke on the forum mention these recently. Cheap as chips on ebay. You can get small ones to that fit straight into smaller lights, or for larger lights you can get (such as rear cargo area) you buy the biggest board you can fit it, and it comes with attachments that fit into the existing bulb holder. If that makes any sense.
This is the one I have fitted in the cargo area. Less than 5 bucks delivered. I have a smaller one in the front as there wasnt as much space in the light fitting. This photo was taken in my pitch black garage with no flash.