Does a steel bullbar need a winch cradle?

Whether it's your first tourer or a hardcore playtruck, show us your vehicle or what you're building inside, and keep us up to date on your mods as they happen!
shauny_raff
I'm new, be nice!

Does a steel bullbar need a winch cradle?

Unread post by shauny_raff » August 24th, 2018, 2:29 pm

I know this is a very amateur question, but I have just bought a second-hand steel winch bar for my 98 gu. To mount a winch to it, do I need a winch cradle or does the winch bolt directly onto the bar? If I need a cradle are there any suggestions to reliable yet affordable options, or if I bolt it directly, what exactly do I need to do? Sorry, I am only new to the 4x4 world

Peter Aawen
Admin

Re: Does a steel bullbar need a winch cradle?

Unread post by Peter Aawen » August 24th, 2018, 4:52 pm

Hi shauny, the short answer is that if it's not a Winch Bar originally, then you'll need a winch cradle or need to modify the bar to carry the winch & winching loads! Since you are telling us that the 2nd hand bar you've acquired is a Winch Bar, you just might be lucky! :thumb: