Automotive Cable, is it necessary?

Sedro
I'm new, be nice!

Automotive Cable, is it necessary?

Unread post by Sedro » November 1st, 2016, 11:10 pm

Hey guys,

ive recently bought an old 4.2 patrol and have had many issues electrically. To the point were ive decided to rip the whole loom out and make my own. Theres not much to them and knowing exactly what does what will be a big help in the future. Being an electrician by trade i have a lot of pvc panel wire available and was just wondering if this would be fine to use or is there something im missing with this so called automotive cable?

Cheers

Sedro
I'm new, be nice!

Re: Automotive Cable, is it necessary?

Unread post by Sedro » November 1st, 2016, 11:14 pm

Oh if panel wire makes no sense i simple mean the aluminium flex you find in almost all your industrial panels and switchboards

Peter Aawen
Admin

Unread post by Peter Aawen » November 2nd, 2016, 10:51 am

I'd guess that the major reason automotive wiring gets identified differently to any other stuff & is then used as much as it is used in motor vehicles is that it's able to stand up to the engine & driving vibrations & any flexing that imposes in potentially quite hot conditions (or cold) without losing too much voltage carrying capacity to increasing resistance - after all, as cars have become lighter & more technically advanced, the wiring has tended to become smaller & lighter & is now often used to operate more than just one item (cab-bus design/technology).

So if your panel wiring is up to handling 12 hours or so of the heat under the bonnet with a hard working engine on a bloody hot day in the Simpson Desert in high summer as the vehicle (& wiring) gets tossed around mercilessly on the spinnifex humps & sand dunes, then it will probably be OK - but you might want to check the specs! ;)

Be interested in knowing the answer tho!