1HZ needs 3 preheats to start

toomuchfuel
I'm new, be nice!
Posts: 2
Joined: February 17th, 2016, 1:02 pm

1HZ needs 3 preheats to start

Unread post by toomuchfuel » February 17th, 2016, 1:09 pm

I have a 2001 1HZ with 428k's on it, whether the engine is hot or cold it needs the ignition turned on for about 10 seconds, 2-3 times before the engine will start. It turns over real good but just wont start unless this 'preheat' cycle is done several times, it then starts instantly.

Peter Aawen
Admin
Posts: 20807
Joined: June 17th, 2005, 8:01 pm

Re: 1HZ needs 3 preheats to start

Unread post by Peter Aawen » February 18th, 2016, 3:35 pm

Sounds like you've got a dead glow plug or two, or possibly a dead glow control circuit
An Ex-Service person is someone who thought enough about their country & how great it is, how lucky we are to live here, to write a blank cheque made out to 'The People and Commonwealth of Australia' for the value of 'Up to & including my Life!'

jfoldbar
Avid Poster
Posts: 588
Joined: December 5th, 2011, 6:00 pm

Re: 1HZ needs 3 preheats to start

Unread post by jfoldbar » February 18th, 2016, 5:30 pm

why would a dead glow plug mean he has to glow it when warm?

Peter Aawen
Admin
Posts: 20807
Joined: June 17th, 2005, 8:01 pm

Re: 1HZ needs 3 preheats to start

Unread post by Peter Aawen » February 18th, 2016, 7:55 pm

Most diesels with them actually need some heat from their glow plugs to start cleanly first crank every time, & if the gp's are getting no power or are dead, then that 'starts first crank every time' thing just won't happen.... even if the block is warm from running!! For the vast majority of Diesel engines out there with Glow Plugs, even if you don't see the Glow Plug light glowing on the dash as you turn the key, it still takes some added heat from the gp's for that instant start to happen; & even if you don't see/perceive the glow heating occurring, it really is going on regardless! (or the diesel just won't start without a bit of cranking or a few try's on the ign to pre-heat some of the other plugs/cylinders even more!) ;)
An Ex-Service person is someone who thought enough about their country & how great it is, how lucky we are to live here, to write a blank cheque made out to 'The People and Commonwealth of Australia' for the value of 'Up to & including my Life!'

jfoldbar
Avid Poster
Posts: 588
Joined: December 5th, 2011, 6:00 pm

Re: 1HZ needs 3 preheats to start

Unread post by jfoldbar » February 19th, 2016, 4:50 pm

while thats not the case with my old mazda work van, still i would have to say out of the problems that can affect a diesel motor, the glow plugs are by far the easiest thing to rule in or out.
so, toomuchfuel. id agree with peter. i reckon you should be checkin out the glowies first.

stockhorse
Need to get out more
Posts: 2335
Joined: August 22nd, 2008, 12:03 am

Re: 1HZ needs 3 preheats to start

Unread post by stockhorse » February 21st, 2016, 7:29 am

When it does start does it run rough as for a few seconds? I had a small air leak in a fuel hose that gave those exact symtoms.

Rogers Cruiser
Part of the furniture
Posts: 1327
Joined: January 3rd, 2014, 8:04 pm

Re: 1HZ needs 3 preheats to start

Unread post by Rogers Cruiser » February 21st, 2016, 10:38 am

new glow plugs, check all wiring and terminals on the glow circuit - including grounds.

If that doesnt help replace the starter motor. (I know it doent make sense - but it helps)
'98-'06 - FJ-45 Ute fell over one day and didnt survive
'06-now - HJ-47 Troopy, restored and now daily driver.
'13-now - HJ-47 Ute, Farm fresh rust bucket, needs a restoration. viewtopic.php?f=22&t=152811

now - Off Road Box/Camper Trailer. viewtopic.php?f=134&t=153968&p=1792444#p1792444

Dont listen to me, Ive got an opinion on everything!

toomuchfuel
I'm new, be nice!
Posts: 2
Joined: February 17th, 2016, 1:02 pm

Re: 1HZ needs 3 preheats to start

Unread post by toomuchfuel » February 24th, 2016, 6:27 pm

SORTED! Replaced the glow plugs. Thanks for the replies, all so soon, they did help me make the right choice, bought NGK's $19ea. FYI previously it turned over exceptionally well, just didn't start, when it did start it ran fine. Now it starts first click and runs smooth as :-)
:waycool:

nilla60
Moderator
Posts: 6348
Joined: May 13th, 2007, 12:09 am

Re: 1HZ needs 3 preheats to start

Unread post by nilla60 » July 15th, 2016, 5:32 pm

Thanks for the feedback, very helpful for other people who might be searching for the same issue. Glad to hear it was an easy fix.

1640hunter
Here and there
Posts: 75
Joined: August 28th, 2011, 4:31 am
Location: Cassilis, NSW

Re: 1HZ needs 3 preheats to start

Unread post by 1640hunter » August 6th, 2016, 8:59 pm

Peter Aawen,

^^ this only applies to IDI. Can't recall many DIs with glow plugs

Return to “Engine and Driveline”