Mazda BT50 | Ford Ranger | Nissan Navara as tow vehicle?

For the stuff that's NOT 4WD related, here's where you can come on in and discuss it, but do play nice!
wendyswheels
Here and there

Mazda BT50 | Ford Ranger | Nissan Navara as tow vehicle?

Unread post by wendyswheels » April 8th, 2012, 1:32 pm

Hi, I'm a newbie to both 4WD and caravaning and, as you'll soon see, I'm jumping in head first!

It seems like I've spent the last 18 months researching online and visiting caravan expos and yards, and I've finally ordered my van - a Jayco 21ft model in the Sterling range...and, yes, it has everything including the kitchen sink! And it needs to as I'm intending to travel for the next few years around this gorgeous country! My travelling companions are two cats that are used to being contained (house and cat run), so for any anti-cat people out there, pls don't switch off to my request for assistance, as I'm not letting the moggies loose on the wildlife - the annex is designed to contain the cats with a separate entry to the door of the van, so no chance of escapees!

Now, the reason for mentioning the cats is that they factor into the decision for the vehicle. While I thought deciding on the van was going to be difficult, it's nothing compared to the vehicle...and this is where I really need some assistance from those in the know.

While I would have loved an SUV style vehicle, unless I go to the Landcruiser or similar size, I'm kind of stuck with the ute. As such, I have large carriers for the cats to travel in. As the vehicle will need to last me approx 10 years and accommodate all my requirements, ie. city driving/parking as well as towing and gravel roads, the Landcruiser just seems too large and costly overall.