Which 4x4 club to join (Sydney)

Craig 04gu
Been here a while

Which 4x4 club to join (Sydney)

Unread post by Craig 04gu » September 16th, 2010, 11:27 pm

Im new to 4x4ing and looking to join a 4x4 club in the Sydney area but not sure which one.

Any suggestions/recomendations would be great.

Black Bull

Re: Which 4x4 club to join (Sydney)

Unread post by Black Bull » September 17th, 2010, 12:36 am

Crunch
Part of the furniture

Unread post by Crunch » September 17th, 2010, 9:16 am

And here's where everyone plugs their own club..........

There's so many to choose from, and all with varying pro's and con's. I think there's 3 main things you need to consider -

1) What kind of driving are you after? Family trips? Hardcore lift + lock stuff? Beginner level? Soft-roader/AWD?

2) What area are you in? no point joining Blue Mountains when you live in Coffs Harbour.

3) Make and model of your truck. There are many make specific clubs around, and many of them are open to all makes, but it's up to you if you want to join a make-specific club. the advantages there are dealer/parts discounts specific to your truck, and a solid knowledge base and second-hand parts availability from other members.

I spoke to as many clubs as I could at the latest 4x4 Adventure show, and was very impressed with many of them. Go along to meetings, get to meet some members, go out for a day trip with them. You don't have to join as soon as you ring them.

Take your time, shop around and you'll find one you slip right into. They won't just disappear overnight, so you don't have to jump in straight away.

Black Bull

Unread post by Black Bull » September 17th, 2010, 9:51 am

This is true mate. some are more family orientated and do more tourer type runs, others are more competition based.
That said though Last year when I was looking at clubs, I found that a few of them wanted you to have done a driver training course before letting you go on a run

Craig 04gu
Been here a while