Greetings everyone - My GU IV - the build begins!

Davler66
Getting to know the place

Greetings everyone - My GU IV - the build begins!

Unread post by Davler66 » August 4th, 2011, 7:46 pm

Hi all

I'm a newby to this forum in fact i'm new to any forum :( so any help I get from anyone will be much appreciated :o I recently purchased a Nissan Patrol gu series iv as my profile indicates. It's a six cylinder 4.8 litre with no mods all origional equipment I should add the badge is an ST-S silver in colour and a nice lookin ride even if I say so myself. I have recently added a brand spankin new top of the line clarion satnav with all the bells and whistles. This thing has every conceivable app you could want and not want I mean you need a degree in computer science to operate it and yes before you ask it has HEMA maps :D I also had installed roof mounted DVD screen for the kids. Anyway that's not even the tip of the iceberg of the mods I have planned for this little cub. My intention is to turn this cub scout into a grizzly bear. My next step is to replace the standard bumberbar with an Ironman winchbar add to that a 12000lb Ironman winch. a set of rockslider sidesteps and a rear bullbar with spare wheel carrier and jerry can holder. Will also have custom under vehicle protection made up at a later stage. Suspension will be in the form of a 4" lifter kit , dual batteries and battery management system. Most of these upgrades will be supplied by Ironman. The brakes will also be upgraded, as the present brakes are a little spongy. the diffs will have a set of front and rear differential elockers thrown in. This work is being performed by Geoff Whitehead from the 4 Wheel Drive Workshop in Frankston Victoria. Who practicaly sleeps eats and breathes nothing but 4Wds and has been doing so for over 30 years I've Known Geoff for over 5 years and seen a lot of his work and I can tell you he knows he stuff. Geoff can even customise parts on site in his fully equiped workshop. We h