Building a new canopy - what have you done?

Discussion about home-built mods. Show us how smart you are!
bison bloke
I'm new, be nice!

Building a new canopy - what have you done?

Unread post by bison bloke » December 30th, 2015, 2:22 pm

Hey everyone, I'm just about to start building a new canopy for a twin cab '07 ranger. I've never camped out of a canopy before and I'm wondering if people have got one, could they post pics and advice?

I'll be using a roof top tent that I want on the canopy, and I have an ARB roof rack for the front.

I've got a lot of experience in fabrication, and access to a folder, guillotine, MIG, etc., but not a lot of experience in Aluminium welding. Should I go with steel? Does the weight really matter?

My plan at the moment is to build drawers 240 mm deep along the whole bottom of the canopy, gull wings on top of that, with room for 2 (do I need two?) fridges inside.

I'm wondering has anyone got ideas for water storage? What about firearms? I'd like to have a lockable firearm drawer at the bottom next to the drawers. Where do you put batteries?

Any pics of what you've done would be good.

Any advice on what not to do is also good!

Thanks heaps in advance!

Les - PK Ranger
Part of the furniture

Re: Building a new canopy - what have you done?

Unread post by Les - PK Ranger » December 30th, 2015, 6:47 pm

Great to custom build such a canopy bb.
Are you working from cab chassis or does it have a tub you are placing a canopy on ?
(A lot will have to do with which option you're doing . . .)

If doing a cab chassis build, you have an opportunity to really design well and get yourself better departure angle at the rear too.
Don't be tempted to go too far back, the more weight behind the rear wheel line, the more chance you could bend the chassis out on tracks.