What do you think of TOYO Tyres?

Advice on the right rolling stock for your 4WD
torque_1
I'm new, be nice!

What do you think of TOYO Tyres?

Unread post by torque_1 » January 31st, 2014, 11:48 am

I'm a bit of a newbie to 4WD, but I took my car into the mechanic the other day to start getting it set up for some 4WDing, and he suggested (amongst other things) that I get some TOYO tires.
Does anyone have any opinions/ warnings and reviews of TOYO?

Are they reliable, or should I look elsewhere?
Thanks!

ATC
Been here a while

Re: TOYO Tires

Unread post by ATC » January 31st, 2014, 12:13 pm

There should be a thread in this section about Toyo , use the search function at the top.

Take you time and also read the Coopers, Bridgestone, Goodyear Micky Thompson and many others that are also here.

Lots of people go "What tyre should I get?"
The answer comes down to that type of driving you do Touring, Mud, Sand, Rock crawling etc...

What sized rims you have & what 4wd also.

If you put bigger tyres on without changing diff ratios then you loose power / torque etc...
and may compromise fuel consumption, speedo accuracy e and other things.
This can often be compensated for depending on the make and model of your 4WD.

Most importantly if you don't need new tyres now, then spend some time researching & reading.
There is a lot of other brands than just Toyo, and some may be a bit cheaper also.

ATC

Aussie_Dan
Part of the furniture

Re: TOYO Tires

Unread post by Aussie_Dan » January 31st, 2014, 2:15 pm

Toyo make excellent tyres, no question about it.
I have a 2nd set of rims with 764 Bighorns. I chose the bighorns only because the Toyo Open Country MT's were hideously expensive. Too expensive for me to justify the money simply for a set of 'play' tyres.
I have Toyo's on my other car though (road car) and find them to be excellent. They grip well and last the distance. Not a great comparison though, when you are in need of 4WD tyres....