View topic - 2004 RA Rodeo 3.5L 4x4 electronics

2004 RA Rodeo 3.5L 4x4 electronics

User avatar
I'm new, be nice!
 
Posts: 5
Joined: December 24th, 2007, 10:29 pm
Location: Brisbane - Queensland

2004 RA Rodeo 3.5L 4x4 electronics

Hi all, in a recent four wheel drive magazine article the RA Rodeo was described as an excellent fourby but with one 'archilles heel', the push button electronic four wheel drive selection system...apparently the system is known to fail during use in wet and dirty conditions....any forum members have a comment on this?...is there a particular area that needs attention?...underhood or underbody wiring or switches perhaps?...is it possible to add reliability by installing guards or with the application of protectorants at all?..appreciate any comments.
Regards
Paul
Brisbane.
Paul - Brisbane
'04 Rodeo 4x4 Crewcab
Jayco 16' poptop

Unread postby pfgreig » April 8th, 2009, 8:43 pm


User avatar
Been here a while
 
Posts: 471
Joined: July 8th, 2008, 3:19 pm
Location: Gulfview Heights

had two RA's never had a problem

Unread postby Clint N » April 9th, 2009, 6:57 pm


User avatar
I'm new, be nice!
 
Posts: 5
Joined: December 24th, 2007, 10:29 pm
Location: Brisbane - Queensland

Thanks Clint...some great photos there....especially the photo of your unclean engine...if you were going to have petunia problems in the dirt you would have by now!!...great stuff.
Paul - Brisbane
'04 Rodeo 4x4 Crewcab
Jayco 16' poptop

Unread postby pfgreig » April 9th, 2009, 10:01 pm


User avatar
Been here a while
 
Posts: 471
Joined: July 8th, 2008, 3:19 pm
Location: Gulfview Heights

LOL, yeah i get some dirt, mud a and water in everthing,and all still working fine

Unread postby Clint N » April 12th, 2009, 10:57 am


I'm new, be nice!
 
Posts: 7
Joined: March 21st, 2007, 12:21 pm
Location: Tassie

Only problem was I cracked the reversing light switch - got a stick jammed up there. Leaked a bit of oil. Could have happened to any vehicle though.
Fishing, 4WDing - what else do you need??

'04 Rodeo - work in progress

Unread postby ennjay » May 20th, 2009, 10:17 pm


User avatar
Here and there
 
Posts: 45
Joined: April 26th, 2007, 10:37 pm
Location: Margaret River, WA

the problem you speak of is purely to do with the computer located under the drivers seat. it happened to me about a year ago and the check 4wd light stayed on and i wasnt able to engage 4l or 4h. when it happened to me it just came on one day when i started her up, no bumps, mud, water.
to fix it the guys at holden had to reset the computer and had to remove the seat to do so.it cost me $50. apparently there is a way of reseting the computer yourself and can be done in the bush etc. try a thread search.

Unread postby moritz » May 21st, 2009, 9:38 pm


User avatar
Here and there
 
Posts: 81
Joined: May 18th, 2009, 6:53 pm

Clint N wrote:had two RA's never had a problem


is yours petrol or diesel? do you have n exhaust?

Unread postby rodeodan87 » May 22nd, 2009, 2:28 pm


User avatar
Here and there
 
Posts: 28
Joined: December 3rd, 2006, 8:27 pm
Location: North East Victoria

Do a serch on "RA Rodeo 4x4 system prob".
The last post I left shows how to reset the ecu your self.
The harness connector on the transfercase can leak water in to the motor that changes it into high or low.
You can put a little grease into the connestor to prevent this.
Cheers Rollux

Unread postby ROLLUX » May 24th, 2009, 8:51 pm



Return to Rodeo

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: anybot

Advertisement