View topic - Mazda bravo fuel economy

Mazda bravo fuel economy

Discuss technical aspects of your 4WD with other owners, and share your opinions
Part of the furniture

Mazda bravo fuel economy

hey guys

yesterday i was topping up at the pump and i filled up 38 litres, and that was after only travelling 208kms. So that equates to nearly 19ltrs per hundred kays. This is a 2.6l petrol 4 cylinder......why is it using this much fuel???? I am a pretty considerate driver, dont thrash it at all, and it isnt lifted, tyres arent big (205's or 215's from memory) and it has the normal alum bullbar, sidesteps canopy etc. I dont tow anything or hav a load at the back, any ideas wat could be causing this? thanks

Unread postby 4low » September 9th, 2005, 2:38 pm

Been here a while

Re:Mazda bravo fuel economy

Sounds like it may have a drinking problem to me :) :)

But seriously - petrol engined 4wd utes seem to have a disproportionate thirst, I have put 40 litres in my previous Rodeo (which was 2.6 petrol) after 250 ks of running around town - Which comes out at 16 litres/100ks. Thrashing it around in the bush was much worse, but I never measured it
So i went into denial for a while and eventully put it on gas just to cut the cost. Gas used to go about 19-20 per hundred, but at less than half the price it was an improvement

Unread postby Nig » September 9th, 2005, 6:03 pm

Avid Poster

There probably could be a lot of things causing poor fuel economy.

I'd make sure that the brakes aren't dragging (jack up and spin each wheel - might be other causes of wheel drag, too).

Good tyre pressures.

Engine maintained and tuned (a dose of carby/injector cleaner probably wouldn't hurt occasionally).

Wheel alignment?

Make sure that no vacuum hoses have been knocked off (happens a lot).

Unread postby RoddQLD » September 9th, 2005, 6:04 pm

Part of the furniture

thanks guys