17-06-2010
|
|
|
|
FNB 4WD Action Club Event 2-4 Oct '10
October Long Weekend 4WDing, 2-4 Oct '10
The dates are worked out to best fit with other events happening, so we have settled on the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th of October 2010. Aside from making sure the dates don't clash with other great 4WDing events, it also means the season is a little cooler, greener, and there is a lot more time for everyone to play.
The free BBQ at our place is still the starting point. We will still be in the same area in Mount Barker but in a brand new place just 400 metres up the road, and with more car park space as well, we can all fit in much easier.
BBQ starts at 11.00 am this year, and ends a bit earlier at 1.00pm so we can all head off to the property.
This year, with rising costs, insurance demands, and the plan to set the property up for more 4WDing fun ongoing, there will be an entry fee to the property through means of membership in the ONLY club you will want to be a member of, the 'FNB 4WD Action Club'. There is a limit of persons/vehicles getting into the property this year, and is set at 250, only a few more than last year. With a bit more prep time and this membership system, we can make this work more smoothly, spend less time gaining access, and we can spend more time 4WDing.
Your membership options will be available for viewing on our own website at www.fnb4wd.com.au, and this extra page will be set up shortly for you, we just need a little more time. Note this is about making sure we can be better prepared and organized for this event and many other future events. Note this is a means of managing costs only, and ensuring our host receives some thank you for opening his gates to us.
Please be aware that the main road into the property WILL BE BLOCKED to all traffic until 1.00pm. People heading out early will not be able to drive to the gate until the Event Management Staff open the road, and you may be relegated to end of the convoy, so please do not head out too early. We will be leaving earlier at 1.00pm, allowing more time to get in and play on the Saturday.
Similar rules will be in place regarding care of the property, no rubbish, no butts out windows, orderly behaviour, etc. As a membership system is involved, persons doing the wrong thing will be ejected and their membership voided. See the rules at the website noted above.
So if you want to be part of the best 4WDing fun you can have, only a short drive from the city, and you can handle helping out with a few dollars to keep it happening, then jump on the website, claim your membership number, and register here by letting us know who you are and what your number is.
Only the first 250 full members will access the property for this event, so be quick!
Chris 
Last edited by toy yoda; 24-06-2010 at 09:18 PM..
|
|
|
18-06-2010
|
|
|
|
Note, this is the thread to share your thoughts on the club concept, events, ideas, and fees, and anything else regarding the event held from 1.00pm on the 2nd October.
The SA Mega Meet Up thread is still valid as a free social 4WDers get-together, and we are keeping it on track.
There has been much discussion already, and your comments are welcome.
Chris
Last edited by toy yoda; 24-06-2010 at 09:18 PM..
|
|
|
18-06-2010
|
|
|
|
Ill put up a trophy again this year.
|
|
|
18-06-2010
|
|
|
|
Good on you Tony, thanks mate.
We do still have the perpetual trophy on the counter here of course, with Matthews name on it, so I am sure there will be plenty of takers for the new trophy and to get their name on this one as well.
Thanks again for your support Tony. 
Chris
|
|
|
22-06-2010
|
|
|
|
Hey fellow forumites, got some more great news!!
Its is CONFIRMED!!
4WD Action will be at the SA Mega Meet Up #2, with all the bells and whistles.
And this time it is not just a photo shoot coordinated at the same time, but an actual FEATURE STORY shoot we have spent some time working on with the team at 4WDA HQ.
The team there really are a great bunch of dedicated 4WD enthusiasts, and have committed quite a number of pages to the event and participants, and DVD coverage as well.
Unfortunately Roothy can't make it as he is already booked way out into the future, but I'm sure we can find our own local 'character' to push in front of the lens !!
Anyway, this is probably the best news to date, as we have been putting ideas and plans together for a while, and this has made the effort worthwhile to have the team join us for all the great fun and social aspects this Mega Meet Up is all about.
I know a lot of guys really wantd to see something of it in the mag from last year, and there were a few tears shed when the disappointing news broke it wasn't being featured, this year there is absolutely no excuse for not giving the ol' wheel nuts a good ol' polishing.
Remember that Barra-2 was picked up at the first Mega Meet Up, when Matt the photographer spotted him on the flex ramp. So if you want to get your mug in the pages of 4WD Action, or at least your rig, then make sure you cancel all other appointments for the 2nd - 4th October 2010.
Don't forget that Simon at 4WDTV has already confirmed he will have his crew here too, so we are really stoked about the great support this event is gathering once again.
So there you have it.
4WD Action will be here !!
4WDTV will be here too !!
You bloody beauty !!!
|
|
|
22-06-2010
|
|
|
|
Thank you to the guys who have already confirmed they will be coming along to the SA Mega Meet Up #2, as well as the working bee next in July.
It is taking a little longer than hoped to get the web thing happening, as poor Brendan is pretty overloaded at present and just can't quite get it sorted. He has a huge workload, plus web stuff to do.
Sorry, but please be patient with us. It'll be worth it.
I will start putting up names on the front page again soon, but keep them coming in the meantime.
Also, Mark at Oriental has offered to help with some old bodies again for the Sledge-Hammer Smash, and being cooler should mean we get more participants. But aside from the Smash and the Flex-ramp, is there anything else you guys can think you'd enjoy seeing or getting involved in on the Saturday morning. It is a free social Meet Up and BBQ at our place in the morning, so if you have some fun ideas to share and we can do before heading off for the 4WDing, let us know.
Chris
|
|
|
23-06-2010
|
|
|
|
I'll be there too with the ROBSKI!!
|
|
23-06-2010
|
|
|
|
i dunno if ill make it to this one if the dates are right in my head its going to be a bit hard on the petty money pocket
will have to see whats going on
|
|
|
23-06-2010
|
|
|
|
membership
just read through the membership details and was wondering are these annual fees or just Joining fees?
if it's the latter it will be gold level all the way
|
|
|
23-06-2010
|
|
|
|
hopefully ill have the new rig up and running b4 then!! well gotta pick them up first!!
its a secret dont tell chris !!
|
24-06-2010
|
|
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by 75krusar
just read through the membership details and was wondering are these annual fees or just Joining fees?
if it's the latter it will be gold level all the way
|
It is obviously annually as it explains this on their page
(The FNB 4WD Action Club membership levels are limited to a maximum number each year as determined by the Executive at each AGM, and are explained as follows)
AGM Meaning (Annual General Meeting)
|
|
|
24-06-2010
|
|
|
|
Whoaaaa!!!!......club membership!
Ill be right thanks, im in ET 4wd Club, and i will probably get kicked out of this one for bein a hoon just like all the other boys in our club that tried to go elsewhere.
All the politics gives me the irrits. I did 6 years as a Senior Shop Steward, and got sick of AGM's and branch meetings, what a waste of breath and time!
Ill still help out if i can with the tree planting but i dont expect anything in return, the way i see it you scratch my back ill scratch yours.
Steve.
GQ Xtra Cab, 'Team Toxic', backed by Dobinsons Suspension, Sydney 02 4647 8295, Loveday 4x4 Adventures Ph 0418 839 787, Sharmans Engineering, Lightforce Performance Lighting, CW Crash, R&B Tiling Service's, APM Radiators, and also by my understanding wife! On DVD with issue 149
|
|
|
24-06-2010
|
|
|
|
Steve the club membership is essential for the insurance cover. As part of the association we get access to extremely good cover we could not otherwise pay for. I hate meetings as well, to me they are something you do if you have nothing else to do. Thats why this is structured somewhat differently to all other clubs.
IMPORTANT NOTE: As this is a club all financials are reportable to members. The money IS NOT going into FNB coffers. The club will have a dedicated bank account. Some of the gold membership fees go straight to Lovedays to cover Tony's costs. Some of the fees will go to Jason for allowing access. Only fair really. I wouldn't have a heap of total strangers in my house for free. Remaining fees will go towards improvements that will benefit all of us. A shed to use as a bar, temporary alcohol license, and on and on. Obviously there will be different things that different members would like to see available and there will be money for it. As part of the association the rules are we are not for profit. We cannot have large amounts of cash reserves at the end of the financial year, the money must be spent to benefit members.
Monthly reporting will still have to happen but I want it done by email and either you read it or delete it. Too easy!! We are aiming for this to be about the fun and not the politics.
|
|
|
24-06-2010
|
|
|
|
OK guys, obviously there is a bit of an issue raised here by two people regarding this whole event, so let me clear this up early.
Last year we put on a free BBQ, etc, and arranged the property access as a bonus, and everyone was happy. The Meet Up and BBQ is FREE again this year. Yes FREE, and only from great support from many individuals.
But what you didn't see last year is the huge costs we wore as a result of the property access, including air fares for the media to attend so it could be captured for you guys. We bought materials, I destroyed a tyre setting out the tracks, I used fuel running around like a mad rabbit organizing everything, and paid my staff to do many, many things you didn't even see, and the list goes on....
Now, everyone went "you beauty, a property close to Adelaide, we like that!". But it seems as soon as we say these costs should be shared and covered, and the owner of the property should receive something for opening his gates, the noise starts about fees.
Put yourselves in our shoes and that of the owner and ask yourself if you'd be happy to wear those costs. We are a business behind the scenes, but it is the 'created club' that is running and hosting this, and this needs funding by the very people who wish to enjoy the opportunity for a social weekend and 4WDing close to Adelaide. We are also getting support from our suppliers to assist and again reduce costs, but if only 10 people turn up then this will come to a screaming halt and we will not open the property up in future.
I hope for the benefit of the other hundreds of people who attended last year, that there is only a vocal minority against the concept of USER PAYS !
Of course the option is always there for those who don't agree to go and get themselves a million dollar mortgage and buy a large property to open freely to anyone with a 4WD. I reckon if you offer Tony at Loveday enough money he might arrange to sell to you, but I think you'll need more than a mill.
The 'club' is simply a 'vehicle' to allow this event and many others we have planned to run, as well as provide the insurance coverage that is an absolute necessity. There are no extra camp fees, or other charges. It is an annual fee, because the same costs keep arising each year. Planned events like Mud Runs, etc, will be a mere $10.00 entry for members for the whole weekend, but only to members, plus other events.
I guess those who see the benefits of being part of this club arrangement will subscribe to the idea, and get the benefits it offers. Those who object to USER PAYS will just have to watch.
Matthew, the figures are quite easy to disect and show where it goes in each level, including Gold where that extra $75 goes straight to Loveday to pay your entry to at least two events. The basic $55 does not get you access to the property included, only the Standard $75 membership offers that. Basic is for those who don't necessarily want to go to the property, but want to be part of this club arrangement, and pay as they go for different events. Most club memberships are more than that. Part of these fees goes to the property owner.
Steve, the whole idea of this club is to be ADMIN FREE for you guys. There will none of the normal dribble happening around a little room, but a system where you can nominate to join in events or not. Really clean and simply. But mate, if hooning and breaking rules that apply to the majority is an issue for you, then that's not something I can fix.
So in summary, yes there is a fee structure involved to give people choice, to join or not to join, and if joining 'what do I want from it?' If you object to USER PAYS that's fine, and I guess the outcome of this year's event will be the litmus test to see if we do it again or close the property access concept altogether.
Seeing subscriptions coming through already, I think that we will see some people enjoying what is on offer for years to come.
Yes the website access is now up and running for those who do wish to join in. Go to FNB4WD SUPPLIES: 08 8391 4594 and follow the links to the club info.
Chris
Last edited by FNB4WD; 24-06-2010 at 11:23 AM..
|
|
|
24-06-2010
|
|
|
|
OK, seeing as im getting double teamed here i will reply in sort.
I never said anywhere in my post that i wanted everything for nothing!.....if you read it again i said i am glad to help with the logistics, ie plant trees, build the shed etc, and i dont expect anything in return as the access i will have to the property will be enough for me at the time.
As for whether im a hoon....well i guess that is in the eye of the beholder, i like the challenge of wheeling, and i like to have a few cans and a payout session with the boys after. unfortunately that is usually not the 'excepted norm' for 99.9% of clubs
Our club is not a part of the association ( although we were courted by them with several 3 hour phone calls!!....sheesh) for the reason being as you should know now as your club will be registered with the association, is that they require appointed heads of the club ( presidents, vice president, treasurer etc) and that they all need to be in contact with the association on a monthly basis to foward minutes of there meeting to them so they now what the 'club' is doing.
Also ALL financial memebers are required to attend the AGM and the outcome of that meeting is also to be sent to the association. Now that to me sounds political!....alot of jawwing and stray CO2 thrown around to appease a greater god that really offers nothing in return.....and dont get me started on what the insurance dont cover!
In antisipation,
Steve.
GQ Xtra Cab, 'Team Toxic', backed by Dobinsons Suspension, Sydney 02 4647 8295, Loveday 4x4 Adventures Ph 0418 839 787, Sharmans Engineering, Lightforce Performance Lighting, CW Crash, R&B Tiling Service's, APM Radiators, and also by my understanding wife! On DVD with issue 149
|
|
|
24-06-2010
|
|
|
|
Matt & Steve, I don't have an issue with you raising your opinions as such, it probably helps answer some questions others may have had too but haven't submitted here.
We always knew there would be some who disagreed with paying access, whatever the level is. By asking lots of questions and thinking about the best outcome for everyone, this is the best solution we have come up with, but everything in life is always subject to change. I can assure you though that if there is not the numbers or funding to cover the insurance aspect, this whole thing will be closed down.
Matthew, the calculation is not that simple, and if you want to know how we came to the figures and concept, then I am more than happy to answer directly. But we didn't want this whole club concept, and forum discussion to become another thread with boring admin, figures, and so forth. That's why we have said from the start, no boring admin. PM if you need. And I understand your point on that too Steve. Lets keep it simple.
But the rates are the rates, and we can assess the ongoing years from here on in.
You are both welcome of course, but if you decide it's not for you, that's OK too. We'll no doubt stay in touch. But we do need to cover costs, especially an insurance cost factor as a club, ie shared.
I'm not going to expose myself, my wife, my own home, or our kind property host to the potential of a claim for which we have no coverage. We either have the funding to pay for it, and other activities, or we don't do it at all.
Chris
|
|
|
24-06-2010
|
|
|
|
Chris and Mrs FNB (sorry do not yet know your name)
You make some great valid points I do not have an issue with the membership costs but I just have to wait a little to build the old bank account up abit again as I have just bought another 4x4
ill be going for the standard (silver membership) as gold is a little out of my price range at the moment and I dont have any interest in going to loveday as yet
I do want to go to the working bee and lend a hand and to also check out this awsome property and it will also be great to spend the night aswell
Ive been a member of commodore clubs etc etc and ive seen it all the highs and lows of clubs and all these disputes come of no suprise to me I certainly hope we can keep this property up and running as its getting hard to even find a little entertainment out there now of course theres always beachport/robe id love to check that out oneday sounds fun and theres salt creek and all the crossings there to but with those you dont have the company etc unless you have a heap of mates which i lack due to coming from commodores into 4x4ing im hoping to build my friendship up with alot of the guys & girls from FNB as they sound like a great bunch of people so $75 for the year isnt asking a great deal
Anyway enough raving on from me cant wait till the working bee so I can meet some of you
Cheers Trev
|
|
|
24-06-2010
|
|
|
|
Trevor, that is a really nice post, and comforting to know there will be plenty of people such as yourself who are OK with the concept. As I said, it's not everyone's thing, but hopefully enough to keep it happening.
By the way, Mrs FNB is Tracey. She's the cranky one of the two of us...
Anyway, some of the things we will be adding into the activity calendar will be other trips, be it mud runs on this property, and other trips around the countryside, plus training opportunities too. Some will attract a fee, some won't.
Things like the working-bee help will be be greatly appreicated and we will offer our thanks by way of fee reductions or fee elimination to some events as they come on line. It will be a two way street as such.
I'll put your name on the working bee list, and I look forward to catching up soon.
Chris
|
|
|
24-06-2010
|
|
|
|
cmon guys lets be fair here we all whinge about track closures and roads being churned up and less places to go wheeling someone opens up a property closer than driving 2-3 hours from adelaide that can be acessed and all we do is shoot the poor bugger down ! last years mega meet was a huge sucsess and there was obviously a lot behind the secenes that most people dont know about costs involved and especially with insurance these days im sure its not cheap maybe tony could tell us i bet he pays a fortuane to run that place !
so please lets not make a huge bum fight over a great time to be had !
i would gladly pay the 150 to enter the place and its not only once a year i phoned up and asked the questions before i killed the messenger !
yes fair enough theres entry to loveday i only get up there twice a year as some of us cant afford to drive a long distance to have some cheap fun.
my 2 cents worth please dont shoot the messanger
|
|
|
24-06-2010
|
|
|
|
I will gladly pay a memebership if it means having somewhere close to Adelaide to go for a bit of fun. Dont know how much I spend a year on fuel driving long distances just to find somewhere to get the 4by dirty but I suspect it would be more than 50-75 bucks. See you at the working bee.
|
|
|
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|