PDA

View Full Version : Air tank Question

80Cruiser
08-09-2004, 09:33 AM
Hi Guys,

Iwas wanting to put an air tank in to allow for quick tyre inflation, and air equippment, but my question is what size tank i would need, was looking at a 20 lt tank, but is it better to have continuous air, and smaller tanks or would this be enough, i have plenty of room under car..

Maka

08-09-2004, 10:01 AM
i would say if you can fit a 20lt tank, go for it, a good place to source them is truck wrecking yards, a mate of mine got one for about $1oo

80Cruiser
08-09-2004, 10:32 AM
i would say if you can fit a 20lt tank, go for it, a good place to source them is truck wrecking yards, a mate of mine got one for about $1oo

I thank you for your reply, my concern was that would my compreeor keep up if i had a great tank, or would it be running flat out, my comp runs at 37 litres a min and 150 psi, just dont want to spend money if it wont work properly.

Maka

08-09-2004, 10:38 AM

I thank you for your reply, my concern was that would my compreeor keep up if i had a great tank, or would it be running flat out, my comp runs at 37 litres a min and 150 psi, just dont want to spend money if it wont work properly.

Maka
not sure i can answer that one, but if i had a 20 lt tank i would charge it up either at the servo or with the 240 volt compressor at home, then just top it up with the little compressor while your out and about, the truck tanks come in varous sizes too

HDJ105
08-09-2004, 11:23 AM
Hi Guys,

Iwas wanting to put an air tank in to allow for quick tyre inflation, and air equippment, but my question is what size tank i would need, was looking at a 20 lt tank, but is it better to have continuous air, and smaller tanks or would this be enough, i have plenty of room under car..

Maka

A 20lt tank is quite large - where do you expect it to fit?

Don't forget that although the tank helps tyre inflation initially (particularly when seating beads), if the compressor flow capacity is less than the speed at which you can inflate a tyre, once the air reserve is depleted you'll still be running off the compressor anyhow.

baby_troupe
08-09-2004, 12:02 PM
Personally I would run about a 2l tank which is what I am looking to install after I pick up my new compressor & hopefully before the locker is installed.
That will give me a little air to quickly inflate a tyre if needed, but I know to air up all of them, it will be running on the compressor for some of it. (but at least between tyres, the tank will be able to partly replenish).
I haven't decided whare I will get the tank from, but have looked at some of the cheap compressors thinking of buying one & chucking out the compressor part & keeping the tank (one in BigW for $68 last weekend). I have a section under the rear of my vehicle where this tank will fit too, just need to work out if it is safe enough (seems a little thin)

80Cruiser
08-09-2004, 12:09 PM
If you want a 2l tank you can grab 2 one litre from ARB for about 50each, and as far as where to mount a big tank i have a great void under where my spare wheel used to be..

HDJ105
08-09-2004, 12:40 PM
If you want a 2l tank you can grab 2 one litre from ARB for about 50each, and as far as where to mount a big tank i have a great void under where my spare wheel used to be..

Well I have my side steps set up as air tanks, approx. 7.5 litres IIRC. With my twin head blue tongue running it will maintain about 50 - 60psi in the tanks while pumping up the tyres.

The benefit of the tank setup is that the compressor runs on the ARB pressure switch, so when you remove the chuck from the tyre, the air is not wasted before you connect the next tyre to inflate.

Thommo the Hut
08-09-2004, 02:31 PM
hi

i am using an old 9Ltr water fire extinguisher, there made to hold upto 2000Kpa (but not a good idea),
they hold 150psi no worries, the ones with the rubber foot are the best, because you can take it off and it looks like a air tank, price $000.00
most fire brigades have old ones if not you can buy a new one for $60

Thommo

08-09-2004, 03:03 PM
Personally I would run about a 2l tank which is what I am looking to install after I pick up my new compressor & hopefully before the locker is installed.
That will give me a little air to quickly inflate a tyre if needed, but I know to air up all of them, it will be running on the compressor for some of it. (but at least between tyres, the tank will be able to partly replenish).
I haven't decided whare I will get the tank from, but have looked at some of the cheap compressors thinking of buying one & chucking out the compressor part & keeping the tank (one in BigW for $68 last weekend). I have a section under the rear of my vehicle where this tank will fit too, just need to work out if it is safe enough (seems a little thin)
2litres hardly seems worth the effort of fitting it, be good for running airlockers, but wouldnt be worth having for tyres i reckon.

FREAK
09-09-2004, 09:22 AM
hi

i am using an old 9Ltr water fire extinguisher, there made to hold upto 2000Kpa (but not a good idea),
they hold 150psi no worries, the ones with the rubber foot are the best, because you can take it off and it looks like a air tank, price $000.00
most fire brigades have old ones if not you can buy a new one for $60

Thommo

Yeah i have heard of that being done before Thommo i guess it's not a bad idea seeing as though you can get them free. What i don't like about it though is they only have one inlet/outlet, and although that can be easily overcome with a tee piece fittting they still have no low point drain fitted, so you will get a build up of moisture/water inside it.

They may be pressure rated up to 2000kPa but if you modify it yourself eg. cutting and welding new sockets etc. you have compromised that pressure rating anyway. but all the best to ya anyway dude. ;)

I did the same as madnesses mate and just went to a truck wreckers, $40 later i walked out with a good size bottle with brackets, mounting bolts, 2 outlet points and a drain cock all still attached, all this and a very friendly 5-6ltr capacity, now i just need to find the time to mount it and hook everything up in series to complete my air system.

Just Cruizin
09-09-2004, 04:59 PM
Air Tanks are a great idea, your compressor can run on and fill your tank untill the pressure switch cuts it out. The ARB units take about 30 sec or so to fill their 1Lt (I think) tank from their standard start pressure of about 70psi up to 100psi, so to fill a 5 Lt tank will tank about 3 min. If the compressor duty can run for this long at high pressure without burning out there are no probs.

Although I have seen it done I wouldn't pressurise my steps or roll bar, they're not designed to be pressure vessels and although the pressures aren't that high it could prove dangerous if they let go

Thommo the Hut
10-09-2004, 11:32 AM
from Freak
What i don't like about it though is they only have one inlet/outlet, and although that can be easily overcome with a tee piece fittting they still have no low point drain fitted, so you will get a build up of moisture/water inside it.

if you have a look at most fire extinguishers they have 4 in/outlets , one for recharging, pressure gauge, outlet for the water and where the pin to fire the extinguisher used to be, only small mods are needed to plumb it in.
as for draining it if you put in a low point in at the ends it usually doesnt effect pressure rating that much as i got mine re tested after mods. it's still good for a working pressure of 150psi and most compressors don't like maintaing that pressure anyway.

FREAK
10-09-2004, 03:36 PM
Fair enough dude, i stand corrected ;) more power to ya brother and like you said it was a freebie so it's all good hey ;D

I agree with you on the pressure issue if it's done by someone who's competent with a welder. It's just something i'm very cautious about, have seen some nasty accidents involving pressure equipment :-\

Thommo the Hut
11-09-2004, 05:21 PM
yeah i was a bit uneasy about the whole thing untill it was tested ..