View Full Version : my toy. MQ V8, SOLD
nischev
07-09-2004, 11:00 PM
Got a bit bored tonite so thought i mite show a few pics of my toy in various stages of its build ;D ;D ;D
It is a MQ patrol with 327chev and custom paint,mild suspension lift and 2"bodylift.
Getting prepped for painting
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album242/aaa.jpg
The engine going in
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album242/aab.jpg
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album242/aac.jpg
The engine in and mounted
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album242/aaf.jpg
plenty of room there for a bigger engine or a blower on top ;D
The first paint job
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album242/aad.jpg
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album242/aae.jpg
And the first build complete
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album242/aag.jpg
Phat Mav
07-09-2004, 11:03 PM
those are some "incredible" pictures you got nischev...
Patrick
taziiy
07-09-2004, 11:04 PM
nice very nice :D
nischev
07-09-2004, 11:04 PM
And this is the current paintwork
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album242/aah.jpg
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album242/aai.jpg
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/stuartmcbride/aaa.sized.jpg
nice pics, when are fitting the blower
nischev
07-09-2004, 11:05 PM
Will get some of it with its custom bars oneday as well ::) :-\
Just gotta think of it during daylight hours :P
taziiy
07-09-2004, 11:07 PM
i thought the front was blue but i couldnt remeber looks even better do u do your own air brush work
nischev
07-09-2004, 11:08 PM
nice pics, when are fitting the blower
Blower aint nothin but a dream at the moment. :'(
But do have a few things to do to it to get it more competitive for the mud drags at roverpark next year ;D ;D ;D 8)
nischev
07-09-2004, 11:12 PM
i thought the front was blue but i couldnt remeber looks even better do u do your own air brush work
My brother does the airbrushing. He has recently started his own business so if anyone wants their vehicle to stand out from the crowd it is the way to do it.
Just gotta watch out for the looneys that stare at the paint instead of watching the road and drive where their eyes are looking ::) ::)(minor complication) and not get paranoid about people looking at you :P ;D
Reddo
07-09-2004, 11:20 PM
Top work mate, its looking the goods ;D
Your Bro has tallant 8)
taziiy
07-09-2004, 11:21 PM
Driving a high rise truck with big tyres gets people looking anyway
GQtray
07-09-2004, 11:21 PM
looks good,i'd be too worried about scratching it by taking it in the scrub :D
nischev
07-09-2004, 11:33 PM
Dont worry it gets used not worried about scratches cause i know someone who can do the touchups for me ;) 8)
taziiy
07-09-2004, 11:34 PM
ahhhhh isnt family great ;)
Phat Mav
07-09-2004, 11:37 PM
My brother does the airbrushing. He has recently started his own business so if anyone wants their vehicle to stand out from the crowd it is the way to do it.
Just gotta watch out for the looneys that stare at the paint instead of watching the road and drive where their eyes are looking ::) ::)(minor complication) and not get paranoid about people looking at you :P ;D
I wish I knew that before I drove thru Tamworth last month... ::)
Patrick
nischev
07-09-2004, 11:41 PM
I wish I knew that before I drove thru Tamworth last month... ::)
Patrick
If i had known you were coming through town i would have given you my no. and invited you round for a cuppa. Maybe if you come through again :-\
If anyone is coming through tamworth let me know and i will put the kettle on always keen to meet new people :D :D
Phat Mav
07-09-2004, 11:46 PM
LOL- Thanks ;D
Patrick
That artwork looks much better close up too.......... photos don't really do it justice.
Twisty
08-09-2004, 07:31 AM
That's awesome Nischev, might have to tee up your bro to do some handy work on the missus's lowlux??
What kind of $$$ does it cost to get something like yours?? or even just some flames??
Snofox
08-09-2004, 09:55 AM
Yeah lets get some prices organised.
What would your bro charge for a Bonnet ONLY job for my Hilux??
2 BRUTAL
08-09-2004, 12:18 PM
it does look good in the flesh,
if i had a paint job like that on mine it would only last 5 minutes and be wrecked.
don't think i'll get to see it again for a while though nischev. :D
he will be able to advertise prices a bit more soon ;D Am looking to get some artwork on the Deo in return for a decent sort of web site to advertise his work :)
4WRNING
08-09-2004, 10:01 PM
Hey ya nischev...
Any more details on the suspension set up of your beast?
eg, height (front/rear), type of springs, ride quatlity...
Any more details about other mods, how hard it was to kit out, reliability, $$$ of mods, etc cuz that is one fine looking mq...
Lee
Dont worry it gets used not worried about scratches cause i know someone who can do the touchups for me ;) 8)
I met Stu on the way to Rover park for the forum meeting and asked exactly the same question. Stu doesn't let the paintwork bother him, he knows that it can be fixed ;D
nischev
09-09-2004, 10:14 AM
Prices are a bit hard to quote as a general thing i will put up some details in the trader section of the forum and you can give him a call and work out what you want and get prices from there.
nischev
09-09-2004, 10:24 AM
Hey ya nischev...
Any more details on the suspension set up of your beast?
eg, height (front/rear), type of springs, ride quatlity...
Any more details about other mods, how hard it was to kit out, reliability, $$$ of mods, etc cuz that is one fine looking mq...
Lee
Suspension is whatever leaves were in it when i got the vehicle with a few tweaks. I had new main leaves made for the front springs that were 1 1/2" longer and the diff locator moved forward about 3/4" for tyre clearance on the gaurds then the springs reset and made 2" extended shackles. The rear springs are still the same except running 4 leaves but i am going to get longer main leaves made for the rear and do extended shackles as well as this gives heaps more travel. It rides really well for a SWB leaf sprung vehicle. Just got to get around to making my new shock mounts because that is what is limiting my travel at the moment.
Other mods are 2" body lift which i did for bout $100 and the V8 conversion which cost me about $1000 plus the engine.
It is running on straight gas so hills and stuff dont worry it at all.
That is all i can think of at the moment let me knoe if you want anymore details.
Snofox
10-09-2004, 10:21 AM
Prices are a bit hard to quote as a general thing i will put up some details in the trader section of the forum and you can give him a call and work out what you want and get prices from there.
No worries!
nischev
05-02-2005, 07:27 PM
Ok well i have been busy on the truck lately and slack on the puter so here is a list of what has been done in the last couple of months.
Went to get the heads rebuilt and one was cracked so ended up having to get 2 new heads.
Got the new second hand gas system in and sorted.
Got the new electronic ignition system in and sorted.
Replaced both rear wheel bearings which ended up involving new hubs aswell and noticed the rear brakes were nearly stuffed so new wheelcylinders and shoes fitted and the drums machined then got the brake booster rebuilt aswell as it was nearly dead.
Awesome truck mate nice pics of the rebuild aswell
nischev
05-02-2005, 07:32 PM
After all that and the hassles i was having getting some of the stuff sorted i decided i needed something to run round on so I take my time with the truck and finish doing it properly. Off to sydney I went and bought myself a bike ;D ;D 8)
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/tartin/aaj.sized.jpg
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/tartin/aak.sized.jpg
Not the best pics but they will do.
nischev
05-02-2005, 07:35 PM
And while I have been trying to sort out an adapter for my auto since i killed the clutch I decided to turn it into a ute aswell. The finished product will be fibreglass and a few slight differences in the shape of the window and stuff.
The rear window will be steel mesh with a clipon cover 8)
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/tartin/aag.sized.jpg
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/tartin/aah.sized.jpg
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/tartin/aai.sized.jpg
And one of the front cause i love the look of the spotties cut into the grill and the twin snorkels ;D ;D ::)
Umm dont mean to be piccy but could you please take some day time pics ::)
nischev
05-02-2005, 08:37 PM
I would but I always forget until the end of the day :-[
Will try and get some during the week as i have a few things to try with the suspension and will be stuffing round with it.
Danger D
05-02-2005, 08:48 PM
do you live on the sunshine coast?
nischev
05-02-2005, 08:53 PM
do you live on the sunshine coast?
I wish.
Na live down in Tamworth n.s.w. Why that
Wilesy
05-02-2005, 09:10 PM
I am impressed 8)
2 BRUTAL
05-02-2005, 10:30 PM
I'll be down when you've finished and you can enclose the back of mine for me as well. :D I even had to take the roof lights off mine to get it out of the weather.
looking good. ;D
Have you had a chance to see how the electronic ignition goes yet, i just finished putting a setup in mine today, and with new plugs and fuel filters it's made a big difference with the standard motor, hope it comes together for you mate so you can get back on the road. :D
Noice there brova!!! ;D
A turbo on that motor :o :o :o do you really need that power?
Nice bike too, is it a TE 410?
GUHOON
06-02-2005, 12:51 AM
A Patrol with a chev , what more could you want. And that Airbrush work is brilliant- your brother did a great job.
My aunty and uncle just moved up to tamworth so i might be going up for a visit later in the year. Might see you getting around :)
nischev
06-02-2005, 10:25 AM
I'll be down when you've finished and you can enclose the back of mine for me as well. :D I even had to take the roof lights off mine to get it out of the weather.
looking good. ;D
Have you had a chance to see how the electronic ignition goes yet, i just finished putting a setup in mine today, and with new plugs and fuel filters it's made a big difference with the standard motor, hope it comes together for you mate so you can get back on the road. :D
If you want when i put it in to get fibreglassed i can see how much it would be to get a mould taken of the back and get one made for you.
Yeh tryed the elctronic ignition it is great. I think that was what ended my clutch for me the extra power i have from the new gas system and ignition. Now when i give it a bootfull the engine revs and you get no extra movement. But can drive it just have to take it real steady.
nischev
06-02-2005, 10:26 AM
Noice there brova!!! ;D
A turbo on that motor :o :o :o do you really need that power?
Nice bike too, is it a TE 410?
Can never have too much power ;D ;D ;D
Yep is a TE410
nischev
06-02-2005, 10:27 AM
A Patrol with a chev , what more could you want. And that Airbrush work is brilliant- your brother did a great job.
My aunty and uncle just moved up to tamworth so i might be going up for a visit later in the year. Might see you getting around :)
Let me know when you are coming up and we might be able to organise a run or something.
2 BRUTAL
06-02-2005, 11:37 AM
what have you made the template out of. ply by the looks of it is it.
how much are they charging to make the fibreglass rear wall for it, have you priced what it will cost yet,
I've been seriously considering chopping the rear off mine and making coil rear and shorten the chassis about 15" and make a real short custom tray, but i dont have the time right now.
nischev
06-02-2005, 08:58 PM
how much are they charging to make the fibreglass rear wall for it, have you priced what it will cost yet,
I've been seriously considering chopping the rear off mine and making coil rear and shorten the chassis about 15" and make a real short custom tray, but i dont have the time right now.
Havnt had a quote yet but should have it in getting done on wednsday so hopefully be able to let you know then. It is made of craftwood and part of an old canopy.
You would be better off moving your diff back and extending your wheelbase than cutting the chassis as extending it will increase stability and it would still be a real short tray. Also probably better off chasing up a ute cab rather than cutting the back off as it would be a lot less work. Just get a bare cab and fit your panels and interior.
2 BRUTAL
06-02-2005, 10:30 PM
i've thought of that about getting a ute cab, but it is near impossible to get a ute cab in fair cindition, like swb cabs they rust out and there aren't a lot of utes getting wrecked. would be a lot easier as you said but by the time i bought 1 repainted it and did rust repair i'd have the other 1 cut up, yer i'll prolly lengthen the wheel base a bit more for stability. will be a lot better with rear coils, my front travels heaps more than the rear.
GUHOON
06-02-2005, 10:50 PM
Let me know when you are coming up and we might be able to organise a run or something.
Yeah no worries i'll let you know :)
nischev
08-02-2005, 09:52 AM
Put it in to get glassed today. Wont be done till probably middle of march as they are busy so I sid they can have it til then as my truck wont be real mobile until then as I am going to perth for the first couple of weeks of march. Said it would probably be around the $150-200 mark which I thought was resonable. Not economically viabl to take a mould off it to make one but if you still have your old canopy and want to cut the front off it i would be able to do the rest for you if you wanted to go that way.
2 BRUTAL
08-02-2005, 10:07 AM
i've been looking at mine and if i was to do like you've done i'd have to do away with my rear roll cage, I need to get an internal roll cage made so not sure if i still need to keep the rear 1,
I still have my old canopy so I might look into it, let me know how it goes when it's finished. :D
Muzza
08-02-2005, 12:57 PM
Looking good Stu,
Hope alls goin well for ya up in the bush mate ;D
Muzza
Danger D
08-02-2005, 06:50 PM
just thought i had seen your truck at the sunny coast thats all. ;D nice ride!
nischev
06-04-2005, 11:15 AM
Ok a bit of an update on my nightmare. :o :o
I killed the clutch so decided it was time to put the auto in. Sounds simple enough buy an adapter fit it between the auto and transfer case and throw it all back together. Well the gearbox/transfercase combo is now 300mm longer than it was with the auto :o. Being a shortwheelbase there is no way I can just add that all to the back so decided to move the engine forward 100mm using modified mounts between the block and rubbermounts. Wrong doing that had the exhaust manifolds pointing straight at the mounts on the chassis. Old mounts cut off chassis and moved forward too easy. Transfer mounts cut off chassis and moved back lifting the engine gearbox etc 50mm while I am going as I have no plans to remove the body lift. Next problem due to the transfer being so far back I now have to move the crossmember from under the gearbox back as the front driveshaft sat on it in the normal resting position so you can imagine what will happen if i started driving it. I am just really glad I have a mate who is a qualified welder as it will make reengineering it a lot easier.
nischev
06-04-2005, 11:19 AM
A few pics as it is at the moment.
The missing crssmember and empty engine bay.
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album242/aaj.sized.jpg
The mounts relocated
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album242/aak.sized.jpg
The adapter mounted to transfer
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album242/aan.sized.jpg
nischev
06-04-2005, 11:22 AM
Showing off the half made new back for it
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album242/aao.sized.jpg
And another
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album242/aaq.sized.jpg
And one for those that wanted to see it front on in daylight.
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album242/aap.sized.jpg
2 BRUTAL
06-04-2005, 03:57 PM
Hey Stuart looking good. I cut that front cross member out of mine and never replaced it as it hangs so low, we also lifted our motor, g/box and t/fer 50mm up into the chassis so we pretty much have a flat under body now.
A mate on mine has an MQ shorty running a SOA, 37" wranglers, front and rear air lockers, and a ZF fairlane motor and he's had his cross member out for about 2 years and never had any drama's with the chassis. ;)
nischev
06-04-2005, 04:01 PM
Hey Stuart looking good. I cut that front cross member out of mine and never replaced it as it hangs so low, we also lifted our motor, g/box and t/fer 50mm up into the chassis so we pretty much have a flat under body now.
A mate on mine has an MQ shorty running a SOA, 37" wranglers, front and rear air lockers, and a ZF fairlane motor and he's had his cross member out for about 2 years and never had any drama's with the chassis. ;)
Yeh I thought about leaving it out but decided to make a pipe one and put it in. Should keep the engineer happy then (I hope).
getting there slowly Stu...... will be a weapon when it's done :) poke yer old wheels on it and we'll try the 33's on the Deo when i come up on the weekend..... i won't be getting it retuned, not time to organise it while the wife is at Armidale. Might come up Sunday after my 4wd club meeting.
nischev
20-04-2005, 06:01 PM
Ok a bit more of an update.
Got the new mounts welded in and the new crossmember made. The new crossmember bolts on where the bashplate does which saves welding and also makes it a lot easier to get the gearbox and transfer in and out.
Was having a bit of trouble getting the engine to run due to the gas system playing up. While winding it over to try and sort it out the new ignition module decided to go up in a puff of smoke. Not sure but swear this thing is trying to send me either totaly mad or broke.
The auto is in getting rebuilt and the tailshaft is getting shortened at the moment.
Got hold of another factory battery tray aswell and fitted that which tidies the bay up a bit.
The engine in its new position.
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album242/aar.sized.jpg
The auto cooler fitted.
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album242/aas.sized.jpg
Also got a new tacho from the wife for our anniversary so it is now fitted in the dash where the factory clock was. Mat also decided to paint the dash while it was out, he was bored I think. Looks real flash now.
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album242/aat.sized.jpg
gettin there Stu...... shame it's taking longer than you wanted...... must be hangin to get it going again!! when ya get it goin, i'll rock up and we can go to Warabah for a day or two :)
nischev
20-04-2005, 06:55 PM
gettin there Stu...... shame it's taking longer than you wanted...... must be hangin to get it going again!! when ya get it goin, i'll rock up and we can go to Warabah for a day or two :)
Warabah sounds good. Need a couple of days away.
2 BRUTAL
20-04-2005, 08:07 PM
looking good mate, just remember all good things take time, this is what I keep saying to myself.
taziiy
20-04-2005, 09:56 PM
looking awsome stu
nischev
22-04-2005, 06:56 PM
Got my auto back from getting rebuilt last nite and my rear driveshaft back today. Also got my new carpet from 2brutal today (thanks mate). Mat is picking up my new ignition module in sydney and bringing it up with him on sunday. Over the weekend i will start putting my interior together then on monday and tuesday will get serious about putting the rest together (no more problems please).
Hopefully tuesday arvo will be able to take it for a drive nd try it out a bit (2wd only).
Going to chase up a rear driveshaft from a long wheelbase to get shortened for the front which will get rid of my dodgy cardon job and be cheaper than getting the existing shaft extended.
I will try and remember to take some pics to post up.
nischev
18-05-2005, 08:01 PM
Well my truck is finlly back on the road. It is only 2wd at the moment while I recoup ome finances to get a new front driveshaft made and sort out some sort of transfer lever setup.
Had to get a complete new exhaust made as the old one wouldnt fit anymore so got a twin system made. It is a lot quieter at idle ( can hardly hear it) but once you get up in revs sounds real sweet.
Still also have to mount the front ga tank again but just kicking back enjoying driving it for a while.
Got the gas system and ignition sorted and I am really happy with the way it goes, just gotta get some more weight in the rear end as moving the engine forward and the extra grunt makes it wag its tail a bit too much.
Will get some pics in the next couple of days.
crack
18-05-2005, 08:34 PM
looking good there sweet ride!! looks like alot of fun and is going to be a very nice car once done. il read wat youve written lata when i have some time. keep it up!
jack
nice truck mate love the airbrush work
good stuff Stu 8) I am trying my hardest to get up there one day before Rover park.......
nischev
21-05-2005, 09:31 AM
Just took my truck out and flexed it up to try and work out what I am gona do for shocks as the ones I have at the moment are too short. Only problem being that without front drive and no weight in the rear it wouldnt push the suspension to its limits as I know it will go further than this. Just have to wait till I get a front drive shaft sorted I guess :-\
Took some pics anyway.
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album57/aai.sized.jpg
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album57/aah.sized.jpg
If you have a close look you can see that the shackle on the front is still only straight up and down, hasnt pulled back yet which shows how much I should be able to achieve.
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album57/aag.sized.jpg
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album57/aaf.sized.jpg
Looks good mate!! ya should bring it down for a drive tomorrow and bring the missus down for the picnic by the lake.. great day!! very relaxing.
2 BRUTAL
21-05-2005, 10:19 AM
looking good mate, hows the interior coming along
taziiy
21-05-2005, 10:20 AM
how is it all going nearlly all done looking great so far
nischev
21-05-2005, 04:04 PM
Looks good mate!! ya should bring it down for a drive tomorrow and bring the missus down for the picnic by the lake.. great day!! very relaxing.
Mate I would but I have to work. Plus the other half cant get in it at the moment (not without a stepladder anyway) ;)
nischev
21-05-2005, 04:06 PM
Interior is getting there. Got the new carpets in and dash all back together. Have to cover the new doortrims I made as well as the new dashpod I made that holds the stereo and uhf.
Will try and remember to take a couple of pics tomorrow.
nischev
21-05-2005, 04:09 PM
how is it all going nearlly all done looking great so far
I wish it was nearly all done but still have a bit of work to do to the suspension and interior and will have to replace most of the steering joints soon.
Once everything else is sorted I might even look at getting a new paintjob done something different. ::) ::)
nischev
22-05-2005, 03:15 PM
Interior is getting there. Got the new carpets in and dash all back together. Have to cover the new doortrims I made as well as the new dashpod I made that holds the stereo and uhf.
Will try and remember to take a couple of pics tomorrow.
A couple of pics of the interior.
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album242/aau.sized.jpg
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album242/aav.sized.jpg
Still have to chase up a new passengers seat which is a hassle as they no longer make the seats in the same colour which is a shame as the colour suits the rest of the interior perfectly. Have to keep an eye out for a second hand one in the same colour or get one and get it recovered. The new carpets look great just have to get a hairdryer to it in a few places that dont quite sit right.
slowlux
23-05-2005, 12:07 PM
Lookin pretty good chief :D
I love the airbrush work!
nischev
05-06-2005, 08:39 PM
Here is a pic of the auto,adapter,transfer all together if anyone is interested.
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album242/aaw.sized.jpg
BLU-125
05-06-2005, 08:42 PM
Great to see some progress, Stu.....
Will be a weapon when you finish. ;D
nischev
05-06-2005, 09:00 PM
Will be a weapon when you finish. ;D
Thats the plan just wish it would happen sooner.
BLU-125
05-06-2005, 10:11 PM
Well, you keep getting sidetracked ::) bloody Land Rovers!
nischev
05-06-2005, 10:21 PM
Well, you keep getting sidetracked ::) bloody Land Rovers!
But the best part is the landy dont use my money :-X ;D ;)
A bonnet for a Hilux sounds like afair deal to me!!! ;)
Screwy_screwball
15-06-2005, 07:21 PM
very nice paint work mate, seen a coupla pics of this on outers, nice to see a build up ;D
interior looks great mate.
i like how you have done the guage surround etc.
nischev
22-06-2005, 06:38 PM
Been doing a bit of the fiddly stuff lately which takes a heap of time but doesnt show much ::)
Got the drivers side door trim covered (still gotta do the passengers side)
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album242/abe.sized.jpg
Got my second gas tank back in which gives me 140l of gas which is enough for about 500ks. As you can see in the pics it is a nice tight fit which was fun working out the mounts as it had to be moved because of the extra length of the auto.
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album242/abf.sized.jpg
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album242/abg.sized.jpg
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album242/abh.sized.jpg
Also got my new aircleaner on but am eventually going to get longer pipes and turn it around so the pipes join on at the back. Also in the process of modifying the top of the aircleaner so it can sit down properly as it hits the top of the throttle body at the moment.
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album242/abd.sized.jpg
lookin pretty darn good stu!! ;D
nischev
22-06-2005, 06:52 PM
Just thought I would throw in a pic from the muddrags at roverpark last year cause i reckon it is pretty impressive the way it is launching 8) 8) 8) :P
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album242/abi.jpg
Screwy_screwball
22-06-2005, 08:47 PM
is that aircleaner water tight? i.e can u run a snorkel off those pipes and not worry about the motor drowning?
screwy
nischev
22-06-2005, 08:52 PM
It will be once I modify the top of it so that it sits down properly and not on the top of the gas throttle body.It even has a rubber seal on the edge of the lid
Screwy_screwball
22-06-2005, 09:51 PM
It will be once I modify the top of it so that it sits down properly and not on the top of the gas throttle body.It even has a rubber seal on the edge of the lid
nice ;D
2 BRUTAL
23-06-2005, 08:02 AM
still going strong mate, I wish I had more time for mine, it is coming together nicely for you.
nischev
24-06-2005, 09:35 PM
Took a mate up to Armidale airport yesterday as its cheaper to drive to armidale and back and fly to sydney than it is from tamworth :-\. Anyway got up there and the truck was running really well, went to park in the carpark at the airport and the powersteering suddenly got really heavy then smoke started going everywhere :'(. Got out to have a look and had snow starting to fall on us (I really hate the cold). Turns out it blew the pressure hose and ofcourse I didnt have any tools with me for the first time. Did the run around Armidale trying to find a short fanbelt so I could bypass the powersteer pump but no luck so had to drive home as it was so will have to pull the pump down to check there is no damage in there aswell.
Today pulled the powersteer out chucked it in the corner for another day, put the old manual steer back in and as I went to remove the filler/breather bung the top came off leaving the threaded part in the box. Got the rest of the bung out and ended up getting another type of bung that will do the job.
Thats todays dramas sorted so hopefully that will be all for now.
No pics because I'm sure everyone knows what a steering box looks like :-* :P
Dude, I'm a Toyo fan but hell that thing is fully sic mate, bloody good work and i love the paintwork, should invest in a set of chromies to compliment the paint job.
it looks better in real life :) it's a very nice ride.
nischev
26-06-2005, 10:29 PM
Thanks. Eventually I want to get a nice set of alloy rims for it but that will have to wait awhile unfortunatly.
FLATNACKER
26-05-2006, 06:37 PM
mate, get that airbrushing sprayed with a 2 pac clear
---SAM-Z-NAVARA---
26-05-2006, 07:41 PM
gee thats neat as :o, well done ;) ;)
nischev
11-07-2006, 07:50 PM
Thanks but the sad part is it is now sold :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( due to me being unable to keep spending money on it and not being happy to keep it how it was so will just have to sneak in a few mods on the wifes GQ on day. ;) ;D
If anyone wants to buy the rear wall I had made I still have it and it will sell for less than it cost me to get fibreglassed.