View Full Version : Winch points on ARB deluxe bar
GU on the way
06-09-2004, 12:49 PM
I was trying out the new winch and had got set up using a snatch block. Other than the recovery hook on the GU I couldnt find an obvious point on the the ARB deluxe bar to hook to after going through the snatch block and back to the bar. This is the new deluxe style bar with the reinforced jacking points. Is there a special point on the bar can anyone tell me or could I hook back to the recovery hook on the truck??? Thought I'd ask a dumb question here before I ask ARB :) :)
Bundy
06-09-2004, 01:43 PM
I too have an ARB bar but I have mounted my own points in (old chassis point) see pic in red
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/bundymonkey/aar.sized.jpg
cuttin loose
06-09-2004, 02:21 PM
in the patrols, you've got the chassis hook on the left hand side....
you're best bet is to get another one of those for the right hand side....
using the points on the ARB bar are not exactly advisable...
2 BRUTAL
06-09-2004, 03:13 PM
as lachie said get a point on the other side and use an equalizer strap between the 2 so you have equal pull on your chassis, other wise you may warp the chassis.
GU on the way
06-09-2004, 04:22 PM
as lachie said get a point on the other side and use an equalizer strap between the 2 so you have equal pull on your chassis, other wise you may warp the chassis.
Thanks brutal.... is there a strap on the market for this purpose?
cuttin loose
06-09-2004, 04:55 PM
Thanks brutal.... is there a strap on the market for this purpose?
best bet is to use a drag chain for single line pulls...or use 2 shackles and 2 pulleys for a double line pull without any dramas...
there are heaps more options with having the second hook there for recoveries... ;D ;D ;D
FREAK
07-09-2004, 06:37 AM
Gday goldy, i have the ARB deluxe winch bar fitted to my Navara as well. I don't know why they didn't just copy the same design in larger proportions because on mine, as well as having the built in reinforced jacking points, it also has 2 reinforced eyelets built in situated just below the roller guides for the winch cable ???
I not underconstamble, but anyway you have had some good advice from Lachie and Brutal so i guess you will figure it all out mate ;)
The other option you have instead of a chain or a strap is a wire sling.
Tumbo
07-09-2004, 03:09 PM
Like FREAK I also have the eyelets on the ARB winch bar on my cruiser - was told that they are fine for recoveries (though I also have a second set of rated points below the bar).
turps
07-09-2004, 05:18 PM
On most ARB bars there are to eyelets on the lower portion of the bar in-line with the chassi rails. These are only meant for winching, not for snatch recoverys. I have seen them used with the winch hooks straight on with out an equaliser strap. Which sometimes help if you are trying to work the car in a certain direction.