View Full Version : Project Garth...... SAS 'n Coils.. It's time!!
Gonna start "Project Garth" tomorrow!! Garth cuz Brooksie sings a song called....... (insert drum roll) Rodeo ;D Going to newwie tomorrow to get the body blocks..... then starting when i get home...... i'll post pics as it progresses 8) List of things happening in the next few weeks......
new H/D clutch and pressure plate
front lockrite locker (sorry Ekky, it's all i could afford!!)
body lift
suspension lift
balljoint flip with 1" spacers
new headlight wiring harness (thanks 4wdm!!)
new thermo fans cowling
new thermo switch
rock sliders (still looking for a tuber bender!)
hopefully a rear bar and wheel carrier ;)
All help will be gratefully accepted!! i'll buy the beer ;D
Humpy
03-09-2004, 11:38 PM
Sounds good Roe
You still planning on getting some 33" rubber
FREAK
04-09-2004, 07:11 AM
Looks like a busy weekend for you Roe, i will look forward to seeing the pics of the outcome mate ;)
As for the help, all hangovers sold and serviced with a smile mate, enjoy your weekend ;D
Sounds good Roe
Still planning on 33" rubber...... but thats for the end of next year......
And Freak.... it's gonna take a few weekends mate :-\
supercheap auto sell a reasonably priced tube bender, about $250 i think ;D look forward to seeing your project pics
Super cheap have them for $189 and they look pretty solid too.... i just didn't have enough spondooly to get it :-\ Got body stands and a trolley jack though..... need those before i could start!!
FREAK
05-09-2004, 07:01 AM
Sounds good Roe
Not to worry Roe, i'm sure there are worse things in this world than being stuck at home modding the rig with a few mates and lots of cold tasty beverages ;D
brodiebuilt
05-09-2004, 09:30 AM
Be causious of the "el cheapo" benders I brought one from SC and It will not pull a 90 deg bend with out collapsing the tube even heavey wall tube. The formers are too sloppy to suport the tube wall. But I may have got a dud. Be carefull.
Good luck and enjoy your project
Greg
Sounds good Roe
Not to worry Roe, i'm sure there are worse things in this world than being stuck at home modding the rig with a few mates and lots of cold tasty beverages ;D
Thats the problem...... finding a few mates to come give me a hand :-\.... Fathers Day today and i'm sick...... i'm trying real hard to motivate myself to get out there and do something
FREAK
07-09-2004, 06:20 AM
Aaawwww Roe you sound broken hearted mate :-\
Don't worry buddy if noone else loves ya you always have our support and at the very least ya truck will love ya for making it into a machine ;) ;D
Aaawwww Roe you sound broken hearted mate :-\
Don't worry buddy if noone else loves ya you always have our support and at the very least ya truck will love ya for making it into a machine ;) ;D
LOL!! Hoping to get a start today...... i been as sick as a dog :'( I'm sure i coughed up a lung last night.
This is all i have managed :-[
http://www.vistawebdesigns.com/4wdpics/rebuild001.jpg
Hoping to have the front diff ready to pull out tonight.
Fenring
07-09-2004, 10:35 AM
Why project Garth?
cuttin loose
07-09-2004, 11:09 AM
i reckon "garth" is a cool name... ;D ;D ;D
FREAK
07-09-2004, 12:09 PM
Holy crapola Roe :o that's a big improvement already mate :-X ;D joking mate, hope you get over the flu soon buddy. ;)
I like Garth as well ;D
mickyd
07-09-2004, 02:08 PM
Looks like you need a bigger workshop there Roe. Keep the pic's coming. Too far to drive to help out on weekends, especially coming from Mexico. ( Vic)
Good luck with the mod.
Why project Garth?
Well..... the story goes like this....... we have heard of "project Otis" and HnM has "Project Ralph" and i figured that since Garth Brooks did a song called aptly enough "Rodeo" ;) it fitted in nicely ;D so it got "Project Garth"
Bundy
09-09-2004, 06:49 PM
Lookin good Roe when you headed out to Rover park again to test it all out
I'm hoping to have it running again to go back up on the October long weekend...... and i MUST have it done hehe i gotta use the free weekend i won.... and gidget and a couple of others are gonna come down for the weekend too. Should be fun!
cuttin loose
10-09-2004, 02:15 PM
:o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o
it's nearly october already!!!!
:o :o :o :o
better pull my finger out..!! ;D ;D
2 BRUTAL
10-09-2004, 05:33 PM
Tony, lets just hope you don't get an " achy breaky heart" from it all. sorry mate i couldn't resist, will be a weapon when finished :o
started to finally get somewhere today and found some stuff i didn't want to find :( looks like the long weekend in october is out now.... depends on how much it will cost me for the CV drive shafts in the front that are shagged..... and a new front diff drive shaft that is rooted also.......... *sigh* things can only get better from here......
here is the bits i first found.........
http://www.vistawebdesigns.com/4wdpics/bearingbits.jpg
the left drive shaft......... the other side isn't as bad, but still needs to be replaced.......
http://www.vistawebdesigns.com/4wdpics/leftshaft1.jpg
the front hub where the offending bearing came from :-\
http://www.vistawebdesigns.com/4wdpics/fronthub.jpg
And the reason why i get vibration at 80kph in 4WD high range......
http://www.vistawebdesigns.com/4wdpics/driveshaft1.jpg
luxute
12-09-2004, 08:25 PM
That doesn't look real pretty mate :(
it looks worse than the pictures show....... hopefully my tax cheque will arrive SOON!! :-\
Bugger tony, not that much for bearings and secondhand axles etc.
oi, I just saw your signature
taziiy
12-09-2004, 09:39 PM
well you will have to give gath some happy pills to make it better :D
bugga!,
bit of a set back :(
2 BRUTAL
12-09-2004, 10:14 PM
thats not good tony. well i guess it's better to find out now and get things right then have the lokka fitted and have the problem later.
that's a bastage :( :( >:(
bugger, cvs shouldnt be too dear at the wreckers.
i think i can buy the outer shafts separate from the CV...... i will have to check....... going to try the Central Coast 4x4 Wreckers today and see how much. I think the drive shaft will set me back more than the CV shafts.
Reddo
13-09-2004, 04:22 PM
thats a bugger Roe :(
But to cheer you up, i found this ;D
http://www.sihope.com/~terryb/garth01.jpg
Hey, I'd hit it ;)
euwwwwwww reddo you shirt lifter!! ::) :P
I priced the stuff today..... front half shaft (tail shaft) about $385, CV assembly...... which is inner and outer with shaft $175 each...... thats a moderate kilometres ones with no warranty......
You could try Jackaroo World - I have got well priced second-hand rodeo stuff from them in the past and they do reconditioned exchange on some parts too
http://jackworld.alphalink.com.au/
coupla pics of the locker install.......... didn't take a lot.... took a few though......
This is what a complete crown wheel looks like ;)
http://www.vistawebdesigns.com/4wdpics/diffcentre.jpg
locker fitted, a bit blurry.......... but thats all i got 8)
http://www.vistawebdesigns.com/4wdpics/lockerfitted.jpg
one is bald, the other going that way... guess which is which ;D
http://www.vistawebdesigns.com/4wdpics/heads.jpg
a HUGE thanks to Stu (Nischev) for driving down to help out....... it's very much appreciated!! see ya friday ;D
taziiy
15-09-2004, 09:23 PM
http://www.vistawebdesigns.com/4wdpics/heads.jpg
a HUGE thanks to Stu (Nischev) for driving down to help out....... it's very much appreciated!! see ya friday ;D
ah look there is a spanner and a jack handle and where the hell do those nuts and bolts go ;D
baby_troupe
15-09-2004, 09:29 PM
Better to find the probs out now while it is in the workshop, rather than out on the trails when it is most inconvenient.
I am sure you will get it all sorted & will be back on the tracks soon.
BTW, good luck on the project.
the thing that would have probably shat itself with a locker in is the half shaft (drive shaft) for the front diff...... 300 bux for a 2nd hand one :-[ Should have the bonnet back on friday with the airbrushing done ;D will post pics when i get it back.
looking good roe, should go well with the locker
Westoztroopa
15-09-2004, 11:14 PM
Good stuff Roe! 8)
Hope it all goes to plan for you. As for the CV, I know that pain... ::)
Noel
Hoonz
19-09-2004, 06:52 PM
Good work guys ... nice to see some thing different to the nissans and toyotas being modified :D
how are them CVs and drive shafts gonna hold up to the 33z?
;D
Good work guys ... nice to see some thing different to the nissans and toyotas being modified :D
how are them CVs and drive shafts gonna hold up to the 33z?
;D
They should hold up ok..... they are quite strong from all reports..... although, Westoztrooper has managed to mash a CV.... the 33's are next years project though........ gotta get through this one yet :-\
Didn't get a lot done today after training and then i cleaned up the carport so i can get into it during the week... there was shit everywhere!! so i moved all the bits into the garage and cleaned up......
This is how the front looks ::)
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/suspension.jpg
BUT!!!!! i did manage to put 4 stickers on the car!! ;D a big effort put in today!! ;D
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/sticker1.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/sticker2.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/sticker3.jpg
Those stickers will boost its performance to no end mate ;D
FREAK
19-09-2004, 07:18 PM
Minor setbacks Roe, bar the expense it will all be worth it in the end mate ;) Looking forward to seeing more pics of the work in progress ;D
i have no doubt it will look good when it's done....... and it will be more than capable off-road...... just hard to get motivated when you go so much shit to so by yourself with little cash to do it (damn taxation department!!)
are those stickers just to remind yourself? ;D
ideed they are ;) ;D
taziiy
19-09-2004, 08:09 PM
Those 4x4 stickers add the bling to it now
LOL! i got those for about 6 bux on eBay
taziiy
19-09-2004, 09:53 PM
LOL! i got those for about 6 bux on eBay
What a wonderful place ebay :)
Phat Mav
20-09-2004, 01:18 AM
Your 4b goes better with stickers on it......everybody knows that. ;)
Patrick
Your 4b goes better with stickers on it......everybody knows that. ;)
Patrick
indeed they do!! ;)
Bundy
21-09-2004, 08:20 AM
Like everyone has been saying better now than later and have to take it all apart again.
Sounds like you need a creative accountant ;)
finally got the gearbox out :-X what a royal PITA!!!! i did however find out that the deo has an oil cooler :o water cooled no less...... ya learn something about your car every day!! hehe
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/oilcooler.jpg
Gearbox out!! finally!! 8)
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/gearboxout.jpg
taziiy
25-09-2004, 08:48 PM
What you doing to that ????
Reddo
25-09-2004, 09:00 PM
What you doing to that ????
Because he has gone mad taz, crazy!!!!!! ;D Still, i would also like an answer to that question as well :-\
Seriously Roe, with those new stickers your deo has bling factor now ;D ;D ;D ;D
taziiy
25-09-2004, 09:06 PM
I already said that ;D
Reddo
25-09-2004, 09:18 PM
I already said that ;D
he he he, but i said he had "Bling Factor". Mines better ;D
i had to pull the GB out to put a new H/D clutch and pressure plate in.......... and a new thrust bearing. never mind that i had to pull out the entire exhaust system and half the oil pump to do it :-\
taziiy
25-09-2004, 09:46 PM
The joys of motoring
Reddo
25-09-2004, 10:17 PM
i had to pull the GB out to put a new H/D clutch and pressure plate in.......... and a new thrust bearing. never mind that i had to pull out the entire exhaust system and half the oil pump to do it :-\
okay, that makes sense ;D
I hate taking out exhaust system, you always get shit in your eyes, and the joins never come apart because some fool had put the clamps on to tight, crimping the pipe >:(
taziiy
25-09-2004, 11:29 PM
I hate taking out exhaust system, you always get shit in your eyes, and the joins never come apart because some fool had put the clamps on to tight, crimping the pipe >:(
Dont forget the heat mud and water that set like a rock on the pipes
Reddo
25-09-2004, 11:33 PM
Dont forget the heat mud and water that set like a rock on the pipes
yeah, and when you hit it with the hammer, it covers you and the shed in the shit........+ it burns when you breath it in ;D
New axles arrived!! ;D $520 for both axles complete with CV's boots and bearings. 8)
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/axles.jpg
Bundy
30-09-2004, 04:31 PM
Can see what youll be doing this weekend
yeah... getting my diff back in and my gearbox back in........ ;D
plus i have to try to get 4 bolts out that snapped off when i removed the gearbox crossmember :-[
ferremit
30-09-2004, 05:39 PM
whatever you do, dont forget to replace your rear oil seal while your in there!!!!!!!
I forgot to get it done when my clutch was being done, and its leaking again :(
balljoint flip happened..... got the gearbox in yesty...... installed my superloom (thanks 4WDM) and the switch for my twin fans ;D some pics!!
Before the flip and spacers
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/beforespacers.jpg
After the flip and spacers
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/afterspacers.jpg
the 3 most important items in doing the job!! ;D
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/3items.jpg
Pulled out and cut the bump stop rubbers....... before cutting
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/rubbervice.jpg
After it was cut to show the difference in height.
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/cutrubbers.jpg
Reddo
04-10-2004, 06:54 PM
gooood stuff tony ;) I LIKE IT ;D
i like everything except the tooheys, how can you drink that swill, VB rules ;D
Twisty
06-10-2004, 07:30 AM
Looking good Tony, it's certianly a lot easier to do the ball joint lift on the Rodeo than my 4Runner. I prefer the shock setup that the Rodeo has too compared to the IFS Toyota.
Keep it coming, am looking foward to seeing it all done.
i found out yesterday that i now have to replace both front wheel bearings too :( another $75 per side..... at least when it's done...... the front end should be good for another 200,000 k's at least!! ;D
looking good tony, its gonna be one capable deo by the look of it
it might if i ever stop finding things that need replacing ::) hehe got the gearbox bolted back up today..... exhaust system back on... AFTER i belted out a baffle in the middle of it ;D I did ask for a straight through muffler...... bastages gave me one that wasn't..... it was a sports muffler for a petrol engine...... i fixed it though ;) Hopefully i'll get the tailshaft in tomorrow and the front diff back in. Then i can get to work on the body lift....... the front torsion bars are gonna be a beatch..... i can't get them to move no matter what i do......... i'm going to take it to the tyre service in town and get them to have a go at it with the large impact wrench 8)
ferremit
06-10-2004, 09:41 PM
Mate, Penetrene, Lots, and LOTS of penetrene ;D
Working miracles on my massey ferguson ;D
jackroov6
07-10-2004, 10:14 AM
Good stuff.
your ball joint flip looks good too.
Where did you get the spacer from?
With you torsion bars you could try heating the coupling that the bars slid into,But not the bars.
Again should look like one mighty rig when its finished. ;D
Good stuff.
your ball joint flip looks good too.
Where did you get the spacer from?
With you torsion bars you could try heating the coupling that the bars slid into,But not the bars.
Again should look like one mighty rig when its finished. ;D
i had the spacers made for me :) for nothing......... AFTER i paid 60 bux to get 2 1" spacers made for it only to find out that 1" is too thick ::) I'm going to try the heating option and see if i can get them to budge.... otherwise i'll cut the bastages off
be careful trying to wind up the torsion bars with a large impact wrench, i snnapped a bolt in my brother in laws lux just using a long bar with a piece of pipe over it
mate i'm gonna heat it and try that......... if not i'll cut the bastage off :o either way.... it's gonna move
ferremit
10-10-2004, 11:49 AM
Good to see the rodeos STILL had that retarded exposed shaft shocker on it >:(
My front shockies have exposed shafts, and the top shaft seal is weeping oil already from driving on building sites in the dust, up our driveway in the dust and thru vineyards in the mud :(
I removed the cover off my rancho's to stop the mud and crap getting stuck in there. Having them exposed can be a good thing cause you can wash them regularly ;)
are we talking about 2WD or 4WD ferrit? oh wait......... yours is 2WD ;)
ferremit
10-10-2004, 03:52 PM
Yours have exposed front shafts smartarse :P
The flog the seals out quickly if you dont keep them meticoulsly clean (Motorcycle forks have the same problem)
And if they are exposed shafts, rocks dont do the surfaces any good at all
taziiy
10-10-2004, 09:15 PM
looking good roedao
Westoztroopa
15-10-2004, 12:42 AM
Good to see you too are getting things done.
Keep up the good work! 8)
Noel
Good to see you too are getting things done.
Keep up the good work! 8)
Noel
Thanks Noel :) good to see you still take a peek in here at times. you should post the pics of the jack with the body lift and 33s!! :) looks great!!
i'll do it for ya!! hehe i like it!!!
http://members.optusnet.com.au/~nmacham/mypic17.jpg
Twisty
15-10-2004, 07:56 AM
That Jack is awesome!! I love the SWB ones, not too many of them around.
thats the first short wheelbase one ive ever seen
i finally managed to get the torsion bars out......... i had to cut the head off the bolt and then heat the thrust collar red hot and belt it out with a 12 pound hammer :-X certainly shook some crap out from underneath it!! :o :o so everything is pulled off in that department, i have the remaining part of the bolts and the nut soaking in penetrene and i'll try to remove it at work somehow. That way all i'll need is the bolts. The whole thing was rusted solid!! unbelieveable!! when it goes back together i will coat it with enough anti-sieze and grease to last a lifetime!!
I'll take pics when it goes back together.
taziiy
16-10-2004, 03:51 PM
That will prob only last 6 months or so :D
time for some more pics Roe :D
Westoztroopa
17-10-2004, 11:46 PM
thats the first short wheelbase one ive ever seen
Yep, pretty rare but you do see a few around if you keep an eye out. Holden stopped importing them in around 1995 I think.
Thanks for the attention Roe but I dont want to hijack your thread any longer... ;)
Hang on... You hijacked your own thread! LOL ;D ;D
Noel
Shackles are done...... will fit them on the weekend.
Shackles.........
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/shackles1.jpg
Compared to the originals :o :o all that to get about 2" lift :-X
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/shackles2.jpg
the perspective is a little out....... those are only 4" longer than the originals.
taziiy
18-10-2004, 06:45 PM
should look good when u have them installed
I recognize that steel from somewhere, oh and the pins. You been snooping around my house again boy???
I am just keen to see the shackle angle with the longer shackles.
P.S., I have now found a friend who makes custom leaves, get my drift ;)
you'll recognise the rubbers too when i fit the shackles ;)
I ordered new T/B bolts today...... 20 bux each :-\
shackles look good roe, i should be picking my new ones up tommorrow, ;D keep the pics coming
got the front diff and torsion bars back in today....... needs some sorting out though....... the right side is sitting higher than the left, so i am going to have to re-index it again..... won't be a big job.... about 30 minutes to sort out...... i'll do it when i do the rear shackles tomorrow..... might be easier to just lift the drivers side a bit, i have plenty of adjustment left now. The right hand wheel alignment is a bit sus.... but i should be able to get that sorted easy enough. Took a few pics..... certainly will be a lot higher once the body lift goes in ;D I'm hoping tomorrow sometime.
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/frontlift.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/frontlift2.jpg
the back as a comparison with no lift yet........
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/rearnolift.jpg
the CV angle on the right side :-X
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/cvangle1.jpg
Front to back........
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/fronttoback.jpg
Guess we had better work on dropping that diff hey mate ;D
i think an inch would probably sort that out. I'm worried about my wheel alignment though..... the passenger side wheel is a worry....
dYsFunktnl
23-10-2004, 08:26 PM
the way its going its soon gonna need 35's to look normal :p
keep up the work ;)
got one shackle fitted......... and the belief that you halve the length of the shackles to get your height gain is crap :P I made mine 4" longer to get 2" and i actually got 3".. which is a good thing! ;D photos coming later on.
taziiy
24-10-2004, 11:15 AM
Well what are you complaining about then ;D
i wound one torsion bar up and balanced the car up....... i remeasured it..... it's about 2 1/2" higher in the ass end now...... i need to drop the front down 15mm to match the back......
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/shacklesin.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/sittingup.jpg
the new shackles look good Roe, did you have to modify brake lines, i just fitted my shackles and had to do a couple of simple mods to the brake lines. see my thread in tech tips
http://www.4wdmonthly.com.au/forum/index.php?board=5;action=display;threadid=5260
the brake lines look ok so far..... once i get it on the road i'll take it somewhere and flex the ass end and see if they are going to pull tight...... i work for a place that makes hydraulic hoses ;D won't be hard to get a new one 8)
taziiy
24-10-2004, 04:05 PM
Them bling stickers are still looking good as the rest of the car ;D
the rest of the car looks very ordinary at the moment :'( I repainted the grille black, instead of the grey colour it was...... going to paint the centre section white. Should look ok. The car still looks stolen at the moment :-\
The whole front is going to be cleaned up and painted black before the grille and the bullbar go back on
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/inbits.jpg
taziiy
24-10-2004, 04:40 PM
Has anyone rang the police on you yet ;D
i thought somebody would have earlier........ i was swearin my ass off :-X i had the shits real bad....... spanners and suspension rubbers flying all over the place :-X
taziiy
24-10-2004, 04:49 PM
I see all is going well for you then ;D
Bundy
24-10-2004, 08:19 PM
i thought somebody would have earlier........ i was swearin my ass off :-X i had the shits real bad....... spanners and suspension rubbers flying all over the place :-X
I have the same problem normally have tools flying and lots of swearing love working on cars :-\
taziiy
24-10-2004, 08:28 PM
Its the last thing i want to do on the weekends sick of it through the week let alone come home and do it as well
;)
ferremit
24-10-2004, 10:27 PM
did you have fun removing those stupid shitty god damn irritating front leaf bushes that Isuzu fit from the factory
i'm saving that fun for later........ only did the rear leaf rubbers..... which co-incidently were fairly rooted.
at least youve got a garage i have to do all my modifications out in the weather
Bundy
25-10-2004, 12:51 PM
I used to have to do most of mine on the stone driveway but in the new house got a nice cement floor in the garage 8)
well i have a narrow carport :-X I haven't had a car in the garage since i moved in..... too much crap in there........ it's scary!! people have gone in there in search of tools and have never been seen again!! :-[
taziiy
25-10-2004, 06:42 PM
sounds like my garage ;D
ferremit
25-10-2004, 07:01 PM
i do my mechanical repairs on the deo in a car park in burgmann colleges grounds :o
Utemad
26-10-2004, 05:06 PM
RoeDao,
Don't suppose you have a template for the ball joint spacer?
Also how high is the body lift going to be?
I got the front leaf rubbers out of my 97 Rodeos replacement Jackaroo springs with a stanley knife ;D However I am having a heap of trouble getting the drivers side bolt out so I can remove the original springs and put in the Jack ones.
RoeDao,
Don't suppose you have a template for the ball joint spacer?
Also how high is the body lift going to be?
I got the front leaf rubbers out of my 97 Rodeos replacement Jackaroo springs with a stanley knife ;D However I am having a heap of trouble getting the drivers side bolt out so I can remove the original springs and put in the Jack ones.
i used an old balljoint as a template for the spacers i used....... the body lift will be 2" when i can get it done...... only have one day available this weekend to do a lot of stuff..... so it might not even get done this weekend.
Utemad
26-10-2004, 07:58 PM
Okay. I might get an old ball joint from the wreckers to play with. Or just take a template while I'm there ;)
I am still in two minds whether to use one or not. However I am lifting mine on Monday so I better pull my finger out if I do want one.
try to hold off until i get it aligned....... you may have to go down to 10mm instead of 12...... i'll see how i go.
Okay. I might get an old ball joint from the wreckers to play with. Or just take a template while I'm there ;)
I am still in two minds whether to use one or not. However I am lifting mine on Monday so I better pull my finger out if I do want one.
if you have to, just flip your balljoints....... you should be able to put your spacers in later on once you find out exactly how thick you can go.
Utemad
26-10-2004, 10:03 PM
Ok I'll leave the front end til later.
The ones you buy from the shops all seem to be 6mm. Don't know why but I read something about there being a few different sizes that would align okay but in between those sizes you could have trouble. Not really sure about that.
i was told in the isuzu forum that 10mm is about the limit, but i might get away with 12mm...... my camber might be out a tad...... i'll find out when i get the alignment done. You can still flip your balljoints, just hold off on the spacers.
ferremit
27-10-2004, 02:57 PM
mate, with that bolt, just bash it in with a drift, i had to kiss the tank with mine to get it out, then just reverse the bloody thing and put the nut on the inside!
to get the stock bushes out of mine, i wound up drilling all the rubber out from around the crush tube with a long shank drill bit, and then putting a hacksaw into the eye and cutting it half way thru, then used a screwdriver and cold chisels to break the circle to collapse it- the entire bush is cased in a steel tube so all your spring action on the front was steel against steel in the inner crush tube, its now running urethane and greased shackles (not greasable, but greased) the ride difference is amazing! :o
Utemad
27-10-2004, 03:10 PM
mate, with that bolt, just bash it in with a drift, i had to kiss the tank with mine to get it out, then just reverse the bloody thing and put the nut on the inside!
to get the stock bushes out of mine, i wound up drilling all the rubber out from around the crush tube with a long shank drill bit, and then putting a hacksaw into the eye and cutting it half way thru, then used a screwdriver and cold chisels to break the circle to collapse it- the entire bush is cased in a steel tube so all your spring action on the front was steel against steel in the inner crush tube, its now running urethane and greased shackles (not greasable, but greased) the ride difference is amazing! :o
I have bashed it with everything I can get my hands on. I give it a go again each day just to see if I can get it magically undone. However I think I'll have to wait til Monday.
When I did the other side last time I reversed the bolt so the nut is on the inside. Very pissed off at this bolt I can tell you.
ferremit
27-10-2004, 05:07 PM
I had probs getting them undone, nothing that a ring spanner and 2lb hammer didnt fix tho 8)
after lifting all the tension off the spring by jacking up the chassis (takes some time to get the front lift height just right, i used a hammer and bashed the bolt until it let go and came down to the top of mount- try not to round off the thread with your belting, use a brass drift or something if it wont loosen easily.
then used a brass drift to smack the thing thru the eye until it reached the tank, and carefully kept smacking it back until it finally popped free- from memory, ive dented the tank about 3-5mm to get the frigging thing out.
one of the joys of the tray top over the tub side is you get heaps of room to move under there
and i had to smack the bolt downwards to get it free cos it was jammed into the tank and mount
Gojeep
27-10-2004, 06:43 PM
i wound one torsion bar up and balanced the car up....... i remeasured it..... it's about 2 1/2" higher in the ass end now...... i need to drop the front down 15mm to match the back......
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/shacklesin.jpg
Damn they are long :o
What are going to do about correcting the pinion angle now that has been rotated up so much? Going to need quite thick shims to fix that. You will also get some rear steer with those as well and the extra leverage will place a lot of strain on the frame mounts too. Have seen quite a few get ripped off from shackles that are extended too long without proper engineering to strenghten them. You have effected your roll center now too as the roll point is differnt from the front eye to the rear one. This is what will give you the rear steer I mention which will be noticeable when the body leans into a fast corner.
It really needs a bit more thought and hope you take the comments as advice to stop any future damage as trying just to help. 8)
those shackles are only 4" longer than the standard ones...... "IF" it gives me too many problems....... i'll do shorter ones and wind the front back down a little........ it's only a little over 2" higher than normal..... so i don't think it's going to create a problem....... time will tell i guess :) The pinion angle is not that bad..... i have seen far worse that still worked ok. They look huge because of the size of the steel i used...... and i plan on drilling the centre and putting a bolt through the guts of it to help with sideways movement as well.
i wouldnt think extended shackles would cause any pinion angle probs as they make the front of the diff point up towards the drive shaft.
Utemad
27-10-2004, 09:31 PM
i wouldnt think extended shackles would cause any pinion angle probs as they make the front of the diff point up towards the drive shaft.
That's exactly what I thought. When fitting a big lift I have seen people angle their diffs upwards to combat the angle. Any reasons why this wouldn't/shouldn't be the case?
My front drive angle may be what your talking about Tony??? And yes it still works.
Rear shouldn't make a real problem because you are pushing it to a lesser angle but front is a different story on a leaf sprung vehicle.
Shouldn't have any real hassles and good to see you still have a lil angle on those shackles ;)
Hoonz
28-10-2004, 06:50 PM
sweet work dood .. keep the mods coming ... and keep the pics coming *arms up*
Utemad
28-10-2004, 07:05 PM
Rear shouldn't make a real problem because you are pushing it to a lesser angle but front is a different story on a leaf sprung vehicle.
I agree for a front end because of steering but this is a rear end.
sweet work dood .. keep the mods coming ... and keep the pics coming *arms up*
i'm hoping to get the body lift done this weekend and get the bullbar back on........ more pics to come ;D Then.......... gotta make my sliders and get them painted before the forum meet up.
This fourby is taking FOREVER!!! hehe but i'm slowly getting there!!! should start to fall back together in the next week or so. I got the body lift in, except for one block, cuz the bolt is rusted solid into the crush tube. It's not budging for anything!!! and nearly all the bolts took an age to get off because they were rusted >:( I had to improvise a little cuz the bolts i got are too damn long........ and i removed the top rubbers instead of putting the blocks on top of them... i think it would have been too high that way and looked odd. So i got about 1 and a half inches lift.... which still made a difference. I repainted the grille and did the same as Brenno did with his zook and put the badge on upside down hehe looks like a trend starting here!! ;D i took a coupla pics...... but it's hard to see just how it sits now where it is... so i'll take a heap when it's back on the road again.....
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/grilleon.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/bodyblocks.jpg
Thats how it looks at the moment :-\ didn't get the new tierod ends on.... i have to do some work for the Rural Fire Service tomorrow, so thats pretty much out.... i might get a little more done tomorrow evening........... hopefully
going to make droppers for the front crossmember too and drop the diff an inch....... that will happen next weekend..... i'm concerned about the CV angles.... i considered 2" but that will drop the crossmember a little too low and act as a snag for low lying rocks..... pictures to come 8)
taziiy
31-10-2004, 08:26 AM
When u said you painted the grille i thought the whole thing why only do half a job ;D
i did the whole thing.... it was all the one colour..... silver.
Utemad
31-10-2004, 06:51 PM
going to make droppers for the front crossmember too and drop the diff an inch....... that will happen next weekend..... i'm concerned about the CV angles.... i considered 2" but that will drop the crossmember a little too low and act as a snag for low lying rocks..... pictures to come 8)
I'm very interested in the front diff drop your doing. I have only seen the kit that requires pulling the diff housing out to get the drop brackets around the axle tubes.
Also what did you need to do to fit the body lift? Any lengthening of anything?
Great job your doing too.
I'm very interested in the front diff drop your doing. I have only seen the kit that requires pulling the diff housing out to get the drop brackets around the axle tubes.
Also what did you need to do to fit the body lift? Any lengthening of anything?
Great job your doing too.
I have seen a picture of those kits....... i'm just going to make drop brackets for the crossmember, and make steel blocks 2" diameter x 1" thick, might even consider and 1 1/2"..... i'll make that decision before i go to work tomorrow. Either way, all i'll have to do is undo 4 bolts and drop the diff down on the jack. New high tensile bolts and lock nuts, and it will work just as good.
as for the body lift, i just put a block of wood onto a trolly jack and lifted it slowly....... nothing had to be unbolted or removed.... any brake lines and other things flexed enough. Even the fuel tank, which i thought was going to be a pain had no problems..... my mate that was helping me actually lifted the tray himself so i could slide the blocks under.
Gojeep
01-11-2004, 06:04 PM
That's exactly what I thought. When fitting a big lift I have seen people angle their diffs upwards to combat the angle. Any reasons why this wouldn't/shouldn't be the case?
The rear is just as critical as the front. The reason is that the uni's at each end must remain at the same angle to stay in phase. You can set them up however in practice with 2 degrees more ( not less like extended shackles would give ) to compensate for axle rotation under load so they are in perfect alignment under load. Having them out of alignment will shorten the life of the uni and give vibration. When you see them tilted up it most likely is when there is a double cardon joint ( often called a CV joint in the US which it is not! ) at the transfercase end ( like Hilux front shafts ). In this case the pinion should point at the transfercase DC joint. The other case is when the transfercase has been lowered like on many Jeeps, the pinion must then be tilted the same degrees that the other uni has been reduced by.
i'll take a photo of the angle 8) you'll see it's not that bad.
here 'tis....... as you see....... it hasn't increased the angle very much at all.
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/shaftangle.jpg
Exactly doofus, so if you re-read my post you will see that is what I was getting at.
Utemad
01-11-2004, 11:05 PM
Exactly doofus, so if you re-read my post you will see that is what I was getting at.
I know what you wrote. Was just pointing out the obvious and saying that this vehicle only has leaf rear.
Fair enough, I knew that of course too considering I supplied the steel for the shackles ;)
and the pins......... and the rubbers (which are bigger and therefore a pain in the ass to get the pins through ;) ) Should get it finished today!! ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D *bounces around*
Come an finish mine when ya done mate ;D
got it on the road!!!!!!!!! ;D :o ;D needs a wheel alignment badly..... but it's driveable which the most important part!!! Pics will be forthcoming..... gonna go out and take a few in a little while :)
got pics!! ;D ;D 8)
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/deofinished.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/deofinished2.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/deofinished3.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/deofinished4.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/deofinished5.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/deofinished6.jpg
It should flex a little better in the ass end once it wears in a bit, the rubbers are very tight at the moment.
BushTuckerNed
02-11-2004, 06:18 PM
That looks very good. The bonnet looks cool too
FREAK
03-11-2004, 09:52 AM
Well done Roe congratulations mate that looks tops. Told you all that work would pay off in the end, should serve you even better now 8) i would bet you're a happy lad ;D
GQANDGU
03-11-2004, 10:24 AM
got pics!! ;D ;D 8)
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/deofinished.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/deofinished2.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/deofinished3.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/deofinished4.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/deofinished5.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/deofinished6.jpg
It should flex a little better in the ass end once it wears in a bit, the rubbers are very tight at the moment.
Well done Roedao. Looks great - now for a little dirt to test it out properly Heh ???
Puts you well ahead of my son's GQ rebuild. Gear Box and Tfr case installed, 5 Ltr motor completely re-built and ready, New Engine Mountings welded in place , Engine bay stipped and painted, Garage still a shambles. Full weekend on it next week, and then test drive (2WD only while he organises the change in front drive shaft).
dYsFunktnl
03-11-2004, 12:51 PM
you need to get it up onto a propper ramp :) to show everyone how good the isuzu IFS actually is :D
taziiy
03-11-2004, 12:56 PM
looks great roe ;D
Twisty
03-11-2004, 01:39 PM
Looking sweet Roe, so when do you plan to try out that new locker of yours?
Reddo
03-11-2004, 02:16 PM
Top stuff tony, looks wicked. whens the first trip off RD? ;)
looks good Tony, might have to change the name of this thread now its complete ;D
Utemad
03-11-2004, 02:40 PM
looks good Tony, might have to change the name of this thread now its complete ;D
Are our fourbys ever complete? It has just finished it's initial build stage.
Well done Roe congratulations mate that looks tops. Told you all that work would pay off in the end, should serve you even better now 8) i would bet you're a happy lad ;D
i'm happy i have it on the road...... just trying to find the cash to make my sliders...... i found myself a pipe bender.... and a welder.... going to try to get the front end finished on the weekend...... getting a wheel alignment tomorrow.
Looking sweet Roe, so when do you plan to try out that new locker of yours?
might give it a go next weekend after i sort my CV angles out. theres a place near where i work that has a few tracks with some wicked gullies in it :)
Ford Mav
03-11-2004, 08:03 PM
Very nice Tony. Glad the majority is done. Cant wait to see it in person and work off road. Look forward to meetin u and Garth. ;) ;)
i should have the whole thing done by the forum meetup :)
well...... except for the rear bar.... which BLU is bringing down for me ;D
Muzza
04-11-2004, 01:30 PM
Good stuff Tony, looking good!
Muzza
Westoztroopa
04-11-2004, 02:16 PM
Well done Roe! You must be itching to get it offroad! 8)
Noel
Westoztroopa
04-11-2004, 02:17 PM
Are our fourbys ever complete? It has just finished it's initial build stage.
This is so true... ::)
Bundy
04-11-2004, 02:47 PM
Looking really good Roe
thanks mate :) it's getting there very slowly
Russ in California
05-11-2004, 06:11 AM
Niiiiice. Keep up the good work.
Mates, Russ
Utemad
05-11-2004, 10:41 AM
How did the wheel alignment go with the 12mm spacer?
I tried removing my ball joints this morning. Man those nuts are tight!!!
Didn't get them off.
crankycruiser
05-11-2004, 10:53 AM
Looks awesome Roe.. Well done!
Bet ya cant wait to go scrub bashin...........
looks good roe, especially the artwork on the bonnet :D
Devilish
05-11-2004, 12:25 PM
Mate, I have just read all 4 pages of this saga, being a newbie here i havent seen it b4. You have done an wonderful job, something i would be awesomly proud of if it were mine!!
Awesome job mate, can't wait to see it off road!
cuttin loose
05-11-2004, 02:12 PM
like i said before tony.... i love that bonnet...
then more you look at it the more freaked out you get... ;D ;D
was that stu's bro that did the paint job??
like i said before tony.... i love that bonnet...
then more you look at it the more freaked out you get... ;D ;D
was that stu's bro that did the paint job??
yeah Greg did it..... i found him some work through the guys at work hehe ;D
How did the wheel alignment go with the 12mm spacer?
I tried removing my ball joints this morning. Man those nuts are tight!!!
Didn't get them off.
wheel alignment went fine...... got it set to what it's supposed to be as well. You'll be interested in my sway bar disconnect when i get it made :) it's a great idea!! and it should work a treat!! i'll get pics of it as i get it made...... it involves cutting the original in half..... more info to come! ;D
Mate, I have just read all 4 pages of this saga, being a newbie here i havent seen it b4. You have done an wonderful job, something i would be awesomly proud of if it were mine!!
Awesome job mate, can't wait to see it off road!
thanks mate ;D makes me feel good about doing it. I'll be rushing to get it finished properly before the forum meet up. But it should be done :)
Rampage
05-11-2004, 06:24 PM
Looks good mate, How did you do the art work? airbrush or sticker?
It was done by "Adrenalin Airbrushing" in Tamworth. Greg does great work!! his number is 0417230558
Humpy
05-11-2004, 10:37 PM
Looks good Roe, I really want to see that bonnet in real life 8)
you'll see it in real life if you go on the meet up on he 21st :) i'll be there with bells on!! ;D ;D ;D
15 more sleeps ;D ;D
taziiy
06-11-2004, 06:16 PM
Yep its definatly getting closer
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
GQtray
07-11-2004, 10:11 AM
looks good mate,that clown should keep chip scabbing seagulls off your bonnet,and cats ;D
rat patrol
07-11-2004, 12:01 PM
Roey G/day mate
Well dont you have the best of both worlds a good lookin 4be and by those pics you live near a air field (lucky barsted) as there is only one hobby i have that i love more than me 4be is flying am a mad keen pilot fly as often as i can. anyway mate the truck looks bloody good. I spose the upside down holden badge is so ppl can tell what it is when its on its roof beenin salvaged by a patrol ;D ;D ;D ;Djust joken buddy
c/ya
Rat
Devilish
07-11-2004, 04:00 PM
how can a patrol be salvaging the deo? it would be too busy breaking down just trying to get to where the deo got to!!!!!! hehe
Devilish
07-11-2004, 04:06 PM
sorry.... :( bad call... ::)
Troopy93
07-11-2004, 05:36 PM
Top effort Roe , looks d goods ;)
ok....... the diff spacers have been canned...... i got underneath to make a few final measurements today and noticed that i only had about 1/2" between the diff mount and the lower control arm pivot..... and i'm NOT pulling my diff back out to cut a small piece out of the diff mount bracket. BUT........ there is an upside to it....... when i got it wheel aligned, the guy must have wound the bars back down a little to get the camber right....... i measured it again and it's down 20mm in the front. I can hardly notice it... so it's all good :) the CV angles aren't that bad now. So i only got the sliders to do next weekend before the forum meetup. The sway bar disconnect will take a little while to figure out and to design...... so that will be a few weeks off yet.
dYsFunktnl
07-11-2004, 09:53 PM
thats just your torsion bars settling in,.. they are a pain in the arse to set correctly... give it 3 weeks then you _may_ have it set correctly! LOL
The sway bar disconnect will take a little while to figure out and to design...... so that will be a few weeks off yet.
Check out http://www.off-road.com/toyota/cheaptricks/swaybar2/ for a swaybar disconnect - the one in the link is for a yoya, but after having a poke about under my Rodeo yesterday I think it would work there as well
ferremit
07-11-2004, 11:29 PM
well this thread just destroyed my uni download quota for the day with those pics :'(
That looks awesome roe- they should come out of the factory that way- except the upside down badge....
I want to get an Isuzu one for mine ;D
thats just your torsion bars settling in,.. they are a pain in the arse to set correctly... give it 3 weeks then you _may_ have it set correctly! LOL
i don't think they would settle that much that quickly....... i checked it the night before i took it in to get done and they were the same...... last night was 2 days later *shrug* as long as they don't settle any further, i can live with it the way it is now :)
Utemad
08-11-2004, 08:20 AM
i don't think they would settle that much that quickly....... i checked it the night before i took it in to get done and they were the same...... last night was 2 days later *shrug* as long as they don't settle any further, i can live with it the way it is now :)
I thought settling too but then they wouldn't settle that suddenly or evenly. He most likely wound them down.
Utemad
08-11-2004, 08:22 AM
I want to get an Isuzu one for mine ;D
Me too but I haven't been able to find one. All the wrecker ones have had head on accidents so the grille badge is damaged. If you find where to get them new post it up here.
jackroov6
08-11-2004, 08:26 AM
Top effort reo,good to see its almost finished. ;D
I would also like to fit sway-bar disconnects,but I think a front locker will be first. ;D
A Quick question reo,Are you going to mount your sliders of the body(sill channels) or the chassis rails.
I will keep watching ;D ;D ;D
Top effort reo,good to see its almost finished. ;D
I would also like to fit sway-bar disconnects,but I think a front locker will be first. ;D
A Quick question reo,Are you going to mount your sliders of the body(sill channels) or the chassis rails.
I will keep watching ;D ;D ;D
I'm going to mount them on the chassis rails. You might be interested in my sway bar disconnects when i get them done ;D
jackroov6
09-11-2004, 02:37 PM
I checked my sway bar links today,and they are diffrent from your rodeo.
Your one uses links with a nut on one end.
Mine uses a rose joint set up.
Thanks any way roe ;D
ferremit
10-11-2004, 12:08 AM
we need to find someone in NZ who can get em from the local dealership-theyre sold as isuzu big horns over there, not jackaroos ;D
Thanks any way roe ;D
the idea i have is suitable for all..... and it will be quicker to disconnect than the others....... i just have to find out how hard it will be to get them made.
Utemad
10-11-2004, 08:12 AM
we need to find someone in NZ who can get em from the local dealership-theyre sold as isuzu big horns over there, not jackaroos ;D
When I was in NZ they had Isuzu Troopers and Bighorns. I don't know which was the import and which was the local model. They have so many imports over there it's hard to know what's what.
Either way they both have Isuzu badges :)
i have a few friends in Auckland ;D maybe i should give them a call 8)
Utemad
10-11-2004, 07:35 PM
i have a few friends in Auckland ;D maybe i should give them a call 8)
If you do get a price I could be interested.
Group buy on Isuzu Badges 8)
ferremit
10-11-2004, 08:28 PM
me too!!! ;D
heres a thought........ why not try an isuzu dealer here in Australia? lol ::) there is a BIG isuzu parts place in Newecastle.
Utemad
11-11-2004, 08:20 AM
heres a thought........ why not try an isuzu dealer here in Australia? lol ::) there is a BIG isuzu parts place in Newecastle.
Yes Isuzu trucks. They might have one I suppose ::)
jackroov6
15-11-2004, 08:06 AM
Thanks any way roe ;D
the idea i have is suitable for all..... and it will be quicker to disconnect than the others....... i just have to find out how hard it will be to get them made.
Thats good roe,I guess one way is with two rose joints and one bar that slides into the other with a bonnet pin to lock it.
Still researching lots,make once, make right. ;D ;D
thats pretty much what i was going to do mate ;) I'm still trying to get it drawn up so i can get it made at work....... one of the damn machinists is leaving.. so it's gonna be a PITA getting it made.
Devilish
17-11-2004, 04:54 PM
so whats next roe?
i want to get my damn sliders made >:( i got hold of a piupe bender that won't work properly........ "no worries!!" says a guy in the club......... "i have one" and i'm still waiting for it :-\ going to try to hire one to finish the job.
Devilish
17-11-2004, 08:01 PM
oh!!!!!!!
not good!!!!
ok........ FINALLY got the sliders on............ finished at 9pm the night before the meet..... ::) had a shit of a day... took me ALL damn day to do it!!! first my mate came over and helped make a slider/brush bar.... it looked skanky...... couldn't get the bend up and around the front wheel and past the snorkel to look right....... looked like crap actually...... so i threw that length of pipe to the shithouse and used the last remaining one to make the sliders...... they don't look too bad!! ;D even if i do say so myself...... i had to wash the Deo cuz i had metal dust all over it and i would have woken up to a brown Garth..... so it's all ready for the forum meet up ;D Finally took it out to some spare ground out at the airport and tried the diff..... locked the hubs....... and did half a dozen figure 8's......... only really made one clunk when i spun the wheel fairly quickly...... but it works so thats important!! hehe
Sliders half made............
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/slidershalfmade.jpg
Sliders fitted.........
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/sliderson.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/sliderson2.jpg
And this is my next project..... a rear bar and wheel carrier. Thanks to Blu125 for dropping it off :) I'll start on it next weekend.
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/nextproject.jpg
Utemad
20-11-2004, 10:19 PM
Looks good.
Any chance of some underneath pics? Like where they attach to the chassis.
taziiy
20-11-2004, 10:58 PM
They look good roe some underneath shots would be good but then again ill get a personallook tommorrow ;D you want to do mine ;D
Looks good.
i'll do some underneath shots during the week and post them. I didn't get finished until late last night.... so i didn't get a chance to... i was way too pissed off to get any. The welder i borrowed was a gasless mig.....and the damn thing wouldn't work properly. The wire feed was buggered and wouldn't feed correctly.......... i'm just hoping the first time they cop a belt the welds hold up.
taziiy
21-11-2004, 05:53 AM
OK i hope you wont have to test them out today ;D
i did..... twice :o didn't land too hard on them though.... so i guess they saves my sills a little bit of damage 8)
taziiy
22-11-2004, 07:55 PM
They looked relly good to :D
cuttin loose
22-11-2004, 08:02 PM
yeah i really wanna see how that rear bar turns out... it look pretty heavy duty by the pic...
;D ;D
Looks good.
heres a pic...... along with some Wattagans mud still attached....... i spent an hour with a high pressure cleaner getting the mudd off hehe anyways.... you can see the mount.
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/slidersmount.jpg
EDIT: that is not where they hit the sill...... i bent it up with a hammer so i could get them a bit higher 8)
Utemad
22-11-2004, 09:28 PM
Thanks for the pic. Gives me something to go by.
guzzi
27-11-2004, 09:26 PM
Roe,
I had a post in here before wilsey decided Im politically incorrect and pulled it, regarding getting the injector pump adjusted on the rodeo to suit the current snorkle, exhaust and air filter.
Got it done in toowoomba yesterday, EEEEIIIII Karumba!!! (is that acceptable wilsey??)
Its a new truck! It spins wheels, it crawls up steep hills just above idle in second low (used to die in the a*** before), it handles Cunninghams gap in 4th gear(not struggleing in 3rd).
Geez I wish Id done this 3 years ago.
Best $120 bucks Ive ever spent, and fuel consumption is the same as before 9.5 to 10 lt per 100 KMs.
Only problem is now Im looking for sixth gear on the high way, but Im willing to put up with that.;D
As your next mod Id highly recommend it.
Reddo
27-11-2004, 10:54 PM
Tony mate, very Sexy dude 8), I am impressed with your efforts ;D Needed a change of underwear after those shots :P ;D
Roe,
I had a post in here before wilsey decided Im politically incorrect and pulled it, regarding getting the injector pump adjusted on the rodeo to suit the current snorkle, exhaust and air filter.
Got it done in toowoomba yesterday, EEEEIIIII Karumba!!! (is that acceptable wilsey??)
Its a new truck! It spins wheels, it crawls up steep hills just above idle in second low (used to die in the a*** before), it handles Cunninghams gap in 4th gear(not struggleing in 3rd).
Best $120 bucks Ive ever spent, and fuel consumption is the same as before 9.5 to 10 lt per 100 KMs.
Only problem is now Im looking for sixth gear on the high way, but Im willing to put up with that.;D
might look at getting it done shortly after chrissy ;D i wanna get it wound up as far as i can get it with still acceptable EGT before i get to putting an intercooler on it. Should give me a couple more pounds boost anyhow. I guess it all related to the EGT..... my mate runs 14 pounds of boost on his 80's series cruiser without an intercooler with no probs.
EDIT: is cunninghams gap the road up the range into toowoomba? thats a steep bastage!!
Tony mate, very Sexy dude 8), I am impressed with your efforts ;D Needed a change of underwear after those shots :P ;D
LOL thats more info than we needed mate! ::) :o Rear bar will be next when i can get a bit of spare time between now and christmas.
Utemad
28-11-2004, 10:50 PM
EDIT: is cunninghams gap the road up the range into toowoomba? thats a steep bastage!!
That's the Warrego Highway. Cunninghams Gap is on the Cunningham Highway which takes you to Warwick It is bloody steep and windy too. Especially the last little bit.
ahh ok thanks :) i have probably driven it at one stage...... just don't remember it's name. Haven't been to toowoomba for a couple of years
Utemad
29-11-2004, 01:54 PM
ahh ok thanks :) i have probably driven it at one stage...... just don't remember it's name. Haven't been to toowoomba for a couple of years
I can drive Cunninghams Gap mostly in 4th with some drops back to 3rd in my 2.6L petrol Rodeo with a load of camping gear. However the last section is 3rd gear with no exceptions LOL.
hehe i'm hanging out to get the Deo re-done now!! 8)
The power steering pump on my Deo died on friday afternoon :'( the whole shaft and pulley and all came out.... and i can't find it :o so NOW i have to get me another power steering pump *sigh* Photos to come when i pull it out.
taziiy
05-12-2004, 05:31 PM
Oopps and you thought you where finished :(
guzzi
05-12-2004, 06:27 PM
Taz,
you of all people must know, its never finished......
Roe
Time for the big write up lad,
what worked,
what didnt work,
How much $$$,
was it worth it?
Whats next (whats left would probably be a better question)
Dont be shy, if its a good enough write up who knows Pat may even publish it ::)
Wilesy
05-12-2004, 06:58 PM
Roe,
What are you on Drugs?
I didn't pull anything pal >:(
Your post was edited for language. Don't like posting without swear words, don't post at all!
The post which I changed is Here! (http://www.4wdmonthly.com.au/forum/index.php?action=display;board=5;threadid=5093;sta rt=0#msg80747)
Be careful before making insinuations!
guzzi
05-12-2004, 06:58 PM
Wilsey,pal,
No Im not on drugs.
I dont consider the word "dick" a swear word either.
I wouldnt mine being "censored" if you were at least consistent.
Have a look at some of the politically correct posts regarding harold.
Back to the buisness of haveing fun.
End of subject.
Wilesy
05-12-2004, 07:04 PM
The post in which you chose to swear was over 2 months ago in another thread when you had just joined.
Don't insinuate that I had pulled any posts as I haven't! Particularly in this thread because you are wrong!
Taz,
you of all people must know, its never finished......
Roe
Time for the big write up lad,
what worked,
what didnt work,
How much $$$,
was it worth it?
Whats next (whats left would probably be a better question)
Dont be shy, if its a good enough write up who knows Pat may even publish it ::)
mate it's not an MQ Patrol or an 80 series cruiser...... or even the standby modded landy.... so whether it's going to get a gurnsey is another story. :-[
anyways.......... i put the flexi-flares on today after i got back from Sydney.... they look pretty good!! ;D heres a coupla pics.
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/flareson.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/flareson1.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/flareson2.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/flareson3.jpg
taziiy
05-12-2004, 09:01 PM
They dont look to outer place at all and it looks pretty cool
that should keep the short arm of the law away for a little while ;D
yeah it looks good parked out the front ::) I found a power steering pump at a wrecker here..... 150 bux for the lot, including resevoir.... pick it up tomorrow..... should have it in by the weekend hopefully..... that way i can start on my rear bar
taziiy
07-12-2004, 12:34 AM
Excellant i bet you cant wait di you end up finding the old one or is gggggggggggooooooooooonnnnnnnnneeeeeeee
to power steer heaven :o
goooooonnnneeeeeeee :-\ i have no idea where it went.......
Troopy93
07-12-2004, 06:44 PM
The Deo is lookin good mate, your sliders look the same as the ones i made (in my shed still),too lazy to put em on just yet.
westvictoriaHILUX
09-12-2004, 12:45 AM
Deo i have got to admit yours is the best rodeo i have ever seen. Although i still really think the new rodeos suck, i have always had lots of respect for the older ones. They are a great truck and i tell ya what, ill have yours if ya ever dont want it ;)
ahhhhh if only 4WDM shared your opinion of it......... :P It draws a little attention these days..... will look better when i can manage to get the rear bar on. I'm going to mount a highlift jack on it too....... and maybe a shovel and a broom LOL
a blank post?? ya submit it before ya typed it? lol
taziiy
10-12-2004, 09:26 PM
so are you making a broom holder as well ;D
BushTuckerNed
10-12-2004, 11:30 PM
The deo has been almost done for a while. Why dont you just change the same to the Never Ending Story
taziiy
10-12-2004, 11:43 PM
The never ending roedao ;D