View Full Version : Project Garth...... SAS 'n Coils.. It's time!!
Its starting to look like its really coming along now
can't wait untill it finished! :D
BTW are you still toying with the idea of an RA gearbox?
Are you still putting airlockers in it?
When are you going to need devorce papers? ;D ;D
Just kiiding
Tony,
just a thought, while you have unlimited access.
As you dont seem to mind tilting at windmills and tackling difficult jobs, have you given any thought to fixing the other rodeo short comming......the low mounted alternator.
Just something to mull over, you know with all this free time youve got on your hands ;D
thats actually a bloody good idea! ;D ;D i'll look at it while i have everything off it..... just for that, i'll shout ya a beer next weekend ;D
Its starting to look like its really coming along now
can't wait untill it finished! :D
BTW are you still toying with the idea of an RA gearbox?
Are you still putting airlockers in it?
When are you going to need devorce papers? ;D ;D
Just kiiding
Nahhh i asked around, the RA gearbox bellhousing is larger and won't fit. I might see if Tiny can source some teralow gears for it..... I'm putting one air locker probably in the front..... i should be buying that in the next couple of weeks.. the rear locker will come a little later on.. from all reports the LSD in those diffs is great. so with a front locker, it should do ok for now. I might see if i can tinker with the LSD while i have the diff centre out to change the gear sets.
And no, no divorce needed ;D
dibbs
09-09-2005, 09:23 PM
I think the 6.5 might be a good way to raise the alternator.
So how many more pages till you can print this as a novel?
Just kidding i cant wait till its finished. :) It just keeps getting better.
I think the 6.5 might be a good way to raise the alternator.
So how many more pages till you can print this as a novel?
Just kidding i cant wait till its finished. :) It just keeps getting better.
i broached the idea tentatively with the wife last night...... there is a fine art to it....... she didn't say yes...... but then she didn't say no either ;D so i leave it be for a few more weeks.... then start feeding her with forward planning, and financial planning.... "IF" i were to do it, i recon i could get approval ;D ;D I should start charging people for lessons on how to get the wife to agree to mods ;D
PJ.zook
10-09-2005, 12:39 PM
...and prey she doesnt read this forum
got more done today...... pulled a heap of stuff off the chassis..... diffs are out, fuel tank is out, exhaust is off, torsion bars are gone and the gear box is unbolted and ready to come out.... i will get that out tomorrow, along with the rest of the front suspension....... next weekend i'm going to lift the engine out.. that way i can get to the chassis much easier and i can turn it upside down to repair my gearbox crossmember which has 2 broken bolts in it. I pulled out all the brake lines and the fuel lines as well... will make it easier to clean the chassis up once i have cut all the uneeded brackets off and then paint it. If i can snag a trailer, i'll take it to work to sand blast once i get the Nissan stuff welded in.
Anyhow.... a couple of pics........
Front diff out and waiting for guzzi to come pick it up next weekend....
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/SAS_conversion/SAS020.sized.jpg
Front end just about dissasembled
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/SAS_conversion/SAS021.sized.jpg
Rear diff and fuel tank on the ground....... the fuel tank will be mounted up where the spare wheel used to sit.
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/SAS_conversion/SAS022.sized.jpg
I gotta remember where this stuff goes when i put it back together :-X
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/SAS_conversion/SAS023.sized.jpg
Some of the stuff i removed today......
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/SAS_conversion/SAS024.sized.jpg
mulesa
10-09-2005, 04:16 PM
paint the chassis a different colour other than black....if its legal....do a bit of colourin while u can haha
i contemplated painting it red..... it's not illegal to paint it any colour you wish....... but i think i will stick with black..... i'm going to paint the trailing arms red and the panhards yellow.. should look great!! until it gets dirty hehe
farkwa
10-09-2005, 04:55 PM
does the rodeo have any lift at all
farkwa
10-09-2005, 04:59 PM
or is it stock. just after some tips on lifting my rodeo :)
mulesa
10-09-2005, 05:01 PM
yeh it should look trick.... @ least ur at a good time to make up ur mind about colours haha, cos itd get harder with everythin back together
does the rodeo have any lift at all
it had a 2" body lift and about 2" suspension lift
had another thought earlier....... means more money ;D i thought about moving the radiator behind the cab ala Otis style...... i have a little time to consider it....... about $200 for an electric booster pump and pipes and bits hrrmmmm........ it's worth considering 8)
then you could get a bigger intercooler for the turbo ;) 8)
my son said the exact same thing :D
mulesa
10-09-2005, 06:41 PM
lol, thers plenty of things u can do, but u have to sort out the practical ones, and ones that will help....if u fit a bigger intercooler, def go, if not, is it really worth it?
Awsome!!!!! ;D
Let me know when you have time to send those bal joints up for $25.oo
lol, thers plenty of things u can do, but u have to sort out the practical ones, and ones that will help....if u fit a bigger intercooler, def go, if not, is it really worth it?
dunno if it's worth it or not....... but i think.... why not! ;D
Awsome!!!!! ;D
Let me know when you have time to send those bal joints up for $25.oo
i should have them all ready to send in a day or so...... i found another new one in the garage... so you get 5 of them :) and all of the others are still stiff..... so they are as good as new. I'll elt ya know when i weigh them and find out how much to send them your way.
timbocruiser
11-09-2005, 09:12 PM
going well Tony! hope you have all the nuts and bolts all in marked bags, it makes the thing easier to put back together even if its seems like a boring chore!
I will keep an eye on your thread, its a great read 8)
brooksy
11-09-2005, 09:18 PM
Better you than me thats for sure.
Hope all goes well, I'll be watching !!
brooksy
mulesa
16-09-2005, 04:58 PM
ITS FRIDAY roe, so does that mean another big weekend on the car????
getting the engine out tomorrow..... more than likely after i change the rear engine seal...... then i'll be flipping the chassis over to cut brackets and shit off :) i'll get some done every weekend. Will probably order the air locker for it next week too
mulesa
16-09-2005, 05:02 PM
u do get a fair bit done in a weekend, @ ur rate ull have it finished in no time
once i start to weld stuff in, it "should" progress at a reasonable rate...... daylight savings will help too.... because i will be able to motivatre myself to do something during the week.... and by then i'm hoping to have the body back on and be into the fiddly shit..... it will get there, i just want to do it properly :)
mulesa
16-09-2005, 06:05 PM
properly is the best way to go, even if it takes longer, cos in the end ya far better off....make sure while everything is apart u have a look @ the rust in the chassis, and do somethin to protect it
there is some rust in the back end of the chassis on the inside....... but that can be fixed fairly easily.
got a little more done today...... took the flywheel off and changed the rear engine seal...... Took the Rodeo brake booster off and put the nissan one in...... played around with the tray and unbolted everything and cut off the hi-lift jack mount....... that can go elsewhere.... organised how the tray "might" look when i'm done..... took some pics......
The radiator will go where it is now.......
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/SAS_conversion/SAS025.sized.jpg
View from the back...... keeping in mind that the fuel tank will be moved, so the filler will go to the left of the toolbox, and there will be an A-frame holding the spare up.... (i know it will affect my centre of gravity) I figure it will be far easier to remove from there if needed.
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/SAS_conversion/SAS026.sized.jpg
View from the other side.......
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/SAS_conversion/SAS027.sized.jpg
Nissan brake booster bolted in place.
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/SAS_conversion/SAS028.sized.jpg
Utemad
17-09-2005, 10:12 PM
You'll certainly need that trailer when you're done!!!
I like your "If its to loud your to old" sticker. Except it should be "If it's too loud you're too old" LOL.
You'll certainly need that trailer when you're done!!!
I like your "If its to loud your to old" sticker. Except it should be "If it's too loud you're too old" LOL.
yeah my daughter bought me that sticker ::) you would think if they were selling them that they would get the grammar right.
guzzi has been and gone with a trailer full of Deo bits........ i gave him (for a price of course) all the shit i hadn't sold yet.... got it all out of my hair, he got both diffs, the tail lights, tailgate, torsion bars, front hubs and disc calipers, upper control arms, steering box and linkages, a spare brand new CV boot, and the axle i broke to strip the CV's out of..... all i have left now is the wheels, but i'm using them on the trailer, unless somebody wants to swap a couple of 33's for 5 x 31's 8) 33's would look choice on the trailer ;D
EDIT: i also took the turbo off, i'm considering getting it overhauled, and i'm going to make a new free flowing manifold for the turbo... should work heaps better. Only thing is, all these ideas i keep getting is adding cost and weeks onto the build up 8) oh well....... it's only money isn't it!! ;D I have virtually thrown the timetable out the window and i'll just plod along to get it done how i want, and in time for Rover Park next year
got very little done today...... didn't feel too well... and had a headache most of the day...... i did however buy a couple of things to help with the work..... an engine stand to put the engine on DUH! a creeper seat so my poor old knees don't cop a hiding........ and an air compressor so i can paint shit when i get it happening ;D I'm going to get the chassis sand blasted if i can get it to work and paint it at home in a heavy duty black paint...... one that doesn't chip like the stuff i have on the tray ::) that is going to have to be sand blasted too and repainted in auto paint, instead of mining paint.
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/SAS_conversion/SAS029.sized.jpg
its coming along well tony bet your looking forward to adding the bits and pieces now :D
the biggest disheartening thing at the moment is getting to a point where i start welding stuff on....... once that starts to happen, it should progress quicker...... I'm ordering the air locker tomorrow, that will have all the expensive shit out of the way...... then it's down to making brackets and stuff at work for it. i had a couple more ideas today..... I'll keep em to myself until i investigate further....... but no doubt it will cost a lot and put me closer to bankruptcy ;D ahhhh the joys of modding a fourby
Good stuff Roe looking good mate! Any progress is good progress i have found anyway! ;)
fourocker
18-09-2005, 09:36 PM
This is a huge job mate and I take my hat off to ya for your determination and drive to do it right, lookin forward to the mighty finished product. ;D
taziiy
18-09-2005, 11:34 PM
sounds like your have having a lot of fun and all this thinking is what proberly gave you the headache ;D dont you just love it when bits and pieces of it everywhere
i scored a tub to make a trailer out of today ;D it pays to keep your eyes open!! 8) i spotted a couple of tubs at a place i was doing hydraulic field service work for....... anyway..... a couple of questions, and a look around.... they had 2 rodeo tubs, and a full size navara tub... in great nick!! with only a small ding in the tailgate..... $200 ;D the full length will work better because the wheel will be in the middle of the tub, and not at the front like the dual cab tubs are....... so now i have to pick it up, and find somewhere to stash it here until i finish the Deo......
taziiy
19-09-2005, 08:06 PM
another project for you
i was always going to build a trailer...... this makes things a little easier
taziiy
19-09-2005, 08:16 PM
yeah it would so is the trailer going to be a coily tooo
yeah... coils but setup a little different to the normal layout...... TOY80ST is going to help me design it...... i hope
gidget
19-09-2005, 09:05 PM
Holy mate, it was a mission to catch up on this thread, but nowhere near as big as what you are doin.
Hope you don't have to many left over bolts ??? ;D LOL
Good luck mate & keep the pics coming in.
TOY80ST
20-09-2005, 08:21 AM
yeah... coils but setup a little different to the normal layout...... TOY80ST is going to help me design it...... i hope
Yes Mate I am, I need a little break from my designing soon. (see below)
http://tinypic.com/dvn6ue.jpg
So your little project should be good. I should have called in when I was in your town on wednesday but I was too busy taking photo's of railway intersections for the RTA. You going to have to email me some photo's of the tub and hopefully if you have any idea of your towbar height give me that as well (top of tounge) I will PM you My email address.
i won't know heights until the Deo is done...... i will be picking the tub up on friday. I'll email a couple of pics once i get it home.
haven't done a great deal to it lately...... been a little crook... and a whole lot slack..... changed the brake booster, the Nissan one fitted perfectly! ;D Made lots of inquiries for other stuff.... buying shit on ebay for it..... plus getting stuff for the trailer as well...... i want to get all the expensive stuff first up... ordering the steel for it next week.... and the air locker will be ordered as soon as i get my tax cheque back, which should be very soon. MY mate came up with an idea to get past the difference in the chassis width, i'm going to send a pic to the engineer and see what he thinks before i go ahead and do it.
Bare chassis...... a lot of the stuff that has to come off has been half cut off... i have to brace the chassis first to stop it springing apart on me.
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/SAS_conversion/SAS030.sized.jpg
Put the front up on stands trying to flush a tremendous amount of mud and rocks out of it.....
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/SAS_conversion/SAS032.sized.jpg
The idea for the chassis mod to compensate for the difference in chassis width....... it will depend on whether or not the engineer likes it........
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/SAS_conversion/chassis_mod.jpg
btw......... the Volvo in the background is my current ride ::) better than shanks' pony i guess.......
Is an ugly looking thing without the body and stuff isnt it - I think I will keep mine dressed :) :) :)
Anyway Tony keep posting the progress, will have to go for a run with you when it is done
crankycruiser
05-10-2005, 09:09 PM
GEEEZZZ u dont muck about do u tony :o
Gojeep
06-10-2005, 02:36 PM
I wonder if he would be happier welding in a thick walled pipe vertically that the coil would sit inside. It would be still cut into the chassis and you would leave the cross member where it is but now attaches to the pipe instead. The pipe would be the full depth of the chassis long, if not longer, and fully braced by the chassis itself which has been cut in a curve to go around it. You could add more bracing on the other side of it going from the chassis to the cross member around the pipe.
So it would sit where you have the large circle now without the need for cutting more out of the chassis as you have shown. You shouldn't even need the outside brace as you really have only scalloped the chassis which is then replace by the wall of the pipe and the extra bracing in front of it.
Hope that makes sense?
Bundy
06-10-2005, 04:29 PM
I was thinking the same thing
I wonder if he would be happier welding in a thick walled pipe vertically that the coil would sit inside. It would be still cut into the chassis and you would leave the cross member where it is but now attaches to the pipe instead. The pipe would be the full depth of the chassis long, if not longer, and fully braced by the chassis itself which has been cut in a curve to go around it. You could add more bracing on the other side of it going from the chassis to the cross member around the pipe.
So it would sit where you have the large circle now without the need for cutting more out of the chassis as you have shown. You shouldn't even need the outside brace as you really have only scalloped the chassis which is then replace by the wall of the pipe and the extra bracing in front of it.
Hope that makes sense?
the crossmember that you see in that picture has to come out anyway.... it will be replaced by 2 cross braces that i cut out of thge Nissan chassis.... one for the shock mounts, and the other one forward of that for the track bar mounts...... The chassis is 65mm wide, and is 90mm narrower than the nissan chassis. I'll get a photo of the OE mount, it's more than adequate i think, and it will be fully welded withing the cutout anyhow..... I'm yet to hear back from the engineer, he's probably on holidays :-\ What he says will determine whether i have to move the spring mounts on the diff or not. I hope he gets back to me soon, i want to get moving with this thing..... i have been far too slack just lately. Although, i have removed the time frame as i keep adding stuff to do and more expense.... i don't mind, as long as i have it all done and ready by the time Rover Park rolls around next year. As it stands, part of the rear of the chassis is going to be replaced because there are parts that have some fairly serious cancer....
A couple of the additional shit i have added to it includes a new custom high flow exhaust manifold to get the turbo working a bit better, moving the radiator to the rear of the vehicle, new intercooler with 2 x 9" fans, and..... a new tray :-X yeah i know i just spent $500 building the other one..... but i'm gonna make it a bit different and replace the one i currently have. A little ambitious maybe.... but i will get it there.
I was thinking the same thing
when i first started it, or should i say when i first mentioned it... i was deadly serious, and i want it done properly..... i want people to look at it and say "HOLY SHIT! Look at that Rodeo!!! :o" but i also want it to be more than a show pony...... i know a few people didn't take me seriously..... i guess they do now :) I was warned by a few that i should add a few grand and a few months to my estimates..... the thing is, i am addingthem on purpose ;D what the hell........ it's only money 8)
trewpy
10-10-2005, 11:11 AM
well im gob smacked its going to be an absolute BEAST!! ;D
taziiy
10-10-2005, 07:50 PM
well im gob smacked its going to be an absolute BEAST!! ;D
i agree i will be good when it starts getting put together and see the pics as it goes
ok....... i have had another thought....... and yes..it's going to cost :-X it's early and i am going to check later..... but does anybody know if the TF Rodeo 2.8 T/D came out in an auto? :P yeah yeah yeah..... i know i have been saying i prefer the manual...... but with the extra grunt it has, i am going to listen to the advice of others that swear by autos off-road and think about converting mine...... might as well while it's in bits.
Utemad
11-10-2005, 09:46 AM
The 2.8 t/d 4x4 Rodeo never had an automatic but maybe the 2x4 did but of course no transfer case?
Possibly was an auto option in the imported MU or maybe an auto in the Jackaroo?
However I'm pretty sure that when this motor was around there was no auto option for it at all. However that doesn't mean it isn't possible of course ;)
The 2.8 t/d 4x4 Rodeo never had an automatic but maybe the 2x4 did but of course no transfer case?
Possibly was an auto option in the imported MU or maybe an auto in the Jackaroo?
However I'm pretty sure that when this motor was around there was no auto option for it at all. However that doesn't mean it isn't possible of course ;)
yeah i confirmed it today...... the rodeo didn't have the auto option in the 4x4 diesel models...... the Jackaroo might have, maybe somebody can tell me.... if not i'll call the Holden dealer again. I suspect that the MU may have been the same as the Rodeo..... i'll have to find out. I have the Holden "Part finder" program... and it shows the Jackaroo with an auto gearbox, but it doesn't show if it's available on the diesel..... more research to come :)
Maybe you could ask:
jackworld.alphalink.com.au/contact.htm
timbocruiser
11-10-2005, 06:59 PM
GEN IIIs came out with autos, hint hint nudge nudge ;)
i'm already in enough trouble for suggesting the 6.5 litre Chev diesel ;D but thats 12 months away yet!! gotta get this lot sorted first.
Hope that makes sense?
i finally got an email back from the engineer in regards to my idea, or should i say my mates idea...... here is what he sent back.... and it makes perfect sense........
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Unfortunately, what you proposed is almost exactly what the RTA don't allow. Cutting the side of the rail and adding the RHS to the outside would almost certainly be interpreted as widening the rail.
Under present interpretations, you could probably C-notch the rail UP over the spring seat and keep the rails at their original spacing. You would then put the seat on the underside of the notch, put a new crossmember or two in the notched section above the spring seat and gusset the inboard side of the spring seat back to them. As long as you have enough space under your tray or body, this is a much better option.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Roe - re. the auto thing, I just checked the TF workshop manual and the only auto it shows is for a petrol 2WD.
But what about the current model 3.0 diesel - that is available in an auto, is it the same basic motor/gearbox as ours?
Nig
Roe - re. the auto thing, I just checked the TF workshop manual and the only auto it shows is for a petrol 2WD.
But what about the current model 3.0 diesel - that is available in an auto, is it the same basic motor/gearbox as ours?
Nig
the new 3.0 engine is totally different to our model..... i was initially looking at putting an RA manual gearbox in because it's low ratio is far better.... but it doesn't fit. If the Jackaroo one is close, i guess i could adapt it myself
timbocruiser
11-10-2005, 08:55 PM
hey tony, might wanna take a peek ;)
http://www.outerlimits4x4.com/PHP_Modules/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=56758
Utemad
11-10-2005, 09:39 PM
I had a quick internet search and found a few mentions of auto 2.8 t/d MUs in Australia. So they are available. Try an Isuzu wrecker near you.
you'll get me divorced!! :P i actually showed the wife that thread ;D she looked at it, and at me... and said.... "you don't have enough money".... she didn't say no...... ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
I had a quick internet search and found a few mentions of auto 2.8 t/d MUs in Australia. So they are available. Try an Isuzu wrecker near you.
i found a wrecker in Brisbane that can source an auto for me out of an MU..... complete gearbox (torque converter and flex plate) complete console with gear selector... $1,450 exhange for my manual gearbox...... i'm going to go for it ;D ;D
timbocruiser
12-10-2005, 07:28 PM
you'll get me divorced!! :P i actually showed the wife that thread ;D she looked at it, and at me... and said.... "you don't have enough money".... she didn't say no...... ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
well then, go get some more money then!!!! simple ;D ;D ;D
if i wanted to go to the bank and borrow more money, they would throw it at me..... but i have to repay it.... thats the only problem :-X
taziiy
12-10-2005, 09:37 PM
so you done much to the chassis
not a great deal....... but i got my 9" grinder today..... i'll get stuck into it next week
taziiy
13-10-2005, 08:56 PM
yeah there is always tomorow
if i wanted to go to the bank and borrow more money, they would throw it at me..... but i have to repay it.... thats the only problem :-X
Dang Roe dats my problem too! :(
DIRTY
14-10-2005, 10:10 AM
not a great deal....... but i got my 9" grinder today..... i'll get stuck into it next week
9 inch mmmmmmmmmm 8) 8)
Bought these yesterday..... i should be able to make them work ;) if not i'll use one and flog the other one..... They aren't very big, so i figure i can make enough exhaust gas to spool them up..... will look good if nothing else ::)
http://i21.ebayimg.com/01/i/05/1e/05/86_1_b.JPG
also have the money now to get the auto trans for it...... looking into whether or not you can do dual ransfer on the auto or not..... i haven't seen it yet so i have no idea..... but i can get my hands on another transfer if it can be done. I need to get to Brisbane to get it though (auto trans, not the transfer) http://www.4wdmonthly.com.au/forum/index.php?board=17;action=display;threadid=13132
Sweet! still staying with the 2.8 donk? also what you doing with the old turbs??
ferremit
17-10-2005, 10:24 PM
Wonder if the 2.8TD turbo and manifold will bolt onto a 2.5.... WITHOUT massive mods....
Sweet! still staying with the 2.8 donk? also what you doing with the old turbs??
once i get it working i'll probably sell the old turbo and manifold.... yeah still staying with the 2.8 donk... apparently you can squeeze quite a few ponies out of it if it's done right. If it blows up.......... then i guess i'll have to put another engine into it ;D
Wonder if the 2.8TD turbo and manifold will bolt onto a 2.5.... WITHOUT massive mods....
i imagine it would be fairly close to fitting..... the only problem would be getting the oil and water to it.
dogbreath_48
18-10-2005, 02:59 PM
out of interest roe what are those turbo's off?
Tony let me know if you need me to look at or pick up the gearbox mate then i have an excuse to come and visit ;D
ferremit
18-10-2005, 03:23 PM
i imagine it would be fairly close to fitting..... the only problem would be getting the oil and water to it.
Theres a pair of 5/8th water feed lines to the oil cooler on that side of the motor and theres a big pressure oil feed to the alternator and return to the sump over there too ;)
Nemesis
18-10-2005, 07:02 PM
Still taking the 31's for the mud drags next year? Otherwise i'm gonna own ya! ;D :P
Oh, and you'll have to drive the Creek in 2WD to make it fair...
out of interest roe what are those turbo's off?
they are off a yota ;)
Tony let me know if you need me to look at or pick up the gearbox mate then i have an excuse to come and visit ;D
sounds like a plan Gary ;D
Still taking the 31's for the mud drags next year? Otherwise i'm gonna own ya! ;D :P
Oh, and you'll have to drive the Creek in 2WD to make it fair...
aahhhhh but nem you will be in the V8 class mate ;) I'll be running in the 4cyl class ;D
Tell ya what.... you do the creek in 2WD and so will i :P
I should take a picture of the pressure plate..... it 's burned blue from the mud drags! :o
EDIT: i won't have the 31's..... i'm giving 2 of them to a mate for his trailer for welding my chassis up for me..... and i'm using the others for my own trailer, which i hope to have finished to take up with me.
cool im taking my 31s then hopefully one of those turbos will fall off and land on my engine ;D then i might stand a chance
Nemesis
18-10-2005, 08:10 PM
Chris was talking about having two BOTS next year. We're all still going to the long weekend one aren't we?
i will be :) should see how many forumites we can get there next year....... if i can help it, i want to make both events if possible.
got the turbos today...... one was a bit iffy.... but the guy did mention it on ebay..... the compressor housing is heaps bigger...... but the turbine housing is the same size..... i'm guessing i can get both to work, or just replace the OE one with the good one.. which spins very smoothly with no play at all...... although 2 would look shit hot.... i think just replacing one will work...... here a couple of pics..... you can't really see the turbine housings too well..... but you can definately see the compressor housing..... The standard one produces around 16psi of boost...... i'm guessing the bigger one will produce a little more, not that i want to run any more than about 16 to 18psi........ thoughts?
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/SAS_conversion/turbo1.sized.jpg
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/SAS_conversion/turbo2.sized.jpg
Fawk yeah the compressor housing is bigger! Looks a lot stronger too! Yeah 18 psi is getting up there! As long as your cooling system is up to it you will be sweet although if you start dreaming about running more boost i would think about strengthening rods! Oh thats right you want this engine to blow! ;D ;D :P
Nemesis
19-10-2005, 08:44 PM
........ thoughts?
Yeah...... Nice work bench hehehhehe. Bet she was happy about that!
BWAHAHAHAHA love the form! ;D
........ thoughts?
Yeah...... Nice work bench hehehhehe. Bet she was happy about that!
she wasn't overly impressed with 3 turbos on there at one stage..... the Deo one leaked oil on the place mat :-X
8) 8)
looking rather slow at the moment ;D
get back to work ;)
Jokes aside
You have a lot of guts doing this :o
more purchases ;D got my pyrometer and another temp gauge yesterday....... i'm putting one temp gauge before and after the intercooler.... $370 for both gauges :-X i was going to get the digital gauge, but i ended up going for the dial gauge instead.
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/SAS_conversion/gauges.sized.jpg
Gojeep
22-10-2005, 06:49 PM
Mmmm, lots of buying but dont see it getting put any where!
;)
Mmmm, lots of buying but dont see it getting put any where!
;)
starting to move now 8) i spent a good 5 or 6 hours today grinding shit off the front end.... i was going to take pics... but you can only post so many pics of a chassis before people start saying http://uhr4wdc.com/chat/images/needahand.gif
but it will start to take shape a little quicker now.... I will have the diffs under it next weekend and start to get brackets made up for it. Boof will be down with the auto trans on the 5th of november..... once i have that here i will then decide if i want to spend even more money and do dual tansfer on it.... i have sourced another transfer case in Newwie for $300.... i'll see how much work is in it first..... i already have enough on my plate. I decided today to hold off on the twin turbos until after i get it back on the road..... it's going to take a fair bit of friggin around to get working properly..... so i'll make my highflow manifold and get the old one happening first. I'm going to start calling on more help from mates in the coming weeks..... the heavy stuff is not easy at the moment....... and i can only spend so long out there on my knees or even seated :-\ I have to see an orthopedic surgeon shortly and have both my knees operated on before i become a cripple.... thats kinda holding things up as well...... more guys helping = more motivation and = more work done. Once i get the cab back on, it will fairly fly along then.... well...... once i buy the rest of the stuff i need hehe ;D
cool so hopefully ill get to see more than just a chassis ;D
i'll show you all the other shit i have purchased as well hehe Should have the diffs under at least!!
dibbs
30-10-2005, 03:10 AM
Hmmm, it all seems very quiet. This probably means your busy or the missus found out the cost of it all and has killed you. :o
nahhhh she knows how much it has/is going to cost ;) She told me i should have borrowed more money!! :o if i had of known that i would have borrowed more!! It's movin a little slower than i would have liked........ but working more (mind you, i'm earning a fair bit now) and my crappy old man kneecaps..... it's not progressing too well..... i'm going to start gettng some friends to help.... it's hard to motivate yourself when you are faced with doing it alone....... i would hate to leave it until a month before Rover park to et mobile on it........ and if it's not anywhere near completion by then.... i will need a damn good ass kicking.
taziiy
30-10-2005, 02:59 PM
and if it's not anywhere near completion by then.... i will need a damn good ass kicking.
It will be a very big boot
fourocker
04-11-2005, 04:18 AM
Hang in there mate it'll be worth it in the end, know what you mean about getting motivated too. ::)
I've done 2/3 of bugger all to it in the last few weeks.... a mate that i used to work for in a computer shop had a heart attack and has been unable to work... so i have been working after hours to get computers fixed and customers sorted......... hopefully, he will be back on deck next week and i can get back into it again.
BLU-125
04-11-2005, 09:30 PM
I thought you must have been overwhelmed. ;D
It is making sense, now......you seem to be talking to a sensible engineer........
Good luck, anything you need, give me a call.
Giddy up Roe ;D Im starting to get the project garth DT's.
I thought you must have been overwhelmed. ;D
It is making sense, now......you seem to be talking to a sensible engineer........
Good luck, anything you need, give me a call.
might just do that Chris ;)
Giddy up Roe ;D Im starting to get the project garth DT's.
i'm gettin them too!! with any luck, i'll be on afternoon shift shortly...... that will give me more time to work on it as well!
some pics of the auto trans........ i can't thank Gary (boof) enough for bringing it down!! gives me motivation now to get stuck into it.......
the treans on a pallet.........
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/SAS_conversion/autotrans1.sized.jpg
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/SAS_conversion/autotrans2.sized.jpg
Judging by the fresh sealant.... it appears that the gearbox has been recently rebuilt.....
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/SAS_conversion/autotrans3.sized.jpg
Lots of wiring and shit too :-X electronic gearbox, 4 speed (3 speed with overdrive)...... with a power/economy switch.... should be ok to wire up.... "IF" i can get my hands on a wiring diagram for an MU.... i'll work it out somehow hehe all i need to find out is the low range ratios on it
I must add that all that stuff: gearbox, torque converter, flex plate, floor shift, console and crossmember only cost $1,450 I'm very impressed with the way it was packed. And the guys at Southside Wreckers have been excellent to deal with. They are in Archerfield in Brisvegas.
taziiy
06-11-2005, 06:02 PM
looking good all packed up sitting on the pallet by the looks where the sealant is that would be the transfer there done up wouldnt it ???
yeah more than likely. 8)
dibbs
07-11-2005, 01:02 AM
If the gearing on the auto tranfer was higher maybe your old gears/transfer may fit/swap over.
Just a thought.
Or maybe a second transfer, Hmm. ;D
TOY80ST
15-11-2005, 02:31 PM
bumpety, bump, bump, bump.
ain't gettin done any quicker unfortunately..... will get there eventually i guess :-[
got any further on the chassis yet or still the same ;)
i spent most of saturday cutting shit off..... all i need do now is flip the chassis over and cut the rest of the unwanted stuff off the bottom..... it's pissing me off actually...... every time i want to get a couple of days at it..... something comes up and i lose a day..... or you get "i'll be around on the weekend to help you" and they never show.... i'll have a solid week over christmas to get into it...... plus i hope to achieve something before then.
did you sort out the plugs and stuff on the box? and once the chassis done things will start to move along quicker ;)
i had a look at them..... but i need to find a workshop manual for an MU so i can get the wiring diagram out of it.
Nemesis
15-11-2005, 07:02 PM
Try eBay... I bought a dual cd manual thing advertised as Lexus for my engine. Turned out to be the Mitchel On Demand program, and the Data cd has just about every Toyota available on it......
NNOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO.......... arrghhhhhhhhh there goes another 50 bux on shit i don't need LOL!! at least now Bryan i can blame you for me going there again hahahaha
EDIT: i just looked....... ::) no workshop manuals..... but now i'm looking through the DVDs again LOL ;D ;D I got a CD with 4 "Three Stooges" movies on it for $1 on sunday ;D
Nemesis
15-11-2005, 07:32 PM
Hehehe it cost me $8 ::) ;D
Nemesis
15-11-2005, 07:36 PM
This is who i got it off, but doesn't look to be any GM there. You could always ask him....
http://stores.ebay.com.au/Workshop-Manuals-and-More
This is who i got it off, but doesn't look to be any GM there. You could always ask him....
http://stores.ebay.com.au/Workshop-Manuals-and-More
i didn't think to check ebay stores...... i'll msg the guy and see if he can help. Thanks Bryan
taziiy
15-11-2005, 07:52 PM
now you can really blame him he even gave you the link
yeah i can.... he said the "E" word initially :-\ my mouse went straight to my favourites.... all by itself :-X
taziiy
15-11-2005, 08:11 PM
yeah i can.... he said the "E" word initially :-\ my mouse went straight to my favourites.... all by itself :-X
yeah you wouldnt need much pushing to get it there
ferremit
16-11-2005, 04:08 AM
Did Roe get his backside banned or something? ???
TOY80ST
16-11-2005, 08:08 AM
Did Roe get his backside banned or something? ???
I doubt it he helped create this forum (well might as well have ;D),
But I think he has logged on someone elses pc? Then Again I will give him a ring and ask why his profile has dissapeared. Maybe he has over posted?????
TOY80ST
16-11-2005, 08:20 AM
Tirref, I just gave him a ring he's had enough of the young clowns on the forum. He got blamed for something that Happened here in the past week. So he deleted his profile. That is sad when it's probably the same people who are causing all the crap that goes on here.
Humpy
16-11-2005, 10:49 PM
Tony has deleted his account, following a confrontation with Duck and BTN.