PDA

View Full Version : Project Garth...... SAS 'n Coils.. It's time!!

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

taziiy
22-06-2005, 07:40 PM
Now im starting to wonder about you 2 :o

25-06-2005, 03:59 PM
goin to Stu's tomorrow (Nischev) to take pics and measurements of his GQ.... to see how things are going to fit under mine, and how much height i am going to gain 8) i'll post some thoughts and pics tomorrow when i get home. i wish i could start this damn project now :-X

mulesa
26-06-2005, 09:38 AM
ur not the only 1 who wud like to see this get up n runnin, thers gotta be quiet a few interested cos its not somethin thats done evryday

26-06-2005, 03:28 PM
Not long got back from Tamworth to measure up Stu's GQ and take pictures. i have most of the info store in my head.... but i got pics of the mounts and brackets for when i sort mine out. For starters, the wheel track is about 6" wider on the GQ diff........ that will make the Deo a bit more stable. with 3" springs, the Rodeo will sit 10" higher than it is now ;D ;D ;D If i do the body lift properly and put the rubbers back in, it will sit 11" higher...... if i run 35's, it will sit 13" higher 8) should look good when i can get stuck into it!! with any luck over the coming 2 months i can get all the shit i need to get started, including the 4.88 gears and new springs (standard springs will still give me 7") The front drive shaft would have been a problem...... the GQ front shaft is 30" long..... and mine is 20" long...... that will make the angle on the front shaft a bit "how ya goin" but we have resolved that already..... i'm getting the drive shaft off the GQ from Dave..... Stu has the old front drive shaft out of his MQ with a cardin joint in it (which will overcome the angle) we are going to organise a swap. The shaft out of the MQ is a little longer than mine, but once you add the difference in height, it should be perfect!! ;D I'm going to speak to Dave about getting the bits off the chassis (mounts and stuff) or, i need to try to get somebody to take me down there with a trailer that i can bring the whole chassis home on. This conversion should be a little easier than i first anticipated :) (famous last words eh!!) I can't wait!! ;D ;D

kruiser
26-06-2005, 05:47 PM
sounds good cant wait to see it finished will be like a mini monster truck . you will have 4wd magazines knocking at your door . good luck

26-06-2005, 06:01 PM
sounds good cant wait to see it finished will be like a mini monster truck . you will have 4wd magazines knocking at your door . good luck

thats what i am hoping for ;D not the mags knockin at my door, i don't really care all that much. But i'm hoping it will look like a beast!! There is apparently a Rodeo in Sydney with nissan diffs and 38's on it...... but it's more a maller than for off-roading..... i want mine to be very capable off road as well :) I should be able to run 35's on it...... but i might start with 33's and get some 35's later on. 38's are just out of my price range.

taziiy
26-06-2005, 06:21 PM
this will be one good looking roedao when its finished

Humpy
27-06-2005, 09:08 PM
The front drive shaft would have been a problem...... the GQ front shaft is 30" long..... and mine is 20" long...... that will make the angle on the front shaft a bit "how ya goin" but we have resolved that already..... i'm getting the drive shaft off the GQ from Dave..... Stu has the old front drive shaft out of his MQ with a cardin joint in it (which will overcome the angle) we are going to organise a swap. The shaft out of the MQ is a little longer than mine, but once you add the difference in height, it should be perfect!! ;D

Put dual transfers in it, it will lengthen the front shaft and the 4.1 diffs wont be a problem either

I dont know if thats possible with izuzu cases but it would be worth looking into

28-06-2005, 05:29 AM
it's on road that 4.11's will be a problem, and as far as i know, all transfers are 1:1 in high range. Correct me if i'm wrong. I had considered it.

Humpy
28-06-2005, 06:41 PM
I dont know about all transfers being 1:1, yours might be ???

Mine got 20% lower with the rockhopper gears, so if it was 1:1 before it isnt now :D

28-06-2005, 07:06 PM
I dont know about all transfers being 1:1, yours might be ???

Mine got 20% lower with the rockhopper gears, so if it was 1:1 before it isnt now :D

i can only get teralow gear sets for mine...... and they are 1:1 and 3.07:1 as apposed to standard 1:1 and 2.05:1

Humpy
28-06-2005, 07:11 PM
Aaah well back to plan A then I guess :-[

mulesa
28-06-2005, 07:12 PM
yep, thats the thing that sucks about cars trhat ppl dont get into modifyin seriously...nothing available that wud be really helpful, u have to do it yaself

28-06-2005, 07:15 PM
heres a good report on the gearing....... but it would cost an arm and a leg to get here.

http://www.rockcrawler.com/techreports/tera_low_isuzu/index.asp

28-06-2005, 07:17 PM
Aaah well back to plan A then I guess :-[

yeah.. plan A was a grand worth of diff gears :-X i'll end up divorced over this conversion!! hehe i was explaining to the ground anchor last night what it might concievably cost.. she nearly had a shit fit LOL!!

i'm looking at 3 grand just for the running gear and the gear sets..... i also need springs, shocks, drive shafts to be made, engineers certification, wheels and tyres, mods to the tray and front guards to accommodate the 5" per side extra in width, a slab for my mate to weld it, a couple of slabs for the stripping down bee i'm planning when i take it off the road ;) (stay tuned) paint, rear engine seal, clutch (if i gotta take the gearbox off, i'm replacing it) and i'm sure i have left a load more off that list :-[

GUHOON
28-06-2005, 07:29 PM
You should photoshop up a pic for us , so we can see what it might look like ;)

28-06-2005, 07:30 PM
You should photoshop up a pic for us , so we can see what it might look like ;)

i have the flu bad..... and i'm in my jammies........ but i will go out and take a pic of how high it should end up when it's done ;D if i get time in the coming couple of weeks, i'll photoshop a pic and try to get what it might look like.

oh!! one thing i missed on that last post about what i had to get...... RTC damper is another ;)

350rangie
28-06-2005, 07:44 PM
i'll chuck 1 in with the rest of the stuff

28-06-2005, 07:56 PM
i'll chuck 1 in with the rest of the stuff

yer a top bloke Dave ;D It will have yer shop emblazoned all over it

28-06-2005, 07:58 PM
ok... here is a pic of how high it "should" sit, thats with 3" springs, and 35's..... will obviously be a couple of inches lower on 33's.

as you can see....... the slider will be up where the door protection is now ;D

http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/height1.jpg

you can't see the numbers....... but it's 29" from the road

taziiy
28-06-2005, 08:32 PM
Its looking like a pretty big lift when its all done :D

29-06-2005, 05:25 PM
Its looking like a pretty big lift when its all done :D

i was looking at it earlier, and i think i will give the 3" springs a miss...... it will be too high for 33" tyres and will look odd. Even with the standard springs, i will probably need 35's to make it look ok. I'll see how it looks when i get the diffs under it.

mulesa
29-06-2005, 06:14 PM
you know you what the big lift and tyres, u cant deny it roe :P

i just had a look @ that page with the isuzu stuff in it...ud be suprised how much stuff is out for isuzus, and generally if its out for one, u can get it for another variant...u just have to look hard

29-06-2005, 06:21 PM

i just had a look @ that page with the isuzu stuff in it...ud be suprised how much stuff is out for isuzus, and generally if its out for one, u can get it for another variant...u just have to look hard

mate even with the standard springs, i worked out it will gain 7" of lift :o thats a fair bit!! and then i have to put the rubbers in the body blocks...... there's another inch........ 33" tyres will be another inch...... ;) plenty of lift...... would love to go the whole hog....... but i have seen hugely lifted cars with too small tyres.. they look http://uhr4wdc.com/chat/images/needahand.gif i can always go more lift later...... like i said, will depend on how it looks when i get the diffs underneath it.

Humpy
29-06-2005, 06:28 PM
Tony I want to see a photochopped pic of the deo with 37s and the lift your talking about 8)

Surely youve already done this, just post it ;)

29-06-2005, 06:31 PM
Tony I want to see a photochopped pic of the deo with 37s and the lift your talking about 8)

Surely youve already done this, just post it ;)

LOL i haven't as yet........ but i have the flu, and i doubt i will be going to work tomorrow..... so i might attempt it tomorrow.....if somebody can find me a side on pic of a lift GQ...... i'll use that :D

mulesa
29-06-2005, 06:46 PM

mate even with the standard springs, i worked out it will gain 7" of lift :o thats a fair bit!! and then i have to put the rubbers in the body blocks...... there's another inch........ 33" tyres will be another inch...... ;) plenty of lift...... would love to go the whole hog....... but i have seen hugely lifted cars with too small tyres.. they look http://uhr4wdc.com/chat/images/needahand.gif i can always go more lift later...... like i said, will depend on how it looks when i get the diffs underneath it.

yeh i spose ur rite on that

01-07-2005, 05:32 AM
somebody found a pic for me hehe this guy is an Isuzu NUT! from Chile..... looks like it's the thing to do in South America.....

http://tinypic.com/6fm32a.jpg

Twisty
01-07-2005, 07:59 AM
:o HOLY CRAP!!!! :o

That looks awesome Roe!!! Any more details on it? look as though its on coils too??

boof
01-07-2005, 10:35 AM
Man that looks awesome talk about stand out from the crowd

BushTuckerNed
01-07-2005, 10:46 AM
Is that how high yours will be...or u didnt get any details of that 4b to know?

Soft roader
01-07-2005, 11:07 AM
Roe, that 4B looks great, but I'm sure that the DAO will look better when the projerct is completed.

01-07-2005, 02:56 PM
:o OMG! i didnt know that you were that serious about the solid axle swap roedao! thats a project and a half!!! ;D

If it looks like that one above, its going to be very tough!!!

mulesa
01-07-2005, 03:54 PM
jeesus, musta been alot of grinder and welder work in that 1

01-07-2005, 04:50 PM
:o HOLY CRAP!!!! :o

That looks awesome Roe!!! Any more details on it? look as though its on coils too??

i think they are nissan diffs...... not sure..... he posted a few other pics of solid axle isuzus, but they have leaf suspension. It's giving me ideas though, i'm gonna paint the trailing arms red like that one...... and the flares on the front black ;D gotta work out what i'm going to do with the tray.... the wheels will stick out nearly 6" :o

01-07-2005, 04:51 PM
Is that how high yours will be...or u didnt get any details of that 4b to know?

i can make mine that high ;D depends on the tyres...... i don't know what size they are.... 35's might be ok......

01-07-2005, 04:54 PM
:o OMG! i didnt know that you were that serious about the solid axle swap roedao! thats a project and a half!!! ;D

If it looks like that one above, its going to be very tough!!!

i'm deadly serious about it....... i'm so keen!! wish i could start this weekend!! i gotta get all the gear sorted out first, and wait until i re-register the Deo...... i might even do it before hand if i know i can get my shit together and get a little help... keeping in mind i have to get it engineered before i can get it registered. Doing the conversion will suck just about all the money i have.... finding the $500+ to get it engineered will be the hard part.

boof
01-07-2005, 04:58 PM
maybe we should start up a fund if we all donate a few dollars that should cover the engineering ;D ;D i mean for a one off rodeo its money well spent isnt it ;D

mulesa
01-07-2005, 05:01 PM
maybe we should start up a fund if we all donate a few dollars that should cover the engineering ;D ;D i mean for a one off rodeo its money well spent isnt it ;D

dont forget crazy rodeo; its something special

guzzi
01-07-2005, 05:02 PM
Actually Boof,
Thats not as silly as it sounds.
It sets a precedent if it gets past, well in NSW anyway.
Anyone who actually has any real knowledge on this have any comment?

01-07-2005, 05:16 PM
Actually Boof,

hehe any donations will be gratefully accepted!! ;D ;D ;D Apparently there is one in Sydney with GQ diffs under it. Patrol is going to try to track him down for me. But like i said to the wife, if it's not engineerable, i'll go the whole hog and trailer it around 8) if you do it properly, anything can be engineered.

mulesa
01-07-2005, 05:17 PM
Actually Boof,

hehe any donations will be gratefully accepted!! ;D ;D ;D Apparently there is one in Sydney with GQ diffs under it. Patrol is going to try to track him down for me. But like i said to the wife, if it's not engineerable, i'll go the whole hog and trailer it around 8) if you do it properly, anything can be engineered.

if ur in the right state that is...

nothing wrong with trailering it around, at least u wud get a name for urself =@ all the serious 4wdriving events from ppl other than those on this forum

01-07-2005, 05:22 PM
When it comes time to take it off the road, i'm going to buy a few slabs of beer, supply the snags, and have a working bee 8) if i can get a few here to help rip the underneath out of it, and get the rear engine seal done, that will take me a third of the way there. I will have the gear all ready to go by the time i take it off the road (except for the wheels and tyres) Dave is going to get the drive shafts done for me in Canberra...... there is no real reason why i can't get it done by november...... money is the key.

boof
01-07-2005, 05:27 PM
Tony would love to come down and give you a hand that is if mine not in pieces as im hoping to start mine around the same time ;D

mulesa
01-07-2005, 05:41 PM
im so eager to see it start...i mean i no im not helping(i wud like to but too far away and i probs wudnt be much use and i dont no ya ;Dhaha), but its just something i wud luv to see, the sooner u start the sooner its finished :D

Nig
01-07-2005, 05:49 PM
When it comes time to take it off the road, i'm going to buy a few slabs of beer, supply the snags, and have a working bee 8) if i can get a few here to help rip the underneath out of it, and get the rear engine seal done, that will take me a third of the way there. I will have the gear all ready to go by the time i take it off the road (except for the wheels and tyres) Dave is going to get the drive shafts done for me in Canberra...... there is no real reason why i can't get it done by november...... money is the key.

Sounds like a party to me - sing out when its on I and I will try to get there with my toolbox under my arm

taziiy
01-07-2005, 07:08 PM
that lifted deo looks awsome

nischev
01-07-2005, 08:15 PM
I will try and get there for the working bee ;D ;)

No guarantees but unfortunatly :-\ :-\

Let me know if you need anymore measurements like the rear of the chassis ;)

01-07-2005, 08:18 PM
I will try and get there for the working bee ;D ;)

No guarantees but unfortunatly :-\ :-\

Let me know if you need anymore measurements like the rear of the chassis ;)

the rear measurement would be great!! ;D it matters little..... just measn there will be a bit of messin around to move stuff... the guts will have to come out to change ratios anyhow...... so it can be done then. I'll let ya know when it's getting close. It will depend on what the engineer wants to be done, and how much he will charge

Twisty
04-07-2005, 09:28 AM
Tony would love to come down and give you a hand that is if mine not in pieces as im hoping to start mine around the same time ;D

We could maybe organise to cruise down together Gary...I'd be keen to see the grinder out on the Dao.......How far south is Scone from us?

04-07-2005, 05:24 PM

We could maybe organise to cruise down together Gary...I'd be keen to see the grinder out on the Dao.......How far south is Scone from us?

Scone is about 5 hours south of Tenterfield

boof
04-07-2005, 06:29 PM
yeh dave that would work i cant wait to see this project start ;D

08-07-2005, 08:19 PM
i just got the OK from the ground anchor to get a loan to do the Deo http://uhr4wdc.com/chat/images/peaceout.gif I can't wait for the tax man....... so imma go see my bank manager next week (she's a very nice woman 8)) and i should be in Victoria to get the bits in the next couple of weeks hopefully :)

boof
08-07-2005, 08:29 PM
so is the start date still the same or are you bringing it forward

nischev
08-07-2005, 09:54 PM
i just got the OK from the ground anchor to get a loan to do the Deo http://uhr4wdc.com/chat/images/peaceout.gif I can't wait for the tax man....... so imma go see my bank manager next week (she's a very nice woman 8)) and i should be in Victoria to get the bits in the next couple of weeks hopefully :)

Let me know when you are starting and I will try and get there to help.

08-07-2005, 10:50 PM
so is the start date still the same or are you bringing it forward

start date will still be the same....... i just want to get all the gear i need here and sorted. with any luck, i'll get enough to get wheels and tyres as well.

08-07-2005, 10:51 PM

Let me know when you are starting and I will try and get there to help.

i'll let ya know Stu.... i'll buy a few slabs and lots of dead cow and we will have a working weekend

08-07-2005, 11:11 PM
your going to be busy boys by the look of it, it should be the worlds meanest Deo when its done ;Dcant wait to see it in action, are you going to fit lockers to the diffs before you put them in?

nice_surf
08-07-2005, 11:29 PM
This looks like it's going to be one awesome Deo :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o
A Deo with a SAS WTF :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o
All the best on it dude

09-07-2005, 08:03 AM
your going to be busy boys by the look of it, it should be the worlds meanest Deo when its done ;Dcant wait to see it in action, are you going to fit lockers to the diffs before you put them in?

i'm going to try to get a lockright for the front before i put it in...... i have to pull the centres out to change the gear sets so i might as well put a locker in too. i might be able to get a second hand airlocker for the back...... not sure. People tell me the nissan LSD is a good one. it might suffice for the time being.

09-07-2005, 08:05 AM
This looks like it's going to be one awesome Deo :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o
A Deo with a SAS WTF :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o
All the best on it dude

there are lots of Deo's with SAS...... not many with coils all round. As for being awesome...... well i hope so!! i'm about to spend 6 or 7 grand on it...... would cost me a shit load more if it wasn't for Dave (350Rangie) he's helping me out a heap!!

09-07-2005, 09:10 AM

i'm going to try to get a lockright for the front before i put it in...... i have to pull the centres out to change the gear sets so i might as well put a locker in too. i might be able to get a second hand airlocker for the back...... not sure. People tell me the nissan LSD is a good one. it might suffice for the time being.
nissan LSDs are pretty good, but not as good as a locker ;D

09-07-2005, 10:56 AM
i'll have to see how much i can borrow before i need a divorce lawyer and maybe even get a lockrite for the rear as well ;) ;D

10-07-2005, 05:52 PM
Hey, i can give you some money! if you sent those cv's and hubs down to me ;D

I might have damaged mine this weekend, :-\ eh eh.

mulesa
10-07-2005, 05:55 PM
lol, hes already asked him :P

10-07-2005, 06:02 PM

i'll be selling everything from underneath once it's pulled out. i reckon the front diff is a bargain at $600 ;)

10-07-2005, 06:11 PM
lol, hes already asked him :P

Ha ha, yes, that noise is not enjoyable!

10-07-2005, 06:13 PM

i'll be selling everything from underneath once it's pulled out. i reckon the front diff is a bargain at $600 ;)

Thats a bargain with the lokka! but i would like one of your cv's and a hub if your willing ;)

10-07-2005, 06:20 PM
mate i have the axle that i broke with 2 near new CV's on it...... if you can get the CV's off, you can have the axle for a slab if ya wanna come get it 8) oh... and the boots are in top nick too

mulesa
10-07-2005, 06:26 PM
ur rear diffs still the lsd isnt it?

10-07-2005, 06:30 PM
But im not sure if i have a CV prob or a locking hub prob.... Im keen to pay $$$$ for parts as you prob have what i might need! and ive got some time up my sleeve, as 4wd still works as it is just a bit noisy.

10-07-2005, 06:43 PM
ur rear diffs still the lsd isnt it?

it is 8) it needs axle bearings.... but it works (lsd)

10-07-2005, 06:44 PM
But im not sure if i have a CV prob or a locking hub prob.... Im keen to pay $$$$ for parts as you prob have what i might need! and ive got some time up my sleeve, as 4wd still works as it is just a bit noisy.

i guess the only way you will find out is if you strip it down (front hub) the CV's aren't going anywhere ;)

10-07-2005, 06:57 PM
Hey, while im on the runnin grear subject, are the front and rear diff centres exchangeable in the rodeos?

10-07-2005, 07:02 PM
Hey, while im on the runnin grear subject, are the front and rear diff centres exchangeable in the rodeos?

i have never had the rear diff out..... so i couldn't really tell ya

10-07-2005, 08:14 PM
Ahh well, thats to bad :). i wanted to puurchase the entire front end off you (if for sale) and place locker in the rear and the LSD in the front.... But Ill see..... Research time!!! ;D

10-07-2005, 09:05 PM
if the rear is a 10 bolt diff it should be interchangable..... some had 10 bolt front and 12 bolt rear.

EDIT: the entire front end will be up for sale, as will the shocks, rear end, leafs, bullbar, drive shafts, torsion bars..... and anything else that gets removed. I'll advertise them when i get them out, or about to pull them out. Then it will be first in best dressed :) i have the tailgate and tail lights for sale too

11-07-2005, 09:59 AM
Cheers roe, also found this info about the diffs, http://independent4x.com/generic46.html

I might see if there interchangeable myself, as an experement, as lsd front and lokka rear would be sweet! As it gets rarely gets used onroads.

boof
11-07-2005, 01:33 PM
i would have thought a lsd in the front would do stuff all in an ifs they pick up a wheel too easy and therefore an lsd would do bugger all

mulesa
11-07-2005, 01:58 PM
yeh...ill have to see what u list cos i might be interested in some shit as well ;D

have u made any further progress in sorting out the conversion yet, like final measurements n so on, all the usual crap that leads up to sometrhin this big

11-07-2005, 06:11 PM
i would have thought a lsd in the front would do stuff all in an ifs they pick up a wheel too easy and therefore an lsd would do bugger all
i tend to agree with this theory, wouldnt be worth the hassle of doing it

Humpy
11-07-2005, 09:18 PM
An lsd in the front would be much nicer to CVs than a lokka and would be helping even with a wheel off the ground

ferremit
12-07-2005, 05:12 PM
i might be interested in tracking down a 4.55:1 diff for the deo so i can run the 205R16's full time... depends on the price and whether i can just whack the CW&P in on my 2wd diff
:-\

12-07-2005, 05:33 PM

Why do you think that? As when i have one of the rear wheels off the ground, i still get drive to the grounded wheel as that is how an lsd works...

I was thinking locker, but then i was thinking about all the shafts and cv's i would go though $$$$$ :-[

Twisty
12-07-2005, 05:38 PM
Maybe its only toyota LSD's that don't drive the gorunded wheel when one wheel is in the air, since they are so useless.

But all the theory behind how most LSD's works, is if one wheel is in the air, it will get 100% of the drive. The grounded wheel will get none.

12-07-2005, 06:01 PM
i might be interested in tracking down a 4.55:1 diff for the deo so i can run the 205R16's full time... depends on the price and whether i can just whack the CW&P in on my 2wd diff

if you want to rebuild the rear diff, you can have it for $100 $50 if you wanna come get it :)

boof
12-07-2005, 06:14 PM

Why do you think that? As when i have one of the rear wheels off the ground, i still get drive to the grounded wheel as that is how an lsd works...

I was thinking locker, but then i was thinking about all the shafts and cv's i would go though $$$$$ :-[

depends how you drive it an lsd is no substitute for a locker and an ifs needs traction in the front more than the rear due to lack of travel i have never done a cv in the lux or the 4 runner and rodeo i had in the past, and apparently toyota cvs ae weak ::)driven properly you shouldnt have any dramas if you want to see the difference it makes come to cruiser in august and have a look ;D

12-07-2005, 06:47 PM
Maybe its only toyota LSD's that don't drive the gorunded wheel when one wheel is in the air, since they are so useless.

But all the theory behind how most LSD's works, is if one wheel is in the air, it will get 100% of the drive. The grounded wheel will get none.

I thought that is what standard diffs do? as called an open centre differential? as ive had it in 2wd and had one wheel in the air, the grounded wheel has pushed me over the obstacle after a bit of spin??

as in this document

http://auto.howstuffworks.com/differential8.htm

As with the front diff, the wheel that is in the air will spin, and the wheel that is on the ground will not?

12-07-2005, 06:51 PM
Sorry to take the light off the Project Roedao, maybe i should start another thread?

12-07-2005, 07:10 PM
Sorry to take the light off the Project Roedao, maybe i should start another thread?

thats ok mate... i don't mind sharing my thread with other Deo owners ;D

12-07-2005, 07:20 PM
Cheers Roe, U know that your going to be the King rodeo on this forum :P ;D

Humpy
12-07-2005, 08:25 PM

I thought that is what standard diffs do? as called an open centre differential? as ive had it in 2wd and had one wheel in the air, the grounded wheel has pushed me over the obstacle after a bit of spin??

as in this document

As with the front diff, the wheel that is in the air will spin, and the wheel that is on the ground will not?

But what happens if you apply the handbrake (http://www.4wdmonthly.com.au/forum/index.php?board=7;action=display;threadid=1431) :P

12-07-2005, 09:39 PM

as in this document

But what happens if you apply the handbrake (http://www.4wdmonthly.com.au/forum/index.php?board=7;action=display;threadid=1431) :P

HA ha ha... Are you saying that im a poor man?!?! >:( ;D

Thats it! im wipping out the CIG tomorrow!!

Humpy
12-07-2005, 09:48 PM
Nope

I just thought I would reopen that old can of worms ;D

BTW I dont reccomend the CIG locker unless the vehicle rarely gets off the dirt ;)

ferremit
13-07-2005, 01:26 PM

if you want to rebuild the rear diff, you can have it for $100 $50 if you wanna come get it :)

Rebuild the rear diff? whats wrong with it..... :-\

All i really need is the center i think, a LSD wouldnt be too bad either ;D

13-07-2005, 05:45 PM

Rebuild the rear diff? whats wrong with it..... :-\

All i really need is the center i think, a LSD wouldnt be too bad either ;D

mate........ it's noisey... i don't know what bearings are needed.... if you can get somebody to pick it up when i get it out, you can have it for nothing. can't charge for a rooted diff.

14-07-2005, 05:51 AM
looks as though the Deo might be coming off the road earlier than anticipated..... so i might be getting it sorted well before christmas. The last couple of days i have noticed a nasty whirring sound when i back off after overtaking somebody....... usually around 110-115kph....... and it's LOUD! :-[ I dropped my mate at home after work, i had only travelled 34km and i felt my diff...... the pumpkin on the diff was very hot!! not so hot i couldn't touch it, but a damn sight hotter than it should have been for a 34 kilometre trip in winter :-\ I'm hoping it will hold out for another couple of weeks and i'll take it off the road and get started on it :)

going to order new number plates next week too ;D i was going to get SLDDEO or SASDEO...... both are available..... but i think i will stick to ROEDAO ;D ;D ;D The handbrake said i could!! gee i love my wife!! ;D ;D ;D

14-07-2005, 05:56 AM
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/numberplate.jpg

;D ;D

taziiy
14-07-2005, 10:14 AM
your one lucky guy ;D :o

Twisty
14-07-2005, 10:15 AM
That'll look sweet Roe!!! Canit wait till the Rock Crawl next year at Rover Park!!

mulesa
14-07-2005, 03:21 PM
bloody hell, evry1's missus needs to take a page outa urs....ur gettin evrything, she must be stirrin up some sorta plan ::)

14-07-2005, 05:31 PM
That'll look sweet Roe!!! Canit wait till the Rock Crawl next year at Rover Park!!

me either ;D gives me plenty of time to get it sorted.
I think my rear diff is going to dissintergrate soon...... it's getting louder by the day :-X

14-07-2005, 05:34 PM
bloody hell, evry1's missus needs to take a page outa urs....ur gettin evrything, she must be stirrin up some sorta plan ::)

nope not really....... i did butter her up a little by telling her i'll give her a couple of grand from my tax cheque for our Gold Coast holiday next year.... that convinced her 8) Besides.... she loves me ;) and if i don't get my way, i'll harp on about it until i DO get my way! ;D ;D just gotta know how it's done 8)

14-07-2005, 06:31 PM
Below is the email i got from an engineer ;D ;D

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tony,

From what you've described, I don't see any real problems provided that the work is done correctly.

Obviously, there will be a few details to be sorted out, including calibration of speedo to suit the change of diff ratio and tyre diameter, flares if required, extended mudflaps behind the back wheels, etc..

--
Regards,

taziiy
14-07-2005, 08:36 PM
sounds like you got it all sorted ready to go

Twisty
15-07-2005, 09:38 AM
and if i don't get my way, i'll harp on about it until i DO get my way! ;D ;D just gotta know how it's done 8)

Thats how I ended up getting the zook....you've got to be prepared to stick it out for the long haul with Loz but....it was atleast 3 weeks before we could even go have a look it at.....and even then, it was just for a look..I haven't said yes to buying it!!

15-07-2005, 04:36 PM
and if i don't get my way, i'll harp on about it until i DO get my way! ;D ;D just gotta know how it's done 8)

Thats how I ended up getting the zook....you've got to be prepared to stick it out for the long haul with Loz but....it was atleast 3 weeks before we could even go have a look it at.....and even then, it was just for a look..I haven't said yes to buying it!!

i find the trick is to not mention straight up that you are going to buy it.... you use something like "that zook would make a good comp car" in general conversation..... then wait a day or two..... then something like "i reckon i could make a good comp car out of that zook" hehe Like i said mate, just gotta know how to do it :) looks like you and I have it sorted anyhow ;D

Twisty
15-07-2005, 04:38 PM
looks like you and I have it sorted anyhow ;D

And you too Tony!! I just wish you'd stop keeping us all in suspense and start choppin!! ;D

15-07-2005, 04:48 PM
looks like you and I have it sorted anyhow ;D

And you too Tony!! I just wish you'd stop keeping us all in suspense and start choppin!! ;D

i'm hopefully going to Melbourne next week to pick the stuff up.... i have to borrow a car to get down there. I only need the car to last 3 weeks. then i will take it off the road :)

15-07-2005, 04:49 PM
bring on the GAS AXE, cant wait to see the pics ;D

15-07-2005, 04:53 PM
bring on the GAS AXE, cant wait to see the pics ;D

i'm toying with the idea of taking the body off the chassis completely.... depends on how many i get here to help when i take it off the road.. Dave made a good point when he said it would be far easier to work on the chassis, and change the rear engine seal. i don't know how hard it is going to be though, cuz it will have to be man handled off.

Humpy
15-07-2005, 07:37 PM
For that sort of modification, its almost necessary to remove the body

For removal I suggest either lots of mates or a complex series of levers and pulleys, probably suspended from the carport ;D

16-07-2005, 07:17 AM
For that sort of modification, its almost necessary to remove the body

For removal I suggest either lots of mates or a complex series of levers and pulleys, probably suspended from the carport ;D

the more i htink of it, the mor i think i'll take it off...... gonna need at least 6 guys to do it though :-\ got me and my mate Ken..... we need more. I'm buying the beer too ;) ;D

boof
16-07-2005, 08:48 AM
depending on when your doing it roe i am keen to come down and help out :D

16-07-2005, 03:14 PM
depending on when your doing it roe i am keen to come down and help out :D

i'm hoping to get it off the road around the end of August if the diff holds out...... the more the merrier 8) i have beds for 4 out in the caravan (one double and two singles) room on the floor inside, and plenty of tent room out the back :)

16-07-2005, 03:18 PM
i emailed CAPA Performance a little while back.. got a reply today about supercharging the Deo ;D here's the response.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

comments: I'm curious about deisel engine supercharging. I have a 2.8 T/D Rodeo which i have intercooled and i'm planning on LPG fumigation early in the new year. I'm curious as to whether it would be advantagious to supercharge it along with LPG. Any thoughts or information you could give would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi There,

It will need to be a custom install, however it can be done.. I would look at the Eaton supercharger unit (Eaton MP-62) $2,900.oo

Regards,

Scott.

mulesa
16-07-2005, 03:18 PM
who needs machines when u got heaps of ppl ther ::)

16-07-2005, 03:26 PM
who needs machines when u got heaps of ppl ther ::)

my point exactly mate ;D with enough people, we should be able to get the cab off, and the diffs and suspension stripped out of it. I'm half way there then 8)

boof
16-07-2005, 03:36 PM
yeh roe i should be able to make it around that time

16-07-2005, 03:41 PM

good stuff!! you'll have to bring twisty down with ya 8)

boof
16-07-2005, 03:48 PM

good stuff!! you'll have to bring twisty down with ya 8)

yeh hopefully see how we go would like to see the lexus on the highway

Twisty
18-07-2005, 09:32 AM
Hopefully I'll be able to come down too....end of August should be ok....

2 BRUTAL
18-07-2005, 04:54 PM
removing the cab will certainly make things a lot easier, just make sure you label everything well so you know where it all goes, even if it means making notes in a book somewhere incase you get side tracked and don't get it back together as quickly as planned, I did this when we swapped cabs on my MQ and it was a piece of cake to put back together, I used a block and tackle with tie down around the pillars and down to the front where the bonnet latch is and this was quite easy, but you need somewhere to hang the block and tackle that is high enough to clear the gearstick etc when you raise the cab up. ;)
mention beer Tony and they'll come from miles away. ;D

18-07-2005, 05:22 PM
removing the cab will certainly make things a lot easier, just make sure you label everything well so you know where it all goes, even if it means making notes in a book somewhere incase you get side tracked and don't get it back together as quickly as planned, I did this when we swapped cabs on my MQ and it was a piece of cake to put back together, I used a block and tackle with tie down around the pillars and down to the front where the bonnet latch is and this was quite easy, but you need somewhere to hang the block and tackle that is high enough to clear the gearstick etc when you raise the cab up. ;)
mention beer Tony and they'll come from miles away. ;D

i am supplying beer ;D and a BBQ....... lots of steak n snags

21-07-2005, 05:56 AM
ok!! things are under way!! ;D ;D ;D Dave at Hardcore 4x4 is ordering my stuff today.... 3" light duty springs, 4" adjustable shocks, 4.88:1 gear sets, a lockrite front locker (yes dave i decided to get one after our conversation last night) plus he's throwing in a RTC damper, i'm going to fit the patrol booster and master cylinder as well to make the brakes pull up the 35x12.5 tyres. and bringing home the whole chassis and 2 diffs ;D ;D ;D In melbourne in 8 days to pick it up 8) then i can start sorting brackets and stuff out before i take it off the road. stay tuned!! ;D

mulesa
21-07-2005, 04:56 PM
u gonna hav plenty of pictures n so on for it all....and a b4 afta shot in like the same style so u can superimpose so u can see the :o facter

21-07-2005, 05:27 PM
u gonna hav plenty of pictures n so on for it all....and a b4 afta shot in like the same style so u can superimpose so u can see the :o facter

yeah mate i'm going to take a lot of high resolution pics ;) especially before and after shots. When i start it i'll start a new thread to post progress pics in and leave the chat in here.

Humpy
21-07-2005, 10:25 PM
I think it would be better if you kept the thread together, you won't loose one off the end that way.

And I wont be forced to merge them ;)

Looking forward to seeing the transformation 8)

ferremit
24-07-2005, 12:43 PM
you intending to get rid of that bullbar and put a steel one on it?

Im in the market for one after what happened last night :'(

http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b131/tirref/Roo%20Damge/corner-bend.jpg

BushBoy
24-07-2005, 07:28 PM
Looks like you hit a furry animal of some kind :P

ouch

24-07-2005, 08:57 PM
i will be selling the bullbar ;D stay tuned!!

ferremit
25-07-2005, 12:24 AM
mums not keen on owning the thing unless its got a bar on it now! ::)

She could have said that 2 years ago when i priced a new ARB bar for $700 ::)

25-07-2005, 12:33 AM
mums not keen on owning the thing unless its got a bar on it now! ::)

She could have said that 2 years ago when i priced a new ARB bar for $700 ::)
HEY FERRIT why dont you come up north so i can slap some sense into you ;D, why on earth dont you buy something that drives all 4 wheels instead of this 2 wheel drive deo of yours. talk is cheap. buy something that turns the the front whels too ;D

ferremit
25-07-2005, 09:10 AM
cos if i fix the rodeo, and sell it to mum n dad, ill get a dual cab hilux for about 2-3K changeover! ;D

25-07-2005, 08:06 PM
ok...... i have come up with some new plans for after i get the conversion done, and the LPG fitted........ wait for it............ twin turbos ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D thats if i can do it successfully..... i was thinking about 2 small turbos off a charade or Exa or something like that..... should work if i can plumb it up properly. I have emailed a couple of wreckers for availability of turbos..... i'll see what i get back.

dibbs
26-07-2005, 12:27 AM
Hmmm, You really love a challenge dont you.
Just wondering will you have twin exausts, intake manifolds and intercoolers. Twin snorkles would look pretty cool.

8) 8)

just a thought.

26-07-2005, 05:30 AM
Hmmm, You really love a challenge dont you.
Just wondering will you have twin exausts, intake manifolds and intercoolers. Twin snorkles would look pretty cool.

8) 8)

just a thought.

one exhaust...... just plumb the 2 into one 3" pipe.... modified intake..... just a thought at the moment.... i need to find an excuse to replace the turbo..... then i can convince my lovely wife that it would be cheaper to get 2 smaller ones ;) gotta use yer melon ;D

Soft roader
26-07-2005, 08:00 PM
jesus H christ ROE, you surely do like a tuff challenge don't ya. The DAO should look pretty cool when it's finished and has two small hairdreyers attached under the bonnet.

26-07-2005, 08:06 PM
jesus H christ ROE, you surely do like a tuff challenge don't ya. The DAO should look pretty cool when it's finished and has two small hairdreyers attached under the bonnet.

like i said before........ it's my very own mid-life crisis and i'm enjoying it ;D ;D I think of these things, think about them a while, get advice.... weigh it up..... if i think i can get it done without too much hassle and expense, then i'll have a go........ i still don't know whether i can get 2 turbos to work efficiently or not...... but as soon as i can find out, i'll look into the expense side of it.

BLU-125
26-07-2005, 08:37 PM
The question, ;D WHY ;D, comes to mind.......

simonsurf
26-07-2005, 09:06 PM
ok...... i have come up with some new plans for after i get the conversion done, and the LPG fitted........ wait for it............ twin turbos ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D thats if i can do it successfully..... i was thinking about 2 small turbos off a charade or Exa or something like that..... should work if i can plumb it up properly. I have emailed a couple of wreckers for availability of turbos..... i'll see what i get back.

I know it's only a thought at this moment but don't consider charade or pulsar/exa turbos. They are very difficult to find in good condition these days and parts are scarce. Get slightly larger ones (t25 or such) from a later model import. If possible, get a water cooled ball bearing jobby as they last heaps longer ;D

The idea sounds waaaaay cool 8) 8) 8) 8)

27-07-2005, 05:34 AM
The question, ;D WHY ;D, comes to mind.......

LOL you say why?......... i say why not!! ;D ;D

27-07-2005, 05:37 AM

I know it's only a thought at this moment but don't consider charade or pulsar/exa turbos. They are very difficult to find in good condition these days and parts are scarce. Get slightly larger ones (t25 or such) from a later model import. If possible, get a water cooled ball bearing jobby as they last heaps longer ;D

The idea sounds waaaaay cool 8) 8) 8) 8)

i know a guy who has an OE Rodeo turbo floating around....... but i don't think 2 cylinders will run a turbo on their own. When i get back from melbourne i'll call a few of the jap wreckers around sydney and see what i can track down for what price. I still haven't told the handbrake yet :-X unless when i get things done, the Deo developes some kind of turbo problem ;) ;) ;D

slowlux
27-07-2005, 10:30 AM
this thing will be nuts!

Be wicked to run off some ricer at the lights ;D ;D

27-07-2005, 07:34 PM
a guy at work today laughed when i suggested my latest idea......... so now that means i have to do it ;) ;D just to prove it can be done http://uhr4wdc.com/chat/images/peaceout.gif

Soft roader
27-07-2005, 08:01 PM
good on you ROE, proove the prick wrong!!!!!!!

4xgold0
31-07-2005, 06:00 PM
Tony,i have'nt read all your posts as yet,but has the thought of a "A" frame set up on your deo crossed your mind, (just a thought)

01-08-2005, 05:33 AM
Tony,i have'nt read all your posts as yet,but has the thought of a "A" frame set up on your deo crossed your mind, (just a thought)

i have thought about it..... actually Dave was showing me the set up on the Rangie on the weekend.

mulesa
01-08-2005, 06:03 PM
thers 2 ways of running the twin.....one per bank, so one turbo runs 2 cylinders, which i see is the way ur lookin @ it...

or u can run a small one to spool up quick, so the wen the larger one kicks in, uve already got the power for it n u wnt get heaps of lag

but from wat u wer sayin a whhhhhiiiiiiiiilllllllllllleeeeee back, u got no probs with lag, the 2nd wud probs jus be useless to u

01-08-2005, 06:13 PM
i had a good close look at it over the weekend...... and i might have to remove the aircon pump to make it happen.. which i would prefer not to do...... i was talking to the service manager at Holden today.... he suggested i go to a place in Newwie and get a new ball bearing turbo and run that......... might look into it......... at this stage of my mid-life crisis, anything is possible LOL ;D

01-08-2005, 07:24 PM
ok...... here's pics of my goodies ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D got most of them, a few more arriving by courier in a day or two i hope! 8)

The donor chassis........
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/melb001.jpg

Dave cutting the chassis into bite sized pieces.......
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/melb002.jpg

One diff in the trailer..........
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/melb003.jpg

One of the Wranglers up against the current wheel :o :o
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/melb004.jpg

Koala undoing the rear diff......
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/melb005.jpg

Some of the sliced up bits
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/melb006.jpg

Wranglers loaded up ;D ;D ;D ;D
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/melb016.jpg

The rest of the stuff, including the diffs, 3" springs loaded up and tied down.......
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/melb017.jpg

can't wait to get stuck into it now!! ;D ;D

01-08-2005, 07:42 PM
btw... you don't wanna know what i paid for the Wranglers....... i hate seeing grown men cry :P ;) ;D

boysurfer
01-08-2005, 09:12 PM
That looks like its going to be crazy. id love to have a sas on the surf!
Have you thought about running a turbo blowing into a supercharger? Detroit use this set up on there old V8 diesels and it works well coz the supercharger goes well down low then the turbo works better up high. Sorry if this has already been mensioned i havent read the whole thread.

PJ.zook
01-08-2005, 10:29 PM
That looks like its going to be crazy. id love to have a sas on the surf!
Have you thought about running a turbo blowing into a supercharger? Detroit use this set up on there old V8 diesels and it works well coz the supercharger goes well down low then the turbo works better up high. Sorry if this has already been mensioned i havent read the whole thread.

One variant of the smaller Volvo trucks use a dual supercharger/turbocharger setup, the supercharger is belt driven via a magnetic clutch similar to an aircon compressor. Both it and the turbo feed into an airbox with a flap type arrangement which closes off either the turbo or supercharger inlet, depending on which is activated.

02-08-2005, 01:29 PM
btw... you don't wanna know what i paid for the Wranglers....... i hate seeing grown men cry :P ;) ;D
do tell, i might be after a set of 35s for mine soon, also are you using the rear GQ tailshaft or the Deo one, if your not using the GQ one ill buy it off you

02-08-2005, 05:22 PM
do tell, i might be after a set of 35s for mine soon, also are you using the rear GQ tailshaft or the Deo one, if your not using the GQ one ill buy it off you

i'll be using the GQ one and having it matched to the yoke from the Deo........ getting them done in Canberra.

Tell me what you would pay for a 35" Wrangler and i'll tell ya how much less i payed ;D

boof
02-08-2005, 05:35 PM
looking good tony cant wait to see the progress

02-08-2005, 06:03 PM
looking good tony cant wait to see the progress

still comin down? it all begins on the 27th :) ;D

boof
02-08-2005, 06:05 PM
will see how i go did my back on sunday moving boulders around the garden now i cant go to cruiser this weekend and dont know if i would be much help cant lift anything for a couple of weeks >:(

02-08-2005, 06:08 PM
you can keep twisty company and pass the beers ;) :D I'm going to need half a dozen ta least to help get the cab off the chassis. I have 3 so far :)

boof
02-08-2005, 06:14 PM
let you know how i go would like to come down but dont want to take any chances dont want to be unable to 4b for to long

boof
02-08-2005, 06:30 PM
cant come on the 27th just been reminded that the little fellas birthday is the 28th oops :-X now im in trouble ;D

taziiy
02-08-2005, 06:59 PM
Tell me what you would pay for a 35" Wrangler and i'll tell ya how much less i payed

I would say about $255 a tyre

BushBoy
03-08-2005, 07:18 PM
Tell me what you would pay for a 35" Wrangler and i'll tell ya how much less i payed

I would say about $255 a tyre

i'd guess and say they're a lot more than that, but don't know how much :P

4xgold0
06-08-2005, 10:23 AM
Tony, now that you will be running nissan gear, it wont be a roedeo any more me thinks, we'll have to call it a roetrol ::) ;)

06-08-2005, 11:48 AM
Tony, now that you will be running nissan gear, it wont be a roedeo any more me thinks, we'll have to call it a roetrol ::) ;)

or maybe a Nisdeo? ;D

06-08-2005, 04:08 PM
got some lights on it today...... not as many as BTN... and it's NOT a goddamn B&S ute! >:( :P They are only smallish Nitevision lights..... they look good, and they will do the job i will need them to do....... i don't do much night driving, so they are there more for asthetic value than practical....... also put a work light on.... i haven't wired any of them up yet........ no need, since the car will be coming apart in a couple of weeks time. cut a couple of brackets off today, gonna be a noisey dirty job, but i should get a few more done tomorrow, and do one a day during the week.

Anyway, some pics..........

The Wranglers......
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album321/adb.sized.jpg

The rest of the bits that need to be trimmed up.......
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album321/adc.sized.jpg

The two front spring mounts trimmed off the Pootrol chassis, ready to be welded on to mine. Gonna take a little manipulation..... the Nissan chassis is thicker than mine.
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album321/add.sized.jpg

The diffs...... the front will be ok....... but the rear one will have to have the spring mounts moved in by 45mm on each side, my chassis is 90mm narrower than the nissan one on the back.
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album321/ade.sized.jpg

Gave it a bath after i mounted the 3 lights...... as you can see..... NOT bull lights ;)
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album321/adf.sized.jpg

Troopy93
06-08-2005, 06:07 PM
Spill the beans mate what size and $ were the wranglers? they look a good chunky tyre, might be just what i need for the Troopy.... cheers T93

taziiy
06-08-2005, 08:10 PM
Spill the beans mate what size and $ were the wranglers? they look a good chunky tyre, might be just what i need for the Troopy.... cheers T93

I know there a 35/12.5/15 but not sure on the price somewhere aroune the $350 mark

crack
06-08-2005, 08:43 PM
well 31's are $255 fittedso i spose around the$350 mark then butu got em for what the same price as a31or sumthing stupid?

Humpy
06-08-2005, 09:35 PM

i'll be using the GQ one and having it matched to the yoke from the Deo........ getting them done in Canberra.

Tell me what you would pay for a 35" Wrangler and i'll tell ya how much less i payed ;D

$285 from Overkill

DoctorI
07-08-2005, 07:02 AM
Is anyone else wondering how that lawnmower is going to be utilized in this mega-buildup?

07-08-2005, 08:02 AM
Is anyone else wondering how that lawnmower is going to be utilized in this mega-buildup?

hehehehe....... it's still in the same position i left it from last time i mowed..... my bad..... should put it in the shed where it belongs.

07-08-2005, 08:08 AM
i actually payed $330 each for the 35"x12.5"x15" Wranglers including the 15x8 ROH white rims, landcruiser offset ;D I'm fairly happy with that price 8)

Humpy
07-08-2005, 09:02 AM
Thats a good price

But I had to drive to melbourne on them, not to get them ;)

07-08-2005, 09:15 AM
Thats a good price

But I had to drive to melbourne on them, not to get them ;)

what was the road noise like? i imagine it wouldn't be any louder than the Simex muddies i have now

GIBB
07-08-2005, 09:32 AM
hi roedao i was wondering when you made your sliders what size bar did you use and what was the wall thickness and would you use them to jack your truck up with
Regards GIBB

07-08-2005, 09:37 AM
hi roedao i was wondering when you made your sliders what size bar did you use and what was the wall thickness and would you use them to jack your truck up with
Regards GIBB

i used 1 1/2" medium duty pipe.... i'm not sure of the wall thickness...... but i have landed on them pretty hard, and they haven't budged, so i don't think you will have any problems jacking off them. As long as they are welded properly and mounted properly.

07-08-2005, 09:44 AM
While i think of it...... i found a manual disc brake caliper to use for my handbrake (not the wife ;)) After searching far and wide, even getting prices from the USA....... i went into the spares shop in town yesterday to buy some driving lights, and happened to ask the guy if he knew of anything i could use........ in a flash he had a book out, with an item and a price ;D $140 for the mechanical caliper, which utilises Commondoor disc pads........ will be here tuesday!! ;D sometimes all you need do is ask your local spare parts bloke!! i'll post a pic when it gets here

taziiy
07-08-2005, 10:31 AM
yeah maybe in th ebush the spare parts blokes know what there talkin about down in the cities i think most are just salesman that would sell you anything just for a sale

Humpy
07-08-2005, 10:15 PM
what was the road noise like? i imagine it wouldn't be any louder than the Simex muddies i have now

Noise isnt bad at all, only slightly louder than the half worn BFG A/Ts that were on it.

They did get a bit out of balance after 50km on the highway though

While i think of it...... i found a manual disc brake caliper to use for my handbrake (not the wife ;))

Replacing your wife with a caliper sounds painful :o

08-08-2005, 05:48 AM
who knows......... in the end, i may just take it off the road completely and turn it into a comp vehicle and buy a 6.5 litre V8 for it..... if it doesn't pass engineering, thats what will be happening.

trewpy
08-08-2005, 08:32 PM
mmm v8 ;D

08-08-2005, 08:43 PM
mmm v8 ;D

if i had a spare 5 grand, i reckon it would happen for sure ;) seriously! who knows what next year might bring eh? the donk is a little long in the tooth, and the gear box isn't as young as it used to be........

08-08-2005, 08:59 PM
i was discussing things with my mate who will be welding out the conversion....... and i'm going to widen the back end of the chassis by 90mm to match the diff, rather than having to cut and move all the crap on the diff istelf.... shouldn't be a major problem to widen it.

11-08-2005, 06:04 PM
got my park brake today....... all i need do now is to fit it up when i get everything in...... cost me $118 and will do the job rather well! all i have to do is get a disc made up at work for it.

http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/august008.jpg

http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/august009.jpg

http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/august010.jpg

PJ.zook
11-08-2005, 06:10 PM
Ooh that looks meaty, should get you sideways pretty easy id say. Added bonus is you could propably stop you car from rolling with it too!

boof
11-08-2005, 07:03 PM
must be getting keen now tony only a few sleeps to go ;D

11-08-2005, 07:12 PM
must be getting keen now tony only a few sleeps to go ;D

little over 2 weeks yet :) having a few probs with some parts for the diffs.... hopefully i'll have them sorted by the time i'm ready to put the diffs under the car

boof
11-08-2005, 07:17 PM
hope it all works out hope to make it down at some point during the build up and give a hand.

11-08-2005, 07:19 PM
hope it all works out hope to make it down at some point during the build up and give a hand.

welcome any time mate!! just let me know when ya coming....... i know patute is coming up to help....... i think the free beer, BBQ and a few JB's convinced him ;D got a couple of guys from work coming over, Koala (a mate of mine and a member of this forum) and another guy that is/was in my brigade that is also a member here.... the more the merrier ;D

16-08-2005, 06:49 PM
ok...... looks like i might get started a week earlier....... won't be pulling the cab off...... just getting shit ready to take off.... it will depend on whether or not the club trip i was going to lead actually goes ahead or not.......... no word yet. STILL having trouble getting the rest of my shit here so i can do the diffs...... it's getting ever annoying >:( Those that wanna come and drink my beer on the 27th will still be needed...... i have to get the cab off somehow :-\ I have a list of wanna-do's while it's off the road...... gonna keep me a busy boy, and a poor one as well :-X
some of the stuff i will be doing aside from the obvious SAS and coils....

front tube bar/winch bar
rear tube bar
spare mount on the tray
chop corners off the rear of the tray
re-manufacture the tray mounts
LPG injection (not proper fumigation)
centre mount handbrake (currently poxy under dash one)
full width dash pod
new custom snorkel

probably more to come as i think of it..... i'm going to get all the steel i need when ever i get my hands on the rear gear set and front locker so i know how much cash i have left..... buying other stuff as well......... i don't really care how long it takes to get done....... but it will be done... and well and truly before Rover Park next year.

taziiy
16-08-2005, 07:48 PM
sounds like someone will be a very busy boy

16-08-2005, 08:03 PM
sounds like someone will be a very busy boy

more than likely 8) I'll have fun doing it....... and i'm hoping when it's done it will look half decent.

17-08-2005, 06:40 PM
ok..... the club trip is on. so i go wheelin one more time 8) So it comes off the road officially on the 27th..... one thing i forgot to put on that list a couple of posts ago is endless air....... i'm gonna sacrifice my aircon and get a tank. Also, after reading the UOTY tests, i see that the RA rodeo has a lower low range than mine, 2.48:1 as apposed to 2.02:1 which is what mine is...... i might ask a few questions around and see if they will mate up to the back of my engine....... could be worth spending a bit more spondooly to get another gearbox for it.

TOY80ST
22-08-2005, 10:37 AM
Hey Tony, what about the trip on the 29th to Sugarloaf for those from our club who chipped in on the clean up day?
How did the trip go yesterday?

22-08-2005, 05:14 PM
Hey Tony, what about the trip on the 29th to Sugarloaf for those from our club who chipped in on the clean up day?
How did the trip go yesterday?

i have pulled out of the sugarloaf trip...... i need to get started on the car...... i want to achieve a lot before rego :-\ me pulling out will make way for somebody else to go. Yesterday was called off due to lack of numbers....... people pulled out one after the other so i canned it. Was only me and Adam going in the end. Would have been very wet up on Stoney Ridge too

boof
22-08-2005, 05:16 PM
looks like i have 5 days off from 2nd of sep may try and get down to help out if anything is doing that weekend and the missus agrees ;D

22-08-2005, 05:28 PM
looks like i have 5 days off from 2nd of sep may try and get down to help out if anything is doing that weekend and the missus agrees ;D

More than welcome Gary 8) I'm hoping to start getting the spring mounts tacked to the chassis on that weekend.

boof
22-08-2005, 05:41 PM
cool ill talk to the missus and see what i can organise will let you know when i do :D

25-08-2005, 07:44 AM
why you want to put a rear tube bar on Tony, when youve got a solid flat tray, wont it just bugger your departure angle?

25-08-2005, 07:27 PM
why you want to put a rear tube bar on Tony, when youve got a solid flat tray, wont it just bugger your departure angle?

nah mate....... just gonna look at making it the same height as the chassis and it won't stick out enough to snag on anything.... plus with the height i expect to get out of it, it shouldn't be much of a problem

26-08-2005, 08:24 PM
it's time ;D Garth somes off the road tomorrow for some major surgery....... will post pics as it happens...... not sure how long it will take..... as long as i stay motivated, it should happen fairly quickly (as far as these things go anyhow) Got approval from my wife tonight to buy 2 air lockers for it ;D ;D i love my wife!! and NO you can't have her :P I gotta check prices and look into the TJM prolocker....... apparently they are just as good. I'm keen to get going!! i'm still in the process of getting some of the gear for it.... ordering steel for the bars and tray next week..... i'm down to my last 2 grand..... and i have to buy a shit load of stuff yet. I wangled another grand off the wife out of my tax return (this is the return i used to bribe her in the first instance ;)) plus what i sell the gear off for...... so i might just scrape in, thats on top of what i have left now..... and i haven't factored the engineering into it...... that will probably be around $350 (that comes from the engineer hilmself, it's not an estimate) ;D ;D Let the games begin! 8)

simonsurf
26-08-2005, 10:16 PM
I hope it goes well Tony :D

I'm probably rehashing old stuff here, but make sure you shop around for the Air Lockers. I got mine for 1 grand each (not fitted) and the compressor for about 1/2 price.I bought mine from OOT at Barnsley and they will give you a good price if you ask for it. Opposite Lock said they couldn't do any better than retail which was $1195.
You won't regret getting air lockers over auto lockers ;)
I don't think the TJMs are available for the Patrol yet are they? I'm probably wrong ::)

27-08-2005, 07:32 AM
I hope it goes well Tony :D

I'm probably rehashing old stuff here, but make sure you shop around for the Air Lockers. I got mine for 1 grand each (not fitted) and the compressor for about 1/2 price.I bought mine from OOT at Barnsley and they will give you a good price if you ask for it. Opposite Lock said they couldn't do any better than retail which was $1195.
You won't regret getting air lockers over auto lockers ;)
I don't think the TJMs are available for the Patrol yet are they? I'm probably wrong ::)

i don't know whether or not they are available..... Tiny at Rage Racing is looking into it for me. I won't need a compressor........ i'm doing endless air on mine so it will be lockers only. I have to pull the centres out to fit the new gearing, so i hope to be able to buy the lockers before i do that. I'll have to see what i can sell off in the meantime to pay for it :) "i wonder how much i can get for a kidney?" ;D

27-08-2005, 07:42 AM
Got approval from my wife tonight to buy 2 air lockers for it i love my wife!!lol, cant beat air lockers, cant wait to see the progress pics and the finished unit, im still interested in buying your old diff gear sets too if the price is right.

27-08-2005, 07:53 AM
Got approval from my wife tonight to buy 2 air lockers for it i love my wife!!lol, cant beat air lockers, cant wait to see the progress pics and the finished unit, im still interested in buying your old diff gear sets too if the price is right.

make me an offer mark :) i'll keep them for you if you want them. I don't know what a standard gear set is worth.... these are 4.11 gears..... once the car is on the road, i'll deliver them personally.... gives me an excuse to take the car for a drive to iron out bugs.

boof
27-08-2005, 05:19 PM
hope its all going well tony good luck with it all and also it will be good to get an airlocker opinion off you later as well

Reddo
27-08-2005, 05:29 PM
Haha too crazy Tony. All the best with it mate, I’m following the thread in the shadows (always have) and it’s getting better all the time 8)

27-08-2005, 08:41 PM
i have some photos which i'll post tomrorrow...... i'm a little too drunk ay the moment ;D

28-08-2005, 08:23 AM
ok........ progress so far

All hands on deck
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/SAS_conversion/SAS001.sized.jpg

The difference between whats on it to whats going on it ;D
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/SAS_conversion/SAS002.sized.jpg

Partially stripped, the body is not hel on with anything and is ready to come off.
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/SAS_conversion/SAS007.sized.jpg

http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/SAS_conversion/SAS008.sized.jpg

wiseman
28-08-2005, 08:38 AM
hope thing go well roe great progress

cheers mate
Damo

28-08-2005, 08:46 AM
hope thing go well roe great progress

cheers mate
Damo

i hope it goes well too :-X i found a couple of stumbling points yesterday....... means i might have to fork out a bit more spondooly... but it shouldn't hold me up at all. The fuel tank needs to be moved because it;s in the way of the track bars on the diff... and the park brake will be a little trickier than anticipated. A couple of the cross-members underneath are going to be a little harder too..... but my boilermaker mate should be able to come up with something. The snorkel has to go because i will have to cut the guard and the flares will get in the road, so i'm making a new snorkel out of some 2 1/2" pipe and painting it and running along the guard.

Utemad
28-08-2005, 08:52 AM
If the fuel tank has to be moved you could put a Jackaroo tank behind the rear axle. It is just a bolt in affair as the holes are already in your chassis. Will need to remove the spare tyre winch though.

taziiy
28-08-2005, 10:18 AM
If the fuel tank has to be moved you could put a Jackaroo tank behind the rear axle. It is just a bolt in affair as the holes are already in your chassis. Will need to remove the spare tyre winch though.

if you noticed in previous shots there is a spare wheel carrier on the back holding the spare thats if he reusing that

great work tony for one days it really looks like you guys got stuck into it

Utemad
28-08-2005, 10:31 AM
Yeah I know about the carrier. Besides you can only just fit a 31in under the tray so those bigger tyres will never fit under the tray anyway.

It might alter your departure angle but if you are keeping your body lift then you could raise the tank a bit. Plus with the new suspension it might be high enough to not worry about.

28-08-2005, 02:57 PM

if you noticed in previous shots there is a spare wheel carrier on the back holding the spare thats if he reusing that

great work tony for one days it really looks like you guys got stuck into it

i'm actually going to mount the spare on the tray at an angle. should look good....... will be better than trying to mount it on the back... it would be too heavy for the current set up.

Pics coming soon.....

28-08-2005, 03:19 PM
Ok..... got the cab off and pressure washed the chassis... it was bad!! took over an hour with the high pressure washer to clean it up. There is a bit of rust around as well that couldn't be seen from underneath, so i will address that as i go along too. Pretty much achieved what i set out to do this weekend.... next weekend i'll get all the running gear out of it and the gearbox pulled out as well. Had a shit of a time lifting the body off, took 6 of us and it was a struggle because we had to lift the front over the engine. I'll be getting a hiab to lift it back on again. Some pics.......

Stripped down to the chassis and ready to wash.
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/SAS_conversion/SAS012.sized.jpg

The cab sitting on the driveway..... it will probably be there a while :-X
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/SAS_conversion/SAS013.sized.jpg

http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/SAS_conversion/SAS014.sized.jpg

Ken and I took shifts washing it down with the Gerni.... there was a shit load of mud trapped under there.
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/SAS_conversion/SAS015.sized.jpg

After it had been cleaned...... you can't really tell a lot by looking at that, but it made a hell of a difference.
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/SAS_conversion/SAS016.sized.jpg

Back in the carport ready for next weeks work effort :) Still need help ;)
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/SAS_conversion/SAS019.sized.jpg

Utemad
28-08-2005, 04:06 PM
Boy have you had a busy weekend. Did you have a tear in your eye when you pulled it all apart?

ferremit
28-08-2005, 04:18 PM
Slight side track roe, but you sure that things chain driven timing?

That front timing cover looks identical to mine, which has a massive gear train in there instead of a belt or chain! ;D

PJ.zook
28-08-2005, 04:32 PM
Man Tony you sure are keen, im gonna be keeping a close eye on this thread, i love reading about other buildups, keeps me motivated.
I took it you just used six guys to muscle the body off?

boof
28-08-2005, 04:54 PM
geez tony thats some awesome work for a weekend keep that rate up and it will be back on the road in no time 8)

taziiy
28-08-2005, 05:33 PM
one very busy boy this weekend :o

patrol
28-08-2005, 06:07 PM
i was discussing things with my mate who will be welding out the conversion....... and i'm going to widen the back end of the chassis by 90mm to match the diff, rather than having to cut and move all the crap on the diff istelf.... shouldn't be a major problem to widen it.

Whats your idea to widen the chassis? I'm asking because this is grey area as far a engineering goes, 45mm is quite a bit to bend the chassis, to move it that far you will have to remove all the cross members and in the process you will move a couple of the body mounts, have you thought about having smaller coils made, the standard nissan coils are around 170mm across if you reduced this to say 120mm then move the spring perches on the diff and mod the spring perches top and bottom there might be room to fit it all in and not mod the chassis. From memory on a Patrol you have around 25mm from the spring to the chassis and on the other side around 40mm to the top control arm mount, it might work and would be easier that modifing all the cross members and bending the chassis.
Or the best option is to just get rid of the coils and buy some coil overs ;D that would be the easiest option. you can get these http://www.ausshock.com.au/ for around $700 each.

28-08-2005, 06:16 PM
Boy have you had a busy weekend. Did you have a tear in your eye when you pulled it all apart?

no not really...... but my wallet ached as i stripped it hehe in the process i decided the snorkel was going.... so thats more work. once i strip the undercarriage i'm going to change the brake booster and sort a few other bits out while i can get to them

28-08-2005, 06:19 PM
Slight side track roe, but you sure that things chain driven timing?

That front timing cover looks identical to mine, which has a massive gear train in there instead of a belt or chain! ;D

i have no idea ;) never had to bother with it

28-08-2005, 06:20 PM
Man Tony you sure are keen, im gonna be keeping a close eye on this thread, i love reading about other buildups, keeps me motivated.
I took it you just used six guys to muscle the body off?

yeah mate......... 6 of us...... thats all i could muster...... my hands and back and knees are still aching after half a dozen beers :-\

28-08-2005, 06:23 PM

Whats your idea to widen the chassis? I'm asking because this is grey area as far a engineering goes, 45mm is quite a bit to bend the chassis, to move it that far you will have to remove all the cross members and in the process you will move a couple of the body mounts, have you thought about having smaller coils made, the standard nissan coils are around 170mm across if you reduced this to say 120mm then move the spring perches on the diff and mod the spring perches top and bottom there might be room to fit it all in and not mod the chassis. From memory on a Patrol you have around 25mm from the spring to the chassis and on the other side around 40mm to the top control arm mount, it might work and would be easier that modifing all the cross members and bending the chassis.
Or the best option is to just get rid of the coils and buy some coil overs ;D that would be the easiest option. you can get these http://www.ausshock.com.au/ for around $700 each.

i was showing my mate who is going to weld it for me..... he helped lift it off. He was telling me how we (him) are going to widen it..... he is going to cut the chassis in 2 places on opposite sides..... bend it around, weld it and then weld gussetts onto the chassis to strengthen it.... he said it is engineerable that way and will be structurally sound. I am going to run all of this past the engineer before i cut anything. There is one cross brace that has to be removed/widened, and one removed completely, but i will be putting the 2 braces off the Nissan chassis in place, one for the track bars, and one for the shock mounts. They both will go through the chassis with strengthening plates welded the same as the OE chassis.

mulesa
31-08-2005, 03:27 PM
youve been all quiet bout ur project latly roe, any new ideas come into ur head yet...or any new developments, or have we gotta wait till the weekend for more to happen

31-08-2005, 06:28 PM
youve been all quiet bout ur project latly roe, any new ideas come into ur head yet...or any new developments, or have we gotta wait till the weekend for more to happen

more happening over the weekend ;) I have been doing some research and talking to the engineer about it all...... apparently the RTA says altering the chassis by widening makes it a "new" vehicle..... but i can add outriggers, longtitudinal sections and cross members to achieve what i want to is acceptable. I'll get more pics over the weekend as i pull the diffs and gearbox out and remove the fuel tank to make new mounts for it. The only new idea recently is to put an air locker in both ends ;D for which i have approval ;D ;D ;D I have had a few other ideas as well.......... but i'll keep them close to my chest for now until i research that a bit more too. I have decided to build a trailer to go with it when i finish it... so i want to get that happening fairly quickly once i get the Deo back on the road

Eddy
31-08-2005, 07:20 PM
Hmmm , gonna have to change your name.............Roesan :-*
Nissdeo ;)

mulesa
31-08-2005, 07:25 PM
thats good news then....if it makes it a new vehicle, then wudnt that make it easier to get some things passed as in suspension hieght, tyres, etc....

wats gonna be incorporated into this trailer, or u wanna keep it all hush hush

im goin away for like 2 weeks on fridy, so hopefully u got alot done to read about ;D....

31-08-2005, 07:38 PM
thats good news then....if it makes it a new vehicle, then wudnt that make it easier to get some things passed as in suspension hieght, tyres, etc....

wats gonna be incorporated into this trailer, or u wanna keep it all hush hush

im goin away for like 2 weeks on fridy, so hopefully u got alot done to read about ;D....

having it classed as a new vehicle makes it impossible to get engineered ;) so i'll work around it. The trailer is only going to be a camping/off-road trailer.... something small...... say 4x4 with sunraysia wheels ;D tregg coupling..... some kind of independant suspension with shocks...... nothing overly spectacular

mulesa
01-09-2005, 03:09 PM
just enuogh to get through some of the "rougher" roads going camping

01-09-2005, 05:49 PM
just enuogh to get through some of the "rougher" roads going camping

basically..... I'd like to be able to take it anywhere i take the Deo..... hence the smaller size and plenty of clearance

taziiy
01-09-2005, 05:54 PM
Do you do any work threw the week on it or is it a weekend thing

01-09-2005, 06:00 PM
Do you do any work threw the week on it or is it a weekend thing

at the moment only a weekend thing.......... by the time i get home from work and have dinner it's dark.... and all motivation has gone out the door...... maybe when daylight savings comes around i'll get a little more motivated

taziiy
01-09-2005, 06:44 PM
kool thats not to far away either is it

TOY80ST
02-09-2005, 05:01 PM
Do you want me to design some suspension for you Tony High Clearance of course.

http://tinypic.com/bim99t.jpg

02-09-2005, 05:06 PM
Do you want me to design some suspension for you Tony High Clearance of course.

http://tinypic.com/bim99t.jpg

Something like that would be great mate....... 'cept only 2 wheels not 4..... keeps the springs up and out of the way.

boof
02-09-2005, 05:07 PM
big plans for the weekend then tony

TOY80ST
02-09-2005, 05:09 PM
It can be managed.
P.

02-09-2005, 05:16 PM
big plans for the weekend then tony

i'm going to get the rest of the running gear out from underneath hopefully tomorrow...... and on sunday if i can motivate myself i'll begin to cut off uneeded stuff from the chassis. I have to then look at how i'm going to mount the rear diff..... and measure up and get some brackets made at work..... i'm going to get my handbrake setup made at work also...... i want to be able to get the diffs under and some brackets welded on in the next couple of weekends

02-09-2005, 05:17 PM
It can be managed.
P.

i'll let ya know when i'll be ready to start...... i'm going to get the Deo sorted first.. then start on the trailer while i'm trying to get the car down to the engineer

GUHOON
02-09-2005, 06:23 PM
Hey Tony ,
Are you using the engineer in cardiff? , and if so can i get his number off you as i need to discuss requirements for suspension lifts ;) ;D
Thanks , Sean.

02-09-2005, 07:34 PM
Hey Tony ,
Are you using the engineer in cardiff? , and if so can i get his number off you as i need to discuss requirements for suspension lifts ;) ;D
Thanks , Sean.

PM sent mate

Gojeep
02-09-2005, 09:18 PM
I like reading about your project mate. ;)
Just wondering if it is really worth the effort and why not then just buy a Nissan and be done with it? I am all for modifying things as you would know but there is a practical limit to what is worth while. I learnt that with my first 4wd I built back in 83 which was a hilux with a 400 Chev and Land Cruiser running gear. The chassis just was not up to it in the end and got rid of it as it was never 100%. I think you would have been better off with the Patrol chassis and running gear and sticking your Rodeo body on it if you are that keen on keeping the Rodeo. That way the registration and loads etc it can carry is Nissan Patrol.

Just a thought mate so take it in the spirit intended.

A thought on the spare wheel, see if you can sink part of it into the tray on the angle as I have seen on a Patrol tray competing in a winch comp on 4x4 TV last week. It will help you COG.

02-09-2005, 09:44 PM
I like reading about your project mate. ;)
Just wondering if it is really worth the effort and why not then just buy a Nissan and be done with it? I am all for modifying things as you would know but there is a practical limit to what is worth while. I learnt that with my first 4wd I built back in 83 which was a hilux with a 400 Chev and Land Cruiser running gear. The chassis just was not up to it in the end and got rid of it as it was never 100%. I think you would have been better off with the Patrol chassis and running gear and sticking your Rodeo body on it if you are that keen on keeping the Rodeo. That way the registration and loads etc it can carry is Nissan Patrol.

Just a thought mate so take it in the spirit intended.

A thought on the spare wheel, see if you can sink part of it into the tray on the angle as I have seen on a Patrol tray competing in a winch comp on 4x4 TV last week. It will help you COG.

it is taken in the spirit intended :) buying a Patrol would have been too easy :P i like my lil oil burner........ it goes great!! and although it had shortcomings in some of the more extreme tracks, it had no problem at all on most tracks..... the chassis will take what i'm doing because ultimately it will be stronger, and i'm not changing engines in it...... yet ;) It would have been more difficult to put my body onto a Nissan chassis....... and this is something i want to do. even if it means a while off the road...... the engineer i have chosen is a top bloke.. he is offering free advice while i do it and it helps me fulfill my mid-life crisis ;D Some buy a Harley, some buy a sports car.... me? i'm gonna lift my Rodeo 14" and put coils under it ;D ;D I do take all suggestions seriously and i do listen and weigh them up. Why do it to a Rodeo? because it's different 8) The 6.5 GM V8..... well thats something to consider for the future ;D

Gojeep
03-09-2005, 07:21 PM
Fair enough and will be watching all the way. ;)

But could you shrink that number plate in your signature before I burn out my retinas! :o

guzzi
08-09-2005, 09:25 AM
Tony,
just a thought, while you have unlimited access.
As you dont seem to mind tilting at windmills and tackling difficult jobs, have you given any thought to fixing the other rodeo short comming......the low mounted alternator.
Just something to mull over, you know with all this free time youve got on your hands ;D