View Full Version : Project Garth...... SAS 'n Coils.. It's time!!
I bought another dual cab ute body from a 1997 Rodeo for $80 on Ebay.
It was complete with lights, mudflaps, even the mounting bolts. Perfect condition as it had been removed since new.
Although I have seen people ask up to $1000. Bet they never got that much though :P
Reckon you might be better off doing a Roothy job with an angle grinder and getting the bent bits out of the way for good - the back end of my tub a bit dinged - and judging by its lack of magnetism I think there is a fair amount of nickie contributing to its current shape anyway.
By all means buy buy a good one if the price is right, just keep it to bolt on at re-sale time
Utemad
15-04-2005, 10:06 PM
Sorry for the slight hijack Ro
I was going to put the tray on once I got a rear bar however I have since decided as you said to fit it when I sell it.
I was going to chop the rear lower section off the current tub but I decided to body lift it first. Will then reevaluate the chop later if need be.
Back to you Ro ;)
i have been thinking...... and looking at time and expense...... i think i am going to go for the tray.... a heap cheaper!! and i can do it in a weekend. I'll see what pans out over the coming month or two.
Utemad
23-04-2005, 04:58 PM
Hi Roe,
When you did your bodylift were all eight cab bolts the same length/type?
Looks like all the tray bolts are the same.
Thanks.
Hi Roe,
When you did your bodylift were all eight cab bolts the same length/type?
Looks like all the tray bolts are the same.
Thanks.
no, the cab bolts where different lengths from memory :-\
got half a start for the tray job on the Deo...... priced the steel yesty.... about $450 for the lot...... not including paint and sundries...... i'm going to order it on monday and i'm hoping to be most of the way through it next weekend..... i want to have it completed by the time Rover Park comes around..... including re-routing the exhaust into one single 3" stack 8)
With the canopy off.........
http://www.vistawebdesigns.com/canopyoff.jpg
the Narva tail lights i bought for it today..... $70 for both.... they look pretty good.
http://www.vistawebdesigns.com/taillights.jpg
will get pics of doing the tray next weekend.
looks great, the try should look mad
taziiy
30-04-2005, 07:51 PM
sounds like its going to be a busy weekend next week i take it that the grass pile is just getting bigger lol
can't climb over it ::)
taziiy
30-04-2005, 09:46 PM
lol must be getting bigger week by week
should look good with a flat tray on it, steel isnt cheap is it, it cost me about $300 to make my sliders and the new back bar, for the Mav. ive got the same tail lights on my lux, just make sure you mount them far enough under the tray so you dont smash them on departure when dropping over big rock ledges, thats why my lux has the narvas on it, i destroyed the originals, they are fine now they are tucked under a bit though
paid for the steel today.........
2 lengths of 50x25x2 RHS 8 metres long
1200x2400x2.1mm checker plate
1x 2" dia pipe 6.5 metres long galvanised
1x19mm round bar 6 metres long
1 length 32x6mm flat bar 6 metres long
$22 delivery fee..........
$316 ;D got it at trade.
taziiy
02-05-2005, 07:57 PM
thats a good price tony will you have it by the weekend
yeah they are going to deliver it tomorrow :)
why you pay for delivery, youve got a ute? ??? ??? ??? ???
not a bad price for the materials though
LOL!! mate the lengths are the problem........ i have no roof rack..... the 50x25 is 8 metres long......and i can't fit the checker plate on, it's bigger than the back of the ute.... so $22 it is 8)
fair enough, should look good when its built and on the Deo
ordered the 2 pack paint today..... high gloss black for the roll cage, sliders and the checker plate..... high gloss white for everything else ;D
taziiy
04-05-2005, 08:33 PM
ordered the 2 pack paint today..... high gloss black for the roll cage, sliders and the checker plate..... high gloss white for everything else ;D
Mr professional should look good when its finished now ;D
got the tray on..... but it's far from finished!! :-\ i'm hoping to get a heap done tomorrow, including the roll bar and the rear bar, wheel carrier and tail lights..... should look good when it's done...... all i need to do is get new blocks for it, that will lift it a bit more. Oh, and make mud flaps for it. here's some pics..... we had to stop cuz it started raining.
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/tray01.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/tray02.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/tray03.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/tray04.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/tray05.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/tray06.jpg
4xgold0
07-05-2005, 05:05 PM
faark, thats looks good already Roe, what size roll bar you going?are you haveing the braces from the rollbar to the back of the tray?
i'm doing 2" it's actually about 2 1/4" cuz it's 2" I.D and yeah i'm putting the braces from the bar to just behind the rear wheel.
4xgold0
07-05-2005, 05:09 PM
i'm doing 2" it's actually about 2 1/4" cuz it's 2" I.D and yeah i'm putting the braces from the bar to just behind the rear wheel.
sweet as Roe, looking foward to see more pics tomorrow :D
what a transformation being a newbie i just read all 11 pages and its cool i started out with a rodeo wish it had of looked that good though
taziiy
07-05-2005, 06:29 PM
its looking good so far tony
thats a ripper! nice work
Ford Mav
07-05-2005, 07:41 PM
Is coming along very nicely Tony. Im sure you will get an awesome job done when it is all complete.
Frank
Is coming along very nicely Tony. Im sure you will get an awesome job done when it is all complete.
Frank
i hope so mate!! it took longer than i thought...... i was hoping to have the rollbar done today and fit the lights and stuff tomorrow. plus Ken (the guy who's house i am doing it at cuz he has more room) was waiting to go out.... and then it started to rain :-X so tomorrow i am going to have to try to do it in his garage.... which is a big one..... but will still be a pain to do.
progress pics....... didn't get it finished...... it took longer than i thought to get the roll bar done. But it's just about all done....... i put mounts on it for lights, and a tie down rail on the sides. The mesh behind the window is not quit right, because it has to be lifted up another inch and a half(blocks needed ;) anyone?) but it will be fine once the tool box goes on.
Starting on the roll bar
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/tray07.jpg
Roll bar all bent and tacked together..... being watched over by our very own site supervisor..... "Peach"
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/tray08.jpg
Peach is checking the alignment of the tray....
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/tray09.jpg
the mesh and kick plate tacked in place
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/tray10.jpg
How it looks at the moment..... hoping to get the rear bar on tomorrow. and maybe the lights on tuesday.
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/tray11.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/tray12.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/tray13.jpg
BLU-125
08-05-2005, 07:14 PM
Why not just use 50mm RHS for your blocks?
BTW, it looks sensational! (Except for the exhaust).
Why not just use 50mm RHS for your blocks?
BTW, it looks sensational! (Except for the exhaust).
i was going to put another row of RHS under it.... but thought it would look a bit dodgy....... i might got 4 pieces of 3" RHS from work and use that....... i have until the weekend to sort it before i primer it. The exhaust will be altered in the next week or two...... i'm going to cut the end off it tomorrow........ but i'm having the muffler removed and the pipe routed out the side of the vehicle. I'm still hoping to put a stack on it...... but i have to work that out before the weekend.
Im guessing you are after 4" blocks now then Tony??? I have a few 50mm one laying around, think they are only 50dia also though :-\
the ones i have on there are cut. they are actually about 35mm, not 50. I think that if i put 3" spacers there, that will have the tray high enough to clear the wheels, especially the 33's when i get them
taziiy
08-05-2005, 08:19 PM
definatly looking better then before
didnt the artist in helping like his pic taken he kept ducking or hiding from the shot lol
definatly looking better then before
didnt the artist in helping like his pic taken he kept ducking or hiding from the shot lol
the one in thje knights guernsey is my son Shayne........ the other guy that keeps hiding is Ken.. he's a member of our brigade...... his wife is my senior deputy 8) is much easier doing it there..... heaps more room.
taziiy
08-05-2005, 08:43 PM
yeah i didnt think you would be doing it at your house lol
you wouldn't get it passed the grass pile ;D
BLU-125
08-05-2005, 09:08 PM
I suspect your neighbours are a bit over 4by mods as well ::) ;D.
Humpy
08-05-2005, 09:47 PM
progress pics....... didn't get it finished...... it took longer than i thought to get the roll bar done.
It always does ;)
Looking good Tony
Twisty
09-05-2005, 08:57 AM
Top work Tony!!! Looks awesome!!
slowlux
09-05-2005, 05:21 PM
that tray looks F***** sick mate!!!!!!!
i'm hoping to have it finished tomorrow....... not working tomorrow..... i have an appointment with the Doc.. so i'll get some done before i go 8)
got more done....... it's all but finished....... all i have to do is cut a hole in the tray for the exhaust stack to come through and paint it. The exhaust will come through to the left of the tool box. Toolbox is bolted down, as is the battery box and i mounted the highlift on the tray and made a bracket to bolt it to the roll bar. Got a slight bow in the steel under the toolbox, but i'm going to shrink that before i paint it.
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/tray14.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/tray15.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/tray16.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/tray17.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/tray18.jpg
on thursday ( i have a meeting tomorrow) i'm going to lift the tray another 2" and on friday i'm going to move the wheel carrier 6" to the right so it doesn't cover the left hand lights as much as it does now.
Ford Mav
10-05-2005, 06:37 PM
Tony. You hav outdone yaself mate. That tray looks absolutely fantabulous. Cant wait for your next project. Between u and Mark, the rpojects keep all of us amused with awe and inspiration.
Keep the good work up.
Frank
taziiy
10-05-2005, 07:00 PM
Tony that looks awsome it should look even better when you get it all painted up and having the wheel carrier frees up some space on the tray where most people put them http://bestsmileys.com/clapping/2.gif
Thanks Darren :) i guess it's not too bad for somebody that isn't a qualified welder...... could have been done better...... but overall i'm happy with it and thats all that really matters.
i'm looking forward to getting it painted....... should look good!
taziiy
10-05-2005, 08:01 PM
Thanks Darren :) i guess it's not too bad for somebody that isn't a qualified welder...... could have been done better...... but overall i'm happy with it and thats all that really matters.
i'm looking forward to getting it painted....... should look good!
Things can always be done different if you had the time and the materails to waist you fix them if not you do with what you got
that looks great, any thing elce going to happen or u keeping it like that
Grimsey
11-05-2005, 12:55 PM
its looking real good.
Good job Tony, will look even better once you paint it and raise it a couple of inches, dont know about the exhaust stack idea, a bit too yankee for my likings, might change my mind once ive seen some pics of it though
Grimsey
11-05-2005, 03:33 PM
if the exhaust stack it done right they look real good. but when you have 2 sticking up over the top of the cab they look very yobbo. if you keep it level with the roll bar and cab it will look good.
BushTuckerNed
11-05-2005, 05:25 PM
Might have to go twin stacks one day eh? :P
Looking good Roe. Are u lifting the rear bar up also?
Good job Tony, will look even better once you paint it and raise it a couple of inches, dont know about the exhaust stack idea, a bit too yankee for my likings, might change my mind once ive seen some pics of it though
it's not going to be anything overly dramatic.... just 2 1/2" up over the roll bar height..... i was hoping to get it done on saturday.. but the guy can't do it, so it has to wait another week. but i will get it primered on saturday before i go to sugarloaf on sunday.
if the exhaust stack it done right they look real good. but when you have 2 sticking up over the top of the cab they look very yobbo. if you keep it level with the roll bar and cab it will look good.
i'm doing only one.... and as i said in the other post, it's going to be barely over the rollbar height.
Might have to go twin stacks one day eh? :P
Looking good Roe. Are u lifting the rear bar up also?
no twin stacks..... and no not planning on lifting the rear bar just yet, unless it doesn't look right, then i will move it..... it's not a small job to do.
lifted the tray 2" tonight.... looks better and should be ok..... i'll try to flex it out on the weekend and see if it rubs, but i don't think it will. Cut the section out of the tray for the stack..... thats going on tomorrow now instead of saturday 8)
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/tray19.jpg
Mudflaps will probably go on tomorrow night...... gonna be a pain in the ass... gotta unbolt everything on saturday to primer it....... and bolt it all back on again... then do it over again to put the top coat on.
Got the stack done today...... i'm real happy with it ;D looks good!! 8) sounds great!!! complete with the big whooosshhh as the turbo spools down between gears.... loud as buggery..... but i can live with it..... if i can't hear the stereo, i'll buy bigger speakers ;D
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/stack01.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/stack02.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/stack03.jpg
Now all you need is some stone deflectors for the sides and a few more aerials ;)
Humpy
13-05-2005, 08:24 PM
A couple of CAT stickers and a big Bundy one across the back window will finish it off nicely ;D
2 words for both of yas..... and they have the initials F and O ::)
Now all you need is some stone deflectors for the sides and a few more aerials ;)
lets see some pics of your tray
On that note, ya bullbar isn't shiny enough or big enough. Put that on the list ;D ;D
lets see some pics of your tray
Sure
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/highnmighty/ahl.sized.jpg
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/highnmighty/ady.sized.jpg
I dont have bulllights or a stack, whats the point?
4xgold0
13-05-2005, 08:41 PM
are you running a muffler Roe? did you get to hear mine on that vid i sent,no muffler
BTW: 8) looking sweet mate
are you running a muffler Roe? did you get to hear mine on that vid i sent,no muffler
BTW: 8) looking sweet mate
no muffler at all....... ;D sounds sweet!! dunno how it will go at highway speeds....... if it resonates too much i'll put a hotdog muffler on it.
4xgold0
13-05-2005, 08:52 PM
it is a bit quiter on the highway than what it is just cruising around the town, get your wife to drive the Deo at 100kph and you sit in the passenger side, all you will hear is the turbo whistle ( loud )
can hear it from the drivers seat hehe especially if you wind the rear window down....... you can even hear the turbo spinning after it shuts down for a second
the wife isn't overly impressed with the noise it makes......... cuz i go to work when she is still in bed, and she reckons it's going to wake the entire neighbourhood when i start it..... only makes noise under load..... i'll just drive off slowly ;D will wake the entire place up if i get called out to a fire... i drive out of here like a bat out of hell.... will make a racket then!! 8)
DoctorI
14-05-2005, 07:04 AM
Roe, that stack has the potential to get extremely hot. Are you going to put a guard around it to keep objects stored on the tray away from it or even to stop people accidently touching it and getting burnt? Your friends on this forum wouldn't want to see you get sued when some idiot kid burns their hand on it.
Doc
Roe, that stack has the potential to get extremely hot. Are you going to put a guard around it to keep objects stored on the tray away from it or even to stop people accidently touching it and getting burnt? Your friends on this forum wouldn't want to see you get sued when some idiot kid burns their hand on it.
Doc
yeah i'm going to try to get my hands on some stainless mesh to put around it up just below the roll bar.
Utemad
14-05-2005, 01:19 PM
Looks like it's all coming together nicely :)
Although when it comes time to paint are you going to have to remove the exhaust to get the tray off?
Also you should get one of those exhaust flap things to stop rain and stuff getting in it.
As for the stainless mesh for the exhaust you could probably get some from a truck wrecker and cut it down to suit. They would probably give it to you if they had one that was from a truck rollover but had enough straight bits to suit your application.
Otherwise looks pretty cool.
progress report....... tray primered..... mud flaps on.... and spare carrier moved. Shifted the spare over about 6"... should uncover my left tail light now. Got the mudflaps on... gonna lift the rear bar about 2" when i re-fit it tomorrow...... got a shit load done today, should get a heap more done tomorrow......... and to think, i have to do it again next weekend!! :-X
Painting the underside.......
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/tray20.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/tray21.jpg
chopping up the rear bar to move the spare holder......
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/tray22.jpg
going back together...... looks 100% better with some paint on it....... will look even better when it's finished.
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/tray23.jpg
4xgold0
14-05-2005, 07:24 PM
now thats looking better 8), whats that bracket just above the battery for ???
thats where i bolt the highlift jack 8)
Ford Mav
14-05-2005, 08:10 PM
yummy yummy. Cant wait for u to paint it fully. will look an absolute treat. " I LIKE IT. I LIKE IT ALOT"
Frank
taziiy
14-05-2005, 08:11 PM
i was just about to type the same thing it will definatly look the part when its all finished being painted
Looking good Tony - looks like you got it all covered
After having my tailgate burst open and dump gear all over the trail on the climb out from McIntyre's Hut yesterday I might not be that far behind you - worn out tubs really suck ;) ;)
crusher
14-05-2005, 10:54 PM
Good job Roe certainly a big transformation looking forward to the end result
Looking good Tony - looks like you got it all covered
After having my tailgate burst open and dump gear all over the trail on the climb out from McIntyre's Hut yesterday I might not be that far behind you - worn out tubs really suck ;) ;)
when i took my tub off a 300mm section of the main mount underneath fell off :-X it had broken completely away from the tub.
ok... all back together........ got the mudflaps held up with stainless steel chain 8) lifted the rear bar 2" moved the spare to the right 6" i'm looking forward to getting it painted properly!! then the next step will be 33s and hopefully a winch bar and winch..... heres how it looks now.
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/tray24.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/tray25.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/tray26.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/tray27.jpg
slowlux
15-05-2005, 05:00 PM
Lookin pretty hot mate!
The tray looks great, you can see how much the de[parture angles increased!
looking good should look great when its finished
thats the plan :) i hope
Humpy
15-05-2005, 07:34 PM
What colour are you gonna paint it ???
white roll bar and frame work..... and black tray top and underneath
Humpy
15-05-2005, 07:49 PM
white roll bar and frame work..... and black tray top and underneath
That should come up well :D
kruiser
16-05-2005, 09:54 AM
looking good
4xgold0
17-05-2005, 08:19 PM
are you putting any spotties on your roll bar?
simonsurf
17-05-2005, 08:42 PM
Bull lights are cheap on ebay ;D
are you putting any spotties on your roll bar?
yeah i am..... but not bull lights ::) 2 facing forward and a work light facing backwards
simonsurf
17-05-2005, 09:19 PM
It is looking veeeeery good Roe.
it will look sick in black i recon
youve done a great job of it Tony, should look even better once you get the top coat of paint on it, whats up next, any more mods planned?
going to make a jerry can holder that will carry 2 cans.... convert the aircon to endless air 8) 32's or 33's in the coming months (if Mr Costello sends my tax cheque back in a hurry) and hopefully a winch bar and winch before the end of the year.
kingkong
18-05-2005, 05:51 PM
Looking pretty sweet mate. Exhaust is a nice touch. It does look like it would sound loud. ;D
just one thing I noticed, I'm sure you looked at it, are the wheels going to hit the tray first or is it going to bottom out on the bump stops? Looks pretty close.
i haven't flexed it out yet......... but there is more under there than it looks. I'm going to try it after i paint it on the weekend.
BushTuckerNed
18-05-2005, 06:03 PM
But isnt the rear bar in its origanal position tho. So departure angle hasnt changed.
Or have i missed the bit where the chassis has been chopped, or sumthing?? :-\
crack
18-05-2005, 07:42 PM
hey roedao
looking good m8!! come a long way. how much has your tray cost to build like for all the materials?
jack
But isnt the rear bar in its origanal position tho. So departure angle hasnt changed.
Or have i missed the bit where the chassis has been chopped, or sumthing?? :-\
Ned i had to cut about 8" off the rear bar brackets to bring it right up to the chassis....... then i lifted the bar 2" by re-drilling the mounting holes.......... trust me, it's not in the same place ;)
BushTuckerNed
18-05-2005, 09:32 PM
ok fair enuff, i must of missed where u sed it. Mayb wen i was away on the weekend
hey roedao
looking good m8!! come a long way. how much has your tray cost to build like for all the materials?
jack
for all the steel, it was about $290 The paint cost me $230 because it's industrial grade 2 pack enamel. I have spent about $600 all up including a tool box ($50) and a battery box ($30)
ok fair enuff, i must of missed where u sed it. Mayb wen i was away on the weekend
I'll find a couple of side shots from before and after and superimpose them to show the difference in the car from before to now :)
ferremit
19-05-2005, 09:29 AM
Still think im gonna be abnormal and keep my tub on the hilux ;D
Tho im still thinking of doing a SAS and spring over on my current deo :P
Still think im gonna be abnormal and keep my tub on the hilux ;D
Tho im still thinking of doing a SAS and spring over on my current deo :P
how are ya gonna do a SAS? it already has one............. in the ass end. it would be impractical to convert yours to 4WD...... the money it would cost would be more than you would pay for a 4WD of any form.
ferremit
20-05-2005, 01:42 AM
im toying with whacking a lux solid front axle under it... and its sprung under at the rear on the 2wd...
this is more as a toy than anything... im still getting the lux
Gojeep
20-05-2005, 09:28 PM
Good to see you tackling the tray yourself.
Just a few comments that I hope you dont mind. But I feel that the floor needs more cross member support and the mesh looks rather odd being so short and not covering the whole window? Just looks like you used a bit of scap lying around and the cut ends look a bit nasty. Maybe just framing the ends with the small channel or angle will make it safer and more pleasing to the eye. ;)
Good to see you tackling the tray yourself.
Just a few comments that I hope you dont mind. But I feel that the floor needs more cross member support and the mesh looks rather odd being so short and not covering the whole window? Just looks like you used a bit of scap lying around and the cut ends look a bit nasty. Maybe just framing the ends with the small channel or angle will make it safer and more pleasing to the eye. ;)
oddly enough, the mesh is an off-cut from work :-X The budget was tight and i figured i could fram what i had no porblems, but i ran out of round bar to do it. the width doesn't really bother me, but the height is a minor stuff up...... i cut it to fit the window height without taking into consideration that i had to lift the tray still. I have enough paint, in the future i am going to cut that one off and make a new one and replace it. I am going to put another mount under the tray today before i take it off to paint it to give it more support.
taziiy
21-05-2005, 10:09 AM
so is it getting the colour put on the weekend ???
yep it is 8) i have the underneath painted..... just gonna have some lunch to let it harden and flip it over to paint the top of it.
taziiy
21-05-2005, 12:02 PM
excellant so some more pics are coming tonight then
got the tray painted and on...... just have to put the toolbox back on tomorrow.... had to leave it so the paint could harden. I had to try to rush the job, and the paint takes a while to go off properly in cool weather.. so i had to do some running repairs to the paint work..... there is a few runs here and there....... but i can live with them, and it's not a bad job for somebody that can't spray paint. I only have pics of the tray painted.... it was dark when i finished it.... i'll take another pic or two tomorrow when i get the toolbox back on.
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/paint1.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/paint2.jpg
that looks mad
looks far better on the truck ;D
looks good mate cant wait to see it at rover
taziiy
21-05-2005, 08:43 PM
looking good there tony ;D
ok.... got pics this morning after i got the toolbox back on and gave it a bath...... Didn't get a chance to upload earlier.... so here they are now......
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/paint3.jpg
Even took the sliders off and repainted them......
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/paint4.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/paint5.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/paint6.jpg
Going to make a jerry can holder next weekend to carry two gerry cans...... one painted black with fuel....... and one painted blue with water.
looks shwell, looking more and more like a hard core 4x4 every day now
i'm now considering a tube bar for the front..... just gotta work out how i'm gonna do it, and design it..... materials won't cost a lot.
ever though about a solid axel for the front
frontie
22-05-2005, 07:34 PM
DAMN man thats looking sweet :o :o :o......
:o nice pic in 4wdmonthly
thanks and errrr........ thanks i think hehehe i look like Uncle Fester in that pic! ::)
4xgold0
22-05-2005, 08:15 PM
looking good roe 8)
taziiy
22-05-2005, 10:08 PM
thats looking sweet tony thumbs up mate
i flexed it up a bit on the front yard today...... the wheel doesn't hit the tray so it should be ok...... i didn't lift the inside wheel but it will still be ok. here's some pics...... and i did it without undoing the sway bar...
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/trayflex1.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/trayflex2.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/trayflex3.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/trayflex4.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/trayflex5.jpg
cant wait to see this thing at rover looks pretty capable for ifs
not long now!! ;D
have timber can make ramp ;D
simonsurf
24-05-2005, 12:00 AM
thanks and errrr........ thanks i think hehehe i look like Uncle Fester in that pic! ::)
Maybe it's time for a username change Tony ;D
Uncle Fester does have a certain ring to it ;)
The Deo is looking very schmick by the way 8)
Fenring
24-05-2005, 12:18 PM
How are those Simex muddies holding up?
not too bad actually........ done about 25,000 k's so far and they are about a third worn i guess....... the rear aren't as bad, i been bad and not rotating them :-X
GUHOON
24-05-2005, 11:56 PM
Looks heaps better with the flat tray Tony , Shame it wasn't done before you sent pics to 4wdmonthly.
Not to worry you should get a feature soon with all the mods you've done now ;)
Looks heaps better with the flat tray Tony , Shame it wasn't done before you sent pics to 4wdmonthly.
Not to worry you should get a feature soon with all the mods you've done now ;)
i doubt i will get a feature....... but i might wait a couple more weeks and send in more pics for readers rides..... they might put a couple of pics cuz it looks so much different compared to the one they printed. can only try.
GROVER
25-05-2005, 10:48 AM
Looks good man. :)
I just hope that jack is not to high you wont take the top of it in the under ground car parks will you ???
slowlux
25-05-2005, 03:51 PM
what are you gonna do if you go on a camping trip roe?
Wheres all the gear gonna go ???
Maybe a removable canvas?
Looks good man. :)
I just hope that jack is not to high you wont take the top of it in the under ground car parks will you ???
it's 2.2 metres high....... i guess i'll have to keep an eye on the heights... some are pretty low, but generally it should be ok.
what are you gonna do if you go on a camping trip roe?
Wheres all the gear gonna go ???
Maybe a removable canvas?
i'm going to build a small off-road trailer to lug around...... and i'm going to make a removeable storage box for the back as well....
PJ.zook
30-05-2005, 10:11 PM
That tray looks really great man, nice work!
Wow 13 pages, bit of a read.
That tray looks really great man, nice work!
Wow 13 pages, bit of a read.
hehe 13 pages..... it's been going a while...... like the title says...... "ongoing" ;D
that tray looks great. Not entirely sure about the exhaust though - should put one of those truck flaps on that top of it :D
PJ.zook
02-06-2005, 11:52 PM
If any of you fellas want 5" chrome exhaust stacks i can get em from work by the truckload as we frequently cut em off to get trucks height down on delivery to customers.
If you want the typical tapered tip they are harder to come by.
If any of you fellas want 5" chrome exhaust stacks i can get em from work by the truckload as we frequently cut em off to get trucks height down on delivery to customers.
you don't happen to have any of the chrome mesh that goes around the pipe? i need some for mine so some silly kid doesn't grab hold of it when i go into town.
Gojeep
03-06-2005, 09:50 PM
At 5" you would be able to slip it write over your stack as a heat sheild. Leave a bit of a gap at the bottom so it can draw air in to keep it cool and vent out the top.
i just went through the whole build up process, bit of a project mate - well done 8). that tray painted white an black is great - im warmin to the exhaust ;)
PJ.zook
04-06-2005, 12:40 AM
The mesh we do use is to fit around the muffler so its around 20" diameter, we use it all anyway, soz.
gojeeps idea is a good one ;D i can take some of that 5" off yer hands...... lemme know how much for how much and we'll sort something out :)
i just went through the whole build up process, bit of a project mate - well done 8). that tray painted white an black is great - im warmin to the exhaust ;)
it's been a bit of work over the last 12 months, and much to my wifes disgust, a lot of money too.... woulda cost more if i hadn't of done it myself though. Still not finished ;) going to be one rather unique Rodeo when i'm done with it. Plans still in the pipeline are tube bar and winch for the front...... dash pod and maybe a roof console..... i'm now toying with the idea of a spring over in the ass end and remodelling the front end to match, which means new upper control arms and lowering the front diff. It's not a matter of "IF", more a matter of "WHEN" ;)
PJ.zook
04-06-2005, 09:14 AM
I wish location was automatically displayed in details on left. Where are ya, im in melbourne, south eastern burbs.
You can have a few for free if you wana come get it.
Theyre about 80cm long btw.
I wish location was automatically displayed in details on left. Where are ya, im in melbourne, south eastern burbs.
You can have a few for free if you wana come get it.
Theyre about 80cm long btw.
i'm in the Hunter Valley NSW.... it's no biggie..... i'll pay for courier if you can get it to me.... i'll do C.O.D :D Let me know.
BushBoy
04-06-2005, 01:07 PM
you don't happen to have any of the chrome mesh that goes around the pipe? i need some for mine so some silly kid doesn't grab hold of it when i go into town.
checkout your local sheetmetal joint they would be able to fix you up with some perforated stainless steel mesh, they could even shape it and polish it too. depends how much you are willing to spend.
i wouldn't have a clue about the cost ???
Looking very nice tony, thumbs up 8)
Dan.
PJ.zook
04-06-2005, 01:44 PM
Yeh if you want to arrange that would be fine, having a look at them theyre more like a meter long btw.
i'll PM Hilux1998 and see if i can organise it through Fastway 8) PM me with a pickup address and your contact name so i can get it collected.
hope your not going to fit that before rover i was gonna use your exhaust to warm my hands in the mornings
hahaha ;D ok..... i'll refrain from fitting it until after i get back ;)
did a little more today...... did another engine oil flush.... got a little more crap out, and it seems to run a lot smoother than it did before....... very little white smoke now when it's cold. Replaced the diff breather tubes..... the front one already goes up alongside the air filter, i just replaced it. The rear one used to go up to the chassis... i went up a bit higher and put a loop on top (didn't take pics, seen one diff breather ya seen em all) Gonna do the injector clean on monday night..... i'm told that should definately help a bit. I only gotta paint a few bits and spray some sound deadener under the thing before RP next weekend. I also made a place to mount 2 jerry cans.... a 20 litre for fuel and a 10 litre one for water.
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/jerry1.jpg
the big can has been cleaned and painted black.... can kinda see it in the 3rd picture. It got late by the time i washed it and fueled up for the sugarloaf cleanup tomorrow.
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/jerry2.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/jerry3.jpg
taziiy
05-06-2005, 12:43 AM
looking good tony getting better all the time
a 20 litre for fuel and a 10 litre one for water.
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/jerry1.jpg
You should label the smaller jerry can - WATER and the larger can SPIRITS ;D
i did a bearing in the front diff at sugarloaf this morning..... the drivers side axle is just about hanging out of the housing. Had to come straight home so i can pull it out and get new bearings for it..... not happy jan!! at least it did it now and not next weekend!! :o i'll take pics when i get it out.
:'( :'( :'( :'( broken axle........ rooted crown wheel bearing....... have to strip the centre completely to get the broken piece of axle out..... luckily i have a spare one for that side..... the passenger side one was the one with the ripped boot and the R/S stub axle...... looks to me like the bearing failed and locked the axle up, which then proceeded to self destruct..... got a few pics.......will upload them later on when i'm done.
yeh lucky that didnt happen at rover a bit further to drive home good luck with it
wouldn't have mattered.... it was the front diff.... but it would have spoiled a great weekend. i have it stripped...... pics coming.
taziiy
05-06-2005, 04:12 PM
Thats a bit of bad luck but at least at this stage it didnt spoil next weekend for you :(
luckily it didn't kill my crown wheel or pinion gear..... looking at the broken piece of axle, it definately looks like the axle stopped and the centre screwed the end of the axle off.... got all the bits out.... there is SFA left of the bearing.... i have no idea where the balls went, i'm guessing they fell out... the bearing casing is totally trashed!! it's in shards.... heres some pics.....
this was the first sign that something wasn't right....
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/bustedaxle1.jpg
when i took the hub off, this fell out into my hads... not supposed to happen that way :-X
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/bustedaxle2.jpg
a shot inside the diff housing.....
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/bustedaxle3.jpg
All the bits out of the diff......
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/bustedaxle4.jpg
The mashed axle piece that was caught in the diff centre.....
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/bustedaxle5.jpg
This was all that was left of the bearing :-X
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/Deo/bustedaxle6.jpg
so it's off the the spares place tomorrow to get new bearings and seals...... :-[ more money
taziiy
05-06-2005, 04:28 PM
just what you needed right now (like a hole in the head ) looks like you will be taken something less up there (i was going to say berr but knowing you it would be something else )
shouldn't cost all that much...... it's just a pain in the ass having to take a day off work to get them all...... and then trying to get it all together and back in the car
PJ.zook
05-06-2005, 04:40 PM
Thats one benefit of the ol man bein retired. Hes home all day and got squat to do, so you tell im to go get your parts in the day while your at work.
simonsurf
05-06-2005, 05:06 PM
Sugarloaf claims another victim :o
So, did the rest of the cleanup go OK?
Sugarloaf claims another victim :o
So, did the rest of the cleanup go OK?
the problem is i only did one section of track that was a bit steep and had a step half way up..... we went in thge Buttai entrance and went to the meeting area in the quarry i think it was..... i didn't get stuck, didn't go at anything hard.. and heard nothing :-\ i did go around a corner and hit a rut side on harder than i would have liked to.... but i don't think that would have broken anything. We stopped to re-group, and somebody noticed oil dripping out underneath. i just unlocked that hub and drove it in 3WD :-X
as for the cleanup.... i don't know....... i left to come home just after the briefing.
simonsurf
05-06-2005, 05:45 PM
Total bummer dude :'(
I haven't broken anything for a while now (furiously touching wood!!!!!!) but I know how deflating it is.
BLU-125
05-06-2005, 08:14 PM
Sorry to see, Tony.............
i'll still be at RP even if i have to leave the front diff out :P won't be hard to get the bearings for it though :)
BLU-125
05-06-2005, 08:38 PM
I finally got time yesterday, actually Feral Errol got time yesterday to fit my Slip Yoke Eliminator, D/Cardin tailshaft, & new springs. Don't feel real good, got a lovely dose of the 'flu!!
crusher
06-06-2005, 09:06 AM
Thats bad luck Roe hope you have it sorted by the weekend
i got the tapered bearings for it today.. seals and axle bearings are gonna be here in the morning..... i'll hopefully get the diff back in tomorrow night.
that tray looks sweet as
just a though why didnt you paint the chassis??
it looks realy great pitty youll scratch it though!!
4xgold0
07-06-2005, 05:53 PM
thats a bit of a bummer,will it be ready for the weekend?
it's fixed now ;D lots of swearing and spanners getting thrown around.... but it's done now 8)
taziiy
07-06-2005, 10:26 PM
excellant all ready for rover park
BLU-125
07-06-2005, 10:40 PM
You are obviously feeling a little better than when I 'phoned earlier! ::) ::)You have wonderful self control Tony!
crusher
07-06-2005, 10:41 PM
it's fixed now ;D lots of swearing and spanners getting thrown around.... but it's done now 8)
good job Roe impressive. Have fun on the weekend on the GGW
nischev
07-06-2005, 11:27 PM
Good to see you got it sorted. Atleast you knew how to pull the diff apart and put it back together. Was it any easier this time round?
You are obviously feeling a little better than when I 'phoned earlier! ::) ::)You have wonderful self control Tony!
LOL!! cursing and swearing ::) i put the battery charger on it for about 10 minutes and it started first kick ::) thats what ya get for running the stereo for nearly 2 days without starting the car to charge the battery. as for self control.......... hrmmmmmm what self control! :P
Good to see you got it sorted. Atleast you knew how to pull the diff apart and put it back together. Was it any easier this time round?
pulled it out and apart easily...... and it went as smooth as silk until i tried to bolt the diff back in >:( bad moods, bad day, doesn't help :-X
glad to hear you got it going
cleaned the injector pump today........ i can't believe the amount of crap that came out of it!! all kinds of waxy shit....... and the stuff gradually got dirtier. as it was working, i saw stuff gathering at the bottom of the bottle..... i let it settle a while and took a pic...... btw, the car runs fantatsic now!! a little more power, a LOT smoother! and it revs harder than it used to...... i'm impressed!! ;D ;D Can't thank Dave (350Rangie) enough for his help!!
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/injectors1.jpg
well i have decided to do it!! :o :o :o :o "IF" and i mean if!! i can source some diffs and coils cheaply enough, i think i will SAS the front (yeah i know i usually champion the IFS cause... i wanna make the Deo more competitive though) and fit coils all round..... i am going to wait until Mr Costello gives me what he owes me and buy a small shitter to drive to work and park the Deo in my mates shed and do the best i can as quickly as i can to convert it. If it is feasible, i know it can be done on an MU which is pretty ,uch the same underneath and up front as mine is...... i think the guy in newwie used a jeep diff. but he already has coils up back. I need to get hold of the stuff as cheaply as possible....... i think factory coils will be more than sufficient for the Deo.. so after market big springs won't be needed.... get new tail shafts made.... probably cardin joints in the front (short drive shaft) and a single tail shaft in the rear to replace the 2 piece one there now. Does anybody know what ratios are available in the datsun diffs? i wanna run either 33's or 35's on it.. i won't know until it's finished. I'm series about this...... this isn't just a pipe dream...... i have clearance from the handbrake. and as soon as i can get my hands on my tax cheque, i'm going to start on it and get it finished before rego in november and have it perfected to drive in a couple of comps maybe.... definately before RP 2006 :)
keeping in mind..... it's gonna cost an arm and a leg to get it engineered too :-X
yeah! i like the sound of this!!
Utemad
14-06-2005, 08:44 PM
I looked into putting factory coil suspension into the rear of my Rodeo. As far as I could tell, if I got a Jackaroo or MU rear cut I could have just transferred all the parts and chassis brackets straight to the Rodeo. Once you got the Rodeo chassis rails cleaned of any leaf spring brackets and welded the coil suspension brackets on, it would just be a matter of transferring parts.
You would need the Jack/MU diff housing too of course unless you wanted to fab your own brackets for your existing diff housing.
I never did it because I want to get rid of the Rodeo at the end of this year and I couldn't justify the time/money.
rat patrol
14-06-2005, 08:50 PM
Tony,
Your misses is gunna kill you ;D ;D ;D.
Man I gotta keep a eye on this one. 8)
Mate I'll be happy just to get mine revin past 3,200,rpms :P :P
Rat
nischev
14-06-2005, 09:19 PM
Man you gonna be busy.
I thought I was mad but i think you might have taken it to the next level.
Majority of MQ diffs are 4.625.
GQ i think have 3.9, 4.1 and some have 4.6 but they are rare and a lot dearer.
I looked into putting factory coil suspension into the rear of my Rodeo. As far as I could tell, if I got a Jackaroo or MU rear cut I could have just transferred all the parts and chassis brackets straight to the Rodeo. Once you got the Rodeo chassis rails cleaned of any leaf spring brackets and welded the coil suspension brackets on, it would just be a matter of transferring parts.
You would need the Jack/MU diff housing too of course unless you wanted to fab your own brackets for your existing diff housing.
I never did it because I want to get rid of the Rodeo at the end of this year and I couldn't justify the time/money.
yes i was going to say thing same about finding a wreckoed coil spring vehicle chop all the mounts for the coils and links etc and weld them straight onto the back. Apperently the early range rovers are best for this ::) as they are cheap. If you want strength maybe go for MQ or GQ axles (not sure about the pumpkin offset) ;D
or you could always ask on outerlimits ;D
but i hope it all goes well for you
but atm this is one of the most moddified roedaos i have ever since
kepp up the good work :)
i might just ask on OL and see if i can get a straight answer...... which i doubt. but it's worth a try.
Utemad
14-06-2005, 10:03 PM
i might just ask on OL and see if i can get a straight answer...... which i doubt. but it's worth a try.
This is Yarno's MU
http://www.outerlimits4x4.com/PHP_Modules/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=22494
Plus a Jackaroo
http://www.outerlimits4x4.com/PHP_Modules/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=3569
There are more links within those ones.
it will be great if u get it done roe
Fenring
14-06-2005, 10:15 PM
I bet your missus will solid axle you, when she finds out how much coin that will cost! ;D
GUHOON
14-06-2005, 10:24 PM
GOOD GOD :o :o :o :o :o :o
Now THATS the way to get the Deo in the mag ;)
Good luck tony its going to be a huge job and im gonna enjoy reading about it and seeing the finished product on a forum trip in the future ;D
holy crap Tony, coils all round. 8 inch SAS deo, cant wait to see this, it will be bloody awesome. why not get GQ or better still GU diffs and widen the track a little bit too ;D
taziiy
14-06-2005, 11:02 PM
you cant stop the man now hes on a mission ;D
holy crap Tony, coils all round. 8 inch SAS deo, cant wait to see this, it will be bloody awesome. why not get GQ or better still GU diffs and widen the track a little bit too ;D
i was thinking of GQ diffs :) i am going to do some research and see what i can get for what price.
This is Yarno's MU
http://www.outerlimits4x4.com/PHP_Modules/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=22494
Plus a Jackaroo
http://www.outerlimits4x4.com/PHP_Modules/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=3569
There are more links within those ones.
thanks for that!! i book marked it. His is a little different though, he used leaf suspension. it is still mighty handy though!!
I bet your missus will solid axle you, when she finds out how much coin that will cost! ;D
it will cost a penny or two i guess hehe ;) she dunno exactly how much. I'm hoping to get it done a bit cheaper..... sourcing second hand bits around the place...... fabrication and machining won't be a big problem, i can get that stuff done at work.
i was thinking of GQ diffs :) i am going to do some research and see what i can get for what price.
GQ difs would be almost indestructible under a relatively light truck like the deo, but if you could source cheap GU diffs they are even stronger, particularly the cv joints, will definately be keeping an eye on the progress reports
BLU-125
15-06-2005, 01:43 PM
GQ diffs are usually 4.1:1. Some Mavs are 3.9:1, 3.0l Petrols are 4.3:1, 2.8diesel are 4.65:1. You can also get aftermarket 4.65s & 4.8s. ;D
now this i gotta see roll on rp 06 we'll see how many people you silence ay should be awesome
GQ diffs are usually 4.1:1. Some Mavs are 3.9:1, 3.0l Petrols are 4.3:1, 2.8diesel are 4.65:1. You can also get aftermarket 4.65s & 4.8s. ;D
4.65 would suit me...... i currently run 4.55 i want to try to keep away from the aftermarket stuff for now.. it will cost enough as it is :-X i need to get some measurements of ride height on standard springs and work out whether i need aftermarket ones......... standard might do enough for me without having to go too high. If anybody has any info that might be helpfull...... i'll be more than happy to listen.
also i am going to run 33's on it off-road, and keep my 31's for fast events and daily driving. I will be waiting a little while Chris before getting tyres now i think hehe I might have to wait until i get the Deo re-registered before taking it off the road, that way if it doesn't pass engineering i can still drive it while i sort it.
patrol
15-06-2005, 09:24 PM
Talk to an engineer before you spend a cent!, if you are going to do coils all round my advice would be to try and find a wrecked GQ or something else that has coils all round and cut all the brackets etc off that chassis, that way all the suspension angles are right in front of you, when you are looking for a donor vehicle make sure the chassis rails are around the same width apart as yours, so you don't have to move the spring purches on the housings or space the spring mounts too far off the chassis rails, engineers like to see factory stuff using the factory mounts from another vehicle is a good idea, also take notice of how the brackets are welded on try not to weld on the corners of the chassis or right across the top or bottom.
The main thing with an sas is the steering, try to use as much factory stuff as you can, try to copy the angles of the relay rod and panhard bars from the donor vehicle, some people say to make the relay rod and panhard run parrallel, this is wrong! they run at different angles because they are not the same length, they have to be different angles so they travel through the same arc, spending extra time and money on making sure the steering and caster angles are OK now will save you a heap of time and money down the track, I've seen alot of really bad sas come from people that call themselves experts, I've seen panhard mounts that have snapped off sending vehicles out of control onto footpaths, others that couldn't drive over 50 km/h caused by caster slap, make sure all your steering is as close as possible to the vehicle the diff originally came from.
If all else fails I've got a set of 404 uni mog diffs that could be in the for sale section soon ;D
so you don't have to move the spring purches on the housings or space the spring mounts too far off the chassis rails
I don't think you are allowed to move spring mounts on the chassis at all from what I've heard anyway.
Ofcourse I understand this theory really couldn't be put in practice for a leaf vehicle getting a full coil conversion etc.
Just what I've heard anyway, definately not to be treated as gospel.
If you decide on GQ diffs give me a ring Tony. I may just have unlimited ratio'd sets available for alot less than they seem to go for.
Though if you are not after width I don't see why you don't go for hilux diffs.
*edit* Im sure I mentioned a suitable engineer the other night didn't I???
no mate you didn't mention engineers. i'm going to start looking around and speaking to a couple to get an idea of what they will and won't allow
rotaboy
16-06-2005, 09:04 PM
cleaned the injector pump today........ i can't believe the amount of crap that came out of it!! all kinds of waxy shit....... and the stuff gradually got dirtier. as it was working, i saw stuff gathering at the bottom of the bottle..... i let it settle a while and took a pic...... btw, the car runs fantatsic now!! a little more power, a LOT smoother! and it revs harder than it used to...... i'm impressed!! ;D ;D Can't thank Dave (350Rangie) enough for his help!!
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/injectors1.jpg
hey mate this may be a silly question but i was wondering how u went about cleaning ur fuel pump out and would u know if it would be any different to do on a 60
cheers rota
mate the easiest way would be to give Dave a call...... he can sort it for you. I don't know whether your pump would be done differently or not. Dave is at Hardcore 4x4 on (03) 9872 3011
mulesa
17-06-2005, 04:12 PM
i looked at doing a SAS, cos ive been reading all the stuff on that clubisuzu site, n thers 2 ppl ther that have done it to ther mu's, and one of them has 37 inch rubber on it...
i was thinking bout doing it, then doin a spring over...but i really cant way up wether its worth the money to do it, or just go another car if i wanted a bigger lift... that n also i dnt no if i would be able to get something like that rego'd in qld
i do no thers a few mu's(havent seen a rodeo yet) goin around with it done, so itd be interesting, just wayin it all up is the hard bit
i looked at doing a SAS, cos ive been reading all the stuff on that clubisuzu site, n thers 2 ppl ther that have done it to ther mu's, and one of them has 37 inch rubber on it...
i was thinking bout doing it, then doin a spring over...but i really cant way up wether its worth the money to do it, or just go another car if i wanted a bigger lift... that n also i dnt no if i would be able to get something like that rego'd in qld
i do no thers a few mu's(havent seen a rodeo yet) goin around with it done, so itd be interesting, just wayin it all up is the hard bit
a SAS with leafs and a SOA in the ass would be easier......... but i wanna be difficult ;D better flex from coils.
i forgot to mention........ my mate is a qualified vehicle builder.. so he is licenced to modify chassis.... and he carries his trade licence in his wallet.... so it will be easier to get it engineered once it's done. I'm going to do what patrol said and contact an automotive engineer before i start.
taziiy
17-06-2005, 08:50 PM
I'm going to do what patrol said and contact an automotive engineer before i start.
Thats the best thing
heres what yoy need ;D
http://www.4wdmonthly.com.au/forum/index.php?board=14;action=display;threadid=9021
this makes me feel good ;D at least i am inspiring somebody :) Got this email today ;D and i answered all his questions (there was quite a few)
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hi RoeDao,just saw your pics of your rodeo love it.Looks great i have a couple of questions.I own a rodeo my self actually just bought it a couple of weeks ago.A 1992 dual cab 4x4 2.8tb and i want to do some work to it am very inspired by your rodeo thanks.
heres what yoy need ;D
http://www.4wdmonthly.com.au/forum/index.php?board=14;action=display;threadid=9021
:o :o :o :o :o i'll have to wait until i speak to Dave and see what he is selling all the stuff for..... he is wrecking a GQ and has all the links, diffs, the lot. I am prepared to drive to Vic to pick the stuff up.... but that link it good to keep in mind... thanks Mark
mulesa
18-06-2005, 12:55 PM
geez, u got it made if u have a mate like that to help do it...yeh i guess the only reall hard things u got is ringin the engineers, and telling ur missus
...and coils in the deo, i think ur car wud definatly make for a biiiiiiiiiiggggg feature in the mag, probs a front page, cos thats a huge, but awesome thing to do
geez, u got it made if u have a mate like that to help do it...yeh i guess the only reall hard things u got is ringin the engineers, and telling ur missus
...and coils in the deo, i think ur car wud definatly make for a biiiiiiiiiiggggg feature in the mag, probs a front page, cos thats a huge, but awesome thing to do
i'm going to buy all the stuff i need..... so i have the lot here ready to go....... i'll re-register the car and then take it off the road... so it won't get a start until late October early November (rego is due on the 11th of November). I'll send some stuff into the mag when i'm ready to start it. If they run it then good... if not.. i can live with it 8) as for the missus...... she already knows ;) and she has an idea of what i am going to spend on it. I told her last night i wouldn't get a lot of change out of 5 grand.... depends on what i buy and who i get to fit it.. if i do all the fab work and get Chris (my mate) to weld it, that will save a shit load. Included in that figure is engineering...... i'm expection over a grand just for that. Again, i'll call one during the week and talk to him about it all.
btw...... i found out why i was destroying air filters....... snorkel was leaking :-X all fixed now though!! ;D
The engineer I speak of will only cost you $360.
If you run down to Vic I may have to give you some $$$ and some beer to pick a housing and axles up off Dave ;D ;D ;D
The engineer I speak of will only cost you $360.
If you run down to Vic I may have to give you some $$$ and some beer to pick a housing and axles up off Dave ;D ;D ;D
is this engineer at Cardiff? thats the one that Nischev recommended to me. said he was good and easy to talk to.
I now have GQ 4.11 front and back diffs....... springs (i think), shocks, panhards, links, disc callipers and steering lined up 8) could be a trip to Vic coming up soon!! The ratios could be a problem........ but we'll see what happens when i get them here.
350rangie
18-06-2005, 06:34 PM
springs, polyaire bags (if you want them) & shocks as well as any other bits you need
SOLD! ;D
350rangie
18-06-2005, 06:39 PM
want a 5sp with transfer, efi engine, body panels???? ;D
then i WILL be divorced ::) you are gonna get me into trouble!! LOL just the running gear, and drive shafts will do :) i'll see what else i can snag while i'm down there ;D
Mick.
18-06-2005, 10:56 PM
The engineer that done my patrol is in Cardiff he's a pretty good bloke, he engineers all the 4wds that are modfied at Opposite Lock in Newcastle also.
i'll give him a call during the week and have a chat. See what he wants and how it wants it done.
mulesa
19-06-2005, 05:35 PM
You got alot of ppl helping u make this a lil easier on the wallet in terms of gettin the gear you need...that might make the missus a lil happier, remember i said might
i have been priming her with information and plans..... i told her how high it will probably end up being when it's done....... she nearly fell over LOL
i also told her that her Statesman might be spending some time out on the street while i get it done.... she wan't overly impressed.... but she'll get over it.
nischev
19-06-2005, 07:03 PM
i have been priming her with information and plans..... i told her how high it will probably end up being when it's done....... she nearly fell over LOL
i also told her that her Statesman might be spending some time out on the street while i get it done.... she wan't overly impressed.... but she'll get over it.
You should have kept the ovlov she didnt seem to mind it being left out. :-X ;) :-*
i had a thought...... i can recoup some of my costs by selling the front end..... it's worth a shitload. a locker that hasn't done a lot of work (worth $745 new) all new bearings in the diff..... new balljoints.......new wheel bearings.......shocks that are in good condition (TJM XGS) i reckon i could get $500 for that lot..... and throw the rear diff and shocks in for good luck :)
sounds like a plan tony wanna do a lux when you finish yours ;D
350rangie
20-06-2005, 06:33 PM
Starting the project in Oct/Nov - Looks like i've got a winch bitch for cup weekend ;)
looks that way ;D since ya supplyin the running gear at the right price...... i'll supply the piss for the weekend http://uhr4wdc.com/chat/images/beer1.gif
350rangie
20-06-2005, 07:09 PM
Could be dangerous - lots of piss & a rangie, you might come back an enlightened man.
hahahahaha!! then i'll be moving into the shop... cuz i'll get booted out of here if i tell her i'm going to buy a rangie :D
he might come back quite fit as well
might have to see what i can come up with in regards to those gear sets dave.... might be able to get the cash up to buy them. I'll need them to get the car on the road..... i'll burn clutches with 4.11's in it.
350rangie
20-06-2005, 07:18 PM
I can get you cheaper gear sets, the ones i've got are genuine & almost indestructible.
cheaper ones would most probably be good enough to carry the Deo..... it's 1,500kg wringing wet.. should cope ya think?
ferremit
21-06-2005, 12:59 AM
i had a thought...... i can recoup some of my costs by selling the front end..... it's worth a shitload. a locker that hasn't done a lot of work (worth $745 new) all new bearings in the diff..... new balljoints.......new wheel bearings.......shocks that are in good condition (TJM XGS) i reckon i could get $500 for that lot..... and throw the rear diff and shocks in for good luck :)
hmmmm..... ;)
save yer pennies mate 8)
patrol
21-06-2005, 01:43 PM
so you don't have to move the spring purches on the housings or space the spring mounts too far off the chassis rails
I don't think you are allowed to move spring mounts on the chassis at all from what I've heard anyway.
Ofcourse I understand this theory really couldn't be put in practice for a leaf vehicle getting a full coil conversion etc.
Just what I've heard anyway, definately not to be treated as gospel.
*edit* Im sure I mentioned a suitable engineer the other night didn't I???
You can do almost anything you like as long as it's done properly, if you start changing the cross members thats when it gets into a grey area, you also have to use metal thats simular to that used in the chassis rails, you can't build the new mounts for the springs and panhards out of 6mm plate when the chassis is only 2mm thick etc it makes the mount stronger than the chassis, thats why standard mounts from the donor vehicle are a good idea.
FERAL ERROL
21-06-2005, 09:30 PM
just buy a real 4wd & stop playing with it ;D
yeah but whats the fun in that?
::) ::) somebody had to say it
Nemesis
22-06-2005, 02:30 PM
;D better flex from coils.
I thought I saw you checkin out my rear at RP ;D ;D ;D
;D better flex from coils.
I thought I saw you checkin out my rear at RP ;D ;D ;D
hahahaha!! you promised you wouldn't tell :-X