View Full Version : Project Garth...... SAS 'n Coils.. It's time!!
The deo has been almost done for a while. Why dont you just change the same to the Never Ending Story
Deo almost done will suffice..... because it's always almost done....
changed the power steering pump today..... the pic below shows the dilema :o where that gaping hole is, there is supposed to be a drive shaft and 2 pulleys :( never did find them either!!
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/ppump.jpg
I also figured why it ran a little hot on those hot days we had last week :-X When a certain Rodeo owner cleaned their vehicle after the Wattagans trip..... a certain Rodeo owner forgot to hose out the radiator :-\ got a HEAP of mud out of it today!! should be better come the next heat wave ;)
BushBoy
11-12-2004, 10:19 PM
goooooonnnneeeeeeee :-\ i have no idea where it went.......
a very light fingered person has it..... LMAO
it's looking good roe.
oh and may i ask what the broom is for?
hehe, "Tony's Sweeping Service"
goooooonnnneeeeeeee :-\ i have no idea where it went.......
a very light fingered person has it..... LMAO
it's looking good roe.
oh and may i ask what the broom is for?
hehe, "Tony's Sweeping Service"
nahhhhhhh BT has one on the back of his rig...... i just wanna be the same ;) i am purchasing a high lift jack for it........ might have to put it with the broom and shovel on the rear bar 8)
taziiy
12-12-2004, 12:22 PM
Lmfao your a funny guy ;D
maybe a rake as well
;D ;D maybe i should!! and a wheelbarrow too!!
taziiy
12-12-2004, 02:51 PM
And a bear as well ;D
Started the rear bar today...... it's gone a long way from what it looked like when BLU dropped it off....... will have it on tomorrow, should look good!! I cut and welded a few bits.... extended and moved bits...... and went over it with a wire wheel on the grinder..... once i mount it, it will improve my departure angle a bit as well..... I probably could have had it finished today, but i need to take a trailer to the tip tomorrow before i finish it and remove the tow bar. I will make a new hitch for it, and do a hayman style recovery hook instead of having it bolted underneath the car :)
As it is now.....
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/beforecarrier.jpg
Just getting started.......
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/beforecarrier3.jpg
Trimmed up.......
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/beforecarrier4.jpg
Testing the wheel mount.......
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/beforecarrier6.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/beforecarrier7.jpg
Cleaned and ready for paint...... almost
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/beforecarrier8.jpg
BLU-125
26-12-2004, 06:45 PM
Looks a LOT different!
Starting to look good........
taziiy
26-12-2004, 06:45 PM
looking pretty good there tony :D
I wish i could get motavated to play around with mine
:(
Looks a LOT different!
Starting to look good........
i was looking at it a little while ago..... i'll have to grind and re-weld some of it tomorrow..... but i will get it finished 8) Can't thank ya enough for droppin it off Chris.
got it on today! ;D Looks great too!
Primer on and ready to paint.
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/beforecarrier9.jpg
With the carrier on.......
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/withcarrier1.jpg
After i gave it a bath......
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/withcarrier2.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/withcarrier3.jpg
And i always wanted a broom like BT....... but i didn't get time to make a mount for it...... so i have to pretend for a while ;) ;D
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/withcarrier4.jpg
slowlux
27-12-2004, 10:04 PM
Oh my god, i cant get over how good your deo is!!!!!
That wheel carrier looks tops! good job!
Though, i'd be loosing those brake light protetors.
Top Stuff!!!!!
taziiy
28-12-2004, 04:38 PM
That looks good tony well done :D
I like the broom added in when you going to make the broom holder ???
Lookin good Tony, gee you have left me behind in the dust with your build ;)
Oh my god, i cant get over how good your deo is!!!!!
That wheel carrier looks tops! good job!
Though, i'd be loosing those brake light protetors.
Top Stuff!!!!!
It's not bad for a home made job, and it was made for a landy too :o
the light protectors will be replaced when i can get some flat bar... i have to mount the number plate lights as well...... thats tomorrow. I pity any poor bastage that runs into me!! :o That thing weighs a ton!!
taziiy
28-12-2004, 06:49 PM
Thats because he doesnt look at it for 3-4 hours then do a hours work on it ;D
BLU-125
28-12-2004, 09:40 PM
Can you imagine how much K-Y has been used as H&M looks at it though.
Lucky it's in his parents back yard, I'm sure his father-in - ..um...partnership.....(?) ........ wouldn't understand........
Fine then >:(you all suck....
That challenge is still on Chris when I pull my finger out and get it regoed, shoulda used the k-y eh ;D
Thats because he doesnt look at it for 3-4 hours then do a hours work on it ;D
i dunno......... for a long while there....... i looked at it for 3-4 hours..... then did 1/2 an hours work, got the shits and left it hehehe did that numerous times!!!
those light protectors are coming off completely i decided...... will look ok without them :)
taziiy
29-12-2004, 10:04 AM
Fine then >:(you all suck....
That challenge is still on Chris when I pull my finger out and get it regoed, shoulda used the k-y eh ;D
yeah it would of made it easier to get it out Muh ha ha ha ha ;D
*Roe does a happy dance*
got an intercooler!! ;D got it on eBay!! 50 bux! gotta be happy with that!! Now i can't wait to get it fitted!! 8)
290mm x 163mm x 62mm thick... should do the job nicely!! ;D
http://i12.ebayimg.com/03/i/03/1b/dc/cc_1_b.JPG
it's out of a mazda 13B rotary......
slowlux
29-12-2004, 08:41 PM
nice!!
taziiy
29-12-2004, 09:04 PM
are you still mounting on top of the engine or are you front monting it ???
nice_surf
29-12-2004, 09:19 PM
I saw that one and was going to bid on it but saw it was you and let you have it ;D
Travis
Humpy
29-12-2004, 11:37 PM
Coming along nicely Roe
Have you thought about adding some sliders behind the back wheels? join em up with the new rear bar
I saw that one and was going to bid on it but saw it was you and let you have it ;D
Travis
nahh mate.... i didn't bid on it...... i just bought it...... i did have bids on others a day or so back...... but they got too high in price. ;)
are you still mounting on top of the engine or are you front monting it ???
i'm going to front mount it on the drivers side..... there is room to run the turbo discharge pipe through the panel next to the radiator, then run the intercooler discharge across the front and through the other side..... i'll have to work it out properly before i fit it. But it will fit ok, i measured it after i bought it LOL :-X If i have to chop the grille a little to fit it i will :) i might have to chop the grille anyhow to fit a fan...... when funds allow, i'm going to fit a 6" fan in front of it and wire it so it turns on when i select low range, or make it a manual switch for low speed traffic. Not the same air flow over it as an engine fan would draw, but it will still move cooling air over it when i'm not going fast enough to get air through it.
Coming along nicely Roe
Have you thought about adding some sliders behind the back wheels? join em up with the new rear bar
I was actually looking at that yesterday....... i still have pipe here........ but it's going to be difficult to mount behind the rear wheel..... i'm sure i can come up with something ;D
slowlux
30-12-2004, 11:10 AM
when funds allow, i'm going to fit a 6" fan in front of it and wire it so it turns on when i select low range, or make it a manual switch for low speed traffic. Not the same air flow over it as an engine fan would draw, but it will still move cooling air over it when i'm not going fast enough to get air through it.
You've got some nice ideas there!
love the rear bar roe would look better with out the light protecters
its become a great looking roedao
love the rear bar roe would look better with out the light protecters
its become a great looking roedao
i was going to remove them altogether...... but my mate just made a suggestion that makes sense and it will look ok as well..... I'm going to cut them off half way up and extend them to protect the whole light and have them go back towards the vehicle so they are parallel with the lights. Won't cost much to try, and if it looks liek crap, i can cut them off :)
Hack em completely I say ;)
i'll see what they look like when i extend them........ like i said, won't cost much to have a look and see :D
taziiy
31-12-2004, 12:05 AM
just neatly cut them off if you dont like it you can always weld them back on ;D
ongoing is right ::) ::) ::) I have to pull my fuel tank out tomorrow...... it has a leak :-[ I copped a fairly big stick under that side of it on Tuesday and i pulled it out...... but i think it's got up underneath the tank guard...... i can't see where exactly it's leaking, but i'll have to pull it out tomorrow...... not gonna bother today >:( Got some brazing rods........ i'll either blow myself up, or fix it :)
ferremit
31-12-2004, 03:36 PM
dibs on ya truck when you detonate yourself..ill just whack the tank from my deo under it ;D
LOL!! *slap* :P
On an on-thread but unrelated matted - how much lift did you get out of the rear sping shackles? ie what is the gap between the axle and the bump stop, and how long between pin centres is the shackle you made to get you there?
I am looking for a bit more clearance, and want to work out whether or not to go for off-the-shelf hilux extended gear or to chase down a blacksmith and get something made - bird shit makes my welding look good so I won't try it myself
Nigel
Pin centres are 9" standard shackles are 5".... so i got about 2" I didn't measure the over diff gap before and after...... just the height of the rear end. You may be able to get hilux drop shackles to fit it...... i'm still considering that if i can get the same 2" lift BEFORE the pins are taken out. A bit expensive at the moment though
Thanks - so it sounds like 2'' at the shackle to get 1" at the axle is about right.
Interesting that you started off with a 5" shackle - I just measured mine at 90m - ie 3.5 inches- giving me 100mm clearance at the axle. - my compliance plate says Dec 1994, which could explain the variation
So anyway, it looks like I am hunting for about an 8"/200mm shackle to get me where I want to be.
GUHOON
02-01-2005, 04:46 PM
I like that rear bar Roe, but like everyone said lose the light protectors then it will look sweet ;)
i'm still going to extend them and then see how it looks........ :)
going to get started on my front sway bar tomorrow, should have it done by the weekend ;D I had a talk to the machine shop leading hand today.... he came up with some suggestions... should work great!! ;D I'll get pics of it working when i fit it...... hopefully on saturday
taziiy
05-01-2005, 12:08 AM
This will be interesting to see
:)
This is going to be one mean DEO :D
got it made...... not fitted yet, gotta drill the holes tomorrow for the roll pins and the coupling bolt....... here's what it looks like now.
all the bits, with the sway bar cut in half........
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/swaybar1.jpg
With the coupling fitted how it will be pinned in place. The spigot on the short coupling sits inside the long coupling to stop lateral movement.......
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/swaybar2.jpg
How it looks together......
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/swaybar3.jpg
and how i expect it to behave when disconnected...... the coupling will move independently......
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/swaybar4.jpg
I'll take more when it's painted and fitted......
Humpy
05-01-2005, 11:45 PM
What keeps it aligned?
Is there something to stop it kinking at that joint? like an extra bush :-\
What keeps it aligned?
Is there something to stop it kinking at that joint? like an extra bush :-\
the bar slides into the coupling to stop any lateral movement...... there is only twisting force at that point..... so all should be fine (i hope!) if for some reason it doesn't work, i'll engineer the problem out, or the whole lot can go back to where it has spent the last 12 months......... out in the back shed hehe
Humpy
06-01-2005, 08:22 AM
Sounds like you have a few solutions to fix it if you have problems.
I like the mechanisim, I hope it works well for you
frontie
06-01-2005, 05:17 PM
With IFS front would it really make much differents with out the sway bar.. becasue i have sway bars front and back, it's i did some thing similar like a qick disconnect thing would it beifit off road.. becoz at the moment it handles sweet on road.
just removing the front made a noticeable difference off-road..... you don't get a lot of flex with IFS...... but you do notice an increase without the front sway bar (mine doesn't have a rear one)
Sounds like you have a few solutions to fix it if you have problems.
I like the mechanisim, I hope it works well for you
i hope so too!! it will be much easier to drive on road!! ;D At the moment it's like driving a block of flats...... the only thing i worry about is whats going to happen off-road..... if there is no more than twisting motion at the front, then it will work fine.
IT WORKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
*does the happy dance*
got it fitted today and tested it out.... and it works!!! ;D ;D ;D the fourby is 100% better to drive on the road, and when i take the bolt out, it works!! it doesn't have any sideways movement....... and the coupling moves freely. I had a slight hiccup... the bolt hole was about 2mm out.... could have been missaligned when i drilled it, or the bar could be twisted a little...... but none the less...... a round file and 15 minutes fixed it ;D Heres some pics....
After it was fitted
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/swaybar6.jpg
out at the airport in a drainage ditch..... the coupling moves like it is supposed to!!
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/swaybar8.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/swaybar7.jpg
Then i went across the road and tried the other side....... i got a few weird looks from people driving past...... screw them!! http://uhr4wdc.com/chat/images/effyou.gif
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/swaybar9.jpg
the coupling moving in the other direction......
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/swaybar10.jpg
and yeah i know!!!!!!! the underneath is muddy!!! ::) When i get the intercooler in imma take to it with the Gerni ;D
taziiy
07-01-2005, 10:24 PM
How di you go lineing the hole back up after you finished playing around did it line up or did you have to play around ???
Humpy
07-01-2005, 10:37 PM
Good stuff Roe, Are you gonna sell em as a kit now?
I know what you mean about people giving you funny looks when testing travel, I once had a lady stop and ask if I was OK, She thought I had crashed ;D
It looks pretty clean to me ;)
gotta luv initiative eh ;)
Phat Mav
08-01-2005, 01:08 AM
Garth is looking good Roe. I like the rear bar...good work. Now I want me a broom holder!!!
Patrick
FREAK
08-01-2005, 02:17 AM
Well done Roe, now i'm gunna sound like an idea grabber, but funnily enough i had pretty much the same idea as what you have just completed on your sway bar.
It was only thoughts but now that i have seen your success i may have to look into it a little deeper ;)
You are a champ big fella 8)
How di you go lineing the hole back up after you finished playing around did it line up or did you have to play around ???
if it sits on level ground it should go back together ok........ i had a bit of trouble but i suspect there was a slight missalignment. Liike i said, i fixed it with a round file ;D
Good stuff Roe, Are you gonna sell em as a kit now?
I know what you mean about people giving you funny looks when testing travel, I once had a lady stop and ask if I was OK, She thought I had crashed ;D
It looks pretty clean to me ;)
I'd sell them as a kit if i thought i could sell enough of them...... I'd have to patent the idea.. and that costs a lot of money. It would have been better if i had somewhere where i could flex it to lift a wheel....... but i was in a hurry....... after a cou0ple of days driving it connected, i'll disconnect it for a couple of days and make sure it doesn't move sideways. I think it will be ok :) If it was going to move it would have done it yesterday.... i i bounced it through a few dipss at different angles yesterday and it stayed put.
slowlux
08-01-2005, 11:08 AM
Nice stuff!!
Tell me about it! wierd loioks are all i get when testing travel! I was testing it ona track thats right next to a road and taking photos of it, some lady stopped in her car and was looking for a bout 5 minutes ::)
ferremit
08-01-2005, 03:28 PM
I get wierd looks when i come out of amery road, with the lux COVERED in mud, and the poncy people from the winerys drive past in their mercs.....
Tho nothing gets you wierder looks than when your using ya car to pull fence posts out on the side of a main road....
Drag chain to top of post, back to use on equiliser cable.... reverse, gun it in reverse...4 big reverse roostertails of dust......
people actualyl stop to watch you :P
frontie
08-01-2005, 03:49 PM
MATEEE!!! nice work.. got me thinking now.. i might have to do some thing with my sawybar front and back...
But keep up the good work..
;D ;D
jackroov6
08-01-2005, 04:59 PM
One word roe
BRILLIANT
thanks guys ;D It's a totally different car on the road now 8) and i won't get the feeling that i should pull my elbow in the car so it doesn't scrape on the road ;)
All i need is my damn intercooler and it will be almost complete!! ;D ;D
4xgold0
08-01-2005, 10:17 PM
how cool is that,your the man Roe. well done!!!
taziiy
08-01-2005, 10:18 PM
thanks guys ;D It's a totally different car on the road now 8) and i won't get the feeling that i should pull my elbow in the car so it doesn't scrape on the road ;)
You still waiting for it
ferremit
08-01-2005, 11:17 PM
Im tempted to do the balll joint flip while i got the deo in bits.....and crank the ride up a bit too ;D see if i cant make those 205R16's fit full time ;D
You still waiting for it
yeah it's coming general post from West Oz somewheres......... it was posted on the friday before new year....... so we had the holiday monday it most likely left WA on tuesday...... it takes about 5 to 6 days i'm told to get anything from that side of Australia to another regional area over here...... hopefully it will arrive tomorrow so i can start fitting it.
4xgold0
09-01-2005, 10:12 AM
yeah it's coming general post from West Oz somewheres......... it was posted on the friday before new year....... so we had the holiday monday it most likely left WA on tuesday...... it takes about 5 to 6 days i'm told to get anything from that side of Australia to another regional area over here...... hopefully it will arrive tomorrow so i can start fitting it.
hey Roe, if i knew it was from WA, i could of had a look at it for ya
taziiy
09-01-2005, 12:09 PM
You still waiting for it
Hope you get it soon its been a while now :( :o
it's been one week ;) take out the weekends and public hols, 4 days 8)
taziiy
09-01-2005, 03:55 PM
I keep forgetting about the public hols they stuff everything up except a long weekend :D
Westoztroopa
12-01-2005, 08:49 PM
Thats excellent Tony! 8)
Your enginuity and creativity is to be commended. 8)
I found the same thing when I installed the Articulator. Allows the best of both worlds - much smoother ride offroad. Just have to watch those pins as the 10mm ones have tended to snap on the Articulator. Mines a 12mm diameter and so far no probs. Dont know what yours are but just something to keep in mind...
Noel
the pins i used in mine are hardened roll pins....... the sway bar will break before they do hehe
I start on the intercooler install tomorrow ;D i'm hoping to have it done over the weekend
GUHOON
12-01-2005, 10:35 PM
Well done Tony, that swaybar dohicky thingy looks like a really good idea.And it works well too. ;D
Keep us up to date on the intercooler install, i have one like that in my shed that i was going to fit to my old pulsar but never got around to it.The problem with it is some one butchered the tanks to fit different pipes and now it has holes in them. :-\
Not to worry though the patrol has a cooler standard ;)
Lookin good and good results too!
Now I wonder if the wife will let me do that to her frontera ::)
bah.... too hot to do anything today....... hehe i'll do it on the weekend ;) supposed to cool down saturday arvo.
taziiy
13-01-2005, 07:06 PM
well if your lucky ive herd more like sunday :o
I almost melted today, even left work early.
You are forgiven for not working on Garth so long as you had a few berr's to cool down ;)
I almost melted today, even left work early.
You are forgiven for not working on Garth so long as you had a few berr's to cool down ;)
i had a couple of beers at Doug's wake..... and a couple of beers at our brigade executive meeting ;D
part way through mounting the intercooler....... it's going to give me grief around the battery...... so i'm moving it into the back of the ute ;D pictures to come.....
damn it's hot outside today!!! :-[ :-[
moving the battery, not the intercooler LOL :P SOMEBODY would have asked! ;)
sounds good
do you think that the intercooler will make a perfromance increase?
Now that you are moving the battery will you put more batteries in?
sounds good
do you think that the intercooler will make a perfromance increase?
Ofcourse it will...
taziiy
16-01-2005, 07:00 PM
well it must be fitted by now he hasnt been on today well not much anyway ;D
haven't been on much cuz i have been friggin around getting this PITA fitted....... had problems with the battery, so now it's in the back.... i have to get a battery box for it. Broke 3 drills on the 3" hole saw...... pissed me off majorly!! Now i have to remove the battery tray which is spot welded in place to get the intercooler pipes to fit...... in between all that i was held up by a huge ass storm..... and i got paged to a MVA that was outside our area so we were stood down after almost arriving there....... shitty day overall...... the holes are in place, the intercooler is ready to mount, all i need to do is remove that battery tray. It should be finished tomorrow night or tuesday night.... but i will get there!!
4xgold0
16-01-2005, 10:20 PM
mate sounds like you had a rough day,but its getting there,it will all be good in the end Roe......................................... any pics?
snodrogs
16-01-2005, 10:33 PM
Hey Roe
Just caught up on Garth! Man what a machine she is now. Maybe you should get a Holden exec to come out and show them some of the stuff they should do to the vehicles (at Isuzu) before they ship them!!
Lucky you have the "guard dog" with all the stuff going on the car!! ;)
Oh, Russell Coight is ont he box. Gotta get my bush tips for Easter. ;D
taziiy
16-01-2005, 11:06 PM
sounds like a pita of a day for you :(
mate sounds like you had a rough day,but its getting there,it will all be good in the end Roe......................................... any pics?
i took a couple of pics..... i'll post em up when i get it finished though..... i haven't taken them off the camera yet
shainala
17-01-2005, 10:35 AM
Finally read all 7 pages last night. Lookin good Roe. Can't wait to hear how the intercooler goes as I'm thinking of doing it to my '95 Navara.
Also does the ball joint flip work with all IFS? I was looking at a Calmini upper control arm set for 3" lift but ball joint flip would be cheaper. Did you get longer shocks?
Dave
Finally read all 7 pages last night. Lookin good Roe. Can't wait to hear how the intercooler goes as I'm thinking of doing it to my '95 Navara.
Also does the ball joint flip work with all IFS? I was looking at a Calmini upper control arm set for 3" lift but ball joint flip would be cheaper. Did you get longer shocks?
Dave
The balljoint flip gives me more travel..... on a lux it gives you lift because the torsion bar is on the upper control arm. I put TJM XGS series 2000 shocks on it. apparently there is 2" more travel than stock shocks........ i never really measured them
ok..... here's some progress pics...... i did a little more today....... but i'm beat cuz i got no sleep last night with the storms and i have to start early tomorrow....... couldn't be bothered doing any more today.... hopefully, i'll get it all plumbed up tomorrow.
Before i started......
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/intercooler01.jpg
The engine bay.........
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/intercooler02.jpg
Hung it on by one bolt to work out what had to be moved......
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/intercooler03.jpg
With the battery tray removed........
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/intercooler04.jpg
The intercooler mounted properly but not tightened up.....
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/intercooler05.jpg
A nice clear pathway for the pipes to run ;D
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/intercooler06.jpg
The battery in it's new home...... i'll secure it temperarily until i can get a battery box for it.
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/intercooler07.jpg
You don't realise how dirty the engine bay is until you take a picture of it :o :o I'll definately have to get the gerni to it when i'm finished!! :D I'll have to do a Wilsey to it i think...... ;)
taziiy
18-01-2005, 12:19 AM
Its looking good roe have you got it all together and running on the strret yet ???
....... couldn't be bothered doing any more today.... hopefully, i'll get it all plumbed up tomorrow.
nope........ not yet ;)
YAY!!!!!! it's on and running!! ;D ;D ;D I need to make an adaptor at work tomorrow so i can put the allow manifold back on top of the engine..... and then insulate the return pipe from the IC. When i first took it for a run i was very dissapointed.... it went like a slug..... i pulled up in the driveway and had a look........ i forgot to connect the pipe that runs from the inlet to the top of the injector pump....... i made a rough connection for it and went for another drive....... guess what!! it went a SHIT LOAD better!! ;D The turbo whistles like a freakin Mack Truck now!! heaps louder.... sounds good!! ;D Will be better when i paint the pipes and insulate and sort the engine bay properly. heres a coupla pics......... please ignore the filthy engine bay!!! i PROMISE i'll clean it ;)
With one pipe fitted.......
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/intercooler08.jpg
With 2 fitted 8)
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/intercooler09.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/intercooler010.jpg
almost there!!!!
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/intercooler011.jpg
GUHOON
18-01-2005, 09:43 PM
does it go any better just by bolting it on?
Does it have more turbo lag cause of the length of the pipes?
Just curious :)
frontie
18-01-2005, 11:11 PM
sweet set up deo...
taziiy
19-01-2005, 12:19 AM
so its neally all ready for the camp weekend
does it go any better just by bolting it on?
Does it have more turbo lag cause of the length of the pipes?
Just curious :)
yeah there is a noticable difference even before it is retuned. Should go even better when it's dyno tuned.
Sounds like its going to be a rocket
all you need now is a blow off value ;D
Twisty
19-01-2005, 10:01 AM
Looks awesome Roe!! Jeez your truck has come along way, have to be one of the best Rodeo's I've seen, after you clean that engine bay anyway...
4xgold0
19-01-2005, 10:13 AM
looking good Roe,,are you going to get them to up the turbo boost?
it should happen anyhow....... i'll get them to tune it up to a safe EGT ;D Should go good!! took it for a drive again today after i modified the setup again (pics in a moment) I made an adaptor so i could put the allow manifold back on, makes it easier to hook up my boost guage and the pump advance line...... i can't get over how loud it whistles now!! you can even hear the turbo wind down when you change gears ;D Got a little work to do on saturday....... mostly tidy up work, clean the engine bay ;) cut the grille so it fits ::) and trim a bit of the plastic below the bullbar.... it's rubbing on the intercooler feed line...... hopefully i'll have some insulation as well.... so i can insulate the return line.
Finished, bolted up and ready to rock ;D
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/intercooler013.jpg
I even painted the thing bling red ;D goes faster now!! ;)
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/intercooler014.jpg
Looks awesome Roe!! Jeez your truck has come along way, have to be one of the best Rodeo's I've seen, after you clean that engine bay anyway...
thanks mate ;D it has come a longgggggggggggggggg way since i got it!! The rear diff is next..... it's starting to bleed a little on the drivers side...... i'll get it reco'd and get the LSD wound up as tight as they can make it ;D ;D ;D won't need a rear locker then 8)
Westoztroopa
19-01-2005, 10:31 PM
I've got a future challenge for ya Roe. ;D
Given your obvious talents and ability to think outside the square, how about tackling the bane of all Isuzu owners by relocating the alternator higher in the engine bay. 8)
Noel
Given your obvious talents and ability to think outside the square, how about tackling the bane of all Isuzu owners by relocating the alternator higher in the engine bay. 8)
Noel
that is something i have been looking at........ i considered swapping positions with the aircon pump....... but then i'd have to get new hoses made (not a problem really, i can make them myself at work) The re-gas would cost......... plus i'm told once you drain your system, you need to change your drier/receiver as well..... But i have been looking into it ;D along with a way to mount an air compressor in the engine bay
taziiy
20-01-2005, 09:24 PM
Noel
that is something i have been looking at........ i considered swapping positions with the aircon pump....... but then i'd have to get new hoses made (not a problem really, i can make them myself at work) The re-gas would cost......... plus i'm told once you drain your system, you need to change your drier/receiver as well..... But i have been looking into it ;D along with a way to mount an air compressor in the engine bay
they say through work that the dryer has to be changed but that doesnt always happen if you find someone to regas it on the side cheapper for u and them
got the grille back in today and insulated the return line...... also scored a couple of bullbar vents to put in next week...... i'll move the number plate to the passenger side, and mount the vents in the front to let a little more air in onto the I/C and the radiator.
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/intercooler015.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/intercooler016.jpg
taziiy
22-01-2005, 08:32 PM
looks good tony now we just sit back and wait to see whats next ???
bullbar vents are next....... and i'm going to remove the tiedown rail and hooks........ and rivet strips of aluminium checker plate along just under the canopy..... i should be able to get some from work for nothing ;D
taziiy
22-01-2005, 09:47 PM
excellent sounds good ;D
Utemad
24-01-2005, 09:03 PM
I've seen lots of your model Rodeo with the hooks and bars removed with little plastic plugs in the holes. Also used on utes that have had their tonneau cover hooks removed.
However checker plate would look cooler.
GUHOON
25-01-2005, 12:00 AM
You should have left the cooler polished up so you had some bling behind the grille ;)
lol yeah right!! ::) I'd never live that down :P
GUHOON
25-01-2005, 05:23 PM
Black is more thermally efficient anyway ;)
LOL my son said i ought to put red LEDs in the eyes of the clown 8) Would look kinda............ ricer like....... would look awesome, but i'd cop hell from you guys :P
Ford Mav
25-01-2005, 08:15 PM
Damn straight we wouldnt lol
Frank
BushTuckerNed
25-01-2005, 08:23 PM
LOL my son said i ought to put red LEDs in the eyes of the clown 8) Would look kinda............ ricer like....... would look awesome, but i'd cop hell from you guys :P
That would look cool, mayb 2 different settings. Constant and flashing
i have been toying with the idea of making a roof console for a while........ and BJHilly mentioned it in his intro thread made me wonder how hard they are to mount and where you mount them........ i might have a lash at it when i have done my rear drawers.
Nev62
27-01-2005, 08:06 PM
I was just curious as to how effective the blocks for the upper ball joints are? Was thinking about doing the same to my Raider (ball joints are mounted below the upper arm stock) but I'm not sure if 10mm or 12mm is going to be worth it. What sort of gain at the wheel can be expected?
mostly it's for wheel alignment after winding the T/Bs down......and it equates to more down travel as well.
if it were mine id cut the lower section off the bull bar to improve the approach angle.
i had considered that Mark.... it kinda leaves the plastic underneath very vulnerable though. I could cut all the lower section off and it would still look ok. I'll look into it while i have the bullbar off over the weekend
ok..... got a little more done today..... heres some pics...... the front looks rreally good now!! looks better up close than the pics look.
Before.........
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/before01.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/before02.jpg
After..........
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/after01.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/after02.jpg
The vent on the drivers side opens up onto the intercooler where it was covered by the bullbar previously..... it appears to make a slight difference in pulling power........ either that or it's the placebo effect.... either way, it has to make it better with more air getting onto it
and yes ferrit... that is tyre shine http://uhr4wdc.com/chat/images/effyou.gif
That looks great :o Keep up the good work
Utemad
29-01-2005, 04:44 PM
Did you consider putting some kind of mesh in or behind the bullbar cutouts. Just in case a well aimed rock is flung up from in front and through the holes into the intercooler.
Just a safety measure.
Did you consider putting some kind of mesh in or behind the bullbar cutouts. Just in case a well aimed rock is flung up from in front and through the holes into the intercooler.
Just a safety measure.
i did think of it at one stage........ and IF i can get my hands on some nice expanded mesh that i can easily fix behind the vents then i probably will do that... would look nice with some aluminium mesh there ;D
Just a safety measure.
i did think of it at one stage........ and IF i can get my hands on some nice expanded mesh that i can easily fix behind the vents then i probably will do that... would look nice with some aluminium mesh there ;D
Got ricer http://www.vistawebdesigns.com/4wdpics/****you3.gif
Just a safety measure.
Got ricer http://www.vistawebdesigns.com/4wdpics/****you3.gif
says he with LED tail lights ::) http://www.vistawebdesigns.com/4wdpics/****you3.gif
got myself a temp gauge today.... i'm going to mount it in the return line from the intercooler up near the inlet manifold.... should be handy to keep an eye on the temp of the air going into the donk......especially after i mount one of my 9" fans in front of it....... i can use the fan to keep the intercooler temp down a bit. I'm not to sure of the normal temp of the air going into the engine AFTER an intercooler........... this gauge starts at 40 degrees C....... i'm guessing by the temp of things after i stop, it will go past that.
4xgold0
05-02-2005, 05:20 PM
got myself a temp gauge today.... i'm going to mount it in the return line from the intercooler up near the inlet manifold.... should be handy to keep an eye on the temp of the air going into the donk......especially after i mount one of my 9" fans in front of it....... i can use the fan to keep the intercooler temp down a bit. I'm not to sure of the normal temp of the air going into the engine AFTER an intercooler........... this gauge starts at 40 degrees C....... i'm guessing by the temp of things after i stop, it will go past that.
or you could do what the ricers do,they inject a mist of water on the intercooler as your croozing along............i dont know how true it is but they claim 4% more power.i for one can see this working as there boost is well over 20 pound and thats when a intercooler really comes into play,which all makes sence
i was thinking of making a spray up for the mud drags at RP in june ;D just a temporary thing that sprays iced water onto the I/C.. depends on what i can get my hands on.
If i think what u mean ::) Couldn't you just find some way to mount a second washer bottle and use a windscreen sprayer thingy facing at the I/C?
thats exactly what i was thinking of...... i'm not sure about the volume or pressure needed to make a proper spray operate.... if i can get hold of a washer bottle cheap enough to mess with, i'll play around with it.
best gadget for such a sprayer thingy is a sureflo 12V pump, available from ag type shops, or boat places(used as bilge pumps) 8)
;)I used to use one on my speedway car 8) 8)
they run at about 40 to 60 psi and should last forever in your application ;D
best gadget for such a sprayer thingy is a sureflo 12V pump, available from ag type shops, or boat places(used as bilge pumps) 8)
;)I used to use one on my speedway car 8) 8)
they run at about 40 to 60 psi and should last forever in your application ;D
if i can get my hands on one very cheap. then that would be the go ;D i would only use it once a year though...... so i'm not going to spend the spondooly on a new one.
got the I/C temp gauge in....... seems to sit on about 55-60 degrees C at boost.... not necessarily fool boost, just sustained boost.... i might try to a 20-100 degrees C gauge instead....... but for now, on a short drive up a short hill..... it works :)
Fitted......
http://www.vistawebdesigns.com/4wdpics/boosttemp1.jpg
Working.........
http://www.vistawebdesigns.com/4wdpics/boosttemp2.jpg
It looks like you are running a fair bit a boost :o
it runs just under 10psi flat knacker....... was about 11 until i fitted the intercooler...... but apparently you get that after you fit an I/C cuz it's cooler ..........on the engine side of the I/C it would probably be the same...... i'm hoping when it's tuned it will run about 12 or 13 psi from where i measure it at the moment.
Speed demon roedao :o ;D
Have you found a place that will do the dyno tuning?
Speed demon roedao :o ;D
Have you found a place that will do the dyno tuning?
I'm going to take it to Scott's Dyno Tuning in Newcastle....... about 100 bux per hour :-X I'm doing some networking next saturday, hopefully it will be enough to get it done..... i can't see it taking more than an hour, there is no timing belt to mess around with.
BLU-125
07-02-2005, 08:12 PM
Roe,
Back in the days of the Mud Drags at Emu Creek, Big Black HiLux used to pack his intercooler with dry ice. It was a top mount & it is obviously harder with an FMIC, but you don't need airflow if it covered in ice. ;D ;D
Roe,
Back in the days of the Mud Drags at Emu Creek, Big Black HiLux used to pack his intercooler with dry ice. It was a top mount & it is obviously harder with an FMIC, but you don't need airflow if it covered in ice. ;D ;D
i do recall you telling me that before........ you are right though.. it's hard to pack it in dry ice at the front........ water that is only a degree off freezing would be handy though ;D i don't suppose Heidi sells ice there ???
BLU-125
07-02-2005, 09:16 PM
As a matter of fact, she does, and my 'fridge is close handy to store it in.....
2 BRUTAL
07-02-2005, 10:52 PM
got the I/C temp gauge in....... seems to sit on about 55-60 degrees C at boost.... not necessarily fool boost, just sustained boost.... i might try to a 20-100 degrees C gauge instead....... but for now, on a short drive up a short hill..... it works :)
Fitted......
http://www.vistawebdesigns.com/4wdpics/boosttemp1.jpg
Working.........
http://www.vistawebdesigns.com/4wdpics/boosttemp2.jpg
you are meant to put the guages on the outside of the windscreen tony, will go better with the clown's eye's.
I have laso heard about the ice and intercooler trick, you might be able to make up a bracket to fit some of those flexi cold ice packs in front.
Utemad
07-02-2005, 10:56 PM
Dry ice on the intercooler
http://www.are.com.au/Big%20HP/Dry%20Ice%20race%20cooling.htm
taziiy
07-02-2005, 11:45 PM
Hey thats a good thought put some ice bricks in front of it ;D and some cable ties holding them there
you are meant to put the guages on the outside of the windscreen tony, will go better with the clown's eye's.
I have laso heard about the ice and intercooler trick, you might be able to make up a bracket to fit some of those flexi cold ice packs in front.
i think i'll pass on that one mate :P
Hey thats a good thought put some ice bricks in front of it ;D and some cable ties holding them there
"IF" i do anything i'll use the cold water sprays........ although a fan and the cold tenterfield night air should work just as good.
GQtray
08-02-2005, 04:50 PM
thats exactly what i was thinking of...... i'm not sure about the volume or pressure needed to make a proper spray operate.... if i can get hold of a washer bottle cheap enough to mess with, i'll play around with it.
I've just put another washer bottle setup in the hilux as the old one has not worked for a while. Got one out of an 84 laser that is in the bush behind my place. It has two pumps in it(i presume one was for the rear hatch). I plumbed both pumps into the one line to my windscreen washers and boy does this thing squirt.
Might be worth a try.
i'll see what i can get my hands on :D
taziiy
08-02-2005, 09:26 PM
It has two pumps in it(i presume one was for the rear hatch).
you presumed correct ;D
GQtray
11-02-2005, 12:15 AM
It has two pumps in it(i presume one was for the rear hatch).
you presumed correct ;D
Thank you Darrren for clearing up that matter ;D
fitted the fan to the front of the I/C and put the 16" fan i got off Frank in behind the radiator ;D Thanks a heap Frank!! the little fan moves a shit load of air and should overcome the high temps i get on long slow climbs (like last week going up Cuneens Gap) and in traffic..... at the moment it's manual...... but i am going to splice into the 4WD switch so it comes on auto when i put it into 4WD. Here's a coupla pics.
The old fans out and the new one ready to be mounted
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/newfans01.jpg
New one fitted.
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/newfans02.jpg
Moved the badge over :D
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/newfans03.jpg
Hole cut out.....
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/newfans04.jpg
Fan fitted
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/newfans05.jpg
All finished ;D
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/newfans06.jpg
I finally got them wired properly too so they work while the turbo timer is on..... and don't work on accessories like the small fans did..... all i need to do now is test it out when i do the second reccie for the forum trip. I'll be lookin for a couple to tag along with me..... will only be up around Stewarts Brook this time........ but i'll put the details in the trip thread :)
Garth still hasn't had a bath since the reccie last week..... i'll post another pic when it's all nice and shiny tomorrow. Josh still has 2" of mud along his side steps :-X i think he's waiting for it to rain to get rid of it.
FREAK
27-02-2005, 07:58 AM
Excellent stuff Roe, mate you certainly have transformed your rig into something totally worthy of an appearence in the mag i believe. Although i think a broom holder on the spare wheel carrier would clench it for you ;) ;D
Pity you had to chop your front grill to fit the fan to your intercooler buddy, but i guess it's the lesser of 2 evils huh?
Keep up the good work brother 8)
Excellent stuff Roe, mate you certainly have transformed your rig into something totally worthy of an appearence in the mag i believe. Although i think a broom holder on the spare wheel carrier would clench it for you ;) ;D
Pity you had to chop your front grill to fit the fan to your intercooler buddy, but i guess it's the lesser of 2 evils huh?
Keep up the good work brother 8)
Thanks mate 8) I dunno about the mag..... i tried and it was rejected :) they have their reasons. I was gonna flog BT's broom holder last weekend..... but i couldn't get him away from his vehicle long enough :P Chopping the grille didn't bother me...... if i had to replace it they aren't too expensive from the wreckers, and it serves a purpose so it isn't there for it's looks :) I just need to test it now...... might take it out hill climbing later on and see how it goes
hilux1998
27-02-2005, 12:52 PM
Roe , you need to come down to the foreshore in Newcastle and show a few of these young hoons how to go HARD! 8) 8) 8)
maybe i should!! wait until it get it tuned first though ;D
some more good news ;D it appears i have been paying about $100 per week too much in tax...... guess who is getting a nice big fat tax cheque this year!!! ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D guess who will be getting the LSD reco'd and tightened........ and guess who just might buy 33's and fit a new rear engine seal ;D
But Tony, I already have 33's, my engine seal is fine and my two LSD's are brillianthttp://members.westnet.com.au/klown/emotes/jawdrop.gif
GUHOON
28-02-2005, 12:21 AM
some more good news ;D it appears i have been paying about $100 per week too much in tax...... guess who is getting a nice big fat tax cheque this year!!! ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D guess who will be getting the LSD reco'd and tightened........ and guess who just might buy 33's and fit a new rear engine seal ;D
Why worry about the lsd?..........................TWIN LOCKERS ;D ;D ;D
about 2 grand for twin lockers........ 600 bux to get my diff wound up and i have a front loacker.... i think i'll take the cheaper option 8) leaves more money for 33's...... IF i can get them to fit under the Deo
BLU-125
28-02-2005, 08:04 PM
Panel beaters can make almost any tyre size fit! ;D
i have an FBH.... that should work!! ;D
Dont you need FBG?
FBH will generate more clearance hehe
had a bit more of a fiddle today before i go out again tomorrow. I extended the clips that wrap around the leafs to let them droop a bit more. I extended the brake line mounting bracket to compensate for any extra droop should i get any at all. I'll find somewhere tomorrow up at the Tops to test it out. I also put a bling chrome tip on the exhaust 8) only cuz my sons mate gave it to him and he has been at me for 3 weeks to fit it...... must say it looks ok :D The pic i took didn't work properly..... so you'll just have to take my word for it.
BEFORE.
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/springsbefore1.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/springsbefore2.jpg
AFTER
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/springsafter1.jpg
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/springsafter2.jpg
and the little bracket for the brake lines
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/brakelines.jpg
i lifted a wheel on Sunday to test the springs.... they did actually open up a bit.... but i ran out of shock travel!! hehe i was thinking Ranchos for it..... but then when i look at the twist in the springs and the rubbers in the shackles...... i wonder it if will be worth it without putting drop shackles on it "IF" i can get them!!
like i said..... only got another inch out of it...... but the springs did start to separate, which they haven't done before...... will i have to modify the spring mounts the take care of the twist in the springs?
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/2reccie017.jpg
Also!!! after some thought..... in the off-season (not summer ;)) I'm going to degas the aircon and turn it into a compressor ;D and i'm going to swap the alternator and the aircon pump...... so i don't kill any more alternators....... also put some kind of splash protection underneath the alternator/air con pump to stop spash up.......
beware of axle wrap tony, i was told only to open the rear ones up, i see you have extended the front ones, probably only a problem for those who have removed leaves, keep an eye on it, you could always knock up a traction bar if it gives you trouble
got it dyno tuned today..... i don't know about the proper figures....... but the guy said he got 20hp at the rear wheels extra...... and thats without touching the pump timing....... i'm taking it back up for that when he researches it a bit more. It's like a new car!! ;D ;D ;D ;D got over every hill between Tamworth and Scone in 5th gear.
shainala
12-03-2005, 01:25 PM
Did you only get the fuel air mixture adjusted on the dyno?
And how much difference did it make? I' got my eye on a wrx interooler on ebay so I'll wait till I have fitted that to get retuned. It's only running 6 psi, will get it up to 9 psi and see what difference that makes :)
Did you only get the fuel air mixture adjusted on the dyno?
And how much difference did it make? I' got my eye on a wrx interooler on ebay so I'll wait till I have fitted that to get retuned. It's only running 6 psi, will get it up to 9 psi and see what difference that makes :)
yeah i only got the fuel mixture done..... he wasn't too sure about the pump timing, i'm going back for that in 3 weeks time. He said i should get even more out of it then. It made a heap of difference!! only got about 1 pound extra boost out of it...... i might just block the wastegate pipe and see if that makes any difference...... I did notice the intercooler temp was a little higher climbing hills, which i guess is to be expected 8)
one thing i did notice on the dyno was the torque increase..... it was marked on the screen as tractive force in pounds, or something like that.... it went from 425 to 590....... i guess thats a good thing LOL
Now that's a good torque increase, what rpm was that at? :)
about 3,500 - 3,800 rpm in 4th gear, i don't know when it reached peak...... i imagine it would be well before that.
well......... i by-passed the wastegate this morning before i left for my club meeting...... and under acceleration.... the boost goes off the dial!! ;D ;D it's a 15psi guage and the needle hits the stopper just over the 15 psi mark 8) The Deo hauls ass now.... but with the extra boost, it feels as though it needs still more fuel. I will leave it at that until i get a pyrometer (got permission from the handbrake! ;D "honey, $240 for a gauge is cheaper than 2 grand for an engine") I have a few questions about the boost/fuel ratio which i will ask in tech tips :) As soon as i can get my hands on some stuff..... i'm going to put a regulator in the wastegate line so i can control the amount of boost in relation to the EGT. SO i can have full boost for short duration events like mud drags and short courses ;D... and cut the boost back on long highway trips so i don't cook the engine. I'll mount the reulator underneath the boost gauge. I'm going to start making a dashboard pod during the week to mount all the gauges and switches into.
EDIT: one thing i did notice with the extra boost was that the intercooler temp was actually lower even running constantly at about 8 pounds boost which is what it does at 100kph. Yesterday at the same sustained boost, it got to around 50/55 degrees
sweet sounds awesome, would love to hear what it sounds like :D
15 psi shite :o thats a lot of boost for a turbo diesel 8)
the disco's run 18 psi...... :o
It sounds sweeeettttttt the turbo whistles it's ass off.... sounds good.
:o 8)awesome one thing you need to get
blow off vavle
:o 8)awesome one thing you need to get
blow off vavle
that would take a bit of work... it has no butterfly in it. i could hook one up.... but it would be a little too "rice" for me. Although, running at that kind of boost, it would sure make a noise!!
here's a video i took... well my son took it..... i just wanted a pic. I didn't rev it too far.... just enough to get 15psi out of it. Only went off the dial once..... i am guessing it was about 3,500 rpm (tacho doesn't work) Still needs more fuel ;D
Full Boost (http://uhr4wdc.com/boost.wmv)
pretty cool tony :D no turbo lag for you :o
there is no lag at all now.......
taziiy
13-03-2005, 10:45 PM
sounds like you are starting to get them bugs out of it now
BLU-125
13-03-2005, 11:01 PM
Fully sick, miiiite!
umm yeah
shainala
15-03-2005, 11:50 AM
I may be talking out of my arse, but I would be careful playing with the waste gate to much. I think they're supposed to stop the turbo from over reving when you back off the throttle.I'm pretty sure Dick Johnson welded his shut in the Sierra 500's, more power but they kept goin boom! That said 15+ psi has gotta put a smile on your dial ;D
Dave
I may be talking out of my arse, but I would be careful playing with the waste gate to much. I think they're supposed to stop the turbo from over reving when you back off the throttle.I'm pretty sure Dick Johnson welded his shut in the Sierra 500's, more power but they kept goin boom! That said 15+ psi has gotta put a smile on your dial ;D
Dave
well it does 8) but it's not worth destroying it for a few more pounds of boost....... i'll work out how to get it to about 12 psi and leave it at that :)
BushBoy
18-03-2005, 08:22 PM
your deo is certainly coming along nicely tony, it would have to be the most modded deo that i can think of 8)
i was telling a guy at work yesterday about your deo and how it has 15psi of boost........ ;D he was a bit shocked.
Big jump in third isn't it, thats where your turbo is winding up under load anyway.
Wonder if lower diffs will help at all, but maybe they wont suit your locker?
your deo is certainly coming along nicely tony, it would have to be the most modded deo that i can think of definately the most modded one ive seen, not that ive actually seen it, but from the pics its lookin real good, come to think of it, i dont think ive even seen a deo with any other mods beside a bar and winch, until i saw Tonys
BushTuckerNed
19-03-2005, 03:46 PM
I reckon a few before and after shots, side by side, would be good :D
i'll see what i can come up with tomorrow......... not long got home from Glen Innes...... and i am absolutely rooted. Bed time for bonzo! i'll do something tomorrow 8)
ok i did a picture of before and after.......... the before shots are about a month after i got it..... the bottom one of the after shots is today :)
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/rodeo/aaj.jpg
taziiy
22-03-2005, 11:24 PM
A lot of diference there ;D
Twisty
23-03-2005, 08:49 AM
Yeah it's come along nicely Roe... 8)
I know it's been said before, but I reckon its time you did something to your bullbar.....it'd make a huge difference to the apperance of your truck........but it's still the coolest Rodeo I know of..... ;)
i'm going to try to get a winch bar....... and then hopefully shortly after a winch to go with it........ i have another idea on the cooker so to speak.... i was going to ask for ideas on here because i am udecided as yet. I am trying to decide between a tray back (shortened ala HnM)... or shortening the tub i have now...... it can be done with a bit of work...... but i would have to lose the canopy too..... any ideas? I think the tub would be the way to go.....
For what it worth - this is what I am dreaming about for a custom tub replacement ....
Make up a middle bit that sits on the chassis rails, and is the same width as them and as long as you like (something around 1.5 metres). Then step up about 3-400 mm either side and make a flat topped wheel box the same length as the middle bit of the tray and about 600mm wide - fill under this bit and behind the wheels with a tool box each side. put a little tailgate between the back of the tool box/wheel arch so things dont fall off the middle well. Chop the back corners of the side pieces off at 45 degrees so they dont catch up on things, and mount the tailights up under the deck on the back of the tool boxes. Make up a load board that follows the profile of the cab, but about 50 mm bigger all round.
Make the whole thing out of RHS & angle steel - fill in the flat bits with aluminium checker plate.
Probably a horrible description - but I can see it, maybe I should attempt to draw it.
Who could make it and how much?
try to do a drawing of what you are describing :)
i photoshopped a pic of the Deo and how it would look with a shortened tub (about 400mm shorter)....... would looke nicer with a roll bar though.
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/deoshorter.jpg
4xgold0
24-03-2005, 08:21 AM
Tony, IMHO might be worth keeping that tub you have now as you have a canopy to suit,( would be a shame to chop it up) and just bulid a tray to suit, me thinks a custom tray would look shite hot
Daza
Twisty
24-03-2005, 08:44 AM
Bob the Tub and the canopy....that photoshop pics looks awesome!! 8)
Fenring
24-03-2005, 03:56 PM
Go the custom tray Roe. It would look great, and you could weld up a removable cage and get a nice ripstop tarp made up for it.
nice_surf
24-03-2005, 04:17 PM
i photoshopped a pic of the Deo and how it would look with a shortened tub (about 400mm shorter)....... would looke nicer with a roll bar though.
http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/deoshorter.jpg
Now that'll give you better departure angle http://emoticons4u.informationalot.com/cool/1326.gif
taziiy
24-03-2005, 04:54 PM
ha ha ha that looks like someone booted it up the arse ;D
Humpy
24-03-2005, 06:55 PM
I like it 8)
Chop away Tony ;D
BLU-125
24-03-2005, 07:02 PM
Awesome look, do it!
thats great u need to do it
Awesome look, do it!
i have decided to chop it....... but it won't be hapening until after RP in June. i don't know about chopping the canopy though.... might sell it and buy a lockable toolbox for it, and get a tourneau (spelling) cover to go around the 4" roll bar. ;D i can't wait to get stuck into it now!!
Now that'll give you better departure angle http://emoticons4u.informationalot.com/cool/1326.gif
that was one of the main limiting factors of the Deo...... should improve it's off-roadability a heap. it will take a few months to get it going..... but now i have decided to do it, it will get done :)
BLU-125
25-03-2005, 08:57 PM
You will be surprised how cheaply you will find another tub if you want to keep your stock one (with canopy) for touring / resale.
The underneath of my current one is badly dented (i suspect it copped a hiding in it's previous life) I'm considering chopping out the guts of it and replace it with checker plate.
-So I got out my electronic crayons and....
http://www.4x4world.com.au/forum/album_pic.php?pic_id=406
The grey bit behind the wheel-arch is a proposed tool box - the bit of checkerplate above the wheel is the side of the well that is the same width as the chassis rails and about 300mm deep. The tray is the same length as the standard tub floor. Maybe a pair of drop sides following the window line to finish it off.
if i did that option i would still do it as short as the tub. looks good though. I'm still going to go with shortening the tub because it's different 8)
Yeah - go for the bob, I reckon it would look pretty neat. Personaly I need a bit more load space.
Why would ya bob itr, only tossers do that ;D
ferremit
27-03-2005, 03:40 PM
Still looks out of proportion :-\
thats what i dont like about bobbed trucks... they just LOOK odd...
Im all for improved offroad ability, but if it makes your truck look like its retarded, whats the point :-\
you gotta live with the bloody thing
Why would ya bob itr, only tossers do that ;D
yeah they do don't they craig ;)
Im all for improved offroad ability, but if it makes your truck look like its retarded, whats the point :-\
i think it looks ok........ so that's all that matters to me http://uhr4wdc.com/chat/images/effyou.gif and i still reckon it would look better with a roll bar on the back.......... besides...... i don't need to justify it to you or anybody for that matter........
I'm going to get another tub and shorten that, and use the current one (once repaired) to make an off-road trailer. That way i'll have a use for the Canopy as well. 8)
Humpy
28-03-2005, 06:43 PM
Is that why you drive a 2WD is it ferrit? The 4WD version looks like it might have better offroad ability
;D
Is that why you drive a 2WD is it ferrit? The 4WD version looks like it might have better offroad ability
;D
hahahaha ferrit is http://members.westnet.com.au/klown/emotes/owned.gif
Twisty
29-03-2005, 07:41 AM
i think it looks ok........ so that's all that matters to me http://uhr4wdc.com/chat/images/effyou.gif and i still reckon it would look better with a roll bar on the back.......... besides...... i don't need to justify it to you or anybody for that matter........
I'm going to get another tub and shorten that, and use the current one (once repaired) to make an off-road trailer. That way i'll have a use for the Canopy as well. 8)
Now thats a top idea....I can't wait for this to get underway!!
i'm mega keen too mate....... but i have to wait for finances to get it under way...... 33's and a winch are first proirity unless i can get another tub cheap enough. I decided to keep my 31's when i get the new wheels..... i'll use them for the trailer 8)
got my you beaut boost adjusting setup happening... and it runs at 12.5 psi under load now....... all i need to do is get it tuned hopefully next weekend. I didn't get any pics of it...... but it works a treat!! ;D some pics of the newest addition to Garth that i added today.
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album321/acy.sized.jpg
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album321/acz.sized.jpg
8) OH!! i got the ok from the handbrake to get some plates for it..... but i have to wait a few weeks to finalise some financial reshuffling which should see me much better off. I'm going for ROE-DAO if it's still available ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
taziiy
02-04-2005, 08:22 PM
http://www.rta.nsw.gov.au/images/dvpr/olps/14/lside.gifhttp://www.rta.nsw.gov.au/images/dvpr/olps/14/r.gifhttp://www.rta.nsw.gov.au/images/dvpr/olps/14/o.gifhttp://www.rta.nsw.gov.au/images/dvpr/olps/14/e.gifhttp://www.rta.nsw.gov.au/images/dvpr/olps/14/d.gifhttp://www.rta.nsw.gov.au/images/dvpr/olps/14/a.gifhttp://www.rta.nsw.gov.au/images/dvpr/olps/14/o.gif
taziiy
02-04-2005, 08:23 PM
it is still available
did you make the hi lift holder bracket tony? im thinking about making one for the maverick
yeah mate..... all i did was weld a piece of 75mmx10mm flat bar on top of the wheel mount that holds the spare up....... i welded 2 5" bolts to the wheel plate and bolted them through the jack.... the jack is also bolted to the bottom plate... took me about an hour to do all up i guess.......... maybe a little longer.
GUHOON
03-04-2005, 01:45 AM
That bob tail tub looks great , are you just going to cut out a section then reattach the back?
(if you know what i mean)
GUHOON
03-04-2005, 02:04 AM
Just read the previous page and i thought i would warn you about running too much boost, not onlt to look after the engine but also i have seen first hand a ceramic exhaust turbine wheel shot out the exhaust pipe on a mates turbo gemini :o......caused by overboosting the turbo at 16psi.
Also to adjust the boost if you fit a valve in to the vaccum line to the wastegate with a t piece and a hose running into the cab with another valve on the end. Just slightly crack open the valve on the wastegate hose and use the valve in the cab to adjust the boost pressure ;)
worked a treat on my old pulsar turbo and the 2 ball valves and fittings , hose e.t.c. only cost about $20 :)
Just read the previous page and i thought i would warn you about running too much boost, not onlt to look after the engine but also i have seen first hand a ceramic exhaust turbine wheel shot out the exhaust pipe on a mates turbo gemini :o......caused by overboosting the turbo at 16psi.
Also to adjust the boost if you fit a valve in to the vaccum line to the wastegate with a t piece and a hose running into the cab with another valve on the end. Just slightly crack open the valve on the wastegate hose and use the valve in the cab to adjust the boost pressure ;)
worked a treat on my old pulsar turbo and the 2 ball valves and fittings , hose e.t.c. only cost about $20 :)
yeah i was warned about running too much boost..... iwas told 12 to 12.5 psi was acceptable so thats how high i have it..... runs 12 just driving normally, and adds another .5 under load. I was going to purchase a boost adjustment valve on ebay, they are only 30 bux, but i figured since a T/D needs to be retuned for variations in boost..... it would be useless...... when i had it running at 16psi, it didn't really go any better than it did at 10.5
As for the wastegate, i just hooked an extension spring onto the wastegate arm and made a screw adjuster for it and gradually placed more tension on the spring until i got the desired boost. That way if something goes wrong, it goes back to original boost and i just replace a spring. I just need the guy that tuned it to find out about how much the pump needs advancing as well as increasing the fuel load. But i don't know if they would be overly benficial either, I'm going to put a post in tech tips in regards to that one.
i decided to take a pic of the you beaut soon to be patented Rodeo boost adjustment ;D
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album321/ada.sized.jpg
nice_surf
03-04-2005, 01:53 PM
You could even try this
http://www.toyotasurf.asn.au/techsite/cheapboost.htm
somebody did suggest that once..... but it's a PITA to get to the other bolts..... it was far easier to drill one hole :)
ferremit
04-04-2005, 05:36 AM
;D
No smartarse, its cos i cant AFFORD a 4wd at the moment
it is still available
can you check what plates are available on the rtas website?
taziiy
13-04-2005, 07:40 PM
it is still available
can you check what plates are available on the rtas website?
yep more a less you type in what you want and if it comes up its availble if it gives you the next in line you know it wasnt
i can't wait to order the plates!! ;D will still be a little way off yet. but they will be ordered!! ;D 8) ;D
yoou got a link to the number plate site Daz
taziiy
13-04-2005, 10:28 PM
rta plates (http://www.rta.nsw.gov.au/myPlates/olpsChoosePlates.do;jsessionid=Ql0Q6kfXFut4v33E0vN xxZlODwQtZSr8aNlBm0PIZdOf41n07mN1!-8851392605975589692!-1062728276!8333!7002?action=createNew)
Utemad
15-04-2005, 04:18 PM
This is my Rodeo after hitting the rear end on something. Actually the result of 3 seperate hits.
I'm going to do a 40mm bodylift when I get the time then make some sliders.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v334/rodeo4x4/Body%20chop/DSC04248-smallsize.jpg
mine hit in a similar place..... i kicked it back into shape..... was on the drivers side. That was also before i lifted it. Still a problem though with the ute, it hangs over the back too far.
rta plates (http://www.rta.nsw.gov.au/myPlates/olpsChoosePlates.do;jsessionid=Ql0Q6kfXFut4v33E0vN xxZlODwQtZSr8aNlBm0PIZdOf41n07mN1!-8851392605975589692!-1062728276!8333!7002?action=createNew)
they are not cheap, the $400 annual fee is a bit steep, how the hell do they justify that
Utemad
15-04-2005, 08:48 PM
I bought another dual cab ute body from a 1997 Rodeo for $80 on Ebay.
It was complete with lights, mudflaps, even the mounting bolts. Perfect condition as it had been removed since new.
Although I have seen people ask up to $1000. Bet they never got that much though :P