PDA

View Full Version : Gday everyone

LuxMonster
19-09-2007, 12:35 PM
HI guys

Been looking around the forums for awhile now and thought it time to say hi.

Having looked around and evaluated what we need we recently picked up a 99 Hilux SR5 2.7 Petrol with canopy and are looking forward to having some fun with it.

The purpose is mainly to get us to some good bush camping spots, some 4WDing nothing too hardcore, carry all the gear including kids and dog, and generally be a good weekend ute / playmobile.

Having done the maiden voyage last weekend it came up a treat, and did everything we asked of it and bought it for so now just starting some basic research to acheive

1) Reliability and a bit of "bushability"
2) Some added features for camping

So looking at a snorkel and dual battery set up to start with and will go from there

Looking forward to joining a club, meeting some new faces and generally having some fun

LuxMonster

Big_Waity
19-09-2007, 12:56 PM
Welcome aboard mate!
What area are you from?

LuxMonster
19-09-2007, 05:51 PM
Welcome aboard mate!
What area are you from?

Thanks Waity

In Melbournes SE suburbs

Celt's
24-09-2007, 04:15 PM
Welcome aboard mate, and what a ripper of a rig you have picked up. Alot of places will tell you that they can only do a DB system in the tray of the 99 but that is crap, they are just to lazy to move stuff around. Go for the Piranha System, through research this is the one i am going for soon.:thumb:

LuxMonster
01-10-2007, 08:52 AM
Hi celtlux, thanks for the comments

Will definately look into the Piranha system. I have been advised it's a bit easier if you want to install a snorkel system as well as it creates some much needed space for the DB. Will start talking to some installers and see if I can confirm this.

Took it for its second run through the Howqua hills this weekend, this time taking on a tour from the 4WD Adventure book and took on the first ford and river crossing and some good old slippery mud. The lux loved it. Would have tackled the entire loop if we had a second vehicle and some recovery gear but prudence proved the better part of valour and thought it best to feel the vehcile out and take it easy,

Really looking forward to adding some bushability items now and really getting stuck in