View Full Version : Andrew in Perth
G'day guys,
I just picked up my 92 Hilux Surf from a dealer yesterday. 2.4TD, 5Sp Manual, dk blue, 260k on the clock.
Dropped it off for a major service with Cannington Toyota yesterday (anyone recommend a decent service place in Perth?). Looking forward to being part of the forums!
Now I'm gonna have to decide between driving the Lux or driving my old Valiant
Coupland
06-09-2007, 11:19 AM
Welcome aboard Andrew. You will get heaps of great info from the forum. Happy surfing...
There's a Toyota dealership in Cannington???
Spudda
06-09-2007, 01:33 PM
Welcome Andrew..
If you find somewhere decent for a service let me know.
I have tried a few, and at the moment use Auto Edge in Burswood.
Other than that i do most of the easy stuff myself.
Andy
There's a Toyota dealership in Cannington???
Yeah, it worked out well. I drove my bunky down to Beckenham to pick the lux up, drove it up to Cannington Toyota which is just up the road from Oats St station,then I hopped back on the train and walked back to the dealer to pick my bunky up.
I've not done services on diesels or 4WDs before, I have enough fun with my Valiant so I think I'll leave this one to the mechs.
alwaysonthefly
06-09-2007, 05:05 PM
Go the Valiant, I've got a 770 VG out in the grave yard. Must put it undercover oneday. What mod is yours?
It'sa VC regal, now with a 318.
You can see some pics here (http://moparmarketforum.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=11779&highlight=) :D
You planning on doing much with the VG? If you wanna get rid of it, I'm sure there'll be someone in Melbourne keen to give it a good home. Moparmarket.com is pretty good....
Here's my Hilux....
http://i16.tinypic.com/643vvoi.jpg
alwaysonthefly
07-09-2007, 10:23 AM
No way get rid of the old girl. Gotta give her what she diserves, have some ideas bout Tiger mincya brown duco and full Heirifed cow interria. But just like everything else, $$$$$ and the clocks tickin
Celt's
08-09-2007, 12:02 AM
welcome mate and the Surf sounds like a great rig.
Urshtnme
08-09-2007, 09:47 AM
G'day Andrew, good to see another Perth local on board. Will have to hit the dirt one day soon!
croatian4x4
08-09-2007, 11:36 AM
Gday mate,
Might wanna also check out Perth4x4.net - Western Australias Largest 4WD Community (http://www.perth4x4.net)
its a local mob!!
see ya out there,
CW
Coupland
11-09-2007, 05:05 PM
Yeah, it worked out well. I drove my bunky down to Beckenham to pick the lux up, drove it up to Cannington Toyota which is just up the road from Oats St station,then I hopped back on the train and walked back to the dealer to pick my bunky up.
I've not done services on diesels or 4WDs before, I have enough fun with my Valiant so I think I'll leave this one to the mechs.
New Town in East Vic Park? How did you find them for the service/checkover?
trity
11-09-2007, 05:33 PM
hey mate nice ride
i get everything done at Coastal 4x4 in Jandakot Aaron or Dave, i have also had some excellent work carried out at RAC service centre in Myaree, also i just had a part time conversion done on our 80 series by Brad at Northern 4wd in Wangara, i am getting my clutch done in my triton at HiTech in ozzy park whatever you do stay well away from Precision Automotive in Wangara they will rip you off and stuff your car up, my mate owns tyrepower port kennedy so that where i get my tyres from, mettams mufflers in morley look after the whole of Perth4x4 since i set up a decent client basis for them if you want a general service i find you can't go past the RAC service centre
it all depends what ya need done i never do everything at the one spot as i find different people specialise in different areas
New Town in East Vic Park? How did you find them for the service/checkover?
Nothing to shout about. The guy I spoke to on the phone was pretty helpful, but the guy that I dealt with instore seemed to be bothered by customers, rather than helping them. I got a list of what they checked as part of the major service. The only thing they didn't do was flush the cooling system which I woulda thought would be a basic requirement. They swapped all filters, engine and diff oil, checked brakes, checked cooling, drive belts etc. Repacked wheel bearings....that's all I can remember off the top of my head.
On another note, thanks for the warm welcome...looking forward to figuring out how to actually use my 4WD, so will have to join up a club sometime soon....
I managed to sell my bunky Laser on the weekend too which is what the Lux replaced. Bought it for $200 a few years back and sold it for $500. What an investment! But I'll miss the good times, like playing bumper cars with my mate's Laser, dancing on the roof when drunk etc.