View Full Version : ML Triton rear bumper - what did you do?
Urshtnme
06-09-2007, 08:46 AM
Hey guys, that big chunk of plastic on the rear, have you guys just taken it off and left it as is or have you replaced it with an after market product?
subi_man
06-09-2007, 09:33 AM
Mine is still on, but I'd love to replace it with a strong aftermarket one (like the ARB rear step/towbar combo). Sadly its over $1,000 fitted, I already have a factory towbar and the money tree shrivelled up and died last year :crazy:
Worth trying to squeeze into your salary sacrified amount if you can though :thumb:
EDIT: Found some pics in this thread (http://www.4wdmonthly.com.au/forum/f49/arb-rear-step-tow-bar-35696/)
Cheers!
Austblue
06-09-2007, 10:04 AM
I optioned the rear bars and got the tow pack. Not a very smart move me thinks :(
Hey guys, that big chunk of plastic on the rear, have you guys just taken it off and left it as is or have you replaced it with an after market product?
Mate I took mine off straight away so I could fit the GLX tow bar which
is heaps higher and I'm now in the process of making a rear bar for it with
wheel and jerry can carriers.
I got the towbar from Parkside
Hope this helps bms
Mick015
06-09-2007, 12:29 PM
Hi All,
There is now a twin wheel carrier available for the triton.
Welcome to Opposite Lock (http://www.oppositelock.com.au)
Have a look.
Mick015
Hi All,
There is now a twin wheel carrier available for the triton.
Welcome to Opposite Lock (http://www.oppositelock.com.au)
Have a look.
Mick015
I reckon mine looks Heaps better but then I guess I'm biased
bms
FreestyleCab
08-09-2007, 11:19 AM
I have just taken delivery of an ARB rear step towbar. On my utes first foray out onto the Newnes Plateau I managed to drag the factory rear step over a few drop offs. Luckily they were not rock ledges, only dirt, as I doubt the plastic/alloy step could take anything more extreme. The bottom edge of the step is deeply scarred, it didn't bend though....
I just need to find the time in the next few days to fit the RSTB, as I also have an ARB winch bar and Canopy turning up this week........
I decided not to colour code the RSTB or winch bar as my VR Triton is Cool Silver in colour and I feel that any stone chips or scrapes will stand out too much. The Triton has the best departure angle of any of the current crop of utes, but despite this I still managed to get the rearend to regularly kiss the ground. Having a ARB rear step tow bar takes the worry of panel damage out of moderately hard offroading. I feel it will be a load off your mind knowing that you can drag the ass of the ute over almost anything and all that will suffer is some paintwork on the bar.
Urshtnme
08-09-2007, 11:31 AM
Definatly getting the ARB rear bar, I need that piece of mind for sure!
Mantis
08-09-2007, 03:50 PM
Not to mention having that piece of mind when reversing at shopping centres etc, knowing that you have a heap of steel bar that will stop you before you do panel damage.. Coz lets face it, rear vision is pretty poor in the triton..
Urshtnme
08-09-2007, 04:17 PM
Good point!
High Country
08-09-2007, 10:17 PM
Took mine off - its now got custom rear bumper / tail-light protectors / sill bars, with a point for using a Hi-lift jack, on each side as well. Front plastic turned into ARB bar - now got some 'real steel' at the rear as well. Coupled with the other bucket-load of money thats been spent on it - its now a awesome ute!! :)
Well this is what I'm doing for ours atm.
Will have a spare wheel 1 side jerry can the other.
bms