View Full Version : where to start? 87 rangie fix up
scratcha
15-08-2007, 08:34 PM
I had a look and couldnt really find any real answers i was looking for, so here goes.....
I have inherited a 87 rangie 4 door, V8 manual on gas, ( the worst kind of inheritance, the in father inlaw is still going strong and wants the ranga back when ive fixed it up for him):D
The thing is, although ive had a far bit to do with toyotas, i know bugger all about these buses!
It has been the farm 4x4 for 5 years, and although has been serviced and tuned a bit ( I dont think that regular servicing is a big thing to him) the rest of the car is falling to peices.
I drove it to work, and it wanders a bit at speed, the brakes squeal heaps- probably dust- none of the windows work, the door hinges are flogged out, and the doors only open from the outside.
It leaks a bit of oil and runs on 7 cylinders ( better when hot) its on gas. and runs on petrol pretty well.
The rear door struts are knackered and as a result the whole car is full of dust ( I just come back from the cape and had less dust in my 60 series)
He loves it and I gotta admit , it has a great v8 growl and rides like I could only dream the cruiser could.
So there you have it , where do we start? where do I get bits from? and how do I avoid falling for the bloody things?:D
BigJon
16-08-2007, 04:05 PM
? and how do I avoid falling for the bloody things?:D
That will never happen. To drive them is to love them!
I would start with a full suspension rebush (DIY with access to a press). Use original rubber bushes. That will transform the vehicle.
scratcha
16-08-2007, 09:01 PM
thanks BigJon, I was thinking that way too but hadnt got up the courage to look underneath!
gibpeewee
17-08-2007, 01:15 PM
on the panhard rod i would use polyeurethane bushes as they wont fall apart when power steering fluid leaks on them
check the steering for any freeplay and check the front axle swivel housing bearing preload
check the spark plugs and leads for the misfire.
wheres it leaking oil from?
mark4130
17-08-2007, 09:33 PM
I would start with a full suspension rebush (DIY with access to a press). Use original rubber bushes. That will transform the vehicle.x2
and then ditch the gas ;)
Mark
scratcha
18-08-2007, 11:28 AM
I dont know that he will want the gas ditched, Its the cheapest thing on the farm to run, and to date hasnt given him any worries. He starts it on pertrol every morning, then waits for it to warm up before switching back to gas, so valve lube shouldnt be an issue.
And the oil leak?(s) ....I still havent got the courage to look yet:D ..that and I cant even get the bloody bonnet to open!
I swear, If it was one of his dogs, id shoot it.
I cant fix the drivers side front window yet, cause thats the only way of getting into the car, push it down, reach in open door from inside.
I will see if I can take some photos and post them this arvo after work, you will not believe how dirty this thing is:(
And thanks very much fellas, im looking at rover gear now........geez those v8 discos are nice......:computer: Aaaaarrgh..I love my60....i love my 60:D
scratcha
20-08-2007, 09:37 AM
Also having strife with the electric windows, I have power to the motor but no go, if i remove it and hook it up to the battery I can get it to operate up & down, tried different switches and tested it against the 1 window that works and Its got me buggered
scratcha
02-09-2007, 07:36 PM
rightyo, ive managed to get all the windows working and all the doors opening from the outside(the handles needed adjusting) the window switches were full of dust and with a bit aof a clean started working ( god love WD40) I cleaned it inside and out and have been driving it every where. the last tim he cleaned it out , he used a leaf blower, yep it was that filthy.
Ive avertised the 60' and are looking for a cheap rangie or disco.....its the memories of my first 4x4,,,, the 1970 series 2 SWB landy, bloody thing couldnt be killed and is still getting around woods point.
When the bug bites........
jeeptheone
02-09-2007, 09:09 PM
scratcha,
What sort of price range are you looking at for at for the Rangie or Landy?
JTO
scratcha
06-09-2007, 12:34 AM
Sorry Jeepstar, I dont check the forum enough, Ive just bought a s1 disco on gas, Bloody hell when the bug bites, it bites hard........anyone want a slightly used 60 series....only driven to the cape on sundays.....by a little old lady who likes em lifted:waycool:
scratcha
06-10-2007, 09:54 PM
just about finished the rangie, fixed windows, doors, bushes, ball joint, pinion and transfer seals, modified the alt bracket which was 40mm out of line, fixed the rear tailgate struts and latch, tie rod ends, kitted the pitman arm joint.
replaced plugs and leads, did a compression test ( all around 140 psi) and have driven it about 3000km to work and back.
Like I said, when the bug bites.......
on the other hand, I have sold the 60 series cruiser, fitted the disco with new tyres, a couple of lenses, and have given it a real good clean.
Jeez the boys at rover land are going to love me:D
which reminds me , they have been great, nothing too much trouble, they dont seem to mind the idiotic questions and enjoy a beer!
If your looking for a workshop in eastern melb, I would recommend them.
Rocky4.4
06-10-2007, 10:29 PM
Sound Great mate, Love some pics!!!:thumb:
mcguckiana
20-10-2007, 09:20 AM
Scratcha
Ditto about Roverland...Glen and Marco know there stuff over there. You just have to get used to their quirky attitude. They dont say hello to me when I turn up or call now...they just say "What have you broken?!"
I think I have more items on the broken bits shelf that anyone else! lol
Post some pics of the rangie!
Angus
Muddydigger
20-10-2007, 09:31 AM
This tread is useless with out pics
scratcha
20-10-2007, 10:31 PM
bloody kids have pinched the batteries out of thier camera! Ill see if I cant get some photos tomorrow,
today I put a kit through the front calipers, repacked the wheel bearings, put a one shot grease pack into the front swivel housings, replaced the front disks and had a couple of beers:D
Tomorrow is our wedding anniversary 18 years, and if I spend any time in the shed (other than photos) I will have to live in it.
Over the next couple of days, I will fit the shockers, panhard bushes, rear disks and pads, bleed the brakes and hopefully have the disco ready for rego
And dont stress me about the photos, Im a technophobe:)