PDA

View Full Version : Diesel cold start idle problem

tdipajero
24-07-2007, 06:18 PM
i own a 1998 turbo diesel pajero. on a cold morning the engine runs very rough at 200-400rpm. i replaced the glow pluga and injectors and adjusted the timming. this did not help? does anyone have any ideas?

JLD
25-07-2007, 08:24 AM
you sure you glow plugs are working?? I would check them again if the priblom only happens on a cold start. how long does it take to get to a normal idle??

Vineboy
25-07-2007, 06:47 PM
Are you REALLY sure you have put in the right plugs? My non-turbo 2.8 had turbo plugs in it and it ran like a dog. Once I put in the right plugs cold starts are no problemo.

tdipajero
31-07-2007, 12:38 PM
it takes about i min to get to the correct idle speed

humpa
01-08-2007, 12:43 AM
G-day Tdi,

I had similar problems a number of years ago with my 95 Tdi Paj and new glowies did nothing, it was found to be the connections to the bus bar from the wiring loom and the wire itself. It couldn't deliver the juice for startup and hence poor starting, oh and a sh*t load of heat in the wiring. It can really only be power or plug mate as it is a pretty simple system. Obviously if you stuff around with other things you introduce more problems.

If you've changed the glowies, get a sparky to do a resistance check across your glow plug assembly when the juice should be flowing (first 2 min of startup) and see if this is causing your trouble mate :thumb:

Cheers..........

tdipajero
21-08-2007, 12:55 PM
cheers mate ill give that a go

ChunkyCharcoal
21-08-2007, 02:51 PM
This may be way off base but I have a 2.8 diesel lux that wouldn't idle when cold. I changed plugs, relays etc, no change...

Turned out to be a crook engine mount! Changed it and she purrs like a kitten now.:thumb:

trity
21-08-2007, 04:10 PM
also put in a good diesel oil like penrite hpr diesel always runs smooth with our diesel 80 series

humpa
22-08-2007, 10:38 PM
also put in a good diesel oil like penrite hpr diesel always runs smooth with our diesel 80 series

Damn Straight, Penrite's the best damn oil on the market. 20 years of use in my cars and not one oil related issue in any vehicle I have ever owned !!! :thumb:

PS: Hey tdi, how'd ya go with ya problem mate as chunky has a good point there too a ??

Cheers..... :thumb: