PDA

View Full Version : hello

gibpeewee
22-07-2007, 07:45 PM
hello everyone, just joined the forum so a little bit about me

moved to perth from the uk at the beginning of the year and looking to buy an old range rover , i had five of them in the uk .
a 1984 2 door, ex suadi arabia and no rust!
a 1985 ex police 2 door, total rust bucket
2 1985 4 doors and a 1986 4 door
the last 3 all donated parts to make a 4 door bobtail, 14 inch cut out the rear overhang,2 inch body lift 3.5 efi v8 4 speed auto box.great fun to make but had to sell it when i moved here

i got used to landrovers after spending nearly 24 years as a mechanic in the british army including some great times working as service crew for the army rally team. we had a team of six normally aspirated diesel 90`s dog slow up hills but would do over 160kmh down hill with a commited driver!
the team now use landrover tul`s ( short wheelbase wolfs) with 300tdi engines. we trialed the first one on the rally reykavic in iceland in 2004.we entered it in the open jeep class and despite running a standard tdi engine against much more powerfull machines it won the class.
enough for now , see ya

toy yoda
22-07-2007, 07:47 PM
24 years working on landies you must be one hell of a mechanic by now!!! lol welcome aboard

4bdan
22-07-2007, 08:01 PM
Welcome aboard mate. There is actually a Rangie Ute for sale on here I noticed the other day. You should take a look at Rockys Rangie aswell (although not for sale) it's not a bad peice of machinery...

4runner4
22-07-2007, 09:33 PM
welcome mate enjoy

yowie
22-07-2007, 10:25 PM
Welcome :thumb:

oldcourier
22-07-2007, 10:37 PM
Welcome to OZ, and welcome to the froum! Hope you have fun with both! :thumb:

Charlie W
22-07-2007, 10:43 PM
Welcome to the madhouse

Charlie W

e-Lux
22-07-2007, 11:36 PM
Welcome gib... You've joined the forum, now your life is about to change forever!

Celt's
23-07-2007, 01:37 PM
Welcome and will be interested to see your work.

cruza driver
24-07-2007, 09:12 PM
g'day and welcome

utedriver
25-07-2007, 03:43 PM
Welcome aboard mate!!

marvic
26-07-2007, 02:19 AM
Welcome to the forum