View Full Version : supercharged (TD42) patrol
BOG33D
17-07-2007, 12:25 PM
hey all, im just wondering if anyone else has charged their TD42,
Me and a mate put one of last week, and it idled for about 2mins, then snapped the adjuster of it, got another one coming over from perth.
What i want to know is how much difference can i expect when i get it back on???
Peter @ Aawen4x4
19-07-2007, 01:25 AM
The Mag did some comparisons early in the piece I think?? Might be worth a visit to the back issues department, or see if anyone remembers the volume & article? I reckon the outcome was that they achieved about the same improvements as what you got from Turbo's, but it needed some judicious adjustment of the fuel pump or in the search for power you'd easily end up with over fuelling and potential melt-downs as a result?! See if you can get the articles.
Sorry I can't be more specific!
oondy
19-07-2007, 12:22 PM
Safari did a comparison.....
Safari Performance Products (http://www.airpowersystems.com/safari/turbo/turbo_super/air_force1.htm)
OONDY
BOG33D
19-07-2007, 01:47 PM
thats an intersting comparision oondy, my adjuster has arrived so hopefully fit it tonight and get the whole unit back in and we'll see how she goes then,
its only running about 6-7psi, which will make a good difference over standard.
Peter, have already thought what you mentioned and there is an internal wastegate in the plumbing, coulda opted for a external but didnt want to show the 'ricer' boys up. I really didnt want to melt pistons either.lol
braddels
05-06-2008, 06:00 PM
Gday,
I have a Sprintex supercharger on my 4.2 GQ. It runs on 13 PSI and it is a noticable differance from a stock standard.It does not cause the engine to run any hotter or use any more fuel. But the added torque from idle is great for towing and the low range stuff. Just what is needed to recover that stuck toyota.
It was recently overhauled by the guys at Bulletcars in QLD.
What brand of blower did you go with.
sudso
06-06-2008, 02:23 AM
4.2 petrol or diesel?
BeNoS
06-06-2008, 04:44 PM
4.2 petrol or diesel?
as he said it was a td42 assume its diesel lol
and well i reckon as long as it lasts it would be good as the charger should deliver the torque from real low in the rev range and suits the diesel better. so it should work alrite.
and as for problems well i cant say as i dont know but i reckon it would be fine.
Peter @ Aawen4x4
06-06-2008, 04:51 PM
Gday,
I have a Sprintex supercharger on my 4.2 GQ. It runs on 13 PSI and it is a noticable differance from a stock standard.It does not cause the engine to run any hotter or use any more fuel. But the added torque from idle is great for towing and the low range stuff. Just what is needed to recover that stuck toyota.
It was recently overhauled by the guys at Bulletcars in QLD.
What brand of blower did you go with.
Petrol or Diesel?
braddels
11-06-2008, 08:04 PM
Sorry for the late reply, But it is a 4.2 diesel