View Full Version : Central Coast 4WD, Camping & Caravan Expo 13th to 15th August
baby_troupe
26-07-2004, 09:55 AM
Hi all,
The Central Coast 4WD, Camping & Caravan Expo is coming up on 13th, 14th & 15th August at Kariong.
Our club will have a tent there & it's demonstration track, buch cook etc.
I will be up there at some point too (not decided on when yet).
Is anyone else coming along?
haycait
26-07-2004, 10:02 AM
Hi BT,
Nice spot in this months mag ;)
I will pop into the 4wd, Camping and Caravan show at some point on that weekend, not sure when :-\ I will have to check with the Minister for my time allocation. ::)
crusher
26-07-2004, 01:42 PM
Am considering joining a 4WD club at present and may drop in to have a chat at the show. I own a 2003 GU Patrol but regularly go away with the Cherokee Club as a visitor. They are restricting membership to Jeeps only though as they don't want to lose their identity, which is fair enough I suppose.
Hi all,
The Central Coast 4WD, Camping & Caravan Expo is coming up on 13th, 14th & 15th August at Kariong.
Our club will have a tent there & it's demonstration track, buch cook etc.
I will be up there at some point too (not decided on when yet).
Is anyone else coming along?
Humpy
26-07-2004, 08:21 PM
I'll probably wander over at some point
Extreme RAVer
26-07-2004, 09:46 PM
I'll probably head down there at some stage over the weekend.
Can any of us punt our vehicles around the test-track ??
Humpy
26-07-2004, 09:55 PM
I think the local dealers are supplying the vehicles and will be the only ones on the track
baby_troupe
27-07-2004, 08:24 AM
I'll probably head down there at some stage over the weekend.
Can any of us punt our vehicles around the test-track ??
Not likely.
I had a meeting last night & it looks like we will have vehicles from Booths (mitsubishi) & Barry Robertson (Holden)
After last years fiasco, I don't think the local Toyota dealer will be getting involved. (two of their vehicles were damaged, which we claimed responsibilty for one, but the second was damaged upon delivery to us by them, which they still say is our problem. I guess they don't get many sales / services from members of our club now eh)
baby_troupe
06-08-2004, 11:57 AM
Looks like we have the vehicles nominated for a static display.
We have the comp hiluxes of GW & GB & the comp GQ of EL (sorry I cannot name these guys) as well as one confirmed tourer, being mine.
It will be as presented at the photo shoot in this month's issue, minus the fridge & navigation gear.
I will have to put those new stickers on now ;D
Also our tent will be playing 4WD Monthly videos which have been kindly donated.
crusher
06-08-2004, 12:14 PM
Look forward to seeing you there BT
Looks like we have the vehicles nominated for a static display.
We have the comp hiluxes of GW & GB & the comp GQ of EL (sorry I cannot name these guys) as well as one confirmed tourer, being mine.
It will be as presented at the photo shoot in this month's issue, minus the fridge & navigation gear.
I will have to put those new stickers on now ;D
Also our tent will be playing 4WD Monthly videos which have been kindly donated.
Extreme RAVer
06-08-2004, 10:30 PM
After last years fiasco, I don't think the local Toyota dealer will be getting involved.
Maybe if there happened to be a RAV at the show on the Saturday it's owner might consent to punting it around the test-track.........for the benefit of the show visitors of course ;)
Humpy
06-08-2004, 10:36 PM
When is the track getting built BT, I might have to visit and help you test it
baby_troupe
09-08-2004, 08:27 PM
When is the track getting built BT, I might have to visit and help you test it
I think there was a working bee last weekend.
Unfortunately I had other arrangements, so couldn't make it.
There will also be a crew there on Wednesday arvo.
Testing the test track, if it is like any other year, it will be pretty sedate.
I launched a X5 at it a while back in the wet, which made it a little more challengiing, but I found a way to have fun. ;D
Humpy
09-08-2004, 10:53 PM
I went and had a look at it on sunday arvo, yes its pretty sedate.
With a bit of scraping and some right boot I reckon I could get the commondore around it. might be good for a demo on the day ;D
I suspect they will be putting in some logs or rocks on wednesday?
baby_troupe
12-08-2004, 09:41 AM
I didn't get up there yesterday, but driving past the location this morning, it looks like it will be a good weekend.
My vehicle should be there tomorrow morning ;)
LoveMyLux
12-08-2004, 02:10 PM
Me & The Fam will be there.
It's your club built track right? I've been to other 4wd shows and the tracks have been very mild, so I hope you've given them a little more to play on...
I think we'll concentrate on the camping gear this year, we've got the basics but anything to make camping with 2 littluns easier will be interesting. Space saving too, a twin cab's tray isn't really that big!
Hope to catch you there BT, thanks for the insurance info.
Ralph
baby_troupe
13-08-2004, 10:14 AM
Thr track is very mild. A softroader could do it easily.
I will post pics later today
baby_troupe
13-08-2004, 01:29 PM
We have pics
http://www.4wheeler.ca/uploads/post-51-1092366194.jpg
The Club Display
http://www.4wheeler.ca/uploads/post-51-1092367125.jpg
The Vehicle Display (One extra to come tomorrow)
http://www.4wheeler.ca/uploads/post-51-1092366430.jpg
http://www.4wheeler.ca/uploads/post-51-1092366998.jpg
My Vehicle
http://www.4wheeler.ca/uploads/post-51-1092367199.jpg
Gary
http://www.4wheeler.ca/uploads/post-51-1092367245.jpg
Eddy
http://www.4wheeler.ca/uploads/post-51-1092367296.jpg
http://www.4wheeler.ca/uploads/post-51-1092367349.jpg
http://www.4wheeler.ca/uploads/post-51-1092367426.jpg
Sorry I didn't bother showing up. Was in a rush to get back home.
Humpy
14-08-2004, 06:10 PM
IMO you didnt miss much.
if youve been in the last few years, youve seen it all before
Yeah, there all pretty much the same thing anyway. But Im gunna do those experiments soonish ;D
Humpy
14-08-2004, 06:25 PM
I assume your talking about the poor mans locker, if so PM when you plan to go out and we can make a day of it, drive some tracks afterwards. I might be up your way next weekend
If your talking about some other sort of experiment please dont tell me
Yeah, there all pretty much the same thing anyway. But Im gunna do those experiments soonish ;D
i certainly hope those experiments don't include lubricant and battery operated things :-X
Nah, I heard that your experiment with them went wronghttp://www.vistawebdesigns.com/4wdpics/****you3.gif
I am going to put this poormans locker theory to rest by removing my rear tailshaft, engaging 4wd, pulling the handbrake up and lifting one front wheel off the ground completely and the other so its just touching the ground then see if the poormans locker will make the wheel on the ground turn.
This will all be on vid when I do it for proof but My handbrake isn't working atm so it may take a few weeks before I could be bothered ;D
Nah, I heard that your experiment with them went wronghttp://www.vistawebdesigns.com/4wdpics/****you3.gif
you promised me you wouldn't tell anybody :'( last time i share any secrets with you in the shower!
Just don't drop the soap again ;D
oops, are we thread hijacking :-X
zook37
14-08-2004, 07:15 PM
Geez Roe, Joined after me and look at your post count! I'm struggling to get to 1,000 at the moment. I'm all jealous now! ;D
Humpy
14-08-2004, 07:17 PM
Roes last word has a lot to do with his large post count
if you pulled out all of my so called "pads" you could probably take a 3rd of those off.... so what! it's called participating and chatting and having a good time.... a large slice of mine have already been removed because a few of the nonsense threads were removed..... i could have topped 3 grand long ago..... i basically don't care what you think humpy :) and i don't give 2 squirts about the post number :) besides............. Reddo is the padding whore!!! there is NO way i am taking his title off him!! ;)
Geez Roe, Joined after me and look at your post count! I'm struggling to get to 1,000 at the moment. I'm all jealous now! ;D
nah mate...... all we really need to work out who is the better looking............ whoops....... i lose!! LOL!!
and getting back on topic! :P If i didn't have brigade training tomorrow...... i'd prolly come for a drive down and take a look....... will have to wait for next year :) i think our club is going to do something at the next maitland show
Humpy
14-08-2004, 07:41 PM
if you pulled out all of my so called "pads" you could probably take a 3rd of those off.... so what! it's called participating and chatting and having a good time.... a large slice of mine have already been removed because a few of the nonsense threads were removed..... i could have topped 3 grand long ago..... i basically don't care what you think humpy :) and i don't give 2 squirts about the post number :) besides............. Reddo is the padding whore!!! there is NO way i am taking his title off him!! ;)
Hook, line and sinker ;D
I dont care about your post count either
taziiy
14-08-2004, 10:19 PM
Yeah a late night and he slept like a log (no i didnt take pics so don't bother asking ;D) got up late ;D
But your bed is so warm Darren ;D
taziiy
14-08-2004, 11:32 PM
yeah them electric blankets work well dont they ;D
baby_troupe
16-08-2004, 07:46 AM
The expo was mostly a success.
A few not so good things happened unfortunately.
Our tent had a few things stolen from it on Saturday night, one of the DVDs (Cape York) & the raffle prize of the fridge was stolen (bloody low lifes)
Other than that, the sedate test track claimed a victim late yesterday, with Gary (the white hilux) destroying a CV in the hole. Was a top pic, but unfortunately an expensive one.
Humpy
16-08-2004, 08:13 AM
The expo was mostly a success.
A few not so good things happened unfortunately.
Our tent had a few things stolen from it on Saturday night, one of the DVDs (Cape York) & the raffle prize of the fridge was stolen (bloody low lifes)
Other than that, the sedate test track claimed a victim late yesterday, with Gary (the white hilux) destroying a CV in the hole. Was a top pic, but unfortunately an expensive one.
Gary drove through it diagionally did he, like a wombat hole, looking forward to pics of that
baby_troupe
16-08-2004, 08:19 AM
Was more straight across.
He made it a few times, then decided to reverse thru at an angle, then that sound of bang....... click click click click click click click click
Was more straight across.
He made it a few times, then decided to reverse thru at an angle, then that sound of bang....... click click click click click click click click
Oh, don't I know that noise well ;D
baby_troupe
16-08-2004, 10:36 PM
Pics are online
http://members.optusnet.com.au/~stella_and_col/mypic30.jpg
http://members.optusnet.com.au/~stella_and_col/mypic31.jpg
http://members.optusnet.com.au/~stella_and_col/mypic32.jpg
http://members.optusnet.com.au/~stella_and_col/mypic33.jpg
http://members.optusnet.com.au/~stella_and_col/mypic34.jpg
Then that moment
http://members.optusnet.com.au/~stella_and_col/mypic35.jpg
http://members.optusnet.com.au/~stella_and_col/mypic36.jpg
Humpy
16-08-2004, 10:44 PM
Im going to have to go over there and try that now ;D See how high I can lift the wheel.
Did Tim (the 40) drive through it?
baby_troupe
17-08-2004, 08:02 AM
Im going to have to go over there and try that now ;D See how high I can lift the wheel.
Did Tim (the 40) drive through it?
He sure did, as did Eddy with the GQ.
I was thinking about it, but there was a white hilux stuck in the hole :P
I went and it was good but the hunter one was better and had a better demo track. Central Cooast 4bie club had the best stand and your lucky that screen wernt in your car BT or else it may have got stolen too.
baby_troupe
18-08-2004, 04:24 PM
I went and it was good but the hunter one was better and had a better demo track. Central Cooast 4bie club had the best stand and your lucky that screen wernt in your car BT or else it may have got stolen too.
They told me there was going to be security, but all the same I did not trust that it would be 100 percent secure, so no navigation gear went up there.
Thing I found funny was that I did up the bolts holding the shovel & broom on the back with a spanner & I noticesd when I arrived on Sunday that they were all loose.
Amazing what some people will try to knock off.
Kinda glad I fitted a lock to the rear recovery hook which attaches to the receiver.
Mate im sorry to hear that some people are just sad. It was a good day none the less.
Humpy
22-08-2004, 05:33 PM
Well I drove it
http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/albums/album45/aah.sized.jpg
taziiy
22-08-2004, 06:49 PM
looks like it fell in
would be nice if you made the pic smaller (oh the poor people on dail up )
463k!! holy download limit Batman!!! :o
Humpy
22-08-2004, 07:22 PM
Sorry boys I'll make it smaller
don't have to apologise to me...... takes me about 3 seconds to download the original one ;D
Humpy
22-08-2004, 07:48 PM
don't have to apologise to me...... takes me about 3 seconds to download the original one ;D
Well then Sorry to everyone but Roe http://www.outerlimits4x4.com/PHP_Modules/phpBB2/images/smiles/thefinger.gif
taziiy
22-08-2004, 10:57 PM
it was ok with me too
i was just thinking of the ones on dail up as i use to be
taziiy
22-08-2004, 10:58 PM
But thankyou anyway ;D