PDA

View Full Version : Landrover Defender Owners

sapo7
08-07-2007, 02:00 PM
Hey guys just want to hear some stories/experiences with Defender owners. Has anyone put a whole heap of after market accessories on theirs? Post some pics. How do they go for long range touring? Can you change the seating in the drivers cabin to make more room? Any info would be good to hear as you dont see many around these days.

PJ.zook
08-07-2007, 02:18 PM
I dont know squat about em, but head over to the rover forums and you will get a lot of advice there, as they are vehicle specific.

sudso
08-07-2007, 03:13 PM
There's a write up about them in one of the 4wd Monthly mags. I cant remember which one though but very informative.

I do remember it saying they are a bit agricultural as far as interior comfort goes but they are as tough as nails.
They must be ok, I always see them set up as long range tourers and workhorses.

I love the twin cab Defenders myself :)

shakes
08-07-2007, 05:41 PM
My bro-in law has one, has enough room for him, his girlfriend and 2 kids under 6 for a week away.

Easily as capable as your avg patrol/cruiser.

Back seat is poo, hurts my back after half an hour. thats even with several cans into me. front seats do take a lil getting used to, as they are placed close to the doors.

Parts are cheap to come by as they used virtually the same platform for the last 25 years (just picked up a ARB locked rear diff with disc's and upgraded axles for $500) by agricultural interior even the last model to come out looked 10 years behind the times as far as "prettyness" goes, but it works, and it's SIMPLE! so bush mechanics are damn easy.

Simon

tombraider
08-07-2007, 07:06 PM
Has anyone put a whole heap of after market accessories on theirs? Post some pics.

Head to the shed....

Search for Defender!

Defender=1st
08-07-2007, 08:15 PM
I Bloody Love mine !!

tombraider
08-07-2007, 08:18 PM
I Bloody Love mine !!

Faerk oath!!! I love my Defender too... Awesome vehicles....

XJ Mitch
08-07-2007, 09:08 PM
YEAH,real offroaders Defenders.Not real comfy but very capable.The only purpose built 4wd available.

Defender=1st
08-07-2007, 09:46 PM
I find mine suprisingly Comfy but then again iam not real short.
Regards Adrian

Disco98
08-07-2007, 10:14 PM
There is an article in next months 4wd Monthly on a Defender called TUSKER, i only know because i saw a pic on the inside of the back cover of the most recent issue. Hang out for that. I have been off roading with this truck a few times and what it doesnt have you wont need. Lift, front and rear lockers, uprated everything etc etc. That will show you what can be done. Matt

The-Landy
11-07-2007, 02:03 PM
We've found our Defenders very capable. Previously had a 110 wagon. We went back to the future with our current Defender 130 which is a fully overhauled 1995 model. We have set it up for long-range touring......love it!

Have a look at the shed as I have detailed photos there.

sudso
13-07-2007, 12:52 AM
What engines options came out with the 130 twin cabs?
And what diff's, drivelines, suspension etc do they run?
Any electrical problems with em?

Defender=1st
14-07-2007, 07:34 PM
130's came out with both the 300tdi and after 1999 the Td5.
suspension are coils sprongs in all corners. four wheel disc brakes, i think the 130's have a sailsbury light truck rear diff same as the early 110's
Hope that helps
Regards Adrian

solmanic
24-07-2007, 10:03 AM
Defenders are like small houses. You don't accessorise them - you EXTEND them.

rustyzook
26-07-2007, 10:29 PM
ours is good for a 110 spring mounts seam to break a bit in the back but the little turbo diesel is a strong motor! parts are too expensive tho! but i still give the landies 5 out of 5

blue juice
01-08-2008, 03:11 PM
Hi sapo7
With the seats in the front you can mount them on 40 mm tubing to lift them above the bulk head and they will slid further back.I have SAS buckets in mine now and im 6'2" makes a heap off difference.
The only problem i had was my twin batt under the passanger seat had to relocated to the erea under the back seats.

Psimpson7
01-08-2008, 05:24 PM
They have probably more after market parts available than any other 4wd, with teh possible exception of the Wrangler.

You may have to look to The UK for really specialist stuff.

I haev tons of stuff on mine, Front and rear lockers, front and rear winches, Arb Lockers, OME LTR dampers, Full Roll cage, snorkle, Lights etc etc.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v707/Psimpson7/ormeau/IMG_1404small.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v707/Psimpson7/cityview0308/smallcityview004.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v707/Psimpson7/ormeau%20200708/Flexit.jpg

Wortho
03-08-2008, 01:40 PM
Easily as capable as your avg patrol/cruiser.

You've got to be joking, you'd have to modify a patrol or landcruiser to get near Defender offroad.

ferozakid
16-10-2008, 07:20 AM
yeah, have 2 agree, my old 2a shorty, was a stock 2 1/4 that ate cruisers, and went anywhere i wanted it to, sure it needed a bit of a shunt to get it ove some stuff everynow and then, but i was as happy as a pig in muck when i had her! and the "fender! god that thing is unstoppable, stock as a rock, they are 'the' 4x4!!

Fender nut
16-10-2008, 06:48 PM
fellas i love my fender! its all true - they are agricultural and the seats are close to the doors, they leak oil, theyre noisy, blah blah blah! but they are awsome offroad and thats why i bought it! it continues to surprise me how far it goes and it has very few mods. the articulation is unbeatable - ive cruised up hills that the 2 japs only get up by using full throttle and destroying everything!
talking about not seeing that many defenders these days, i have a 110 single cab ute! you dont see them everyday
heres a few pics

http://i181.photobucket.com/albums/x67/jhrostron/IMG_0034360x480.jpg
http://i181.photobucket.com/albums/x67/jhrostron/IMG_5270.jpg
http://i181.photobucket.com/albums/x67/jhrostron/IMG_0018.jpg

Fender nut
16-10-2008, 06:57 PM
and heres a vid

YouTube - defender in water @ LCMP (http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=RAuHhyUW0tg)

defmec
16-10-2008, 07:31 PM
i couldn't be without my defender its a part of me even when i drowned my 200 tdi i went and bought a v8 county because the thought of being seen in anything else upset me:crazy:

tonlinjam
16-10-2008, 07:39 PM
bloody best car i ever had
and i have had a few
land cruiser 80
patrol 3l
new hilux
old hilux
even older hilux

and now the fender
it is the only car that after having it for a year i still smile like a kid driving it

http://i172.photobucket.com/albums/w1/tolinja/100781314_xlTuknuJ_IMG_0244.jpg

http://i172.photobucket.com/albums/w1/tolinja/IMG_4273.jpg

http://i172.photobucket.com/albums/w1/tolinja/IMG_4344.jpg

http://i172.photobucket.com/albums/w1/tolinja/IMG_0474.jpg

cheers chaser

stampy4x4
19-10-2008, 03:21 AM
They have probably more after market parts available than any other 4wd, with teh possible exception of the Wrangler.

You may have to look to The UK for really specialist stuff.

I haev tons of stuff on mine, Front and rear lockers, front and rear winches, Arb Lockers, OME LTR dampers, Full Roll cage, snorkle, Lights etc etc.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v707/Psimpson7/ormeau/IMG_1404small.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v707/Psimpson7/cityview0308/smallcityview004.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v707/Psimpson7/ormeau%20200708/Flexit.jpg

I'll get some some pics of my boss's new 07 Defender kittted up.

Where were these pics taken? That is the best section of track I have seen for a long time!

Mikey0211
19-10-2008, 09:48 AM
This is my second landy, and I wouldn't swap it for the world....

85 County V8...

Front air locker
33" pirelli scorpion muds
12000lb winch
Duel Batteries
On board air
bla bla bla bla bla
http://i191.photobucket.com/albums/z114/Mikey021182/cruiserpark027.jpg
http://i191.photobucket.com/albums/z114/Mikey021182/cruiserpark166.jpg
http://i191.photobucket.com/albums/z114/Mikey021182/water.jpg

Psimpson7
19-10-2008, 03:30 PM
Hey Stampy,

In order,

Ormeau,
Cityview,
Ormeau. - This is a nasty track. dont go on this one unless you well prepared.

Pete

Disco-tastic
26-10-2008, 10:05 AM
hey mate I dont have a defender but I know a couple of guys who do. They have never had any reliability issues, but thats probably because they service them often and treat em well. Land rovers in general are just so capable in stock form ( check out some of the new range rover sports here (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K_v_1hu-Fuo))

As far as comfort goes I have heard of people replacing the rear bench (what an awful seat) with the front buckets and putting disco seats or aftermarket buckets in the front.

I drive a disco and I love it! Now my fiance wants a shorty defender! How lucky am I!!:D

Wrongway
03-11-2008, 09:52 PM
Best 4x4??

Ask the SAS and The Commando Regt. what they reckon about Defenders??

The Australian Army has used them for over 40 years Ser 1, ser.2, Ser.3A and every now and then test other brands of 4wd...............so far none have measured up.

sure they're 'agricultural' they're meant to be. They were originally designed as a 'substitute tractor' for postwar farmers and came with a built in PTO (Power take off) so a man could hitch his haybaler to the towbar and git workin'!!
I ran a sawbench off my old '54 Ser 1 SWB.

The Defenders (mines a 2.5 TDi with NO electronics) have an 'A' frame rear suspension (no swaybars) which makes them appear 'loose in the arse' at first glance.........but thats how they get that massive front and rear articulation. Any other make of fourby and you'll have to fork over heaps of dough to get the same result.

change the oil and the filter every 5000ks and they'll last forever

dinga
13-11-2008, 08:35 PM
bloody best car i ever had
and i have had a few
land cruiser 80
patrol 3l
new hilux
old hilux
even older hilux

and now the fender
it is the only car that after having it for a year i still smile like a kid driving it

http://i172.photobucket.com/albums/w1/tolinja/100781314_xlTuknuJ_IMG_0244.jpg

http://i172.photobucket.com/albums/w1/tolinja/IMG_4273.jpg

http://i172.photobucket.com/albums/w1/tolinja/IMG_4344.jpg

http://i172.photobucket.com/albums/w1/tolinja/IMG_0474.jpg

cheers chaser

Mate love the 'fender!! Is that the new model with the 2.4 motor in it? Im interested to hear feedback on the new motor...one of the fourby mags have had issues with hoses rubbing on the bonnet etc.?

Would love to see some more pics!!

tonlinjam
14-11-2008, 04:27 PM
Yer mate the new one
No issues as yet

A lot of it is hipe , they have the same issues with a lot of new cars , I had more problems with my new hilux then this one

chaser

scrubnut
08-12-2008, 10:15 AM
After years of having Nissans and the odd Toyota I finally bought a brand new Defender. I could not be happier. Yes it has the turning circle of a Mack truck and the height makes some underground car parks out of the question. But that little 2.4 diesel and six speed box more than makes up for it. What a great combination. Loads of room inside. Drive style is different but on in a bad way and it’s quite good on juice. After market accessories, not as many as you’d like available in Oz. It just means you have to get more creative and really make the truck your own. :)

smac
26-12-2008, 08:18 PM
has anyone done a full interior mods or re design?