View Full Version : ML Triton Safari Snorkle
joshinthecity
05-07-2007, 04:50 PM
Spoke directly with Safari again today.
Best info I could get was that it SHOULD be ready late August....
Call back then...
j.
slotdownunder
05-07-2007, 09:04 PM
My TJM one works well!!
Here's some pic's I let ARB get to my Red Triton Ute (RUTE) and this is what happened (http://kap61.com/Rute)
tritor
05-07-2007, 09:07 PM
:computer::computer:
:crazy::crazy:
:drink::drink:
come on safari (those pics are for safari not your car mate).. looks tops
OldManGrump
05-07-2007, 09:48 PM
My TJM one works well!!
Here's some pic's I let ARB get to my Red Triton Ute (RUTE) and this is what happened (http://kap61.com/Rute)
How much for tjm
slotdownunder
05-07-2007, 10:03 PM
$469
joshinthecity
05-07-2007, 11:11 PM
$469
you fitted it yourself?
j.
Colour coded bumper looks awesome slot!... how much did that set you back?
High Country
19-07-2007, 05:43 PM
Spoke directly with Safari again today.
Best info I could get was that it SHOULD be ready late August....
Call back then...
j.
Word from my supplier today - October..............
joshinthecity
19-07-2007, 11:11 PM
Word from my supplier today - October..............
Jesus.
I might have to give up the wait..
j.
tritor
20-07-2007, 12:27 PM
wtf.. tjm one is looking less ugly every day
Jesus.
j.
joshinthecity
20-07-2007, 04:21 PM
exactly...
j.
High Country
20-07-2007, 09:30 PM
Jesus.
j.
Think I'll just try to stay away from water till the Safari one is available. Will be worth the wait. Standard air intake position, is not in a great location...!!
(Understatement of the year............!!!!).
Bar a couple of 'little quirks' - these are a seriously neat ute, and should end up being very capable off-road, with a few mods.
andyj
23-08-2007, 09:01 PM
about 5 hours for the fitting and its a B***H so they told me when mine was fitted
subi_man
23-08-2007, 09:29 PM
andy, yours is a TJM one like mine right?
andyj
24-08-2007, 08:00 PM
Subi
Yes it is a TJM Airtec will post pics over weekend
Andy
andyj
27-08-2007, 05:03 PM
Subi man
As promised the pics of the snorkel
andyj
tritor
30-08-2007, 10:40 AM
has anyone seen safaris website lately.. has full run down on the new ML triton snorkel
Safari Snorkel System for the Mitsubishi Triton (http://www.safarisnorkel.com/snorkel/ss660hf/ss660hf.htm)
does anyone know if you can actually buy it yet?
subi_man
30-08-2007, 10:49 AM
wow, it's big!
I like the Safari air-ram better than the TJM one, but I'm not sure about how far away it comes from the A-pillar at the top. I wonder too how the pipework is arranged under the bonnet, the TJM gets a little small and possiblity restrictive IMHO - someone buy one and post up their thoughts!
Cheers!
http://www.safarisnorkel.com/snorkel/ss660hf/triton_front.jpg
http://www.safarisnorkel.com/snorkel/ss660hf/ss660_triton.jpg
joshinthecity
30-08-2007, 05:15 PM
If we can confirm they're available.
I'll buy one tomorrow...
j.
trity
30-08-2007, 05:29 PM
no doubt safari are good but that looks hideous compared to the sleek TJM one
trity
30-08-2007, 05:32 PM
Safari Snorkel to suit Mitsubishi Triton ML Diesel 3.2L 4cyl 4M41-T 10/06-07 - Safari Snorkels - Snorkels - 4x4 Store Australia (http://www.4x4store.com.au/Safari-Snorkel-to-suit-Mitsubishi-Triton-ML-Diesel-3.2L-4cyl-4M41-T-10-06-07-pr-35568.html)
cop this out!!
OldManGrump
31-08-2007, 06:45 AM
Can we get a pic of both of them under the hood
subi_man
31-08-2007, 07:08 AM
Here's the TJM one as fitted to mine :thumb:
Cheers!
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v472/holmesie/Triton%20DIYs/IMGP0941Medium.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v472/holmesie/Triton%20DIYs/IMGP0940Medium.jpg
Austblue
31-08-2007, 08:12 AM
Subi, what I cant see is where the piping runs from the 1/4 panel penetration point to what we can see there. Even if you don;t have pics can you explain what's going on?
Just seems that the TJM has a couple of extra bends but if they aren't restricted I'd rather go for their "stealther" version if you could call either that.
subi_man
31-08-2007, 02:34 PM
sorry Blue, I didn't get to see that piece before it was installed, and it's nigh impossible to see into the cavity (and too much mud caked underneath at the moment to consider pulling out the plastic guard liner :o)
Is there a component listing on the TJM or Airtek site with pics I wonder?
trity
31-08-2007, 06:24 PM
if its anything like my 80 series one the moulded outer plastic snorkel you see on the body also has a moulded hard plastic elbow when on installation you need to insert into the guard then rotate anti-clockwise and it pops in
but before you do this i found it easier to attach the flexible hose but as i said the triton could be different to the cruiser
High Country
31-08-2007, 09:02 PM
Safari Snorkel to suit Mitsubishi Triton ML Diesel 3.2L 4cyl 4M41-T 10/06-07 - Safari Snorkels - Snorkels - 4x4 Store Australia (http://www.4x4store.com.au/Safari-Snorkel-to-suit-Mitsubishi-Triton-ML-Diesel-3.2L-4cyl-4M41-T-10-06-07-pr-35568.html)
cop this out!!
Hmmm, nice try by these guys, but its NOT a ML Triton snorkel they're showing, as the one in the link mounts to the LH guard, not the RH one...........
Somehow, I doubt that Safari have got that aspect wrong.......!!
FreestyleCab
01-09-2007, 08:56 AM
Hopefully the Safari snorkel, due to its entry point being right down near the indicator, does not require moving the radiator overflow bottle to the position it is in this TJM snorkel photo. As a regular night time corrigated dirt road driver I tend to have to change a headlight globe once or twice a year..... an annoying job that would be made a total pain in the ass having to unbolt the overflow to get to the headlight.
Here's the TJM one as fitted to mine :thumb:
Cheers!
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v472/holmesie/Triton%20DIYs/IMGP0940Medium.jpg
Austblue
01-09-2007, 03:01 PM
if its anything like my 80 series one the moulded outer plastic snorkel you see on the body also has a moulded hard plastic elbow when on installation you need to insert into the guard then rotate anti-clockwise and it pops in
but before you do this i found it easier to attach the flexible hose but as i said the triton could be different to the cruiser
Do you mean that it is in the wheel well? Surely not as that'd risk it getting hit and/or ripped off by the tyre when wheeling?
joshinthecity
05-09-2007, 11:17 PM
I'm going to go ahead and assume the Safari snork is still not available to actually buy and have fitted.
This is just the pre-order stuff.
Has anyone made a call yet?
You'd think I would have had 2 seconds to call them, but with a 1 week old newborn in the house........
j.
Magilla
06-09-2007, 07:06 AM
I asked about the safari snorkel on Monday 3rd, as yet it is not even priced , could be another three weeks I was told.
Gongrats on the family addition Josh.
subi_man
06-09-2007, 09:29 AM
Gongrats on the family addition Josh.
Ditto!! :D
joshinthecity
06-09-2007, 10:23 PM
Thanks guys.
She's pretty awesome.
Lily Faye.
http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g76/joshinthecity/Image004.jpg
Josh.
OldManGrump
06-09-2007, 10:49 PM
Thanks guys.
She's pretty awesome.
Lily Faye.
http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g76/joshinthecity/Image004.jpg
Josh.
Congrats on the BUB
Thank god she takes after her mother LOL
that's what l got when my girl's came along, anyway congrats on the bub,
joshinthecity
06-09-2007, 10:51 PM
you've got no idea how right you are...
:-)
j.
subi_man
06-09-2007, 10:52 PM
Very cute, sadly my two girls at 10 and 7 are all but grown-up - happens so quickly!!!! Congrats again, Josh!! :thumb:
OldManGrump
06-09-2007, 11:16 PM
How right you are Subi mine are 8 and 3, the 3 year old was early on showing me the dance move's she learnt from that show "So You Think You Can Dance" one moment they want you to pick them up because they fell down and hurt themselfs and the next there SHAKING their Butt and then trying to get the 8 year old off the phone, thats how quick they grow up!!!
Peruano
07-09-2007, 08:11 AM
Congrats Josh!! I love kids, especially when they belong to someone else... :D
My wife is getting keen to start having a few. :eek:
joshinthecity
08-09-2007, 11:20 PM
ok ok.
Thanks guys. Thanks for the kind words.
I'm starting to feel like a thread-hijacker here..
Now.. how about those Safari Snorkels?
j.
ok ok.
Thanks guys. Thanks for the kind words.
I'm starting to feel like a thread-hijacker here..
Now.. how about those Safari Snorkels?
j.
What Safari Snorkels this thread wasn't about that was it ????? lol
bms
High Country
15-09-2007, 11:38 AM
Right, are there ANY new developements on this thing.......???!! Any photos / definite date it will be on sale...........??? Personally, I'm getting sick of waiting. I have a ML Triton that does some serious water crossings every week, am a big fan & supporter of Safari product, but can't wait forever. Managed to get a small amount of water in the airbox on Wednesday, through the stupid design that Mitsi came out with...........
pickle
15-09-2007, 12:41 PM
AK32 says they are a week away in his want list http://www.4wdmonthly.com.au/forum/f49/new-bus-coming-soon-40156/
Dave
Mantis
15-09-2007, 01:51 PM
Hey High Country, have you got diff breathers fitted?? Or have you had any probs yet with water getting into your diffs??
Cheers, Shane.
joshinthecity
15-09-2007, 08:56 PM
Hey High Country, have you got diff breathers fitted?? Or have you had any probs yet with water getting into your diffs??
Cheers, Shane.
That's a good question Mantis.
j.
High Country
15-09-2007, 09:05 PM
That's a good question Mantis.
j.
Nah - no extra breathers fitted (yet......???!!), but WILL definitely be checking the oils tomorrow...........
Bit pointless to wait till next service, as thats still over 7,000km away. Odds are if theres water in it, will do a bit of damage before then..........!!
slotdownunder
16-09-2007, 06:48 AM
Well, if what my dealer told me is true , it may not be a problem. I have been told there is a one way valve on the diff breather and it will prevent water from flowing back into the diff and mixing with the oil.
I cannot confirm this for a fact but I have tried to start a thread here http://www.4wdmonthly.com.au/forum/f49/diff-breather-ml-triton-40116/
Urshtnme
16-09-2007, 07:27 AM
I can't remember who but one of the guys here is getting is safari snorkel this week. Hopefully they'll be distributing them this week or next week.
High Country
16-09-2007, 07:59 AM
Well, if what my dealer told me is true , it may not be a problem. I have been told there is a one way valve on the diff breather and it will prevent water from flowing back into the diff and mixing with the oil.
I cannot confirm this for a fact but I have tried to start a thread here http://www.4wdmonthly.com.au/forum/f49/diff-breather-ml-triton-40116/
I would'nt be believing what your dealer has said - if it can let air in, it'll also let water in if its low enough............
Cheers - P.
High Country
16-09-2007, 05:56 PM
I can't remember who but one of the guys here is getting is safari snorkel this week. Hopefully they'll be distributing them this week or next week.
Yep, I read that bit too. However, theres a big differance between getting / coming soon / due anytime / any day now / got one.
All I'm interested in, is knowing when someone ACTUALLY has got one, as then, theres probably a chance one can be air-freighted to me, (as I'm screaming out for one........!!!!) And I really don't want to fit a TJM one.........!!
Cheers - P.
Guys i think that was me,
Truck is in at ARB at present, the only delay i have been told of is the long range tank, may be the following week, but have not been advised of any delay on the snorkel, Ill call em tomorrow (ARB) and post the reply I get.
High Country
16-09-2007, 07:42 PM
Guys i think that was me,
Truck is in at ARB at present, the only delay i have been told of is the long range tank, may be the following week, but have not been advised of any delay on the snorkel, Ill call em tomorrow (ARB) and post the reply I get.
Thanks AK - will be interesting to see what they say.....................!!
Cheers - P.
pickle
17-09-2007, 09:34 AM
Thanks AK - will be interesting to see what they say.....................!!
Cheers - P.
Or what all the others are saying about your truck!
Triton with ARB - SA 4x4 Community Forum (http://www.4x4community.com/forum/showthread.php?t=12134)
Dave
High Country
17-09-2007, 09:58 AM
Or what all the others are saying about your truck!
Triton with ARB - SA 4x4 Community Forum (http://www.4x4community.com/forum/showthread.php?t=12134)
Dave
Cracks me up - 'famous' & did'nt even know it................!! (Picture me rolling my eyes though......)
Its gonna have ARB steps & rails fitted to it next weekend, (but we are'nt gonna talk about that...........)
Cheers - P.
Footnote - just had a look around that site - theres a photo of Cranky's Triton in there too.......
5mth wait and she's on.....
Its been a long 5 months but FINALY is on the car .......
Post some pcs soon
cheer'n :waycool: :waycool: :crazy:
subi_man
21-02-2008, 10:09 PM
look forward to seeing them AK :)