PDA

View Full Version : New to Forum

crusher
20-07-2004, 12:40 PM
Have just joined the forum and am after some advice from you guys on suspension. I recently purchased a 2003 GU Patrol 3.0 litre turbo diesel and will be beefing it up shortly for heavier offroad and travelling use. Prior to owning the Patrol I had a 1998 Toyota Hilux SR5 2.7 petrol (which was gutless I might add). I fitted OME Nitro Charger shocks to this vehicle but the addition didn't seem to make a great deal of difference.
With so many shocks now available was wondering what other Patrol owners had fitted to theirs. I am leaning towards Rancho 9000's at the moment as I will be adding a two inch lift. Will also be adding a diff locker and was after opinions on whether front or back is better as I haven't had a locker before.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated 8)

JeepBloke
20-07-2004, 12:51 PM
G'Day crusher :)

I think that the OME's on my GQ are very good - and have lasted for nearly 60,000k's. I also think that you need to match the shocks to a good set of OME springs as well to get the full benefit. Shocks alone - I dunno....

As far as the locker goes, you'll find that the Nissan limo on the rear is as tight as they come, and will stay that way for years. I've got 295,000k up on mine and it still tears up the grass on a full-lock turn. They are probably the best limo in the business. If you only want one locker - I'd put it up front.

Chris

crusher
20-07-2004, 01:02 PM
Thanks for the info Chris. I probably didn't state it clearly enough that the 2 inch lift would include new springs to replace the existing stockers
Mick

crusher
20-07-2004, 01:26 PM
Hi again Chris,

I noticed that you own a Grand Cherokee. I go away regularly with the Cherokee 4WD Club on the NSW Central Coast. Actually we have a trip to the Watagans this weekend. I have thought about buying a Jeep 1995-2001 but unfortunately they are too small for my family. The new KJ's are even smaller. You can't join the club as a member unless you have a jeep but I am allowed to go away as a visitor with a friend of mine who own a 97KJ.

They have had a lot of problems with their jeep and I suppose you have heard the saying JEEP just expect every problem or just empty every pocket.

Hope you have no probs with your grand
Regards,
crusher

JeepBloke
20-07-2004, 01:46 PM
Crusher

Yeah... Jeeps aren't the biggest fourby on the planet - that's for sure. I've made all sorts of touring compromises moving from the GQ to the WJ. You just have to be thriftier with space.

As far as problems go, most guys in our club (Sydney Jeep Club) don't have too many after a mod or two. Once you get them up in the air a bit by using replacement arms, etc, they are stronger. I've had a front diff go, but that was a problem with the factory - the case-hardened surfaces on the crown and pinion wasn't lapped properly - and she went south at around 15,000k with horrible noises. Fixed by the dealer without question.

Everything else has held up very well. The 2003 WJ's are so well built now. I reckon its put together as well as many Japanese cars - and certainly better than most American-assembled cars. Mine's put together in Austria.

Did you know that 4x4i Magazine in Britain just voted it the "Best 4WD" for the year? It's doing very well for owners now, but unfortunately that message is not getting out to Australian prospective customers - who are so perochial and only ever seem to go for the "big two". Pity - there are some great 4x4's out there - the Grand included :)

wazhere
20-07-2004, 06:20 PM
Welcome to the forum! :)

20-07-2004, 06:56 PM
Welcome to our planet! ;D

luxute
20-07-2004, 08:46 PM
Welcome :)

taziiy
20-07-2004, 11:11 PM
welcome and enjoy ;D

zook37
21-07-2004, 07:54 AM
Welcome to our wonder world. 8)

mrZ
21-07-2004, 07:26 PM
hi and welcome to the forum ;D

i haven't lifted my gu yet, but hpe to in the next couple of months so let us know wht you decide on and how it performs, thanks 8)

Twisty
22-07-2004, 12:49 PM
Welcome to the forum...

As for shocks, go the Rancho Adjustables or if funds permit the Tough Dog Adjustables.

Enjoy the forum.

Phat Mav
22-07-2004, 02:09 PM
Welcome Mate ;D

I like your choice of ride... ;)

When finances allow, I will be going with the XGS Suspension from TJM. I have a few friends with this set up and it is excellent!!!

Patrick

crusher
23-07-2004, 09:38 AM
Hi Patrick,
Are your mates rigs lifted at all ,if so are they GU's as well and how high did they go. I'm tossing up at the moment whether to just go the 2" lift with a front locker and not stuff my insurance around or go higher which will involve engineers certificates, change of insurance etc
Thanks, Crusher

Welcome Mate ;D

When finances allow, I will be going with the XGS Suspension from TJM. I have a few friends with this set up and it is excellent!!!

Patrick

Wilesy
23-07-2004, 10:24 AM
Welcome Mate ;D

Patrick

I know that I am more than happy with mine 8)

HnM
23-07-2004, 11:07 AM
Welcome to the forum mate ;D

Phat Mav
23-07-2004, 11:07 AM
Welcome Mate ;D

Patrick

You have XGS Wilesy?

Patrick

Phat Mav
23-07-2004, 11:13 AM
Hi Patrick,
Are your mates rigs lifted at all ,if so are they GU's as well and how high did they go. I'm tossing up at the moment whether to just go the 2" lift with a front locker and not stuff my insurance around or go higher which will involve engineers certificates, change of insurance etc
Thanks, Crusher

Welcome Mate ;D

Patrick

Two are on a GUs and one is on a GQ.... All 50mm lifts and all love the suspension!!! 8)

Patrick

Wilesy
23-07-2004, 12:20 PM
Welcome Mate ;D

Patrick

You have XGS Wilesy?

Patrick

Yes mate, I have the full setup of series 2000 suspension.

baby_troupe
27-07-2004, 09:43 PM
Have just joined the forum and am after some advice from you guys on suspension. I recently purchased a 2003 GU Patrol 3.0 litre turbo diesel and will be beefing it up shortly for heavier offroad and travelling use. Prior to owning the Patrol I had a 1998 Toyota Hilux SR5 2.7 petrol (which was gutless I might add). I fitted OME Nitro Charger shocks to this vehicle but the addition didn't seem to make a great deal of difference.
With so many shocks now available was wondering what other Patrol owners had fitted to theirs. I am leaning towards Rancho 9000's at the moment as I will be adding a two inch lift. Will also be adding a diff locker and was after opinions on whether front or back is better as I haven't had a locker before.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated 8)

Welcome aboard Crusher

http://www.outerlimits4x4.com/PHP_Modules/phpBB2/images/smiles/new_newbie.gif

Opinion on Rancho.... Be careful.

IMO go for OME or Tough Dog if you want something more reliable.

I have been reading a number of reports recently about people breaking Rancho 9000s