PDA

View Full Version : Prado Thread

Pages : 1 2 [3]

Andy_b
21-10-2008, 06:22 PM
Well I've just completed a 2.5 month trip around the top end. So I don't think I'll be doing a big trip like that again for quiet awhile. But I'll be doing mainly beach camping for sometime. I do like doing day out to some parks or up to the Glasshouse Mtn. I have front and rear lockers, so I'm pretty much just looking for a little bit more travel, and try to keep it all legal (ie within reason).

Cheers Andy

madcore
21-10-2008, 11:13 PM
ohok kool as... umm yeh mines a 2 inch lift so its legal, well depends how you interperet the rule and which ones they enforce. yeh these shocks i have fitted are good.. im happy with them.. i havent extended the bump stops and not sure wether i need to or not, but wil be wen i get 33's anyway. but yeh im pretty happy with the 120 series ones, just gotta make sure the coils arent too short if you go with this option.

Chris Dobinson

Reedy
22-10-2008, 09:23 PM
Here are some pics of mine on the travel ramp at our recent open day at work, just got the full ToughDog 9stg kit with no rear sway bar!!!!
Gave the Patrols a run for their money!!

http://i159.photobucket.com/albums/t144/Reedy1979/famiypictures1095.jpg

http://i159.photobucket.com/albums/t144/Reedy1979/famiypictures1096.jpg

http://i159.photobucket.com/albums/t144/Reedy1979/famiypictures1097.jpg

madcore
22-10-2008, 11:32 PM
nice pics reedy and well done on the flex... i would like to see how mine compares up to urs... ur car looks nice as, i was there wen u were runnin ya suzy up the ramp... love that little rig.. too bad doesnt get the flex of the prado

if you dont mind, what angle is that flex ramp, might build one of me own

Chris

Reedy
23-10-2008, 08:39 PM
nice pics reedy and well done on the flex... i would like to see how mine compares up to urs... ur car looks nice as, i was there wen u were runnin ya suzy up the ramp... love that little rig.. too bad doesnt get the flex of the prado

if you dont mind, what angle is that flex ramp, might build one of me own

Chris

Not sure on the angle cos we loaned it off the CQ Offroad Club but I think its all to spec!! Yea the Zook doesn't flex much on that side due to an extra (heavy) leaf on the front right to comphensate for the dreaded Suzuki lean, if I put it up on the left which I normally do it flexes a bit better, but cosidering they are a constant load spring and it was empty it does ok!! I was happy with he Prado's flex andI put a few Patrols to shame as well!!

You should have put your Prado on the ramp while you were there to see howit went, we would have let ya!!!!!

JCAS24
23-10-2008, 09:00 PM
Nice pics Reedy, you musta spent some time cleaning it by the looks :thumb:

Reedy
23-10-2008, 09:12 PM
Nice pics Reedy, you musta spent some time cleaning it by the looks :thumb:

Yea work did a full detail on it (were owned by a Toyota dealer) cos we used our cars as a display on the open day, got plenty of interest with me Prado and alot of really good coments like that it's probebly one of the best looking and kitted out Prado's in town!!

madcore
23-10-2008, 11:19 PM
mate it looked a treat, might jsut have to leave mine at IWM and hope they'll take pitty on mine ;) umm yeh i thought ya had to fill shit out and yas were gettin close to the end of the day.. buggar... if i get a chance to run a ramp then ill post up some pics or let ya no

Chris

Andy_b
26-10-2008, 01:35 PM
Hey guys just found this link which has different shock lengths which might be pretty usefull.

1996-2002 Toyota Rear Shocks Compared (http://www.sonoransteel.com/rear_shocks.html)

Andy

madcore
27-10-2008, 01:42 PM
hey thanks andy, yeh ive got the measurement spec sheet for all the shocks we sell, which is almost all 4 wheel drives. im not sure if how much ours differ from the OEM ones but are close, then can change as you go up in lift

Thanks
Chris

madcore
14-11-2008, 12:41 PM
can anyone tell me if they have adjusted the brake controller on the rear panard rod when liftin.

Thanks
Chris

taresk
14-11-2008, 05:22 PM
I haven't adjusted mine, I did have to extend the handbrake cable bracket though.

I haven't noticed any effect on the braking balance.

madcore
14-11-2008, 11:25 PM
ohok yeh i made a bracket for the hand brake cable, its just that the fronts lock up pretty easy on my rig and was just wondering if that it is affectin it much (non ABS - sucks)

Andy_b
15-11-2008, 01:32 PM
Check this link out

1996-2002 Toyota 4Runner 2.5" Trac/Panhard Bar Drop Bracket (http://www.sonoransteel.com/store_drop_bracket.html)

Andy

phippsy77
15-11-2008, 02:55 PM
Will put in a couple of photo's of dad's prado, it's an '06 or '07 model I think, am pretty sure it's an ex mies worker one as it's got all the red dirt in the seams, grommet in the roof above the c pillar and marks from a single roof rack, but my question is regarding the bullbar.

Driving down the road is wobbles around like a bowl of jelly, but to grab it when stopped the whole car moves with it like I thought it should. The bar on my cruiser doesn't wobble around, nor did the one on my lux so we're wondering if the mounts are a bit flexy given the airbag compatability of the front end.

Has anyone one else run into this with their prado's?

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k280/phippsy77/IMG_0422.jpg
http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k280/phippsy77/IMG_0421.jpg

safari wagon
20-11-2008, 11:21 PM
hi everybody, been away for a while but im back.
does anyone know who does rear coil spacers for prados?
and all you guys with long travel... does your drive shaft hit the fuel tank?
im constantly hitting it which is making me think i should shorten my wheel travel.

A1 Mech
20-11-2008, 11:57 PM
It will be hitting the tank due to the rear steer which comes with big flex on standard 5link setups. To fix it you can make up a panhard rod drop bracket which changes the flex arc of the panhard, If prados hav a similar mounting arrangement to 4runners/surfs have a look on the surf forum for a diagram. Or run ur tank virtually empty and go at the shield or tank with a sledge hammer, u may sacrifice a few litres but u will hav plenty of clearance for the uni. This is what I did on my 4runner and it worked fine.

Alternatively If you wanna get really fancy, triangulate and lengthen the control arms to eliminate the need for a panhard rod (triangulated 4link)

Happy
21-11-2008, 03:23 AM
A1 how does a triangulated 4 link get rid of the need for a panhard... what is keeping the diff inline with the chassie?
If you did this, to me, it seems it would be like the 4runner/surf 4 link rear without a panhard, so whats keeping the lateral location of the diff?

beast2h
21-11-2008, 06:42 AM
the upper control arms set up as tri angle control lateral movement. as standed the upper control arm go almost straight back to the diff in a tri angle setup the upper control arms go at an angle from the chassis on either side to the top centre of the diff. hope this makes sense!

A1 Mech
21-11-2008, 07:50 AM
Even in standard format on the 4runners it is possible to drive onroad with out the panhard. You wouldnt want to use it fulltime like this tho as it could rip mounts eventually. With a completely custom setup longer, stronger control arms and mounts would be fabricated and the angle of triangulation increased to keep the axle inline with the chassis. Id say for most prado owners it wouldnt be practical however as there isnt alot of room to set it up and some stuff would have to be moved or chopped out.

I was going to to do this on my 4runner once it was coil SAS's but I ended up just going TG leaf kits all around which work just as well. Cheers

madcore
21-11-2008, 01:10 PM
yeh mine hits quite hard on the fuel tank... too slack to fix it but.. im sure itll figure itself out...

Thanks
Chris

safari wagon
21-11-2008, 08:35 PM
at least i know im not the only one. would making the bump stops longer help? from my experiences at maths in high school you would think that if the diff was further away from the body then the drive shaft wouldn't hit the tank? right?

A1 Mech
21-11-2008, 09:16 PM
Limiting travel will solve the problem but u are limiting travel when wat u really wanna do is maintain the travel but fix the impact problem. When a 5link travels, especially with taller coils it walks to the side as the panhard rod drops in is ark. Honestly If I was you I would grab sum earplugs and a decent hammer and crawl under and make sum clearance room.

taresk
22-11-2008, 01:32 AM
phippsy77 I haven't heard of bullbar wobbles like that before, me being the paranoid type, I'd be having a very close look at the chassis around the mounts for cracks. I haven't seen it myself with people I know, but I have heard the front of the 120 doesn't handle the weight of a steel bar long term very well (I'm not sure how much truth there is in that).

safari wagon What size spacer? OME do some (I think they're 10mm or something) If you want bigger (like the 2.5" ones I have, I think you have to order from the states ie: 96-02 4Runner)

beast2h
22-11-2008, 11:03 PM
i limited the up travel on the rear of mine by 1 inch and i havent broken a grease nipple since. also i wouldent go bashing your fuel tank in to suit it may stress the steel and cause it to fracture and leak!
prados do tend to move alot on the body mounts. my 95 series moves a fair bit approx 5mm at least, there is about a 5mm gap between the bar and the flare and they rub a little!

99disco
23-11-2008, 01:59 AM
hey guys there are some really shit hot looking trucks on here but what is with all the black painted rims these nice cars look so much nicer when they are a really clean car that has good tires that go hard instead of a familly car that looks like a comp truck fust my thoughts anyway

madcore
23-11-2008, 12:49 PM
yeh i will be extending bump stops when bigger tyres go on.... mine only hits the fuel tank guard, hasnt hit the fuel tank, and its done most of the damage so far so im just gunna leave it... yeh mine also moves a bit on the mounts, under full flex i can hear the chassis twisting a bit against the mounts of the cab... oh well thats wat happens when ya take a shoppin trolley 4wdin

thanks
Chris Dobinson

Trojan
23-11-2008, 04:17 PM
hey guys there are some really shit hot looking trucks on here but what is with all the black painted rims these nice cars look so much nicer when they are a really clean car that has good tires that go hard instead of a familly car that looks like a comp truck fust my thoughts anyway

I have never been one to have a vehicle that looks like everyone elses and black wheels on my Prado is one way that makes it definantly stand out as being different.

There is a handful of Red/Gunmetal GXL Prados around here, mine being the ONLY ONE with black wheels, the rest have either silver or alloy. The old black rims were the first thing that went onto it.

When we bought it.
http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a350/r0ck_m0nkey/play-doh.jpg
Then on with the black rims.
http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a350/r0ck_m0nkey/Prado1.jpg
And pretty much how it is today.
http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a350/r0ck_m0nkey/Dscf1074resize.jpg

Truthfully though, the rims were black on the previous vehicle i had them on, was going to repaint them, but just got used to them being black.

taresk
23-11-2008, 07:48 PM
There was a big thread here somewhere regarding Black Vs Bling, but I just say each to their own, black doesn't suit all colours/ vehicles, but it really stands out on common fourbys.

Mine with black (http://i159.photobucket.com/albums/t152/taresk/PIC00716.jpg)

boof
24-11-2008, 08:22 AM

My thoughts on the subject are well known :D

madcore
24-11-2008, 10:44 PM
hahhah yes bling is good... but black looks tuff on most decked out trucks... so depends wat your keen on doin with it and wat u think ur truck is built for

baka
27-11-2008, 07:12 PM
Hi everyone im new and i've finally read through this entire thread. This topic is going to get me into trouble with the boss, cause my wish list will be never ending with all this inspiration.

I thought i would post a couple of pics of my rig.

roadkill
27-11-2008, 11:18 PM
hey guys I have just bought a 96 Prado with a lift kit and gas conversion already done. I have other plans for the Prado but now just cleaning it up as it was a pig sty when I bought it. I will add pics ASAP

Wags
28-11-2008, 09:31 PM
Hi guys/gals,

My rig is a 2005 4l V6 prado, standard 4by - no modifications to suspension. I'd like to do a run up to the cape next year (towing the camper trailer I'm currently building). My concern is can I do it safely with a petrol car or do I need to buy a diesel.
What I need is a pros v cons on going in the V6 as opposed to buying a diesel. I'm also due for new tyres - I run cooper ATR's at the moment (73000km so far). I don't want to put new A/T's on the V6 then have to sell it to buy a diesel.

Can anyone steer me in the right direction?

Regards,

Wags

beast2h
29-11-2008, 08:12 AM
petrol are fine you just need to take a few extra precausions with the electrical side of the engine

Wags
29-11-2008, 10:37 AM
petrol are fine you just need to take a few extra precausions with the electrical side of the engine

Would you care to explain this for me please? As I'm not entirely sure what you mean.
Also what are the tricks for carrying petrol safely as I know the petrol expands in containers.

Thanks,

Wags

Andy_b
29-11-2008, 10:57 AM
make sure you put a tarp in front of the grill, so you don't get any water in the engine bay, this also helps to create a bow wave too. If it's going to be a really deep crossing, you should spray all electrical components with WD40 or something similar.

You should get some new suspension too before going up because the roads will destroy OEM suspension quickly.

I wouldn't trade your prado in for a diesel, not for one trip, I never heard any of my mates having trouble getting petrol up there, and it was at every servo when I was up there 5 years ago. You can carry 180L of petrol, so I wouldn't worry to much about carrying extra fuel, just depends how far you go off the beaten path.

Andy

PradoD4D
29-11-2008, 11:12 AM
Wags,

Last year I took up a V6 120 series and it did it with ease. 180 ltrs is heaps to carry up there. No need for extra jerries of weight. There are ample servos up there to keep it topped up.

I would definately upgrade your suspension, get a snorkel, a good recovery kit, a tarp/water bra, and some new ATR's. I did it with ATR's and had no punctures and no problems with grip.

I have since bought the D4D diesel which we will be taking up to the cape in June 2009. Good luck mate, you will have a blast.:drink:

Wags
29-11-2008, 12:17 PM
make sure you put a tarp in front of the grill, so you don't get any water in the engine bay, this also helps to create a bow wave too. If it's going to be a really deep crossing, you should spray all electrical components with WD40 or something similar.

You should get some new suspension too before going up because the roads will destroy OEM suspension quickly.

I wouldn't trade your prado in for a diesel, not for one trip, I never heard any of my mates having trouble getting petrol up there, and it was at every servo when I was up there 5 years ago. You can carry 180L of petrol, so I wouldn't worry to much about carrying extra fuel, just depends how far you go off the beaten path.

Andy

Thanks Andy.
On my last 4wd (03 Rodeo TD), I stiffened up the suspension @ stage springs in the rear and it made driving really rough without 300kilo in the tray. As I travel long distance for work (live in Bris - work in Bowen Basin), I was hoping that I didn't have to modify the suspension on the Prado. Travelling 1000kms for work in a stiff suspensioned vehicle takes it's toll on the body hence the reason for selling the rodeo.
Can you tell me if the upgraded suspension on the Prados is as stiff as I make it sound?

Wags,

Last year I took up a V6 120 series and it did it with ease. 180 ltrs is heaps to carry up there. No need for extra jerries of weight. There are ample servos up there to keep it topped up.

I would definately upgrade your suspension, get a snorkel, a good recovery kit, a tarp/water bra, and some new ATR's. I did it with ATR's and had no punctures and no problems with grip.

I have since bought the D4D diesel which we will be taking up to the cape in June 2009. Good luck mate, you will have a blast.:drink:

PradoD4D, Thanks also for your input.
Have you ever used M/T tyres? I was contemplating the mud terrain tyres as my trips now are taking me away from the beaches of SE Qld and into the ever changing conditions in the bush. The tyre choice will be in the new year and if $$$ are available, the suspension and winch bar are on the cards as well.

Thanks for your help.

Wags

Wags
29-11-2008, 12:19 PM
One more thing....Are diff lockers a necessity or just added security?

Andy_b
29-11-2008, 01:03 PM
You don't have to get stiff suspension, if you go to TJM, ARB or any other suspension place, and ask them what your after they should be able to set you with a good system (ie med stiffness springs, with airbags which you can pump when are carrying the extra load).

Muddies are nice to have when you need, but if your not going to be doing any hardcore 4wdriving I would really bother. Diff locks are nice too, and are extra security (the prado diffs are pretty weak) so they allow you to go up obstacle with much more control but they are expensive. I have difflocks and muddies, and they make going to tracks much easier, but if your only going to be using your prado for mainly touring, I would stick to AT's and not worry about difflocks just yet.

Andy

Reedy
30-11-2008, 09:49 PM
Just thought I'd ask but has anyone else had any drama's snapping the front sway bar links in half???? The misses said it had a clunking noise in the front end after a hard core trip the other weekend so I took a gander and sure enough I'd snapped one!!! Luckely they are the same as the rear and I don't run a rear sway bar so I'll use that!!

Andy_b
01-12-2008, 07:32 AM
it's never happened to me, but I don't have the front swaybar in at the moment. (I should but i don't). Maybe you make up some swaybar disconnects, which is what I;m going to do I think.

Andy

A1 Mech
01-12-2008, 05:49 PM
Did you notice a difference in handling with the snapped link? If not just leave the front swaybar off also, With good quality aftermarket suspension I dont think there all that necessary.

baka
01-12-2008, 09:06 PM
Hi guys. Does any one think 4" suspension lift and 2" body lift would be overboard? If any one can give me some advice it would be appreciated.
Cheers Brett

A1 Mech
01-12-2008, 09:35 PM
How are you planning on attaining this sort of lift in a prado? The rear can be raised easy enough but its the IFS front which will be difficult.

The only way I can c is if you get sum 50mm raised coil overs and add 50mm spacers on top of these, this still leaves the problem of the CV angles. U can drop the diff to semi sort this out but it would be best to spend a bit of money on various other bits and pieces up fornt ot make it reliable.

Locktup 4x4 International - Catalog (http://locktup4x4.com.au/catalog/7aee65f9-7121-41d7-92ac-dce59c208804.aspx) hav a look at some of this gear for example.

if you have airbags you will have to check what type of deploy sensors the prado uses as you can only really fit a bofylift to a airbag equipped vehicle if it uses deceleration sensors and not crush/impact sensors.

baka
02-12-2008, 03:25 PM
thanks for your reply. I had already spoken to locktup and those were the spacers i was considering. I already have a 2" suspension lift and 2" bodylift but just wondering wether or not to get the spacers to add either 1 or 2". I dont know wether much would be gained by this or if it would be more of a headache.

madcore
02-12-2008, 05:23 PM
my opinion, too many headaches for the amount of lift you'll get.. the prado front, well ifs for that matter arent the greatest to deal with ove about 2-2.5 inches lift

Chris

A1 Mech
02-12-2008, 06:07 PM
I'd only be going 1" spacers on top of 2" coilova personally as I dont think even with a diff drop that all components would be reliable, maybe if you got some of the stronger control arms and more flexible balljoints it would be fine, 1" down in the nose isnt that bad anyhow. definately be going for the outer longtravel boots and diffdrop. Hav a google search for gen4/5 4runners kits and taco's in the states as they run similar suspension to prados and there are heaps of kits for them in seppo land. Chris can normally ship in just about anything you can find.

You can add factory cruiser coils to the back to get rouhgly 4". you will need to make ur panhard adjustable or buy one and fit longer shocks, If going this path ditch the FnR swaybars offroad or get quick disconnects.

Howd you go with the bodylift? install pics? airbags?

baka
02-12-2008, 08:20 PM
I appreciate all the advice guys. I got the body lift done at a workshop as they gave me a quote of $550 which at that point i didn't have time to do my self, plus i thought it was quite reasonable. They said the lift was straight forward because i dont have airbags. It did need a steering spacer and adjustment of the radiator. The gear stick does sit a little lower but i have had no dramas since.

My main concern with raising it another 2" is if it would feel unstable offroad at that height? I still would like it to be a capable tourer. I dont know wether im dreaming to be able to have this setup but still able to go away with the other half.

I think the wheel track would need widening?

I will see what i can find in the US for the Tacomas.

Thanks

A1 Mech
02-12-2008, 10:50 PM
$550 aint bad at all for a drive in drive out body lift. so basically your trying for 6" of lift (including everything) honestly I would add just a 1" spacer ontop of your 2" coils and throw some 80 series cruiser coils in the rear. 5" up front, 6" in the back. sort the panhard and some longer shocks in the back and your done.

This is what I used to run in my 4runner and it was a good height and didnt notice the nose down much. You should be able to fit some 33's under easily to, Id widen the track by using say a -27 or -30 offset rim. It makes a big difference.

taresk
03-12-2008, 01:35 AM
From my experience...

With the track, a good rule of thumb I've found to maintain stock CoG (Centre of Gravity) is however high you go, try for half that in increased width (ie: 2 up, 1 out).

The IFS on the prado can only take about 3" of lift before it needs serious mods (longer spindles, relocated control arms, etc), and being constant 4wd, anything over 2" really needs a diff drop to reduce the angle on the CV's.

Having gone from a 4Runner to a Prado, I can tell you with the high CoG of the Prado, you're better off going for the minimum amount of lift you need to achieve your goals, (ie: 33" tyres requires 2.5" to 3" of lift, 4" is excessive), so you should decide exactly what you want in the end, so you don't end up regretting anything you do now.

nate
03-12-2008, 09:05 AM
prados are such a nice rig :)
any one taken out the ifs and put coils in? just wondering thats all

madcore
03-12-2008, 02:13 PM
yeh there is a guy with a shorty prado a few pages back with a solid front, looks tough and goes hard as nails

PradoD4D
03-12-2008, 04:11 PM
PradoD4D, Thanks also for your input.
Have you ever used M/T tyres? I was contemplating the mud terrain tyres as my trips now are taking me away from the beaches of SE Qld and into the ever changing conditions in the bush. The tyre choice will be in the new year and if $$$ are available, the suspension and winch bar are on the cards as well.

Thanks for your help.

Wags[/quote]
I have never needed MT's, even in the odd muddy situation. If I can't get moving with AT's, I turn the lockers on, then I get the maxtrax, then use the winch. AT's just suit the miles and terrain that we usually do, but I had no probs in the cape with AT's. Cheers.

PradoD4D
03-12-2008, 04:16 PM
One more thing....Are diff lockers a necessity or just added security?

Again, I did the cape without diff locks last year.

We did the notorious Maytown stretch, OTL, and Frenchamns track. Just pick the right lines and you will be fine. Though yes, I use the lockers on my new prado a lot for extra security and the ability to negotiate tracks etc slower without damaging equipment.

Reedy
03-12-2008, 07:50 PM
Did you notice a difference in handling with the snapped link? If not just leave the front swaybar off also, With good quality aftermarket suspension I dont think there all that necessary.

Yea I did notice the difference cos I already have the rear swaybarout and trying to corner at the same pace (not knowing it was snapped) it got a little hairey!!! All I did was replaced both front links with the rear links just until I get to the wreckers for a new one, the rear ones are a little shorter but have gotte meout of the poo till the weekend!!! My main question was that I was keen to see if nyone esle had snapped theirs and if it was commen cos if it was I'd make them stronger!!!

A1 Mech
03-12-2008, 08:03 PM
they do snap on most types of vehicles occassionally, If you have a driveway that flexes the suspension as you turn in each day it will accelerate your chances of snapping one. Theres a fair bit of pressure put on the links once raised suspension is fitted and flexed often offroad.

safari wagon
06-12-2008, 01:57 PM
i snapped mine but i was driving it hard. that was a couple of years ago. havent had a problem since.

Reedy
06-12-2008, 10:17 PM
Yea I think mine snapped when I was driving it pretty hard.......I was climbing a hill to which I outdrove a mate in his GU 4.5 petty with a 5" lift and 35's and rear locker that couldn't get as far!!!!! Spun me out but mind you I hit it with heaps of pace and bent the base of me Bullbar at the same time hitting ruts!!!!:crazy:Was alot of fun though and gained alot of respect too!!! LOL:waycool:

safari wagon
07-12-2008, 09:37 PM
just put in 20mm coil spacers for the rear. it has now stopped my coils from falling out. came up against one more problem tho. how to i extend or re direct my hand brake cable??

madcore
08-12-2008, 01:56 PM
yeh my handbrake cable is tight causin the light to stay on all the time, ive made a relocating bracket for it but has not fix the problem, my handbrake hardly works now due to it wearing out.

Thanks
Chris

safari wagon
09-12-2008, 07:33 PM
if you want i can tell you how to adjust the hand brake (in the drum) that way your light wont stay on in the dash. might have to see if a 100 series one would fit it.

Renier
23-12-2008, 10:20 PM
Hi there fellow off-roaders! I have been without a 4x4 the last ten months, but if all goes according to plan I should be picking up my new Toy tomorrow!

safari wagon
24-12-2008, 05:02 PM
looks ready to roll already.