Zoom | Aussie Brutes | Xtreme Holdens | Fast Fours | HPI | Hot4s | Street Fords | Street Commodores | Extreme Street | Caravan and Motorhome | Magstore
Back to homepage

Current Issue

INSIDE ISSUE 111

4WD Action 111

Take your telephone off the hook and lock the cat in the bathroom, because you won’t want to be interrupted when 4WD Action issue 111 comes out! This month we have five awesome custom vehicles to show you, from big tourers to tough-as-guts modified rigs that can crawl over anything.

We have a look at two hard-as-nails Toyota 80 Series wagons that you would swear were twins and an awesome touring Rodeo that could be flagged as the ultimate retirement toy. Then we check out an International Scout, what’s that you ask? An open-top, long wheel-base 4WD, running a massive set of 38.5in rubber. Plus we catch up with Australia’s toughest Pajero, a home-grown masterpiece.

We head into the mystical gulf country and Brendan puts the new DID Pajero through its paces in a 2,000km journey over seven days. Then Shaun test drives the new Mahindra ute, have they got it right this time round?

We show you how to save a few bucks and buy a top second-hand HiLux plus some easy fixes for when you play too hard. We have a look at a few recovery techniques for when you are hung-up on steep terrain and wade through some wet-weather woes.

You’ll never forget to lock all the doors again when you install a DIY central locking system. Roothy looks at the timing of his little army jeep, you’re 60 odd years too late mate!

You asked for it, we’ve delivered – Biodiesel 101, the how, what and why all explained. The DIY Rangie gets a bull bar and we go away for a weekend with the Hummer H1 owners group, plus we test traction on the mighty Prado. Are Air Lockers better than electronic traction control?

We also have a great selection of travel stories that take to every corner of this great country of ours. The Nicholas family recalls the highlights of their hot lap of Oz, we continue our journey with the ‘Long Trip in a Shorty’ series, which takes us from the high-country to the coast. The outback photographer barrels down the Gunbarrel and we give the Madigan Line the once over.   

FREE DVD

This month I travel to Bundy on a budget and meet with some 4WD nuts from the 4WD Action Forum who are keen to show me around their backyard. Let me tell you, the Bundy boys have some awesome tracks so close to town, makes you realize why there are so many top custom trucks up there!

We have a look at four custom vehicles, enjoy some of Roothy’s cooking, and show you how to save some dollars and service your engine D.I.Y style.

Plus we have a look at tyre selection and Mark gives us a rundown on recovery gear and explains the various types of straps on the market along with a full explanation of bow shackles and tow hooks. Plus heaps more!

Spacer