Article Archive - March 2012

By: admin Posted: 1st Mar 2012

Who doesn't love a big old 60 Series 'Cruiser? They're still a great truck (just ask Editor Shauno). Well, Paul Butterfield from Victoria had not one but two awesome 60s,...

By: 4WD Action Posted: 1st Mar 2012

The February Competition on Facebook is now over, with thousands of entries, we’ve put together the 29 winners over the entire month.

February 1st...

The south of NSW has been slammed with heavy rainfall over the past few days, the SES has ordered those in the Cooma area to evacuate.

The SES has warned...

It’s time to put your money where your mouth is, if you think you’ve got a truck worth talking about then get it up on the 4WD Action Shed.

We’ve given the...

By: 4WD Action Posted: 2nd Mar 2012

Chrysler’s new 3.6L V6 engine will make its way into the new 2012 Jeep Wrangler to hit our shores this year.

In a statement, Chrysler has announced that the...

There’s a lot about the world many people don’t know, so we’ve decided to put together a few motoring facts to expand your knowledge.

Did you know…

Any good 4WDer will know that water and engines don’t mix well together. With the huge amount of wet weather we’ve been experiencing around the country this summer,...

Ahead of the 2013 V8 racing season, the Nissan GT-R will take its place at the front of the pack as the official safety car for the 2012 season.

Images...

By: 4WD Action Posted: 5th Mar 2012

Over the past few weeks, the SES has received 2,953 calls for assistance, 133 volunteer units have been in service, 19 helicopters and three planes have been used in...

The following conditions are now in place for tracks in Queensland and are current as of 5th March 2012.

Fraser Island (Great Sandy National Park) and...

The Datsun badge is likely to remerge as a budget brand in 2014 to the delight of car enthusiasts around the world.

The Nissan subsidiary has not been in...

Malabar Headland, or more commonly known to some as Long Bar Rifle Range, ANZAC Rifle Range or Boora Point with now be commissioned as a national park for public use....

By: 4WD Action Posted: 6th Mar 2012

Unfortunately an error meant that the wrong information went to print in 4WD Action 177. To clarify, the 1/2in 18V Impact Wrench has a recommended retail price of $799...

RACQ has warned motorists that the price of LPG is set to hit 85 cents a litre this week.

RACQ spokesperson Nikki Kormendy said motorists should fill up as...

The V8 Supercar Clipsal 500 over the weekend was an event that every motorhead had in the calendar. But because of a scheduling error, the evening race was booking at...

The results are in for the first Suspension Stuff Challenge at the Scenic Rim Adventure Park over the weekend.

Torrential rain postponed the event from the...

February vehicle sales have been released for last month and numbers are strong for SUVs and 4WDs coming into the market.

The SUV category (which includes...

By: 4WD Action Posted: 7th Mar 2012

NSW is doing it tough at the moment. After the recent rain in the area, residents of Wagga have managed to dodge a bullet and have been given the all clear to return to...

See the outback in a week! With the countdown to the Simpson opening only days away, we’ve given you the ultimate guide to see more of the country for under $1000....

Episode 5 of the exclusive ‘Adventure Behind the Adventure’ Web Series is now available.

In this...

Big things are happening down here on the Mudflats!

Well, big things in my little mind anyway. Yep, the engine rebuild on Hotlips has finally finished after...

By: admin Posted: 8th Mar 2012

It's a foregone conclusion that a lot of us will spend part of each day dreaming about what we want to do to our 4WDs, and you can guarantee that a big percentage of...

By: 4WD Action Posted: 8th Mar 2012

You may not know his name, but you’ll definitely recognise his photos. Matt Fehlberg is one of the best motoring photographers in the country.

4WD Action...

As of the start of this year, a new system is in affect to help protect you and your 4WD.

Previously, to check your 4WD history you would have gone...

The Geneva MotorShow in Switzerland showcases some of the more modern developments not only in car technology, but also 4WD development.

Mitsubishi has just...

By: 4WD Action Posted: 9th Mar 2012

After the recent wet weather, this weekend is looking like it will clear up to fit in an epic 4WD Adventure.

Here’s what you need to do: pack the truck up...

Here in the 4WD Action office, we love a good debate. No matter what type of off-roader you’re into, one of our staff members will be on your side. We’ve got Toyota and...

Buying a second-hand 4WD is an art in itself. First and foremost, you need to know what you want from your truck and what you’ll be using it for. This will make your...

By: 4WD Action Posted: 12th Mar 2012

Toyota has injected a new lease of life into its new petrol V8 engine for future GXL, VX and Sahara models.

The biggest change in the engine is its reduction...

By: 4WD Action Posted: 12th Mar 2012

Only four days until one of the most anticipated events in the Aussie off-road community, Tuff Truck!

Some of the 4WD Action crew will be there, but this is...

By: 4WD Action Posted: 13th Mar 2012

A bit disappointed I am.

Spent nearly three hours on the side of the road last week helping out a mate who had the unfortunate situation of having his truck...

By: admin Posted: 13th Mar 2012

As 4WDers, we're always on the search for more power. Bigger tyres and weighty accessories rob us of the meagre amounts we're given from the factory, and once you add the...

Unless you haven’t realised yet, Australia provides one of the most amazing landscapes in the world for 4WDing, and on top of that we’re blessed with the right tools to...

With the Australasian Safari wrapping up on the 29th of September this year, event organisers of the Gascoyne Dash have decided to move the Dash one week to give the...

Fire Services helped contain a fire in Northcliffe in WA on Monday, which has been burning since the 9th of February.

The Department of Environment and...

By: admin Posted: 14th Mar 2012

MT HUXLEY TRACK, QUEENSTOWN

After arriving in Queenstown late in the afternoon, there was a buzz around the town. The night before, fire had ripped through a local...

By: 4WD Action Posted: 15th Mar 2012

Thursday the 15th marks the official opening of the Simpson Desert for 2012.

For some it’s been a long wait since the tourist season for touring the Simpson...

After news of Roothy’s dog Jack passing away, we’ve had a flood of support flowing in through to 4WD Action’s Facebook and Twitter pages, plus emails and comments on...

We love hearing about the new 4WDs when they hit the market like the LandCruiser GX and the Special Edition Wrangler Mountain Edition. More than anything it gives us an...

We have 2 positions available with Camper Trailer Touring magazine, so if you want to do something you love and get paid for it, contact us now! The two positions...

By: 4WD Action Posted: 16th Mar 2012

There’s always buzz around the office when you know something special is about to happen, it usually happens every week when the weekend is in sight and we can head out...

It may be on the other side of the world, but the off-road community where the notorious King of the Hammers is held in California, are fighting to save their right to...

As you might recall, there have been a few changes in the NSW modification laws. Most importantly the replacing of the Engineering Certification Scheme (ECS) with the...

By: admin Posted: 16th Mar 2012

Getting off the beaten track with our 4WDs is how most of us like to spend our spare time. One of the best things about living in this great country is the sheer amount of...

Starting this week, we will be letting you know of some of the best threads that appear on the forum.

First and foremost, what makes a good forum thread...

By: admin Posted: 16th Mar 2012

If you are looking for a 4WDing adventure that is challenging, remote, isolated and will test your skills in a park that is vast, unique and picturesque, then look no...

The Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) is asking 4WDers and travellers to report any illegal hunting in the national and state parks in South...

By: admin Posted: 19th Mar 2012

Modifying our 4WDs is a bit of an addiction that takes hold of many of us. For some, kitting out a 4WD can be a straight-out obsession! Most of the time, long before our...

By: 4WD Action Posted: 19th Mar 2012

News has come in from Mackay up in North Queensland. A story reported in the Daily Mercury has accused Local Mayor Col Meng for spending $80,498 on a new V8 LandCruiser...

Three Japanese tourists became stranded in the mangrove mud on Oyster Point near Cleveland last Thursday.

Yuzu Noda, Tomonari Saeki, and Keita Osada were...

With the Easter break only two weeks away, booking your favourite campsite is essential as you may well find yourself high and dry without a booking.

In most...

By: admin Posted: 20th Mar 2012

After nearly 30-odd years of service, the 60 Series Land- Cruiser has proven to be one of the toughest 4WDs ever offered. Unfortunately, because of its age, finding one in...

By: admin Posted: 20th Mar 2012

With all its marketing and signage, you've no doubt seen the recent addition of premium diesel fuels to many service stations around the country.

Over the last...

By: 4WD Action Posted: 20th Mar 2012

NSW Roads Minister Duncan Gay has introduced a new strategy to help L-platers reduce the number of required training hours from 120 to 100 if they complete a non-...

By: 4WD Action Posted: 21st Mar 2012

Tuff Truck is done and dusted for another year and what a weekend it was.

It absolutely poured early Saturday morning, just in time for the beginning of...

As of the 15th of March, the Simpson Desert is open. Now is your chance to prep your truck and head out to explore the tracks.

Prepping your vehicle is one...

Right, the big news in Queensland is that there’s elections on.

Now, like you, I’m far more interested in heading bush but things are out of balance all over...

By: 4WD Action Posted: 22nd Mar 2012

What has been described as a ‘mini tornado’ has struck Townsville in QLD with an estimated 60 homes destroyed.

The worst affected area was the suburb of...

On the 7th of March, the Sydney Morning Herald published a cover story about the volunteers during the devastating Wagga floods in NSW.

On the cover was a...

Ever been on the tracks and wanted a live update about tracks closures in the area?

The QLD Government has just released a series of Twitter accounts you can...

By: 4WD Action Posted: 23rd Mar 2012

All the action is in Brisbane this weekend with the National Outdoors and Adventure show.

The show will kick off on Friday 23rd March at 9am at the RNA...

Word has spread throughout the 4WD community about the anticipated release of the new Holden Colorado 7.

This is the first 4WD wagon with the Holden badge...

The new Ssangyong ute has finally hit the shelves here in Australia.

The new entry 4WD will surely turn some heads when it enters into highly competitive 4WD...

By: admin Posted: 23rd Mar 2012

An hour drive north of Perth you will find Lancelin, a small fishing town nestled between the ocean and sand dunes. The town stretches along a natural bay protected by the...

By: admin Posted: 23rd Mar 2012

TOYOTA LANDCRUISER 100 IFS

POSITIVES

• Unstoppable Off-Road

• Toyota's Benchmark Quality

• Spacious Interior

NEGATIVES

By: admin Posted: 27th Mar 2012

TOOLS NEEDED: Spanners, 3/8in socket set, screwdrivers, Stanley knife, and funnel.

MATERIALS: Water, coolant, hose clamps, thermostat and correct gasket, radiator...

By: 4WD Action Posted: 27th Mar 2012

I want to take time out to congratulate the Department of Environment and Conservation (DEC). Yep you read me right.

A couple of weeks ago, my old man was on...

Holden is to receive $225 million from the Federal Government and $50 million from the South Australian State Government in return for a $1 billion investment into...

For some, learning how to drive is done on the back paddocks of small towns, for others in the backstreets of the suburbs. Regardless of where it was, learning to drive...

South Australia’s Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) has re-opened 4WD tracks within the Ngarkat Conservation Park near the border of SA and NSW....

By: 4WD Action Posted: 30th Mar 2012

I’m up in beautiful Caboolture today, doing some filming with my mate Jamie Hazelden. You’ll see that on the website, but something’s come out of it that I reckon I...

Advertisement